DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are cancelled. Claims 12 and 24 are amended. Claim 26 is new. Claims 12-26 are pending in the application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner’s Notes
The Examiner cites particular sections in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant(s) fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement (see the non-patent literature documents listed on pages 3-4). 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 26 recites “said checking determines whether one of (i) the at least one first program code should continue executing on the processor or the at least one first program code should be migrated to the programmable logic unit, based on the runtime resource usage level or (ii) the at least one first program code should continue executing on the programmable logic unit or the at least one first program code should be migrated to the processor, based on the runtime resource usage level” in lines 2-6. However, the original disclosure provides no description regarding such migration features.
More specifically, the original disclosure describes two program codes 115 and 215 that are distributed onto a processor 31 and a programmable logic unit 32, respectively, based on resource usage level; for example as shown in Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0039], [0049], [0061], [0063], [0068], [0098]. However, the original disclosure provides no description with respect to migrating these program codes 115, 215 between the processing units 31, 32; such as migrating the program code 115 from the processor 31 to logic unit 32 and/or migrating the program code 215 from the logic unit 32 to the processor 31.
Furthermore, there is no description provided with the original disclosure that implements such migration determination as part of checking the processor or programmable logic unit for resource usage levels.
As such, claim 26 introduces subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-20, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nightingale (US 2013/0346985 A1).
With respect to claim 12, Nightingale teaches: A computer-implemented method for dynamically executing at least one application program by a platform (see e.g. Fig. 1: “100”) including a processor (see e.g. Fig. 1: “106”; and paragraph 18: “configuration of a processing unit, co-processor and memory is illustrated in FIG. 1 by dashed line 106”) comprising a program memory (see e.g. Fig. 1: “104”; and paragraph 15: “computing device 100 includes… memory 104”) and a programmable logic unit (see e.g. Fig. 1: “120”; and paragraph 16: “computing device also includes one or more field programmable gate arrays (FPGA), denoted as FPGA unit 120”), during the programming mode, a first application program (see e.g. Fig. 3: “Application 300”) comprising at least one first module being loaded into at least one of the program memory (see e.g. paragraph 24: “If an application relies on a hardware library 304, then the operating system 306 uses the hardware library to program the FPGA resources 310 to allow the application 300 to use the library”) and the programmable logic unit (see e.g. paragraph 24: “each FPGA can be considered a functional unit”) so as to be executable as at least one first program code from an application database (see e.g. Fig. 3: “Hardware Libraries 304”) and being programmed (see e.g. paragraph 24: “each functional unit is a resource that can be assigned to one or more processes, programmed by the operating system using a hardware library that implements an operation, and then used by the processes assigned to it to perform the operation… uses the hardware library to program the FPGA resources 310 to allow the application 300 to use the library”) and, during the execution mode, the at least one first program code is executed (see e.g. paragraph 24: “When the application makes calls to functions performed by the FPGA, the operating system… executes the function using the FPGA”), the method comprising:
checking during the execution mode (see e.g. paragraph 29: “The association between a functional unit and a process running an application can be made at… runtime”), one of the processor or the programmable logic unit on which the at least one first program code is executed, based on at least one predefined runtime criterion (see e.g. paragraph 30: “associating a functional unit with a process at runtime… determined 608 if the functional unit is being shared”) comprising a resource usage level of the processor or the programmable logic unit (see e.g. paragraph 24: “resources within the FPGA unit is one or more groups of programmable gates, herein called functional units… each functional unit is a resource that can be assigned to one or more processes”; and paragraph 30: “functional unit is associated 606 with the process executing the application. It is then determined 608 if the functional unit is being shared with other processes”), whether a second application program (see e.g. paragraph 30: “other processes”) comprising at least one second module should be loaded from the application database (see e.g. paragraph 30: “It is then determined 608 if the functional unit is being shared with other processes… If there is conflict with other processes sharing this functional unit, then the FPGA library can be queued 614 for loading into the FPGA”);
performing a change to the programming mode (see e.g. paragraph 32: “When programming the FPGA”), and loading at least the at least one second module into at least one of the program memory and the programmable logic unit so as to be executable as at least one second program code (see e.g. paragraph 30: “It is then determined 608 if the functional unit is being shared with other processes…If there is conflict with other processes sharing this functional unit, then the FPGA library can be queued 614 for loading into the FPGA”; paragraph 32: “When programming the FPGA, a scheduler can consider whether other processes are using the FPGA, and whether programming the FPGA involves pausing those other processes (after their use of the FPGA has completed). As an example, the scheduler can wait until a process has become dormant, or has not been using the FPGA, to initiate programming the FPGA”; and Fig. 6, steps 614, 616), if the second application program comprising at least one second module should be loaded from the application database (see e.g. paragraph 30: “If there is conflict with other processes sharing this functional unit, then the FPGA library can be queued 614 for loading into the FPGA”); and
implementing a change to the execution mode, in which the at least one second program code is executed (see e.g. paragraph 30: If there is conflict with other processes sharing this functional unit, then the FPGA library can be queued 614 for loading into the FPGA. A scheduler within the operating system is then invoked 616 to determine when the FPGA library can be loaded to program the functional unit, and subsequently when the application can be executed 612”; and Fig. 6, step 612), if the second application program comprising at least one second module should be loaded from the application database (see e.g. paragraph 30: “If there is conflict with other processes sharing this functional unit, then the FPGA library can be queued 614 for loading into the FPGA”);
wherein the processor (see e.g. Fig. 3: “CPU 308”) and programmable logic unit (see e.g. Fig. 3: “FPGA 310”) each support a programming mode in which configuration instructions are executed (For the CPU (i.e. a processor) supporting a programming mode, note the operating system running 300 on the CPU 308 of the computing device (see paragraph 23: “An operating system executed on a computing device”, paragraph 15: “computing device 100 includes at least one processing unit 102, such as a typical central processing unit (CPU) of a general purpose computer”, paragraph 27: “System calls or standard library calls, normally executed in a general purpose CPU”, and Fig. 3) that executes configuration instructions for programming, see e.g.; paragraph 24: “each functional unit is a resource that can be assigned to one or more processes, programmed by the operating system using a hardware library… operating system 306 uses the hardware library to program the FPGA resources 31”. For the FPGA (i.e. a programmable logic unit) supporting a programming mode executing configuration instructions see e.g. paragraph 4: “An FPGA can be programmed to perform functions… programming the FPGA in accordance with the functions to be performed by the processes using the FPGA” and paragraph 24: “one of the resources within the FPGA unit is one or more groups of programmable gates, herein called functional units… each functional unit is a resource that can be assigned to one or more processes, programmed by the operating system using a hardware library that implements an operation… The FPGA can be programmed”), and an execution mode in which application instructions are executed (For executing application instructions on the FPGA see e.g. paragraph 24: “an application 300 can use conventional software libraries 302, and FPGA hardware libraries 304, to perform various operations… When the application makes calls to functions performed by the FPGA, the operating system ensures that the FPGA is programmed using the hardware library and executes the function using the FPGA”. For executing application instructions on the CPU see e.g. paragraph 24: “The operating system 306 also executes software commands from the application 300 and software libraries 302 on the CPU 308… When the application makes calls to functions performed by a software library, the operating system executes the function from the software library on the CPU 308”).
Nightingale discloses programming an FPGA and corresponding functional units 202-206 (i.e. programming mode) and executing processes utilizing the FPGA functional units (i.e. execution mode). Nightingale further discloses determining FPGA functional units, which are resources assigned to processes, that are to be shared between the processes (i.e. a criteria to determine functional unit usage levels by the processes) and programming the FPGA functional units by loading corresponding libraries in order to enable the processes to share the functional units during execution.
With respect to claim 13, Nightingale teaches: The method as claimed in claim 12, wherein a usage level of one of (i) the processor (see e.g. paragraph 32: “ When programming the FPGA, a scheduler can consider… whether programming the FPGA involves pausing those other processes… a process has become dormant”), (ii) the working memory and the program memory of the processor and (ii) the programmable logic unit are determined (see e.g. paragraph 32: “When programming the FPGA, a scheduler can consider whether other processes are using the FPGA”; and paragraph 33: “scheduler also can consider how long it takes to program the FPGA, and whether programming the FPGA will result in a functional unit being programmed differently for different processes over time”) and accordingly taken into consideration during the execution of the first application program during the check to determine whether the second application program should be loaded (see e.g. paragraph 30: “This functional unit is associated 606 with the process executing the application. It is then determined 608 if the functional unit is being shared with other processes… If there is conflict with other processes sharing this functional unit, then the FPGA library can be queued 614 for loading into the FPGA”; and paragraph 32: “When programming the FPGA, a scheduler can consider whether other processes are using the FPGA”).
With respect to claim 14, Nightingale teaches: The method as claimed in claim 12, wherein a usage level of one of (i) the processor (see e.g. paragraph 32: “ When programming the FPGA, a scheduler can consider… whether programming the FPGA involves pausing those other processes… a process has become dormant”), (ii) the working memory and program memory of the processor and (iii) the programmable logic unit is calculated, estimated and accordingly taken into consideration (see e.g. paragraph 32: “When programming the FPGA, a scheduler can consider whether other processes are using the FPGA”; and paragraph 33: “scheduler also can consider how long it takes to program the FPGA, and whether programming the FPGA will result in a functional unit being programmed differently for different processes over time”) during the execution of the second application program during the check to determine whether the second application program should be loaded (see e.g. paragraph 30: If there is conflict with other processes sharing this functional unit, then the FPGA library can be queued 614 for loading into the FPGA. A scheduler within the operating system is then invoked 616 to determine when the FPGA library can be loaded to program the functional unit, and subsequently when the application can be executed 612”; and paragraphs 32-33).
With respect to claim 15, Nightingale teaches: The method as claimed in claim 13, wherein at least one of the processor and the programmable logic unit is utilized to define whether at least one of the first and second module should be stored in one of the program memory and the programmable logic unit during the execution mode (see e.g. paragraph 30: “A scheduler within the operating system is then invoked 616 to determine when the FPGA library can be loaded to program the functional unit, and subsequently when the application can be executed 612”; paragraph 32: “a scheduler can consider whether other processes are using the FPGA, and whether programming the FPGA involves pausing those other processes (after their use of the FPGA has completed). As an example, the scheduler can wait until a process has become dormant, or has not been using the FPGA, to initiate programming the FPGA”; and paragraph 27).
With respect to claim 16, Nightingale teaches: The method as claimed in claim 14, wherein at least one of the processor and the programmable logic unit is utilized to define whether at least one of the first and second module should be stored in one of the program memory and the programmable logic unit during the execution mode (see e.g. paragraph 30: “A scheduler within the operating system is then invoked 616 to determine when the FPGA library can be loaded to program the functional unit, and subsequently when the application can be executed 612”; paragraph 32: “a scheduler can consider whether other processes are using the FPGA, and whether programming the FPGA involves pausing those other processes (after their use of the FPGA has completed). As an example, the scheduler can wait until a process has become dormant, or has not been using the FPGA, to initiate programming the FPGA”; and paragraph 27).
With respect to claim 17, Nightingale teaches: The method as claimed in claim 12, wherein an application management module (see e.g. paragraph 26: “a scheduler”), which is executed by a management system (see e.g. paragraph 26: “operating system has a scheduler that determines which process has access to the FPGA resources at each scheduling quantum, i.e., time period, and when an FPGA functional unit will be programmed with a hardware library so that the functional unit is available to be used by that process”) contained in the platform and which is incorporated into a connection between the application database and the processor and the programmable logic unit, defines whether at least one of (i) the first and (ii) the at least one second module is stored in one of the program memory and the programmable logic unit during the execution mode (see e.g. paragraph 30: “A scheduler within the operating system is then invoked 616 to determine when the FPGA library can be loaded to program the functional unit, and subsequently when the application can be executed 612”; paragraph 32: “a scheduler can consider whether other processes are using the FPGA, and whether programming the FPGA involves pausing those other processes (after their use of the FPGA has completed). As an example, the scheduler can wait until a process has become dormant, or has not been using the FPGA, to initiate programming the FPGA”).
With respect to claim 18, Nightingale teaches: The method as claimed in claim 12, wherein the at least one second module loaded so as to be executable comprises a corresponding second processor program code for execution by the processor in the program memory (see e.g. paragraph 23: “running an application on the computer system causes one or more processes to be created, with each process being allocated to different resources over time”; paragraph 25: “another process can start using functional unit”), and a corresponding second logic program code for execution by the programmable logic unit in the programmable logic unit (see e.g. paragraph 24: “each functional unit is a resource that can be assigned to one or more processes, programmed by the operating system using a hardware library that implements an operation, and then used by the processes assigned to it to perform the operation”; and paragraph 30: “If there is conflict with other processes sharing this functional unit, then the FPGA library can be queued 614 for loading into the FPGA. A scheduler within the operating system is then invoked 616 to determine when the FPGA library can be loaded to program the functional unit, and subsequently when the application can be executed 612”).
With respect to claim 19, Nightingale teaches: The method as claimed in claim 12, wherein the predefined criterion comprises one of an exceedance of an operative limit value of the platform, reaching a predefined state for the first application program (see e.g. paragraph 26: “ factor to consider is whether processes can share a hardware library by sharing a functional unit”; and paragraph 30: “It is then determined 608 if the functional unit is being shared with other processes. If not, the FPGA library can be scheduled for loading 610 into this functional unit, after which the application can execute 612. If there is conflict with other processes sharing this functional unit, then the FPGA library can be queued 614 for loading into the FPGA”), triggering an alarm or a fault notification on the platform and reaching a predefined time.
With respect to claim 20, Nightingale teaches: The method as claimed in claim 12, wherein at least two application programs are executed dynamically (see e.g. paragraph 30: “The association between a functional unit and a process running an application can be made at… runtime. The association can be… dynamic”; and paragraph 30: “process executing the application. It is then determined 608 if the functional unit is being shared with other processes… If there is conflict with other processes sharing this functional unit”).
With respect to claims 24-25: Claims 24 and 25 are directed to a system configured to implement active functions corresponding to the method disclosed in claims 12 and 17, respectively; please see the rejections directed to claims 12 and 17 above which also cover the limitations recited in claims 24 and 25. Note that, Nightingale also discloses a system (see e.g. Fig. 1) configured to implement the method disclosed in claims 12 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nightingale.
With respect to claim 21, Nightingale teaches: The method as claimed in claim 20, wherein at least three application programs are executed dynamically (see e.g. paragraph 30: “The association between a functional unit and a process running an application can be made at… runtime. The association can be… dynamic”; and paragraph 30: “process executing the application. It is then determined 608 if the functional unit is being shared with other processes… If there is conflict with other processes sharing this functional unit”).
Nightingale discloses executing “other processes” dynamically which encompasses any number of additional processes for executing dynamically. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to realize at least three processes to execute dynamically. The motivation/suggestion would be to accommodate different number of processes for execution; thus improving the overall processing efficiency.
With respect to claim 22, Nightingale teaches: The method as claimed in claim 21, wherein at least five or at least ten application programs are executed dynamically (see e.g. paragraph 30: “The association between a functional unit and a process running an application can be made at… runtime. The association can be… dynamic”; and paragraph 30: “process executing the application. It is then determined 608 if the functional unit is being shared with other processes… If there is conflict with other processes sharing this functional unit”).
Nightingale discloses executing “other processes” dynamically which encompasses any number of additional processes for executing dynamically. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to realize at least five and/or at least ten processes to execute dynamically. The motivation/suggestion would be to accommodate different number of processes for execution; thus improving the overall processing efficiency.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nightingale in view of Espinosa et al. (US 2011/0107158 A1; hereinafter Espinosa).
With respect to claim 23, Nightingale teaches: The method as claimed in claim 12, … wherein the at least one first and at least one second program code are different (see e.g. Nightingale, paragraph 25: “use of multiple functional units at the same time by different processes… multiple functional units being used by different processes at the same time”).
Nightingale does not but Espinosa teaches:
wherein the first and the second application program are identical (see e.g. Espinosa, paragraph 36: “the same code, instructions or application is run on two identical components (i.e., the two Xilinx®, FPGAs)”); and
Nightingale and Espinosa are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing and distributing FPGA resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nightingale with the teachings of Espinosa. The motivation/suggestion would be to improve data analysis and possible error corrections associated with application program execution (see e.g. Espinosa, paragraph 36).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nightingale in view of Bernat et al. (US 2019/0065281 A1; hereinafter Bernat).
With respect to claim 26, Nightingale teaches: The method as claimed in claim 12,
Nightingale does not but Bernat teaches:
wherein said checking determines whether one of (i) the at least one first program code (see e.g. Bernat, Fig. 24A-B: “Application 2402”) should continue executing on the processor (see e.g. Bernat, Fig. 24A-B: “Compute Sled (1) 1602a”) or the at least one first program code should be migrated to the programmable logic unit (see e.g. Bernat, Fig. 24A-B: “Accelerator Sled (2) 1618b”), based on the runtime resource usage level (see e.g. Bernat, paragraph 86: “a phase detection logic unit 1610 of each compute sled 1602 collects telemetry data (e.g., top-down microarchitecture analysis method (TMAM) metrics) indicative of a resource usage and/or performance condition of the respective sleds as application workloads are being performed on the respective sleds”; paragraph 87: “phase detection logic unit 1610 is configured to determine whether a given application needs to be migrated to another CPU of the compute sled 1602 or the accelerator sled 1618 on which the application is presently being executed, or migrated to another CPU of a different compute sled 1602 or accelerator sled 1618”; paragraph 133: “auto-migration of an application… As illustratively shown in pre-migration FIG. 24A, an application 2402 is presently being executed by the high-performance CPU 1604 of the compute sled (1) 1602a… As illustratively shown in post-migration FIG. 24B, the application 2402 has been migrated to the low-performance CPU 1620 of the accelerator sled (2) 1618b”; and Fig. 21A, steps 2104-2120) or (ii) the at least one first program code should continue executing on the programmable logic unit or the at least one first program code should be migrated to the processor, based on the runtime resource usage level.
Nightingale and Bernat are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor: managing and distributing FPGA resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nightingale with the teachings of Bernat. The motivation/suggestion would be to optimize utilization of compute resources (see e.g. Bernat, paragraph 55); thus improving the overall processing efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In detail:
(i) Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to the limitations “the processor and programmable logic unit each support a programming mode in which configuration instructions are executed, and an execution mode in which application instructions are executed” recited in claim 12 (Remarks, pages 8-10), note that:
a. Nightingale discloses a CPU 308 (i.e. a processor) supporting a programming mode in which configuration instructions are executed. Specifically, Nightingale discloses an operating system 306 running on the CPU 308 that executes configuration instructions for programming an FPGA 310 (see e.g. paragraph 23: “An operating system executed on a computing device”; paragraph 15: “computing device 100 includes at least one processing unit 102, such as a typical central processing unit (CPU) of a general purpose computer”; paragraph 27: “System calls or standard library calls, normally executed in a general purpose CPU”; and paragraph 24: “each functional unit is a resource that can be assigned to one or more processes, programmed by the operating system using a hardware library… operating system 306 uses the hardware library to program the FPGA resources 31”and Fig. 3). As such, the CPU 308 supports the operating system 306 running a programming mode in which configuration instructions for configuring the FPGA 310 are executed.
b. Nightingale discloses the FPGA 310 (i.e. a programmable logic unit) supporting a programming mode in which configuration instructions are executed. Specifically, Nightingale discloses programming the FPGA 310 by assigning the FPGA’s functional units 200-206 to processes (see e.g. paragraph 4: “An FPGA can be programmed to perform functions… programming the FPGA in accordance with the functions to be performed by the processes using the FPGA” and paragraph 24: “one of the resources within the FPGA unit is one or more groups of programmable gates, herein called functional units… each functional unit is a resource that can be assigned to one or more processes, programmed by the operating system using a hardware library that implements an operation… The FPGA can be programmed”). As such, the FPGA 310 supports a programming mode in which configuration instructions for configuring the functional units of the FPGA are executed.
c. Nightingale discloses the CPU 308 supporting an execution mode in which application instructions are executed. Specifically, Nightingale discloses an application that makes calls to functions of software libraries 302 on the CPU 308 which are then executed on the CPU 308 (see paragraph 24: “The operating system 306 also executes software commands from the application 300 and software libraries 302 on the CPU 308… When the application makes calls to functions performed by a software library, the operating system executes the function from the software library on the CPU 308”). As such, the CPU 308 supports an execution mode in which application calls are executed.
d. Nightingale discloses the FPGA 310 supporting an execution mode in which application instructions are executed. Specifically, Nightingale discloses an application that makes calls to functions of hardware libraries 304 on the FPGA 310 which are then executed on the FPGA 310 (see paragraph 24: “an application 300 can use conventional software libraries 302, and FPGA hardware libraries 304, to perform various operations… When the application makes calls to functions performed by the FPGA, the operating system ensures that the FPGA is programmed using the hardware library and executes the function using the FPGA”). As such, the FPGA 310 supports an execution mode in which application calls are executed.
Consequently, Nightingale teaches the limitations “the processor and programmable logic unit each support a programming mode in which configuration instructions are executed, and an execution mode in which application instructions are executed” as recited in claim 12, and the Examiner maintains the corresponding rejections. For more details, please see the rejection directed to claim 12 above.
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shau et al. (US 2014/0024944 A1) discloses an FPGA board that implements B-mode processing, doppler mode processing, and calibration functions (see paragraph 36).
Contact Information
/UMUT ONAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194