DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgments
In the reply, filed on January 19, 2026, Applicant amended claims 1-5, 7-9, 12, and 14.
In the non-final rejection of October 22, 2025, Examiner objected to the Abstract. Applicant amended the Abstract. Objection is withdrawn.
Examiner objected to claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, 12, and 14. Applicant amended claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, 12, and 14. Objection is withdrawn.
Currently, claims 1-20 are under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 2, line 1, “first section” should be changed to “the first section”.
In regards to claim 5, line 5, “mixtures thereof” should be changed to “mixtures of at least two thereof”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In regards to claim 1, lines 3-8 recite: wherein the piezochromic material comprises a first section configured to exhibit a first piezochromic color change when exposed to the injection pressure at a first pressure value “less than 100 bar”, and a second section configured to exhibit a second piezochromic color change when exposed to the injection pressure at a second pressure value “less than 100 bar, the second pressure value being different from the first pressure value”; however, such is new matter not described in the Specification. Specification (page 19, lines 24-26, to column 20, line 1) instead recites: the piezochromic material of the intermediate layer section 15b1 exhibits a color change when exposed to a pressure “≥ 0.69 bar (≥ 10 psi)”, the piezochromic material of the intermediate layer section 15b2 exhibits a color change when exposed to a pressure “≥ 1.03 bar (≥ 15 psi)”. Claims 2-20 are rejected by virtue of being dependent upon claim 1.
In regards to claim 2, lines 1-3 recite: wherein first section of the piezochromic material exhibits the first piezochromic color change when exposed to the injection pressure at a pressure value “from 1 bar to 3 bar”; however, such is new matter not described in the Specification. Specification (page 19, lines 24-26) instead recites: the piezochromic material of the intermediate layer section 15b1 exhibits a color change when exposed to a pressure “≥ 0.69 bar (≥ 10 psi)”.
In regards to claim 3, lines 1-3 recite: wherein the piezochromic material exhibits the first piezochromic color change within less than one second after being exposed to the injection pressure at the first pressure value “less than 100 bar”; however, such is new matter not described in the Specification. Specification (page 19, lines 24-26) instead recites: the piezochromic material of the intermediate layer section 15b1 exhibits a color change when exposed to a pressure “≥ 0.69 bar (≥ 10 psi)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-10, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nussen et al (US 2019/0195398).
In regards to claim 1, Nussen et al teaches a medical device (Figure 1) for visually displaying an injection pressure of a fluid, the medical device comprising a fluid path (5) for the fluid and a piezochromic material, wherein the piezochromic material comprises a first section (17) configured to exhibit a first piezochromic color change when exposed to the injection pressure at a first pressure value less than 100 bar, and a second section (13) configured to exhibit a second piezochromic color change when exposed to the injection pressure at a second pressure value less than 100 bar, the second pressure value being different from the first pressure value (paragraph [0102] states “The type of colour change of the additive particles 17 preferably differs from the colour change of the additive contained in the coating 13. In any case, for this reason alone an exceeding of the temperature on the inner surface of the hose wall 3 can also differ from an exceeding of a temperature in the area of the reinforcing element 11, as the colour change caused by additive particles 17 is substantially to be observed over a large area of the coating 15 and not only in the area of the reinforcing element 11” from which it is understood that the first section 17 exhibits a color change when exposed to a temperature and the second section 13 exhibits a color change when exposed to a different temperature)(paragraph [0023] states “the additive is selected from the group consisting of thermochromic additives, piezochromic additives” from which it is understood that the first section 17 and the second section 13 can have piezochromic additives, instead of thermochromic additives described in Figure 1)(paragraph [0045] states “the wall of the hose line comprises a piezochromic additive. The term “piezochromic additive” here denotes additives, in particular pigments which, due to a change in their spatial extent, for example as a result of the effect of a mechanical pressure, change the colour impression generated by them… the piezochromic additive has a transition pressure of <0.3 bar, <0.4 bar, <0.5 bar, <1 bar, <2 bar, <5 bar or <10 bar” from which it is understood that the first section 17 exhibits a color change when exposed to a pressure and the second section 13 exhibits a color change when exposed to a different pressure).
In regards to claim 4, Nussen et al teaches wherein the piezochromic material comprises a matrix composed of at least one polymer and/or copolymer (paragraph [0009]), at least one liquid crystal (paragraph [0037]) and at least one optically active substance (paragraphs [0050][0069]), wherein the at least one optically active substance is distributed in the matrix (paragraph [0045]; claim 9).
In regards to claim 5, Nussen et al teaches wherein the at least one liquid crystal is cholesterol (paragraph [0037]).
In regards to claim 6, Nussen et al teaches wherein the at least one optically active substance is cholesteryl derivatives (paragraph [0050]).
In regards to claim 9, Nussen et al teaches wherein the piezochromic material is contained in a housing wall (3) of the medical device that surrounds the fluid path (paragraph [0045])(Figure 1).
In regards to claim 10, Nussen et al teaches wherein the housing wall comprises at least one multilayer wall section (3) (Figure 1), wherein an intermediate layer (13) of the at least one multilayer wall section comprises the piezochromic material or consists of the piezochromic material (paragraph [0045]: the wall of the hose line comprises a piezochromic additive)(Figure 1 shows a coating 13 in which thermochromic additive is contained; paragraph [0023] states: the additive is selected from the group consisting of thermochromic additives, piezochromic additives; and thus, it is understood that the piezochromic additive is interchangeable with the thermochromic additive in the coating 13 of Figure 1).
In regards to claim 13, Nussen et al teaches wherein the at least one multilayer wall section also comprises an outer layer (7) which covers the intermediate layer on a side facing away from the fluid path and which comprises a transparent material or consists of the transparent material (paragraph [0100]): helically wound extruded profiled rim made of transparent thermoplastic material).
In regards to claim 14, Nussen et al teaches wherein the transparent material is polyurethane (paragraph [0009]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nussen et al, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mills et al (US 2013/0130399).
In regards to claim 2, while Nussen et al teaches wherein first section of the piezochromic material exhibits the first piezochromic color change when exposed to the injection pressure at a pressure value of <2 bar (paragraph [0045]), Nussen et al does not specifically teach wherein first section of the piezochromic material exhibits the first piezochromic color change when exposed to the injection pressure at a pressure value from 1 bar to 3 bar. Mills et al teaches a medical device (Figure 4), wherein first section of a piezochromic material exhibits a first piezochromic color change when exposed to an injection pressure at a pressure value from 1 bar to 3 bar (paragraph [0117]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify first section of the piezochromic material, of the device of Nussen et al, to exhibit the first piezochromic color change when exposed to the injection pressure at a pressure value of from 1 bar to 3 bar, as taught by Mills et al, as such will allow for monitoring of relatively high carbon dioxide pressure environments, wherein simple, reliable, and cost effective detection of carbon dioxide is of particular significance due to its widespread use in a variety of fields and applications (paragraphs [0004][0008][0011]) wherein it is well-known that carbon dioxide has negative health effects at high concentrations.
Claims 3, 7-8, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nussen et al, as applied to claims 1, 4, and 10 above, and further in view of Seeboth et al (WO 2011/012315).
In regards to claim 3, Nussen et al is silent about wherein the piezochromic material exhibits the first piezochromic color change less than one second after being exposed to the injection pressure at the first pressure value less than 100 bar. Seeboth et al teaches a medical device, wherein a piezochromic material exhibits a first piezochromic color change less than one second after being exposed to the injection pressure at the first pressure value less than 100 bar (The result is a 30 μm thick piezochromic layer receive. At a pressure increase of 0.8 bar, it changes color from red to blue in less than a second). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the piezochromic material, of the device of Nussen et al, to exhibit the first piezochromic color change less than one second after being exposed to the injection pressure at the first pressure value less than 100 bar, as taught by Seeboth et al, as such will provide a clear optical signal to the human eye and which is mechanically deformable, so that an application in medical technology as a visual pressure sensor for prostheses, dialysis machines, decubitus prophylaxis or compression dressings is possible (provides a clear optical signal to the human eye and which is mechanically deformable, so that an application in the above areas is possible)(in medical technology as a visual pressure sensor for prostheses, dialysis machines, decubitus prophylaxis or compression dressings).
In regards to claim 7, Nussen et al does not teach wherein the at least one polymer and/or copolymer is a poly(meth)acrylate or a copoly(meth)acrylate that has been synthesized from at least one monofunctional monomer and/or at least one multifunctional crosslinker, as Nussen et al instead teaches wherein the at least one polymer and/or copolymer is silicones or thermoplastic elastomers based on urethane (TPU), i.e. polyurethane (PU), such as e.g. polyether polyurethane and polyester polyurethane, polyvinyl chloride (PVC) or polyethylene (PE), thermoplastic vulcanizates (TPV), such as Santroprene, thermoplastic elastomers, such as: TPA (thermoplastic copolyamides), TPC (thermoplastic polyester elastomers/thermoplastic copolyesters), TPO (thermoplastic elastomers based on olefin), e.g. PP/EPDM, TPS (styrene block copolymers, e.g. SBS, SEBS, SEPS, SEEPS and MBS) (paragraphs [0009][0010][0011][0012][0013]. Seeboth et al teaches a medical device, wherein at least one polymer and/or copolymer is a poly(meth)acrylate or a copoly(meth)acrylate that has been synthesized from at least one monofunctional monomer and/or at least one multifunctional crosslinker (Preferred polymers or copolymers are included Poly (meth) acrylates and / or copoly (meth) acrylates. The abovementioned copoly (meth) acrylates are preferably composed of at least one monofunctional monomer and / or at least one polyfunctional one Crosslinker built). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one polymer and/or copolymer, of the device of Nussen et al, to be a poly(meth)acrylate or a copoly(meth)acrylate that has been synthesized from at least one monofunctional monomer and/or at least one multifunctional crosslinker, as taught by Seeboth et al, as such will provide a piezochromic material providing a clear optical signal to the human eye and which is mechanically deformable, so that an application in medical technology as a visual pressure sensor for prostheses, dialysis machines, decubitus prophylaxis or compression dressings is possible (piezochromic material, which at low pressure - below 50 bar - provides a clear optical signal to the human eye and which is mechanically deformable, so that an application in the above areas is possible)(in medical technology as a visual pressure sensor for prostheses, dialysis machines, decubitus prophylaxis or compression dressings).
In regards to claim 8, in the modified device of Nussen et al and Seeboth et al, Nussen et al does not teach wherein the at least one multifunctional monomer is selected from the group consisting of benzyl (meth)acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl (meth)acrylate, methoxyethyl (meth)acrylate, octadecyl (meth)acrylate and mixtures of at least two thereof and/or the at least one multifunctional crosslinker is selected from the group consisting of 1,4-butanediol di(meth)acrylate, polyethylene glycol diacrylate, polyethylene glycol di(meth)acrylate, 1,10-decanediol di(meth)acrylate, bisphenol A glycerolate (1 glycerol/phenol) diacrylate and mixtures of at least two thereof. Seeboth et al teaches wherein the at least one multifunctional monomer is selected from the group consisting of benzyl (meth)acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl (meth)acrylate, methoxyethyl (meth)acrylate, octadecyl (meth)acrylate and mixtures of at least two thereof (the monomer selected from the group consisting of benzyl (meth) acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl (meth) acrylate, methoxyethyl (meth) acrylate, octadecyl (meth) acrylate and / or mixtures thereof) and/or the at least one multifunctional crosslinker is selected from the group consisting of 1,4-butanediol di(meth)acrylate, polyethylene glycol diacrylate, polyethylene glycol di(meth)acrylate, 1,10-decanediol di(meth)acrylate, bisphenol A glycerolate (1 glycerol/phenol) diacrylate and mixtures of at least two thereof (crosslinkers are selected from the group consisting of 1,4-butanediol di (meth) acrylate, polyethylene glycol di (meth) acrylate, 1,10-decanediol di (meth) acrylate, bisphenol A glycerolate (1-glycerol) phenoldiarcrylate and / or mixtures). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device, of Nussen et al and Seeboth et al, wherein the at least one multifunctional monomer is selected from the group consisting of benzyl (meth)acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl (meth)acrylate, methoxyethyl (meth)acrylate, octadecyl (meth)acrylate and mixtures of at least two thereof and/or the at least one multifunctional crosslinker is selected from the group consisting of 1,4-butanediol di(meth)acrylate, polyethylene glycol diacrylate, polyethylene glycol di(meth)acrylate, 1,10-decanediol di(meth)acrylate, bisphenol A glycerolate (1 glycerol/phenol) diacrylate and mixtures of at least two thereof, as taught by Seeboth et al, as such will provide a piezochromic material providing a clear optical signal to the human eye and which is mechanically deformable, so that an application in medical technology as a visual pressure sensor for prostheses, dialysis machines, decubitus prophylaxis or compression dressings is possible (piezochromic material, which at low pressure - below 50 bar - provides a clear optical signal to the human eye and which is mechanically deformable, so that an application in the above areas is possible)(in medical technology as a visual pressure sensor for prostheses, dialysis machines, decubitus prophylaxis or compression dressings).
In regards to claim 11, Nussen et al wherein the at least one multilayer wall section also comprises an inner layer (15) which covers the intermediate layer on a side facing the fluid path (Figure 1); however, Nussen et al is silent about wherein the inner layer comprises a biocompatible material or consists of the biocompatible material. Seeboth et al teaches a medical device, wherein at least one multilayer wall section (The piezochromic material thickens with a layer thickness of 25 μm between two 15 μm each Polypropylene films coated with polyamide) also comprises an inner layer (inner one of two 15 μm each Polypropylene films) which covers the intermediate layer and which comprises a biocompatible material or consists of the biocompatible material (Polypropylene). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner layer, of the device of Nussen et al, to comprise a biocompatible material or consist of the biocompatible material, as taught by Seeboth et al, as such will provide protection to the inner surface of the intermediate layer having the piezochromic material (The piezochromic material thickens with a layer thickness of 25 μm between two 15 μm each Polypropylene films coated with polyamide).
In regards to claim 12, in the modified device of Nussen et al and Seeboth et al, Nussen et al does not teach wherein the biocompatible material is selected from the group consisting of polyethylene terephthalate, polyetheretherketone, polypropylene, polyphenylsulfone, polyoxymethylene and mixtures of at least two thereof. Seeboth et al teaches wherein the biocompatible material is polypropylene (Polypropylene). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the biocompatible material, of the modified device of Nussen et al and Seeboth et al, to be polypropylene, as taught by Seeboth et al, as such will provide protection to the inner surface of the intermediate layer having the piezochromic material (The piezochromic material thickens with a layer thickness of 25 μm between two 15 μm each Polypropylene films coated with polyamide).
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nussen et al, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Fisk (US 2014/0069202).
In regards to claim 15, Nussen et al does not teach wherein the housing wall is a wall of a syringe body of the medical device, as Nussen et al instead teaches wherein the housing wall is a wall (3) of a hose line of the medical device (Abstract). Fisk teaches a medical device (Figure 4) wherein a housing wall is a wall of a syringe body (250) of the medical device. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing wall, of the device of Nussen et al, to be a wall of a syringe body, as taught by Fisk, as such will allow for injection of a single dose of a drug into a subject or apparatus (paragraphs [0061][0135]).
In regards to claim 16, Nussen et al does not teach wherein the housing wall is a lateral wall of a syringe body of the medical device, as Nussen et al instead teaches wherein the housing wall is a wall (3) of a hose line of the medical device (Abstract). Fisk teaches a medical device (Figure 4) wherein a housing wall is a lateral wall of a syringe body (250) of the medical device. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing wall, of the device of Nussen et al, to be a lateral wall of a syringe body, as taught by Fisk, as such will allow for injection of a single dose of a drug into a subject or apparatus (paragraphs [0061][0135]).
In regards to claim 17, Nussen et al does not teach wherein the housing wall is an end wall of a syringe body of the medical device, as Nussen et al instead teaches wherein the housing wall is a wall (3) of a hose line of the medical device (Abstract). Fisk teaches a medical device (Figure 4) wherein a housing wall is an end wall of a syringe body (250) of the medical device. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing wall, of the device of Nussen et al, to be an end wall of a syringe body, as taught by Fisk, as such will allow for injection of a single dose of a drug into a subject or apparatus (paragraphs [0061][0135]).
In regards to claim 18, Nussen et al does not teach wherein the housing wall is a wall of an outlet nozzle of a syringe body of the medical device, as Nussen et al instead teaches wherein the housing wall is a wall (3) of a hose line of the medical device (Abstract). Fisk teaches a medical device (Figure 4) wherein a housing wall is a wall of an outlet nozzle (260) of a syringe body (250) of the medical device. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing wall, of the device of Nussen et al, to be a wall of an outlet nozzle of a syringe body, as taught by Fisk, as such will allow for injection of a single dose of a drug into a subject or apparatus (paragraphs [0061][0135]).
In regards to claim 19, in the modified device of Nussen et al and Fisk, Nussen et al does not teach wherein the outlet nozzle comprises a branch having a closed end, wherein the piezochromic material is contained in the closed end. Fisk teaches wherein the outlet nozzle comprises a branch (260) having a closed end (260 closed by 262/264), wherein the piezochromic material is contained in the closed end (paragraph [0136]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outlet nozzle, of the modified device of Nussen et al and Fisk, to comprise a branch having a closed end, wherein the piezochromic material is contained in the closed end, as taught by Fisk, as such will allow for injection of a single dose of a drug into a subject or apparatus (paragraphs [0061][0135]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nussen et al, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tkebuchava et al (US 2018/0304023).
In regards to claim 20, Nussen et al does not teach wherein the piezochromic material is contained in a stopper of a syringe plunger of the medical device, as Nussen et al instead teaches wherein the piezochromic material is contained in a hose line of the medical device (paragraph [0045]). Tkebuchava et al teaches a medical device (Figures 2A-3) wherein a piezochromic material is contained in a stopper (106) of a syringe plunger (102) of the medical device (Abstract)(Figures 2A-2C). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the piezochromic material, of the device of Nussen et al, to be contained in a stopper of a syringe plunger, as taught by Tkebuchava et al, as such will allow for injecting live cells and/or non-cell containing materials under controlled pressure into sensitive target tissues (paragraph [0002]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 19, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
In regards to claim 1, Applicant argued: Nussen teaches a hose line 1 having a piezochromic additive that changes color due to a change in mechanical pressure. See, e.g., Nussen at 0045. The color change is used to determine when the hose line has exceeded a predetermined deformation or pressure. Id. However, Nussen does not suggest that the piezochromic material can have multiple sections that exhibit color changes at different pressures. Thus, Nussen does not teach or suggest every element of claim 1 (Remarks/Arguments, pages 8). Examiner disagrees. Nussen et al teaches wherein the piezochromic material comprises a first section (17) configured to exhibit a first piezochromic color change when exposed to the injection pressure at a first pressure value less than 100 bar, and a second section (13) configured to exhibit a second piezochromic color change when exposed to the injection pressure at a second pressure value less than 100 bar, the second pressure value being different from the first pressure value (paragraph [0102] states “The type of colour change of the additive particles 17 preferably differs from the colour change of the additive contained in the coating 13. In any case, for this reason alone an exceeding of the temperature on the inner surface of the hose wall 3 can also differ from an exceeding of a temperature in the area of the reinforcing element 11, as the colour change caused by additive particles 17 is substantially to be observed over a large area of the coating 15 and not only in the area of the reinforcing element 11” from which it is understood that the first section 17 exhibits a color change when exposed to a temperature and the second section 13 exhibits a color change when exposed to a different temperature)(paragraph [0023] states “the additive is selected from the group consisting of thermochromic additives, piezochromic additives” from which it is understood that the first section 17 and the second section 13 can have piezochromic additives, instead of thermochromic additives described in Figure 1)(paragraph [0045] states “the wall of the hose line comprises a piezochromic additive. The term “piezochromic additive” here denotes additives, in particular pigments which, due to a change in their spatial extent, for example as a result of the effect of a mechanical pressure, change the colour impression generated by them… the piezochromic additive has a transition pressure of <0.3 bar, <0.4 bar, <0.5 bar, <1 bar, <2 bar, <5 bar or <10 bar” from which it is understood that the first section 17 exhibits a color change when exposed to a pressure and the second section 13 exhibits a color change when exposed to a different pressure).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHEFALI D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783