DETAILED ACTION
Specification
2. The amendment filed 2/22/2023 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: the alteration of “a battery cell assembly” to “at least one battery cell assembly” (see detailed analysis below with respect to the same language added to the claims in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)/first paragraph, entirely incorporated into the instant objection and not repeated here).
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 1, and thus dependent claims 2-15; claim 5, and thus dependent claims 3, 5-12; claim 7, and thus dependent claim 8; claim 8; and claim 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 16 incorporates the subject matter of claim 1 and is thus addressed concurrently.
A) Applicant amended the specification and claims on 2/22/2023 when filing the instant US application which is a national stage entry of PCT/KR2022/007399, and which also claims foreign priority to KR10-2021-0080926.
The amendment to claim 1 includes that the battery module comprises “at least one battery cell assembly” which is later defined in the claimed as: “wherein the at least one battery cell assembly includes a first battery cell assembly and a second battery cell assembly.” The amendments filed 2/22/2023 are reproduced below with emphasis added.
Applicant provides no comments in the remarks as to how the disclosure supports there being more than one battery cell assembly as defined in the claim and specification (i.e., including a first battery cell assembly and a second battery cell assembly) that was contemplated by the inventors at the effective filing date of the invention. The range of “at least one battery cell assembly” allows for any number of battery cell assemblies, wherein the instant application as filed does not appear to contemplate more than one battery cell assembly anywhere within the written description, drawings, or original claims, wherein the entire disclosure is drawn to a construct having one “battery cell assembly” (100 + 100) that is comprised of a first battery cell assembly 100 and a second battery cell assembly 100 as annotated below in Fig. 1:
The Examiner appreciates that the amendments appear to attempt to clarify the subject matter given the awkward/problematic nature of reciting “a battery cell assembly” in line 2 of the claim followed by the definition given at lines 10-11 in the original claim. As one potential solution, Applicant could re-write the claim as follows:
Examiner-Proposed Corrections to Claim 1
A battery module comprising:
a first battery cell assembly and a second battery cell assembly, each of the first battery cell assembly and the second battery cell assembly comprising a plurality of battery cells that are stacked;
a module frame that houses a respective upper surface, a respective lower surface and respective side surfaces of each of the first battery cell assembly and the second battery cell assembly, wherein the module frame is opened in a front surface and a rear surface;
a heat sink that is located on the module frame, the heat sink including a plurality of cooling flow paths; and
a venting cover that is located on the heat sink,
wherein the first battery cell assembly and the second battery cell assembly are arranged separately in a direction facing each other.
Correction is also required for claims 5 and 7 which refer to “the at least one battery cell assembly.” Correction to claims 6 and 8 to invoke proper antecedent basis to the defined upper and lower surfaces of the respective assemblies would also be required.
B) Claim 7 defines that there is a heat transfer member located between the heat sink and the at least one battery cell assembly. Claim 8 then defines that the heat transfer member is located between the heat sink and an upper surface of the first battery cell assembly and between the heat sink and an upper surface of the second battery cell assembly, respectively. This does not appear to be a supported construct on the basis of at least Fig. 1. There is a first heat transfer member 300 that corresponds to the first battery cell assembly that is located between the heat sink 400 and the upper surface of the first battery cell assembly (left side of Fig. 1), and there is a second heat transfer member 400 that corresponds to the second battery cell assembly that is located between the heat sink 400 and the upper surface of the second battery cell assembly (right side of Fig. 1; see annotations above in section A). While the language is original claim language and does appear in the written description, the issue is that if there were a singular heat transfer in the locations claimed as defined in claim 8, it would block holes 215 and not allow subsequent venting to holes 415 of the heat sink and the venting flow path such that the venting feature would be defunct. In other words, it is not clear how to meet the requirements of the parents claims with respect to the venting functionality and subsequently meet the construct of the (singular) heat transfer member in the location defined.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
6. Claim 1, and thus dependent claims 2-15; claim 5, and thus dependent claims 7-8; claim 6, and thus dependent claims 9-10 and 11-12; claim 7, and thus dependent claim 8; claim 8; claim 13, and thus dependent claims 14-15; and claim 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 incorporates the subject matter of claim 1 and is thus addressed concurrently.
A) Claim 1 defines “an upper surface, a lower surface, and side surfaces of the at least one battery cell assembly” which is then subsequently defined as including a first battery cell assembly and a second battery cell assembly that are arranged separately. It is not clear how there “at least one battery cell assembly” could have an upper surface, a lower surface, and side surfaces; it would appear that the following correction is required to clearly set forth the structure and metes and bounds of the claim (from the Examiner proposed correction above):
“a module frame that houses a respective upper surface, a respective lower surface and respective side surfaces of each of the first battery cell assembly and the second battery cell assembly, wherein the module frame is opened in a front surface and a rear surface;
Corrections are required with respect to claims 5-8 to clearly set forth the structure and metes and bounds of the claim with respect to the above issue, wherein said claims are indefinite for the same reason.
B) Claim 5 recites that there is a cooling hole. Claim 6 then defines that the cooling hole includes a first cooling hole and a second cooling hole. It is entirely unclear how a singular hole can include more than one hole; they would all be collectively a singular hole. The claim requires clarification as to the metes and bounds of the structure recited.
C) Claim 1 defines that the module frame is opened in a front surface and a rear surface. Claim 13 then defines the module frame includes a first U-shaped frame and a second U-shaped frame with each being opened in “a front surface and a rear surface.” The claims fail to clearly set forth the meets and bounds of the claim. For example, the module frame has a front surface that is opened (claim 1) given the front surface of the first U-shaped frame is opened, and the front surface of the second U-shaped frame is opened, with these collective “openings” defining the opened front surface of the overall module frame. The claim does not clearly define the construct given the “front surface” of the module frame of claim 1 would have to be at least one of the front surfaces of the first and/or second U-shaped frames. Changing “a” to “the” in either instance would not correct the issue; it appears the clarification needed requires amendments better defining the overall construct in terms of the clarifying that the opened front surface (and rear surface) of the module frame is defined by the respective front (and rear) openings of the first and second U-shaped frames (not recommended claim language; the Examiner is just attempting to clarify what is needed for an appropriate correction).
Appropriate correction is required. The Examiner has examined the claims as best as possible for prior art application with assumptions made where possible with respect to the indefinite issues outlined above; however, claims 13-15 lack a prior art rejection at the present time due to the indefinite issues outlined above and what would be considerable speculation or assumptions that would have to be made to apply prior art to these claims [see MPEP § 2173.06; In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962): a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims].
Claim Interpretation
7. It is noted that the claims and written description of the instant application utilize the following nomenclature which is more commonly termed differently than what is utilized in the instant application. Specifically, what is claimed and labeled a “battery module” 1000 is more commonly referred to as a battery pack 1000 in the state of the prior art, and what are labeled “battery cell assembl(ies)” defined as a stacked plurality of battery cells are more commonly referred to as battery modules. There is nothing wrong with the language of the instant application and claims; the comment is made for clarity of the record given the prior art below utilizes the more commonly utilized terminology of battery pack and modules for what is claimed as a module and assemblies, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Rejection A: Claims 1, 4, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2022/0123423).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a battery pack P (“battery module”) (Figs. 1-11; entire disclosure relied upon) comprising:
at least one battery cell assembly (annotated below) in which a plurality of battery cells 5 are stacked (Figs. 2-3, 8-9);
a module frame 12 (the four panels collectively- see Fig. 5) that houses an upper surface, a lower surface and side surfaces of the at least one battery cell assembly (Figs. 2-3, 8-9) and is opened in a front surface and a rear surfaces (two interpretations- the four panels 12 collectively define a four-paneled module frame that is opened at the top and bottom thereof in the z-direction; the second interpretation is annotated below);
a base plate 11 with cooling channels (“a heat sink”) that is located on the module frame 12, the heat sink including a plurality of water cooling passages 111 (“cooling flow paths”) (Figs. 4-6); and
a cross beam 13 (i.e., “a venting cover” – note cross beam 13 covers exhaust passage 112 that allows the cells to vent outside the pack) that is located on the heat sink 11 (Figs. 4-9),
wherein the at least one battery cell assembly includes a first battery cell assembly (annotated below) and a second battery cell assembly (annotated below), and
wherein the first battery cell assembly and the second battery cell assembly are arranged separately in a direction facing each other (see Figs. 2, 3, 8, 9; P46-69; 75-111).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches wherein:
the plurality of cooling flow paths 111 extend along a longitudinal direction of the heat sink 11 (Figs. 5-6), the plurality of cooling flow paths 111 being spaced apart from each other (Figs. 5-6; P108).
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches a battery pack (see Fig. 1; P75) comprising the battery pack (“battery module”) according to claim 1 (note there are two battery packs (“modules”) shown in Fig. 1).
10. Rejection B: Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takano et al. (US 2020/0067045).
Regarding claim 1, Takano teaches a battery module (see Fig. 3; entire disclosure relied upn) comprising:
at least one battery cell assembly (Fig. 3-4, 8) in which a plurality of battery cells 11 are stacked;
a module frame 16 (optionally also 29) that houses an upper surface, a lower surface and side surfaces of the at least one battery cell assembly and is opened in a front surface and a rear surfaces (Fig. 3);
a heat sink (40, 50; alternatively just 50) that is located on the module frame, the heat sink including a plurality of cooling flow paths (see Figs. 5-7); and
a venting cover 15 that is located on the heat sink (40, 50; or just 50),
wherein the at least one battery cell assembly includes a first battery cell assembly 12 and a second battery cell assembly 12 (Figs. 3-4, 8), and
wherein the first battery cell assembly and the second battery cell assembly are arranged separately in a direction facing each other (best shown in Fig. 8; see P22-72).
Regarding claim 2, Takano teaches wherein:
the plurality of cooling flow paths protrude toward the venting cover 15 with respect to a bottom surface of the heat sink (40, 50) (see Figs. 3, 5-6), and
a space (51) between two cooling flow paths adjacent to each other among the plurality of cooling flow paths forms a venting flow path (see Figs. 6, 8).
Regarding claim 3, Takano teaches wherein:
the venting cover 15 protrudes toward a central part of the heat sink (40, 50) (Fig. 3), the venting cover 15 including a blocking part (i.e., top surface or grid structure in outlet 18) located on the venting flow path.
Regarding claim 4, Takano teaches wherein:
the plurality of cooling flow paths extend along the a longitudinal direction of the heat sink (40, 50) (see Figs. 3, 5, 6), the plurality of cooling flow paths being spaced apart from each other (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Takano teaches wherein:
an upper part of the module frame 16 is formed with a cooling air inlet (“cooling hole”) 17 facing the upper surface of the at least one battery cell assembly (Figs. 1-3 and 8).
Alternatively (hereinafter “interpretation B”), an upper part of the module frame (29) is formed with a cooling hole (i.e., the center hole 29) facing the upper surface of the at least one battery cell assembly (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Takano teaches wherein:
the cooling hole air inlet 17 (“cooling hole”) [has a gridded structure internally] such that there is a “first cooling hole” and “a second cooling hole” that each face the respective upper surfaces of the first and second battery cell assemblies (see Figs. 1-3 and 8; hereinafter “first interpretation”).
Alternatively, Takano teaches there are two cooling holes present (see Fig. 3) such that there is a first cooling hole and a second cooling hole that each face the respective upper surfaces of the first and second battery assemblies (best shown in Fig. 3; hereinafter, “second interpretation”).
Regarding claim 7, Takano teaches the battery module further comprising a heat transfer member (40) located inside the cooling hole (best shown in Fig. 8), wherein the heat transfer member is located between the heat sink (50) and the at least one battery cell assembly.
Regarding claim 8, Takano teaches wherein: the heat transfer member 40 is located between the heat sink 50 and an upper surface of the first battery cell assembly and between the heat sink and an upper surface of the second battery cell assembly, respectively (best shown in Figs. 3, 8).
Regarding claim 9, Takano teaches wherein: the upper part of the module frame (16) includes at least one first venting hole (i.e., one of the middle plurality of holes of the gridded opening construct of hole 17) that is between the between the first cooling hole (selecting an upper hole) and the second cooling hole (selecting a lower one) (Fig. 1; first interpretation).
Alternatively, Takano teaches wherein: the upper part of the module frame (16) includes at least one first venting hole (i.e., the opening of the frame 16 itself; or, in the instance 29 is included in “a module frame,” then it’s opening) that is between the between the first cooling hole 17 and the second cooling hole 17 (second interpretation).
Regarding claim 10, Takano teaches wherein: a first part of the at least one first venting hole is located adjacent to one surface of the first battery cell assembly, and a second part of the at least one first venting hole is located adjacent to one surface of the second battery cell assembly (first interpretation- the “at least one first venting hole” being either of the holes/openings for the module frame (16 and/or 29) (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Takano teaches wherein: the heat sink (40, 50) is formed with at least one second venting hole 43 at a position facing the at least one first venting hole (first interpretation) (see Figs. 5-6, 8)
Regarding claim 12, Takano teaches wherein: the at least one second venting hole 43 is located between the first battery cell assembly 12 and the second battery cell assembly 12, and on the venting flow path (Figs. 3, 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Rejection C: Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (US 2022/0021068) in view of Marpu et al. (US 2019/0348726).
First Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, Zeng teaches a battery 10 (“battery module”) (Figs. 2-12; P125-157; not limited to entire disclosure), comprising:
at least one battery cell assembly (best shown in Fig. 3) in which a plurality of battery cells 20 are stacked (P125; Fig. 3);
a module frame 112b that houses an upper surface, a lower surface and side surfaces of the at least one battery cell assembly and is opened in a front surface and a rear surface (P125; Fig. 3- the top and bottom are opened on the box case shell 112);
a thermal management component 13 used with cooling fluid (i.e., “a heat sink”) that is located on the module frame 112b (P131-135; Figs. 3, 7-8), the heat sink 13 including a plurality of cooling flow channels 133 (“cooling flow paths”) (Figs. 7-8, 11-12); and
protective member 115 (“a venting cover”) that is located on the heat sink 13 (Figs. 3, 7; P151-152; note that the emissions from the battery cell can be discharged to collection chamber 11b formed by protective member 115 such that it is reasonably construed as a “venting cover”).
Second Interpretation
Zeng teaches a battery module comprising:
at least one battery cell assembly in which a plurality of battery cells 20 are stacked;
a module frame 112b that houses an upper surface, a lower surface and side surfaces of the at least one battery cell assembly and is opened in a front surface and a rear surface (Fig. 3);
a thermal management component 13 used with cooling fluid (“a heat sink”) that is located on the module frame 112b, the heat sink 13 including a plurality of cooling flow paths 133; and
an avoidance structure 134 that may include relief mechanism or weakened structure (“a venting cover”) provided on the thermal management component 13 (“heat sink”) (P147) at a position opposite to the pressure relief mechanism 213.
In either interpretation above, Zeng fails to disclose:
“…wherein the at least one battery cell assembly includes a first battery cell assembly and a second battery cell assembly, and
wherein the first battery cell assembly and the second battery cell assembly are arranged separately in a direction facing each other.”
In the same field of endeavor, Marpu teaches analogous art of a battery pack 24 (“battery module”) (P36-62; Figs. 2-3; entire disclosure relied upon) comprising:
“at least one battery assembly” (25A, 25B) in which a plurality of battery cells 56 are stacked (P41),
a tray 60 (“module frame”) that houses the upper, lower, and side surfaces of the at least one battery cell assembly (25A, 25B) and is opened in a front surface and a rear surface (Fig. 3),
a heat exchanger 64 or cold plate (“heat sink”) (P44-45) located on the tray 60 (“module frame”), the heat sink 64 including a plurality of cooling passageways 70 (“cooling flow paths”) that establishes a cooling circuit 68 (P46), wherein each battery array may share a common heat exchangers (“heat sinks”) 64 or may employ multiple heat exchangers (P44), and wherein the heat sink 64(s) are shown in the same location as that of Zeng’s heat 13;
wherein the at least one battery cell assembly includes a first battery array 25A (“first battery cell assembly”) and a second battery array 25b (“second battery cell assembly”), wherein the first battery cell assembly 25A and the second battery cell assembly 25B are arranged separately in a direction facing each other (P42; Fig. 3).
Marpu teaches that battery pack 24 is an exemplary electrified vehicle traction battery that may be a high voltage traction battery that includes a plurality of battery arrays 25 (“i.e., battery assemblies or groupings of battery cells) capable of outputting electrical power to operate the motor 22 and/or other electrical loads of the electrified vehicle 12 (P36). Fig. 3 of Marpu is reproduced below for convenience.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to configure the battery 10 (“battery module”) of Zeng to include a plurality of battery assemblies in the construct taught by Marpu, and specifically a first battery cell assembly 25A and a second battery cell assembly 25B that are arranged separately and in a direction facing each other, the assemblies held in the tray 60 (“module frame”) and used in conjunction with an analogous heat sink (or heat sinks) (P44), given the technique and construct are well within the ambit of one having ordinary skill in the art, the implementation providing the predictable, taught result of providing a high voltage traction battery capable of outputting the necessary electrical output power to operate the motor 22 and/or other electrical loads of the electrified vehicle (P36).
Regarding claim 2, Zeng teaches (First Interpretation) wherein:
the plurality of cooling flow paths 133 protrude toward the protective member 15 (“venting cover”) with respect to a bottom surface of the heat sink 13, and
a space between two cooling flow paths 133 adjacent to each other among the plurality of cooling flow paths forms an avoidance chamber 134a that receives gases vented from the batteries (“a venting flow path”).
Annotated Fig. 8 of Zeng is reproduced below for convenience:
Alternatively, Zeng teaches (Second Interpretation) wherein:
the plurality of cooling flow paths 133 protrude toward the avoidance structure 134 that may include relief mechanism or weakened structure (“the venting cover”) with respect to a bottom surface of the heat sink 13, and
a space between two cooling flow paths 133 adjacent to each other among the plurality of cooling flow paths forms an avoidance chamber 134a that receives gases vented from the batteries (“a venting flow path”) (P140).
Figure 8 of Zeng is annotated above for clarity. It is noted that the thermal management component 13 (“heat sink”) includes portions that protrude upward and downward such that multiple interpretations exist to meet the claim, wherein “a bottom surface of the heat sink” also may have alternative interpretations.
Regarding claim 3, Zeng teaches wherein:
the protective member 15 (“venting cover”) protrudes toward a central part of the heat sink 13 (see side portion circled below that that protrudes toward a central part of heat sink 13):
the venting cover including “a blocking part” (i.e., bottom wall or sealing member 111- P152) located on the venting flow path (P152).
Regarding claim 4, Zeng teaches wherein:
the plurality of cooling flow paths 133 extend along the a longitudinal direction of the heat sink 13, the plurality of cooling flow paths 133 being spaced apart from each other (Figs. 7-8 and 10-12).
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Prior art pertaining to multiple battery assemblies arranged separately so as to face each other:
Fujiwara et al. (US 2012/0312614) teaches analogous art of a power supply apparatus (“battery module”) including a plurality of battery modules (“battery cell assemblies”) that each include a plurality of cells, the plurality of battery modules (“battery cell assemblies”) 12 including at least a first battery cell assembly 12 and a second battery cell assembly 12, the construct also implementing cooling flow paths 18B and a lower plate 14a acting as a heat sink (P6, 25; see Fig. 8), wherein the first battery cell assembly 12 and the second battery cell assembly 12 are arranged separately in a direction facing each other (many options):
Yang et al. (US 2014/0356662):
Furusawa et al. (US 2019/0103594);
Kim et al. (US 2019/0074562);
Kim et al. (US 2018/0151930);
Lee et al. (US 2019/0173064); and.
Fujii et al. (US 2014/0220391).
Prior art teaching a module frame having two U-shaped frame members opened on front and rear surfaces is taught by:
Andre et al. (US 2015/0249238) and Okada (US 2010/0000816).
Prior art references teaching a combined venting and cooling construct for a battery module/pack is taught by:
Park et al. (US 2024/0332668) teaches a battery module having a cooling and venting unit 300 that includes a plurality of cooling flow paths 301 protruding toward a venting cover 320 w/r/t to a bottom surface of the heat sink 310, a space 312 between two cooling flow paths adjacent to each other among the plurality of cooling flow paths 301 forms a venting flow path:
See also Proll et al. (US 2023/0216106); Jang et al. (US 2024/0204346); and Tasiopoulous et al. (US 2019/0229384) for additional constructs combining venting and cooling within a battery module.
/AMANDA J BARROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729