DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 45 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/12/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-10, 14, 16-17, 24, 26-27, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Werwein et al. (Hydrogenation Properties of LnAl2 (Ln = La, Eu, Yb), LaGa2, LaSi2 and the Crystal Structure of LaGa2H0.71, Crystals, 2019), hereinafter ‘Werwein’.
Regarding Claim 1, Werwein discloses LaGa2 (Title), a compound meeting the formula of Claim 1, wherein A is a lanthanide, M is a group 13 metal, and x = 1; 1. Introduction: Ga− ions are iso-valence-electronic to carbon and form planar graphite-like layers, such as in LaGa2 – therefore LaGa2 is considered a layered intermetallic compound).
Regarding Claim 2, Werwein discloses LaGa2 as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 5, Werwein does not disclose BaGa2 or SrGa2.
Regarding Claim 9-10, Werwein discloses compounds wherein A is La.
Regarding Claim 14 and 16, Werwein discloses the compound LaGa2, wherein M is La. M’ is not required by the instant claim where x = 1.
Regarding Claim 19, Werwein discloses LaGa2.
Regarding Claim 27, Werwein discloses the compounds comprise a layered zintl phase (1. Introduction: LaGa2 is a zintl phase).
Regarding Claim 32, Werwein discloses compounds wherein M = Ga – this is a triel, i.e., group 13 element, and are therefore is considered to form a triel network as claimed.
Regarding Claim 38, while Werwein is silent regarding the catalyst effectively catalyzes a hydrogenation reaction, the compound of Werwein has the same chemical composition as those of the instant claims – therefore absent evidence to the contrary, the compound of Werwein must necessarily exhibit the same or nearly the same properties as those claimed, including effectively catalyzing a hydrogenation reaction. Products having the same composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties – see MPEP 2112.01(I).
Claim(s) 71-76 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hodge et al. (Transition Metal-Free Alkyne Hydrogenation Catalysis with BaGa2, a Hydrogen Absorbing Layered Zintl Phase, Journal of the American Chemical Society, 2019), hereinafter ‘Hodge’.
Regarding Claim 71-74, Hodge discloses transition metal-free alkyne hydrogenation catalysis with transition metal-free layered Zintl phase BaGa2 (Abstract; Page 19969, col. 2, second paragraph), a compound meeting the formula of Claim 71 wherein A is a group 2 metal, M is a group 13 metal, and x = 1.
Regarding Claim 75, Hodge discloses the catalyst comprises a plurality of particles with dimensions ranging from 320 nm to 13 μm (Page 19970, col. 1, end of first paragraph) and an average specific surface area of 0.272 m2/g (Page 19971, col. 1, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 76, Hodge discloses BaGa2 as a hydrogenation catalyst (Abstract, Title).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werwein et al. (Hydrogenation Properties of LnAl2 (Ln = La, Eu, Yb), LaGa2, LaSi2 and the Crystal Structure of LaGa2H0.71, Crystals, 2019), hereinafter ‘Werwein’, in view of Hodge et al. (Transition Metal-Free Alkyne Hydrogenation Catalysis with BaGa2, a Hydrogen Absorbing Layered Zintl Phase, Journal of the American Chemical Society, 2019), hereinafter ‘Hodge’.
Regarding Claim 34, while Werwein discloses LaGa2 for use as a hydrogenation catalyst (Title), Werwein does not disclose the particle size or specific surface area of said LaGa2.
However, Stoffels demonstrates the criticality of specific surface area in hydrogenation catalysts. It discloses that the specific surface area of catalysts of 100–500 m2 g−1 is the most common category found in the hydrogenation art – in principle, the catalyst specific surface should correlate with the speed of the catalyzed reaction as the reaction mixture is in contact with a higher fraction of the catalytic body per unit. However, the specific surface area cannot be extended without influencing other geometric parameters. It seems that the surface area of catalysts of 100–500 m2 g−1 represents an optimum, when considering the other parameters (4.4.1 Physical Properties).
Accordingly, as the speed of the catalyzed reaction is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting catalyst specific surface area, the precise amount would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed range cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the specific surface area in Werwein to obtain the desired speed of catalyzed reaction, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest the limitations of Claim 24, which requires the hydrogenation catalyst comprises a 13-layer trigonal polytype of CaGaGe. While Evans as cited previously discloses this compound, it does not disclose or reasonably suggest that it is a 13-layer trigonal polytype of CaGaGe.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 08/12/2026, are acknowledged.
With respect to arguments with regard to the rejection of the claim(s) under section 112(b), the arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. These rejections have been withdrawn.
With respect to arguments in regard to prior art rejections under section 102, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under section 102 and 103 in view of Werwein and Hodge.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LOGAN LACLAIR
Examiner
Art Unit 1736
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736