Claims 6-7 are pending. Claim 6 amended in the claim set filed 4/27/2026. Claim 8 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (EP 3286814, herein Chen (mapped using US equivalent US20160313716)) further in view of Carter et al. (USPN 9509176, herein Carter).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen teaches A method of microgrid control comprising:
receiving load data associated with a load requirement for a load at a project site (Paragraphs 6, 10, 33, monitoring load);
receiving power data associated with power production capacity of components at the project site (Paragraphs 6, 10, 23, monitoring generation);
determining how to supply power to the load via the components at the project site (Paragraphs 6, 10, 21, 24, 60-63, 67, taking control actions); and
transmitting signals to the components to supply power to the load based on the determination (Paragraph 10, transmitting control commands);
wherein the components include a battery energy storage system (BESS) (Paragraph 51), a solar or wind power apparatus (Paragraph 51) and a diesel generator apparatus (Paragraphs 3, 29, 52), but fails to teach:
performing an energy finance analysis of the components at the project site, the energy finance analysis including a payback component.
While Chen does not specifically provide for the instantly claimed performing an energy finance analysis of the components at the project site, including a payback component, Carter teaches a similar microgrid control and analysis system utilizing batteries, solar and wind power, and diesel generators, and finding optimal power distribution outcomes. In particular, Carter also teaches that as part of their tool, a graphical interface is presented to the user which allows for control and viewing of a variety of information, including financial analysis of energy rates and savings, and includes a payback calculation (Figure 22, View 228 shows a payback calculation of 5.5 years, also see corresponding Column 19, Lines 53-66). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the graphical financial view of Carter with the system of Chen, which would allow for the user to consider the financial impact of the grid assets and to improve the optimization and decision making of the micro-grid (Column 19, Lines 12-25).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen teaches: The method of claim 6 wherein receiving load data comprises:
receiving at least one of a load profile, electricity rate or system cost (Paragraphs 31, 45).
Response to Arguments
In response to the amendment to the claims, the 112b rejection of Claims 6-7 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 6 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen and Carter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Siebel (US 20180191867) discloses an energy management analytic system to determine the fastest projected payback period for a building energy system
Warner (US 20170052536) discloses an analysis system for a management system including financial analysis including payback indicators and comparisons of cost and other KPIs.
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117