Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 12/8/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Liu et al. (US 2018/0161783).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a method comprising a slurrying step of adding water to a mixture of ore to form a slurry and a flotation step of adding a flotation reagent containing a collector, wherein the collector is ethyl octyl sulfide, which has the formula claimed (claims 1 and 9, [0011], and [0068]). Lie also teaches that the ore can be a mixture of a copper mineral (arsenic free copper mineral) and enargite (arsenic containing copper mineral) ([0048]).
It is noted that it could be argued that the generic copper mineral listed in Liu [0048] does not lead to anticipation of arsenic free copper minerals. It is Examiner’s position that one skilled in the art would immediately recognize that some of the most common copper minerals on earth are listed as the same arsenic free copper minerals recited by Applicant (see [0018] and claim 6). As such, one skilled in the art would have found the generic copper minerals in Liu to anticipate the listed arsenic free copper minerals, or it would have been obvious to include the listed arsenic free copper minerals as part of the generic copper minerals in Liu as the listed copper minerals are well known and common copper minerals.
It is also noted that the two types of copper minerals listed are part of a list that could be part of an ore mixture and one could argue that Liu fails to teach the combination claimed with sufficient specificity to warrant an anticipation rejection. However, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to apply the method to the ore mixture as claimed as it is merely a combination of known copper based ore minerals which are taught to be treated via the Liu method with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches that R1 is a linear alkyl group (octyl).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches that R2 is an ethyl group.
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches that the process can include a pH adjustment step via pH adjusting reagents ([0074]).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches that the process is applied to enargite ([0048]).
Regarding claim 6, as discussed above, one skilled in the art would immediately understand that examples the copper mineral in Liu would include common copper minerals, such as chalcopyrite, bornite, covellite, and chalcocite.
Conclusion
/PETER KEYWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777