DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 45 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/12/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 2 and 7, CaGe2 is not covered by the scope of Claim 1. To result in CaGe2 within the formula set forth in Claim 1, the value of x must be negative 1, so that there is no group 13 metal present in the compound. However, Claim 1 requires a value for x between 0 and 1. Therefore, it is unclear what the actual range of acceptable values for x are encompassed by the claim. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation as allowing for the value of x to be between negative and positive 1.
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In the instant case, the claims fail to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends, as the compound CaGe2 falls outside the compounds permitted by the provisions of Claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-10, 14, 16-17, 24, 26-27, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evans et al. (Structural properties and superconductivity in the ternary intermetallic compounds 𝑀𝐴𝐵 (𝑀=Ca, Sr, Ba; 𝐴=Al, Ga, In; 𝐵=Si, Ge, Sn), Physical Review B, 2009), hereinafter ‘Evans’.
Regarding Claim 1, Evans discloses several layered intermetallic compounds having the formula required by Claim 1 – particularly, Evans discloses ternary intermetallic compounds CaAlSi, SrAlSi, BaAlSi, CaGaSi, SrGaSi, BaGaSi, SrAlGe, BaAlGe, CaGaGe, SrGaGe, BaGaGe, BaInGe, BaAlSn, CaGaSn, SrGaSn, and BaGaSn (Abstract), and discloses these compounds to have layered structure (A. Structural properties). These compounds are considered catalysts such that they meet the instant claimed requirement of “[a] catalyst comprising a layered intermetallic compound”, as these compounds share the same composition and therefore must necessarily both be considered catalytic as claimed.
Regarding Claim 2, Evans discloses the compounds BaGaGe, BaGaSn, BalnGe, CaGaGe, CaGaSi, BaAlSi, and SrAlSi as claimed.
Regarding Claim 3, Evans discloses the compounds BaGaGe, BaGaSn, and BalnGe as claimed.
Regarding Claim 5, Evans does not disclose BaGa2 or SrGa2.
Regarding Claim 7, Evans discloses the compounds BaGaGe, BaGaSn, BalnGe, CaGaGe, CaGaSi, BaAlSi, and SrAlSi as claimed.
Regarding Claim 8, Evans discloses the compounds BaGaGe, BaGaSn, BalnGe, BaAlSi, and SrAlSi as claimed, wherein, according to the formula of Claim 1, the value of x is zero.
Regarding Claim 9-10, Evans discloses compounds wherein A is Ba, Sr, and Ca.
Regarding Claim 14, Evans discloses the compounds CaAlSi, SrAlSi, BaAlSi, CaGaSi, SrGaSi, BaGaSi, SrAlGe, BaAlGe, CaGaGe, SrGaGe, BaGaGe, BaInGe, BaAlSn, CaGaSn, SrGaSn, and BaGaSn, wherein in each compound M is selected from Al, Ga, and In.
Regarding Claim 16, Evans discloses the compounds CaAlSi, SrAlSi, BaAlSi, CaGaSi, SrGaSi, BaGaSi, SrAlGe, BaAlGe, CaGaGe, SrGaGe, BaGaGe, BaInGe, BaAlSn, CaGaSn, SrGaSn, and BaGaSn, wherein in each compound M’ is selected from Si, Ge, and Sn.
Regarding Claim 17, Evans discloses the compounds BaGaGe, BaGaSn, BalnGe, BaAlSi, and SrAlSi as claimed, wherein, according to the formula of Claim 1, the value of x is zero.
Regarding Claim 24, Evans discloses the compound CaGaGe as claimed.
Regarding Claim 26, Evans does not disclose any presence of transition metals in the disclosed compounds.
Regarding Claim 27, Evans discloses the compounds comprise a layered zintl phase (I. INTRODUCTION: the nine-electron systems MASi (i.e., BaGaSi) can be considered as charge imbalanced zintl phases).
Regarding Claim 32, Evans discloses compounds wherein A = Al, Ga, and In – these are triels, i.e., group 13 elements, and are therefore considered to form a triel network as claimed.
Regarding Claim 38, while Evans is silent regarding the catalyst effectively catalyzes a hydrogenation reaction, the compounds of Evans have the same chemical composition as those of the instant claims – therefore absent evidence to the contrary, the compounds of Evans must necessarily exhibit the same or nearly the same properties as those claimed, including effectively catalyzing a hydrogenation reaction. Products having the same composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties – see MPEP 2112.01(I).
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-10, 14, 26-27, 32, 34, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hodge et al. (Transition Metal-Free Alkyne Hydrogenation Catalysis with BaGa2, a Hydrogen Absorbing Layered Zintl Phase, Journal of the American Chemical Society, 2019), hereinafter ‘Hodge’.
Regarding Claim 1, Hodge discloses transition metal-free alkyne hydrogenation catalysis with transition metal-free layered Zintl phase BaGa2 (Abstract; Page 19969, col. 2, second paragraph), a compound meeting the formula of Claim 1 wherein x = 1.
Regarding Claims 2-3, 9-10, 14, the BaGa2 compound disclosed by Hodge meets the requirements of the claims.
Regarding Claim 26, Hodge discloses the BaGa2 is transition metal free, as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 27, Hodge discloses a Zintl phase BaGa2 as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 32, Hodge discloses compounds wherein A = Ga – this is a triels, i.e., a group 13 element, and therefore the compound of Hodge is considered to form a triel network as claimed.
Regarding Claim 34, Hodge discloses the catalyst comprises a plurality of particles with dimensions ranging from 320 nm to 13 μm (Page 19970, col. 1, end of first paragraph) and an average specific surface area of 0.272 m2/g (Page 19971, col. 1, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 38, Hodge discloses BaGa2 as a hydrogenation catalyst (Abstract, Title).
Conclusion
LOGAN LACLAIR
Examiner
Art Unit 1736
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736