DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the releasable locking mechanism (claim 8), seal (claim 9), and sensors (claims 12-13) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-18, in the reply filed on 11/04/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 19-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 and 14-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein in an interconnected configuration the micro data center module, first module and second module are interconnected via a releasable locking mechanism”, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the first module and second module are the same as in claim 1 or different.
For the purposes of examination below, Examiner has interpreted claim 8 as reading:
“wherein in an interconnected configuration the micro data center module, the first module, and the second module are interconnected via a releasable locking mechanism.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schmitt (US 20120302150 A1). Reference cited on IDS.
As to claim 1, Schmidt discloses: An interconnectable micro data center module 10 (Fig. 8A; see Fig. 4-8B) comprising:
walls (of 11, 20; Fig. 8A) that define an internal area adapted to receive server hardware apparatus (par. 0038);
a first surface (upper surface of 11, 20; Fig. 8A) adapted for interconnection with a first module 12 (11 and 12 are stacked – physically interconnected, airflow interconnected through vents 46; Fig. 8A; additionally interconnected by data – see Fig. 7; par. 0036-0037 describe data interconnection/power and cooling control in response to internal sensors 75);
interconnectable transmission means 52 (connection panel; par. 0033; Fig. 5A; see also par. 0030, 0038-0039; see also operation of environmental controller 70, which controls power and cooling in par. 0036-0039) to facilitate power and data flow between the micro data center module and the first module; and
a sensor device 54, 70, 74 (Fig. 5A, 7) capable of determining when the micro data center module is interconnected with the first module (54 outputs the status of equipment within 12; 70 controls cooling and power via internal sensors 75, can also sense interconnection by airflow/temperature exchange through vents 46 in Fig. 8; see also claims 17-20 “the infrastructure equipment operable to support operation of the information handling systems” – if they are not interconnected, the infrastructure equipment 12 will not function to support operation of the information handling systems 22 located in 11).
Regarding the preamble term, “micro”, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation”); Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d at 152, 88 USPQ2d at 480-81.
Further, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
In the instant case, “micro” does not establish any specific size limitation and is interpreted as merely indicating the intended use of providing a datacenter module that is smaller than some data centers and/or data center modules, and the structure of Schmidt is capable of performing the intended use.
As to claim 2, Schmidt discloses:
further comprising a first opening 46 (vents; Fig. 8A) to enable air flow from a cooling system to circulate through the internal area of the micro data center module.
As to claim 3, Schmidt discloses:
wherein the first opening is located on the first surface (upper surface of 11, 20) of the micro data center module.
As to claim 4, Schmidt discloses:
wherein the first module 12 is a base module containing:
a power supply (UPS; par. 0039) configured to supply power to the micro data center module via the interconnectable transmission means; and
the cooling system (par. 0039) configured to cool the internal area of the micro data center module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitt (US 20120302150 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Slessman (US 20150028617 A1).
As to claim 5, Schmidt does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising a second surface adapted for interconnection with a second module.
However, Slessman discloses:
a second surface (end surfaces of 25; Fig. 1B-1C) adapted for interconnection with a second module 25;
in order to maximize facility space (par. 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Schmidt as suggested by Slessman, e.g., providing:
further comprising a second surface adapted for interconnection with a second module;
in order to maximize facility space.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 6, Schmidt in view of Slessman discloses:
wherein the second module 25 (Slessman) is an expansion module defining an additional internal area adapted to receive an additional server hardware apparatus (can house servers; par 0038, 0040; Slessman).
As to claim 7, Schmidt in view of Slessman discloses:
wherein the second surface comprises a removeable panel 30 (door; Fig 1C; par. 0038-0039; Slessman), which when removed exposes a second opening configured to enable air flow from the cooling system to circulate through the additional internal area of the expansion module (cooling in series; par. 0041; Slessman).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 14-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 8-18, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the apparatus as recited in the dependent claims 8 and 10, including all of the limitations of their base claims and intervening claims, and at least in part, because they recite the following limitations:
8. (As best understood) The interconnectable micro data center module of claim 6,
wherein in an interconnected configuration the micro data center module, the first module, and the second module are interconnected via a releasable locking mechanism.
10. The interconnectable micro data center module of claim 6,
wherein the base module further comprises a control device configured to transmit control instructions via the interconnectable transmission means to one or more of:
the server hardware apparatus in the micro data center module; and
the additional server hardware apparatus in the second module.
Bailey (US 20170359922 A1), Driggers (US 20120147552 A1), Sheehan (US 20210251101 A1), and Crawford (US 20190174651 A1) disclose conventional interconnectable/modular datacenters, but do not adequately suggest interconnection via a releasable locking mechanism or control device transmitting control instructions via the interconnectable transmission means.
None of the prior art, either alone or in combination, can be reasonably construed as adequately teaching the above claimed elements, in combination with the remaining claim limitations.
Further, Examiner has not identified any double patenting issues.
Conclusion
/JACOB R CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835