DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-33 arerejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garde (EP 3028540 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Garde discloses
A cooktop apparatus (hob device 10a, fig.2), comprising:
a first heating frequency unit (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) having first inverter [Par.0043 cited: “inverter”];
a second heating frequency unit (heating frequency unit 38a, fig.2) having second inverter [Par.0043 cited: “inverter”];
a set of first heating units (heating elements 16a, 18a, fig.2);
a set of second heating units (heating elements 24a, 26a, fig.2);
a set of third heating units (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a, fig.2); and
a switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a, fig.2) configured to electrically allocate the set of first heating units (heating elements 16a, 18a,) to the first heating frequency unit (heating frequency unit 34a), to electrically allocate the set of second heating units (heating elements 24a, 26a) to the second heating frequency unit (heating frequency unit 38a), and to electrically allocate the set of third heating units (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a) to at least one of the first (heating frequency unit 34a) and second heating frequency units (heating frequency unit 38a) [Spec cited: “…switching element is connected in series with at least one of the heating elements and is particularly advantageously provided for being charged by at least one of the heating frequency units via the heating element, in particular if the one of the heating elements is connected to the heating element …”];
wherein each of the sets of the first (heating elements 16a, 18a), second (heating elements 24a, 26a) and third (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a) heating units are, by means of the switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a), assignable to the first inverter (inverter) to the second inverter (inverter) of the first (heating elements 16a, 18a) and second heating frequency units (heating elements 24a, 26a) [Par.0043 cited: “…heating frequency units 32a, 34a, 36a, 38a are provided in each case for the supply of two heating elements 12a, 14a, 16a, 18a, 20a, 22a, 24a, 26a, 28a arranged side by side. Each heating frequency unit 32a, 34a, 36a, 38a is assigned in each case two of the heating elements 12a, 14a, 16a, 18a, 20a, 22a, 24a, 26a. Each heating frequency unit 32a, 34a, 36a, 38a comprises an inverter…”].
However, Garde does not disclose a plurality of first inverters and a plurality of second inverters.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace a first inverter and a second inverter of Garde, by including a plurality of first inverters and a plurality of second inverters, as it well known in the art of duplication in parts, in order to supply an activation voltage to one or more of the heating coils (Par.0006, Garde).
Regarding claim 17, Garde discloses
constructed in a form of an induction cooktop apparatus [Spec cited: “…hob device, namely an induction hob device …”].
Regarding claim 18, Garde discloses
the switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a, fig.2) is configured to electrically allocate the set of third heating units (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a, fig.2) to the first heating frequency unit (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) and to the second heating frequency unit (heating frequency unit 38a, fig.2).
Regarding claim 19, Garde discloses
the switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a, fig.2) is configured to electrically allocate the set of third heating units (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a, fig.2) to at least two inverters (rectifier unit 66a, 68a, fig.2) of one of the first (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) and second heating frequency units (heating frequency unit 38a, fig.2).
Regarding claim 20, Garde discloses
the switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a, fig.2) is configured to electrically allocate the set of third heating units (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a, fig.2) to the first (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) and second heating frequency units (heating frequency unit 38a, fig.2).
Regarding claim 21, Garde discloses
the set of third heating units (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a, fig.2) comprises at least two third heating units, said switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a, fig.2) configured to electrically allocate the at least two third heating units simultaneously to different ones of the first (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) and second heating frequency units (heating frequency unit 38a, fig.2).
Regarding claim 22, Garde discloses
the switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a, fig.2) is configured to electrically allocate the set of third heating units (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a, fig.2) with at least one of the set of first heating units (heating elements 16a, 18a, fig.2) and the set of second heating units (heating elements 24a, 26a, fig.2) to a common inverter (inverter) of one of the first (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) and second heating frequency units (heating frequency unit 38a, fig.2).
Regarding claim 23, Garde discloses
the switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a, fig.2) is configured to electrically allocate the set of third heating units (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a, fig.2) with the set of first heating units (heating elements 16a, 18a, fig.2) to a common inverter (inverter) of one of the first (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) and second heating frequency units (heating frequency unit 38a, fig.2) and simultaneously to electrically allocate the set of second heating units (heating elements 24a, 26a, fig.2) to a common inverter (inverter) of one of the first (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) and second heating frequency units (heating frequency unit 38a, fig.2).
Regarding claim 24, Garde discloses
the switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a, fig.2) includes a parallel switching unit configured to connect inverter (inverter) of one of the first (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) and second heating frequency units (heating frequency unit 38a, fig.2) in parallel, at least one of the set of first heating units (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) and the set of second heating units (heating elements 24a, 26a, fig.2) including a plurality of heating units, said switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a) configured to electrically allocate the plurality of heating units simultaneously to inverter (inverter) of one of the first (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) and second heating frequency units (heating frequency unit 38a, fig.2).
Regarding claim 25, Garde discloses
the switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a, fig.2) is configured to electrically allocate the sets of first (heating elements 16a, 18a, fig.2), second (heating elements 24a, 26a, fig.2) and third heating units (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a, fig.2) to different inverters (inverter) of the first (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) and second heating frequency units (heating frequency unit 38a, fig.2).
Regarding claim 26, Garde discloses
the sets of first (heating elements 16a, 18a, fig.2), second (heating elements 24a, 26a, fig.2) and third heating units (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a, fig.2) comprise at least two heating units, said switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a, fig.2) configured to allocate the at least two heating units to different inverters of one of the first (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) and second heating frequency units (heating frequency unit 38a, fig.2).
Regarding claim 27, Garde discloses
at least one of the set of first heating units (heating elements 16a, 18a, fig.2) and the set of second heating units (heating elements 24a, 26a, fig.2) includes at least two outer heating units and at least two inner heating units that are arranged within the outer heating units, said switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a, fig.2) configured to allocate the at least two inner heating units and the at least two outer heating units simultaneously to different inverters (inverter) of one of the first (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) and second heating frequency units (heating frequency unit 38a, fig.2).
Regarding claim 28, Garde discloses
a third heating frequency unit (heating frequency unit 36a, fig.2), a set of fourth heating units (heating elements 20a, 22a, fig.2), said switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a, fig.2) configured to electrically allocate the set of fourth heating units (heating elements 20a, 22a) to the third heating frequency unit (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a, fig.2).
However, Garde does not disclose a set of fifth heating units.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a cooktop apparatus, by including a set of fifth heating units, as it well known in the art of manufacturing design of duplication in part, in order to electrically allocate the set of fifth heating units to at least one of the second heating frequency unit and the third heating frequency unit.
Regarding claim 29, Garde discloses
the set of third heating units (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a, fig.2) is arranged spatially between the set of first heating units (heating elements 16a, 18a, fig.2) and the set of second heating units (heating elements 24a, 26a, fig.2).
Regarding claim 30, Garde discloses
A cooktop (hob device 10a, fig.2), comprising a cooktop apparatus, said cooktop apparatus (hob device 10a) comprising:
a first heating frequency unit (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) having first inverter [Par.0043 cited: “inverter”];
a second heating frequency unit (heating frequency unit 38a, fig.2) having second inverter [Par.0043 cited: “inverter”];
a set of first heating units (heating elements 16a, 18a, fig.2);
a set of second heating units (heating elements 24a, 26a, fig.2);
a set of third heating units (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a, fig.2); and
a switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a, fig.2) configured to electrically allocate the set of first heating units (heating elements 16a, 18a,) to the first heating frequency unit (heating frequency unit 34a), to electrically allocate the set of second heating units (heating elements 24a, 26a) to the second heating frequency unit (heating frequency unit 38a), and to electrically allocate the set of third heating units (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a) to at least one of the first (heating frequency unit 34a) and second heating frequency units (heating frequency unit 38a) [Spec cited: “…switching element is connected in series with at least one of the heating elements and is particularly advantageously provided for being charged by at least one of the heating frequency units via the heating element, in particular if the one of the heating elements is connected to the heating element …”];
wherein each of the sets of the first (heating elements 16a, 18a), second (heating elements 24a, 26a) and third (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a) heating units are, by means of the switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a), assignable to the first inverters to the second inverters of the first (heating elements 16a, 18a) and second heating frequency units (heating elements 24a, 26a) [Par.0043 cited: “…heating frequency units 32a, 34a, 36a, 38a are provided in each case for the supply of two heating elements 12a, 14a, 16a, 18a, 20a, 22a, 24a, 26a, 28a arranged side by side. Each heating frequency unit 32a, 34a, 36a, 38a is assigned in each case two of the heating elements 12a, 14a, 16a, 18a, 20a, 22a, 24a, 26a. Each heating frequency unit 32a, 34a, 36a, 38a comprises an inverter…”].
However, Garde does not disclose a plurality of first inverters and a plurality of second inverters.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace a first inverter and a second inverter of Garde, by including a plurality of first inverters and a plurality of second inverters, as it well known in the art of duplication in parts, in order to supply an activation voltage to one or more of the heating coils (Par.0006, Garde).
Regarding claim 31, Garde discloses
constructed in a form of an induction cooktop apparatus [Spec cited: “…hob device, namely an induction hob device …”].
Regarding claim 32, Garde discloses
A method for operating a cooktop apparatus (hob device 10a, fig.2) comprising a first heating frequency unit (heating frequency unit 34a, fig.2) having first inverter [Par.0043 cited: “inverter”] and a second heating frequency unit (heating frequency unit 38a, fig.2) having second inverter [Par.0043 cited: “inverter”], and a switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a, fig.2), the method comprising:
electrically allocating a set of first heating units (heating elements 16a, 18a, fig.2) of the cooktop apparatus (hob device 10a) to the first heating frequency unit (heating frequency unit 34a);
electrically allocating a set of second heating units (heating elements 24a, 26a, fig.2) of the cooktop apparatus (hob device 10a) to the second heating frequency unit (heating frequency unit 38a); and
electrically allocating a set of third heating units (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a, fig.2) to one of the first (heating frequency unit 34a) and second heating frequency units (heating frequency unit 38a),
wherein each of the sets of the first (heating elements 16a, 18a), second (heating elements 24a, 26a) and third (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a) heating units are, by means of the switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a), selectively assigned to first inverter (inverter) to the second inverter (inverter) of the first (heating elements 16a, 18a) and second heating frequency units (heating elements 24a, 26a) [Par.0043 cited: “…heating frequency units 32a, 34a, 36a, 38a are provided in each case for the supply of two heating elements 12a, 14a, 16a, 18a, 20a, 22a, 24a, 26a, 28a arranged side by side. Each heating frequency unit 32a, 34a, 36a, 38a is assigned in each case two of the heating elements 12a, 14a, 16a, 18a, 20a, 22a, 24a, 26a. Each heating frequency unit 32a, 34a, 36a, 38a comprises an inverter…”].
However, Garde does not disclose a plurality of first inverters and a plurality of second inverters.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace a first inverter and a second inverter of Garde,, by including a plurality of first inverters and a plurality of second inverters, as it well known in the art of duplication in parts, in order to supply an activation voltage to one or more of the heating coils (Par.0006, Garde).
Regarding claim 33, Garde discloses
operating an induction cooktop apparatus [Spec cited: “…hob device, namely an induction hob device …”].
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 16-33, filed on 04/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as the following reasons:
The applicants argue: “…Garde does not disclose "wherein each of the sets of the first, second and third heating units are, by means of the switching arrangement, selectively assigned to different ones of the first inverters and to different ones of the second inverters of the first and second heating frequency units" as recited in claim 16 and similarly recited in independent claims 30 and 32 of the present application…”, Remark Page 8.
The examiner’s response: the applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the Garde reference discloses in Fig.2 and Par.0043, each of the sets of the first (heating elements 16a, 18a), second (heating elements 24a, 26a) and third (heating elements 12a, 14a, 28a) heating units are, by means of the switching arrangement (circuit arrangement 40a), assignable to the first inverter (inverter) to the second inverter (inverter) of the first (heating elements 16a, 18a) and second heating frequency units (heating elements 24a, 26a). See Par.0043 cited: “…heating frequency units 32a, 34a, 36a, 38a are provided in each case for the supply of two heating elements 12a, 14a, 16a, 18a, 20a, 22a, 24a, 26a, 28a arranged side by side. Each heating frequency unit 32a, 34a, 36a, 38a is assigned in each case two of the heating elements 12a, 14a, 16a, 18a, 20a, 22a, 24a, 26a. Each heating frequency unit 32a, 34a, 36a, 38a comprises an inverter…”. but prior art does not disclose a plurality of first inverters and a plurality of second inverters. However, it would have been obvious to replace a first inverter and a second inverter of Garde, by including a plurality of first inverters and a plurality of second inverters, as it well known in the art of duplication in parts, in order to supply an activation voltage to one or more of the heating coils (Par.0006, Garde).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
04/23/2026