Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 4/23/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 12-19 are not examined under group I since Group I and II still hold unity of invention. Groups I-II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a system with support elements, a material addition system and two electrodes, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Chung (US 10449721) or Peters (US2019/0160530 A1).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: measuring system in claim 7, and multiplexer system in claim 8. The systems are being interpreted in light so the specification. Measuring system is interpreted as comprise a multimeter or an LCR meter to measure one or more of the voltage, the resistance, the impedance, the resistance, and the current (pg. 13 lines 6-14). Multiplexer system is interpreted as a respective part (or control unit) of the control system 230, or may be functionally coupled to a control unit (pg. 24 lines 14-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "especially" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and (a2) as being anticipated by Peters (US2019/0160530 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Peters discloses a system for additive manufacturing of a product from a depositable material (abstract), wherein the depositable material is electrically conductive [0070]
wherein the system comprises a support element (140), a material addition system (410), and at least two electrodes [0010, 0035]; wherein - the support element (140, [0005]) is configured for supporting the product, - the at least two electrodes ( 32 [0070], [0042] discloses 5) comprise one or more first electrodes configured at a surface of the support element; - the material addition system (10) is configured for depositing the depositable material at one or more of
(i) the support element and (ii) deposited material, thereby forming the product [abstract];
- any one of the electrodes is configured for (i) electrically contacting the depositable material being deposited or (it) electrically contacting the deposited material, during depositing the depositable material, wherein (i) the depositable material being deposited in combination with at least a portion of the deposited material arranged between the electrode and another one of the electrodes define an electrically conductive path or (ii) at least a portion of the deposited material arranged between the electrode and another one of the electrodes define the electrically conductive path [0033, 0042]. Further, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Regarding claim 2, Peters disclose wherein the electrodes comprise a second electrodes (Peter discloses 5 electrode [0042]) comprised by the material addition system, wherein the second electrode is configured for contacting the depositable material being deposited wherein the depositable material being deposited in combination with at least the portion of the deposited material contacting a respective first electrode define the electrical conductive path between the second electrode and the respective first electrode [0033, 0042].
Regarding claim 3, Peters discloses a plurality of first electrodes, wherein at least the portion of the deposited material contacting any one of the first electrodes and another one of the first electrodes defines the electrically conductive path between the respective first electrode and the other one of the first electrodes [0070].
Regarding claim 5, Peters discloses wherein the material addition system comprises a deposition device (410) for a layer-wise depositing the depositable material at one or more of the support element and the deposited material [0004], wherein the deposition device comprises the second electrode ([0042] discloses 5 electrodes).
Regarding claim 6, Peters discloses wherein (i) the system comprises a fused deposition modeling system [0004], wherein the material addition system is configured to melt the depositable material being deposited (410), or wherein (11) the system comprises a direct ink writing system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters (US2019/0160530 A1) as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Peters discloses wherein the surface of the product defines a network of the first electrodes, especially comprising an array of n*m first electrodes, with 2 < n<500, and 2<m<500. However, Peters discloses an arrays arranged based on the design needs of the final product [0038] and the use of five electrodes in the array [0042]. MPEP 2144.05 discloses In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters (US2019/0160530 A1) in view of Pain (US2022/0162765 A1), as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Peters discloses wherein the system comprises a measuring system (60) [0040]. Although Peters does not disclose configured for measuring one or more of an impedance and resistance through one or more of the electrically conductive path. Analogous art, Pain, discloses measuring the resistance of the transistor and associated lines [0263-0264]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a measuring system as taught by Pain into the system taught by Peters in order to prevent short circuiting.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters (US2019/0160530 A1) in view of Pain (US2022/0162765 A1), as applied to claim 7, and further in view of Archer (US3893828 A).
Regarding claims 8, Peters disclose wherein the system comprises at least three electrodes [0042], but does not explicitly disclose a multiplexer system functionally coupled to the electrodes, and wherein the system is configured for measuring the one or more of the impedance and the resistance between pairs of selected electrodes of the electrode through the respective electrically conductive paths defined between the electrodes of the pairs of electrodes, wherein the selected electrodes of each pair are functionally coupled to each other by the multiplexer system. However, analogous art, Archer, discloses a multiplexer system 13 to measure the currents and voltages of the electrodes column 3 lines (16-30) for the benefit of adjusting operations of various system components for optimum overall performance (column 3 lines 37-40). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a multiplexer system functionally coupled to the electrodes, and wherein the system is configured for measuring the one or more of the impedance and the resistance between pairs of selected electrodes of the electrode through the respective electrically conductive paths defined between the electrodes of the pairs of electrodes, wherein the selected electrodes of each pair are functionally coupled to each other by the multiplexer system as taught by Archer into the system taught by Peters and Pain for the benefit of adjusting operations of various system components for optimum overall performance.
Regarding claim 9, Peters discloses a control system (420) for determining a characteristic of the manufacturing process and/or of the product being manufactured, based on a signal of the measuring system [0055, 0079].
Regarding claim 10, Peters discloses wherein the characteristic comprises one or more characteristics selected from the group consisting of a temperature of the deposited material [0079].
Regarding claim 11, Peters discloses wherein the control system (420) is further configured for controlling an operating condition of the system based on one or more of the determined characteristics, wherein the operating condition comprises one or more operating conditions selected from the group consisting of a flow of the depositable material being deposited by the material addition system, a temperature of the material addition system, a movement of the material addition system relative to the support element, a temperature of the surface of the support element, a temperature of a space comprising the system [0079].
Conclusion
/FARAH TAUFIQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754