DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 01/22/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsunori (WO2018221670A1) and in view of Nishijima (US6534214B1) as cited in the IDS filed 02/23/2023.
Regarding claim 1, Katsunori discloses a lithium ion secondary battery [0011, Katsunori] comprising; a positive electrode mixture layer (10) [0030, fig. 2, Katsunori]; a negative electrode mixture layer (11) [0030, fig. 2, Katsunori]; and an electrolyte layer (7, “separation membrane”) between the positive electrode mixture layer and the negative electrode mixture layer [0030, fig. 2, Katsunori], wherein the positive electrode mixture layer comprises a positive electrode active material [0033-0034, Katsunori], a first lithium salt [0087, 0094, 0121, Katsunori], and a first solvent [0121, Katsunori], wherein the negative electrode mixture layer comprises a negative electrode active material [0048, Katsunori], a second lithium salt [0087, 0094, 0123, Katsunori], and a second solvent [0123, Katsunori]; wherein the separation membrane comprises a polymer having lithium ion conductivity [0055, 0068-0070, Katsunori], a third lithium salt [0087, 0094-0095, Katsunori], and a third solvents [0095-0113, Katsunori], and wherein the separation membrane comprises the third solvent is in an amount of 40% by weight or less [0113, Katsunori teaches that the content of the solvent may be 40% by mass or less as a matter of improving conductivity. This anticipates the applicant’s claimed range].
Katsunori is silent to the second solvent being different than the first solvent.
However, Nishijima teaches of a lithium secondary battery with a positive electrode containing a first electrolyte, a negative electrode containing a second electrolyte, and a third electrolyte in between the two [abstract, Nishijima]. Nishijima notes that one should use a solvent with the positive electrode which is not easily oxidized by the positive electrode [col 3 line 55-60, Nishijima]. Additionally, for the negative electrode one should use a solvent which is not easily reduced by the negative electrode [col 3 line 60-65, Nishijima]. Furthermore, Nishijima notes that the third solvent disposed between the first two should be one of high lithium-ion conductivity [col 3 line 65 – col 4 line 2, Nishijima]. Finally, for the three electrolytes one may use a lithium salt as the solute [col 4 line 6-12, Nishijima].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Katsunori such that different solvents were used with the positive and negative electrode, specifically the solvent for the positive electrode should be one that does not readily oxidize and the solvent for the negative electrode should be one that does not readily reduce. Doing so prevents degradation of the solvent used in the electrolyte [col 3 line 55-65 and col 6 line 57- col 7 line 2, Nishijima].
Regarding claim 2, modified Katsunori discloses the lithium ion secondary battery, wherein the separation membrane comprises the third solvent is in an amount of 35% by weight or less [0113, Katsunori].
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 3, modified Katsunori discloses the lithium ion secondary battery, wherein the third solvent is an ionic liquid [0101, 0112, 0150, Katsunori].
Regarding claim 4 and 17, modified Katsunori discloses the lithium ion secondary battery, wherein the separation membrane further comprises inorganic oxide particles [0055, 0072, Katsunori].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20200144609A1 (Takuya).
/QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724