DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 11, 13 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin (US20190245175) in view of Qin’ (US20190288256).
Regarding Claim 1, Qin discloses a battery module ([002]) comprising:
A battery cell stack comprising a plurality of battery cells (battery stack-20 formed of battery cells, [005]); and
A housing for the battery cell stack (housing-10, Fig. 2, [0054])
Front and rear end plates for covering front and rear surfaces, respectively, of the battery cell stack (first end plate-30 and second end plate-40 act as front and rear plates, Fig. 2, [005]),
Wherein at least one of the housings, the front-end plate or the rear end plate comprises a venting part for discharging gas and flame (module vent plate-70, [0073], Fig. 2).
Wherein the venting part has a shape that bends a discharge path of the gas and flame (it is the examiner’s position that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, that “bend a discharge path” can be any structure that adjusts the gas or flame to be directed in a nonlinear line, therefore module vent plate-70 acts as venting part).
Qin discloses wherein the venting part comprises a through hole formed in at least on of the housing, front end plate or the rear end plate (module vent plate defines a through hole on the front-end plate, Fig. 2).
Qin does not directly disclose a first cover part for the covering the through hole; and a first opening formed on a side of the first cover part and communicating with the through hole.
Qin’ discloses a vent structure that includes a through hole, a first cover part for covering the through hole and a first opening formed on a side of the first cover part and communicating with the through hole (vent hole-312, second vent plate-36 covers hole acting as first cover part, Fig. 2, [0086]). Qin’ teaches that this structure provides improved safety of the battery module ([0086]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Qin with the teachings of Qin’ to have wherein a first cover part for the covering the through hole; and a first opening formed on a side of the first cover part and communicating with the through hole. This modification would yield the expected results of improved safety of the battery module.
Regarding Claim 3, Qin in view of Qin’ discloses the limitations as set forth above. Qin does not directly disclose wherein an area of the first cover part is larger than an opening area of the through hole.
Qin’ discloses wherein an area of the first cover part is larger than an opening area of the through hole (Fig. 5 shows second vent plate-36 having larger area than through hole).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Qin with the teachings of Qin’ to have wherein an area of the first cover part is larger than an opening area of the through hole.
Regarding Claim 6, Qin discloses the limitations as set forth above. Qin does not directly disclose wherein the venting part further comprises a second cover part for covering the through hole, wherein the second part is located opposite to the first cover part with respect to the through hole; and a second opening formed on a side of the second cover part and communicating with the through hole.
Qin’ discloses a second cover part covers the through hole on the opposite side of the first cover part (shielding member-60 acts as second cover part that covers a second opening of the through hole formed by a sinking portion-313 in communication with the through hole-312, Fig. 11, [0093]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Qin with the teachings of Qin’ to have wherein the venting part further comprises a second cover part for covering the through hole, wherein the second part is located opposite to the first cover part with respect to the through hole; and a second opening formed on a side of the second cover part and communicating with the through hole. This modification would yield the expected results of improved safety of the battery module.
Regarding Claim 7, Qin discloses the limitations as set forth above. Qin does not directly disclose wherein an area of the second cover part is larger than an opening area of the through hole.
Qin’ discloses wherein the second cover part is larger than an opening area of the through hole (sinking portion-313 and protection member-60 are larger in area than through hole, Fig. 11, Fig. 3, [0093]).
Regarding Claim 11, Qin discloses the limitations as set forth above. Qin further discloses wherein the venting part guides the discharge of gas and flam in a direction parallel to a surface of at least one of the housing (module vent frame is positioned so that the gas is discharged parallel to the housing, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Qin discloses the limitations as set forth above. Qin further disclose a battery pack comprising the battery module according to claim 1 (it is the examiner’s position that absent a specific definition of a battery pack, that a battery module according to claim 1 meets the limitations of a being a battery pack that includes said battery module).
Regarding Claim 14, Qin discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Qin discloses wherein the first end plate comprises the venting part, and (first end plate-30 and second end plate-40 act as first and second end plates, Fig. 2, [005))
Qin modified by Qin’ discloses a first cover part that is connected to the venting part.
It is the examiner’s position that modified Qin would have the first cover part attached to the module vent portion of Qin, and thus would have the first cover part connected to the first end plate where the first opening is formed.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Qin with the teachings of Qin’ to have wherein the first cover part is connected to the first end plate at a portion where the first opening is not formed.
Claim(s) 4,5 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin (US20190245175) in view of Qin’ (US20190288256) further in view of Egashira (US20210265700).
Regarding Claim 4 & 5, Qin in view of Qin’ discloses the limitations as set forth above. Modified Qin does not directly disclose wherein an opening direction of the through hole is different from an opening direction of the first opening, and wherein an opening direction of the through hole and an opening direction of the first opening are perpendicular to each other.
Egashira discloses a through hole that is offset from a first opening in a perpendicular direction (discharge valve-15 define through hole), Fig. 7, [0049], gas guide path-60, exhaust port-63 acts as first cover portion with first opening, [0098-0099]). Egashira teaches that this structure provides improved high-pressure gas discharge ([0100]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Qin with the teachings of Qin’ and Egashira to have wherein an opening direction of the through hole is different from an opening direction of the first opening, and wherein an opening direction of the through hole and an opening direction of the first opening are perpendicular to each other. This modification would yield the expected result of improved high-pressure gas discharge.
Regarding Claim 10, Qin in view of Qin’ discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Qin does not directly disclose wherein the discharge path of the gas and flame is bent at least twice by the first cover part and the second cover part.
Egashira discloses a gas guide path that bends the gas discharge twice (gas guide path-60, includes one or more horizontal gas flow bending portions, [007]). Egashira teaches that this structure provides improved high-pressure gas discharge ([0100]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Qin with the teachings of Qin’ and Egashira to have wherein the discharge path of the gas and flame is bent at least twice by the first cover part and the second cover part. This modification would yield the expected result of improved high-pressure gas discharge.
Claim(s) 8 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin (US20190245175) in view of Qin’ (US20190288256) in view of Hyung (KR20180113855, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided on Applicant’s IDS filed on April 1st, 2024).
Regarding Claim 8 & 9, Qin in view of Qin’ discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Modified Qin does not disclose wherein an opening direction of the through hole is different from an opening direction of the second opening and wherein an opening direction of the through hole and an opening direction of the second opening are perpendicular to each other.
Hyung discloses a valve structure that includes a through hole, a second cover part with a second opening, and wherein the second cover part second opening is perpendicular to the through hole (flame filter part-154c provides through hole, lower vent 154b acts as second cover part, with 154b-1 denoting opening, Fig. 3/4a, [0055], [0057]). Hyung teaches that this structure provides improved stability and reliability of the battery ([0015]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Qin with the teachings of Qin’ and Hyung to have wherein an opening direction of the through hole is different from an opening direction of the second opening and wherein an opening direction of the through hole and an opening direction of the second opening are perpendicular to each other. This modification would yield the expected result of improved stability and reliability of the battery.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin (US20190245175) in view of in view of Qin’ (US20190288256) further in view of Pinon (US20150037662).
Regarding Claim 12, Shaffer discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Qin does not directly disclose wherein the battery module further comprises an insulating cover located between the battery cell stack and at least one of the front end plate or rear end plate, wherein the venting part is formed in the at least one of the front end plate or rear end plate, and an insulating cover opening is formed at a position corresponding to the venting part of the insulating cover.
Pinon discloses a the battery module further comprises an insulating cover located between the battery cell stack and at least one of the front end plate or rear end plate (insulating polymer layer-90 on end plate, [0135]), wherein the venting part is formed in the at least one of the front end plate or rear end plate (end plates-92 acts a front and rear plate, [0135], vent disc-92 included on end plate, [0135]), and an insulating cover opening is formed at a position corresponding to the venting part of the insulating cover ([0135]). Pinon teaches that this structure provides improved longevity for the battery module ([0184]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shaffer with the teachings of Pinon to have wherein the battery module further comprises an insulating cover located between the battery cell stack and at least one of the front end plate or rear end plate, wherein the venting part is formed in the at least one of the front end plate or rear end plate, and an insulating cover opening is formed at a position corresponding to the venting part of the insulating cover. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved longevity for the battery module.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see Claims, filed November 19th, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 14 under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments, see Claims, filed November 19th, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Qin in view of Qin’ under 35 USC 103.
Applicant's arguments filed November 19th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Qin’ does not provide teachings or disclose wherein the first cover part covering the through hole and the first opening formed on a side of the first cover part and communicated with the through hole, and that Qin’ merely discloses wherein the plate is provided with a vent hole in the thickness direction.
Qin discloses Wherein at least one of the housings, the front-end plate or the rear end plate comprises a venting part for discharging gas and flame (module vent plate-70, [0073], Fig. 2).
Qin discloses wherein the venting part comprises a through hole formed in at least one of the housing and the first end plate or the second end plate (module vent plate defines a through hole on the front-end plate acting as first end plate, Fig. 2).
Qin does not directly disclose a first cover part for the covering the through hole; and a first opening formed on a side of the first cover part and communicating with the through hole.
Qin’ discloses a vent structure that includes a through hole, a first cover part for covering the through hole and a first opening formed on a side of the first cover part and communicating with the through hole (vent hole-312, second vent plate-36 covers hole acting as first cover part, Fig. 2, [0086]). Qin’ teaches that this structure provides improved safety of the battery module ([0086]).
It is the examiner’s position that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, “a first cover part for the covering the through hole; and a first opening formed on a side of the first cover part and communicating with the through hole” can be interpreted to mean any structure that covers the through opening where the cover part can be any structure that covers the through hole. The examiner further notes that the claim language does not specify when or where the opening communicated with the through hole, and therefore under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, the first opening can be any structure that indirectly covers the through hole as well. Here, Qin’ discloses a second vent plate-36 that covers the through hole formed by vent hole 312.
Therefore Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claim language.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Qin with the teachings of Qin’ to have wherein a first cover part for the covering the through hole; and a first opening formed on a side of the first cover part and communicating with the through hole. This modification would yield the expected results of improved safety of the battery module.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728