DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed May 27, 2026, is acknowledged and has been entered. Claims 21, 41, 44 and 46 have been amended. Claims 42, 43 and 45 have been canceled. Claims 54-56 have been newly added.
Claims 21-22, 40-41, 44 and 46-56 are pending. Claims 40-41 and 54-56 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to non-elected species of invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Notably, new claims 54-56 which recite modifying an immune cell by delivering the nucleic acid construct to the immune cell are drawn to the invention of non-elected Group IV.
Claims 21-22, 44 and 46-53 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22, 44, 47 and 51-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al (FASEB J., 24:2869-2880, 2010).
With respect to claims 21, 22 and 47, Han et al disclose methods of delivering modified immune macrophages from modified immune stem cells comprising a nucleic acid that express exogenous IL-10 to subjects to treat or prevent vascular fibrosis (IL-10 overexpression in macrophages suppresses atherosclerosis) (see abstract and pages 2973, 2876-2878 and Figures). With respect to claim 44, Han et al disclose that the IL-10 is secreted from the macrophage (see page 2870).
Notably, as set forth in the instant application and as is known in the art, fibrotic diseases include atherosclerosis (see ¶ 55).
With respect to claims 51 and 52, Han et al disclose the macrophages are derived from hematopoietic stem cells from bone marrow cells (see abstract and page 2879). With respect to claim 53, Han et al disclose the macrophages can be M-CSF derived (2870-2871).
Therefore, Han al is deemed to anticipate the instant claims absent a showing otherwise.
Applicant has traversed the rejection, submitting that
“The amended claims are novel over Han because, inter alia, Han does not disclose the
method as claimed, which is directed to treating or preventing fibrosis. Han is alleged to disclose methods of delivering modified immune macrophages to treat or prevent atherosclerosis, which is a type of inflammation, but Han does not disclose a method for specifically treating or preventing fibrosis, nor is it alleged to do so.”
These arguments are not found persuasive because as set forth in the instant application fibrotic diseases include atherosclerosis (see ¶ 55) and the original rejection indicated that the disease atherosclerosis includes vascular fibrosis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 44, 46-471 and 51-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al (FASEB J., 24:2869-2880, 2010) and Hume et al, (J. of Leuk. Bio., 89:525-538, 2011).
With respect to claims 21, 22 and 47, Han et al disclose methods of delivering modified immune macrophages from modified immune stem cells comprising a nucleic acid that express exogenous IL-10 to subjects to treat or prevent vascular fibrosis or inflammation (IL-10 overexpression in macrophages suppresses atherosclerosis) (see abstract and pages 2973, 2876-2878 and Figures). With respect to claim 44, Han et al disclose that the IL-10 is secreted from the macrophage (see page 2870).
With respect to claims 51 and 52, Han et al disclose the macrophages are derived from hematopoietic stem cells from bone marrow cells (see abstract and page 2879). With respect to claim 53, Han et al disclose the macrophages can be M-CSF derived (2870-2871).
Han et al does not disclose using a CX3CR1 promoter.
Hume et al disclose relevant to claim 46, that CX3CR1 is another promoter that drives expression in macrophages along with CD68 and others (see Table 2). Hume et al disclose relevant to claim 53, that M-CSF and GM-CSF are growth factors involved in macrophage differentiation (see page 525).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these references and incorporate the CX3CR1 promoter and M-CSF and GM-CSF of Hume with the methods of Han because the CX3CR1 promoter is another art recognized macrophage promoter that could be used to express IL-10 in macrophages that were derived from M-CSF and GM-CSF differentiation .
Therefore, using the CX3CR1 promoter and M-CSF and GM-CSF, absent a showing otherwise, would be seen as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Furthermore, one of skill in the art would have expected success in using the CX3CR1 promoter and M-CSF and GM-CSF as the prior art of Hume et al disclose how to use the CX3CR1 promoter to express exogenous transgenes and M-CSF and GM-CSF in differentiation.
Accordingly, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 21-22, 44 and 47-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al (FASEB J., 24:2869-2880, 2010) and Hotter Corripio et al (US 2018/0087031 A1).
With respect to claims 21, 22 and 47, Han et al disclose methods of delivering modified immune macrophages from modified immune stem cells comprising a nucleic acid that express exogenous IL-10 to subjects to treat or prevent vascular fibrosis or inflammation (IL-10 overexpression in macrophages suppresses atherosclerosis) (see abstract and pages 2973, 2876-2878 and Figures). With respect to claim 44, Han et al disclose that the IL-10 is secreted from the macrophage (see page 2870).
With respect to claims 51 and 52, Han et al disclose the macrophages are derived from hematopoietic stem cells from bone marrow cells (see abstract and page 2879). With respect to claim 53, Han et al disclose the macrophages can be M-CSF derived (2870-2871).
Han et al does not disclose using a M2 macrophages.
Hotter Corripio et al disclose relevant to claims 48-50, inducing polarized M2 macrophages and that these M2 macrophages overexpress IL-10 important from the amelioration of inflammation (see abstract and page 1). While these M2 macrophages are not further characterized as in claim 50, it is noted that M2 macrophages are either M2A, M2B, M2C, or M2D macrophages and claim 50 recites all 4 types, so the M2 macrophages of Hotter Corripio et al are at least one or more of the subtypes of claim 50.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these references and incorporate M2 macrophages of Hotter Corripio et al with the methods of Han so that the M2 macrophages express exogenous IL-10 along with endogenous IL-10 because M2 macrophages are involved in the resolution of inflammation which is involved in the atherosclerosis of Han. Notably, the macrophages of Han may in fact be M2 macrophages or comprise M2 macrophages because these macrophages overexpress IL-10, but since these macrophages were not characterized as M2 macrophages it is noted that it would be obvious to select M2 (anti-inflammatory macrophages) that additionally express exogenous IL-10 to ensure that anti-inflammatory macrophages were being delivered to the subject. Notably, Hotter Corripio et al also disclose that “Macrophages are therefore a population of immune cells that orchestrate a diverse array of functions including inflammation, tissue repair, and immune responses. This functional diversity is achieved by the remarkable heterogeneity of macrophages, which have the capacity to dramatically change their phenotype as a result of differentiated plasticity as well as local environmental cues” (see ¶4), so it is apparent that one would not want to administer macrophages involved in “increasing inflammation” (see ¶31) and one would be motivated to select M2 macrophages that are anti-inflammatory macrophages.
Therefore, M2 macrophages, absent a showing otherwise, would be seen as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Furthermore, one of skill in the art would have expected success in using M2 macrophages in such methods as the prior art of Han et al disclose how to transfect macrophages and Hotter Corripio et al disclose how to obtain M2 macrophages.
Accordingly, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references.
Applicant has traversed the 103 rejections, arguing that
“Han discloses the treatment of cholesterol accumulation in atherosclerosis, which does not provide any anti-fibrotic therapy,” and that “it is clear that the population of subjects for treatment in Han (individually or in view of Hume) is different from the population of subjects being treated in accordance with the present claims”.
These arguments are not found persuasive because as set forth in the instant application fibrotic diseases include atherosclerosis (see ¶ 55) and such that in teaching methods of treating or preventing atherosclerosis, fibrosis is also treated or prevented. While treating or preventing fibrosis is much broader than treating or preventing atherosclerosis, atherosclerosis is a species included in the genus of fibrosis and based on the teachings of the prior art, administering macrophages, including M2 macrophages, expressing exogenous IL-10 and the other instant limitations would be expected to have the advantage of treating or preventing atherosclerosis, a fibrotic disease.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Respectfully,
Brad Duffy
571-272-9935
/Brad Duffy/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643
July 23, 2026
1 It is noted that claim 47 was inadvertently omitted from the original introduction of the 103 rejections, but each rejection referenced claim 47 and claims that depend from 47 so this typographical error has been corrected.