DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on March 12, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-9 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wise et al (US 3449200 A).
Regarding Claims 1-2: Wise teaches a polyester-based reinforcing fiber (col. 1, lines 29-35) comprising a surface modifying layer of a polyamine having secondary amine groups such as polyethyleneimine (col. 1, lines 14-20) with a molecular weight of from 500-150,000 (col. 3, lines 62-73) and an adhesive layer containing a conjugated diene polymer covering the polyamine layer (col. 7, lines 30-50). Although the working examples of Wise contain formaldehyde, alternative aldehydes such as acetaldehyde, benzaldehyde, glyoxal, and furfural are taught (col. 9, lines 32-34); therefore, one could easily envision an adhesive that is substantially free of formaldehyde.
Regarding Claim 3: Wise teaches a 0.02-1.5% polymer pickup of the polyethyleneimine onto the polyester fibers, corresponding to the parts by mass of the polyethyleneimine relative to the mass of the fibers (col. 4, lines 15-23).
Regarding Claim 5: Wise teaches butadiene and isoprene (col. 7, lines 39-42).
Regarding Claim 6: Wise teaches that a conjugated diene may be copolymerized with monomers such as methacrylic acid(col. 7, lines 44-50), which would modify the polymer with a carboxyl group. Wise further teaches the addition of epoxidized polybutadiene (col. 10, lines 8-13). The carboxyl group and the epoxide group are both capable of hydrogen bonding.
Regarding Claims 7-9: Wise teaches a molded article containing the reinforcing fibers and a rubber layer (col. 13, line 65-col. 14, line 2; vulcanization/shaping under heat and pressure), such as a tire (col. 14, lines 18-23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wise et al (US 3449200 A) in view of Toki et al (JPS63196778A, using the machine translation for the citations below).
Wise teaches the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above. However, Wise is silent to the molecular weight of the conjugated diene-based rubber.
Toki teaches a reinforcing fiber comprising a diene-based rubber adhesive layer having a number-average molecular weight of 1000-60000 (p.4, lines 5-9), wherein a molecular weight within said range ensures fatigue resistance and adhesive properties (p.5, 7-8). Toki and Wise are analogous art because they are drawn toward the same field of endeavor, namely adhesives for reinforcing fibers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the molecular weight of the conjugated diene rubber taught by Wise into a range of 1000-60000 in order to improve the fatigue resistance and adhesion properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Correspondence
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767