DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 13-15 and 17-18 have been considered but are moot in view of a new ground(s) of rejection.
With respect to the last office action, Applicant amends claims, discusses the claims limitations and the prior arts of record and further argues that the prior arts of record do not meet the amendment claims limitations (see Applicant Remarks).
In response, Examiner notes Applicant’s arguments/amendments, however the PARs still meet amendments limitations for these reasons (please not the underlined on highlighted text): the primary PAR (PPAR) discloses a communication interface (figs.1-7, Web Server/Tuner “Web-ST”, [0013-0014]) configured to receive Electronic Program Guide (EPG) channel map information including information on a plurality of channel numbers including information on a channel name of a channel number if the plurality of channel numbers and including information on a content provider corresponding to the plurality of channel numbers, and to receive information on a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) serving as a web-content providing address of each of the plurality of channel numbers and to receive IP channel information indicating a media content providing address of each of the plurality of channel numbers ([0013-0014], [0025-0027] and [0055-0062]); and a processor (Web-ST) configured to: determine whether each channel number provides an IP channel from the IP channel information corresponding to each channel number and channel name; generate integral channel map information including the channel number and the channel name included in the EPG channel map information, and the URL information, IP channel presence/absence identification information, and integral channel information corresponding to each channel number and channel name; receive an input of a specific channel number through a user input unit; and output, through a display unit, media content or web content provided with respect to the specific channel number, both the media content and web content containing broadcasted images (note content: text, URLs, etc.); the processor stores an IP channel presence identification information and the integral channel information in the form of IP channel information with respect to the specific channel number (figs.1-14+, [0025-0027] and [0055-0062], [0069-0077], [0080-0084] and [0095-0104]), Web-ST scans the input for receivable TV channels and media sources (presence information-frequencies) including Internet based sources and map receivable frequencies to one or more Identifiers, initializes and updates sources received at the browser assigns channel numbers the sources where a user interact as desired; and wherein the processor is configured to: process the receivable contents accordingly as discussed below: Besides the teachings of the primary PAR, the secondary PAR or LEGALL, LEGALL discloses integrated search of EPG and wherein outputs a simultaneous viewing button (GO button) on the second divided screen, receive a simultaneous output command from a user input for selecting the simultaneous viewing button in the second divided screen, provides the media content of a first content provider on a first divided screen and the web content of a second content provider on a second divided screen, the processor is further configured to: output a simultaneous viewing button on the second divided screen, receive a simultaneous output command from a user input for selecting the simultaneous viewing button in the second divided screen, determine whether URL information corresponding to the second content provider of the web content is present, based on the integral channel map information in response to receiving the simultaneous output command from the user input in the second divided screen, specify the second content provider based on the channel name included in the URL information, when the URL information corresponding to the second content provider is present in response to receiving the simultaneous output command from the user input in the second divided screen, and convert the first media content (URL) of the first content provider to a second media content (in the EPG, that shows content name and channel information) provided by the specified second content provider (the plurality of content providers) on the first divided screen and maintain the web content of the second content provider on the second divided screen, simultaneously, in response to receiving the simultaneous output command from the user input in the second divided screen (figs.1-6, Col.3, line 11-Col.5, line 61), the interface includes user options to select and search for receivable channels and web sites and upon search icon or GO icon; the system then searches to display search results of all receivable channels including URL and the user can fine tune the search and click on URL to receivable the content via a websites or specific search engines; can further fine tune the searching using filtering, as discussed below. Hence the amended claims do not overcome the PARs. The amendments to the claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection discussed below. This office action non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 9-10 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAGUCHI et al (2002/0144281) in view of LEGALL et al (6,005,565).
As to claims 1-3, TAGUCHI discloses global multimedia service system and apparatus and further discloses a display device comprising:
A communication interface (figs.1-7, Web Server/Tuner “Web-ST”, [0013-0014]) configured to receive Electronic Program Guide (EPG) channel map information including information on a plurality of channel numbers including information on a channel name of a channel number if the plurality of channel numbers and including information on a content provider corresponding to the plurality of channel numbers, and to receive information on a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) serving as a web-content providing address of each of the plurality of channel numbers and to receive IP channel information indicating a media content providing address of each of the plurality of channel numbers ([0013-0014], [0025-0027] and [0055-0062]); and
a processor (Web-ST) configured to: determine whether each channel number provides an IP channel from the IP channel information corresponding to each channel number and channel name; generate integral channel map information including the channel number and the channel name included in the EPG channel map information, and the URL information, IP channel presence/absence identification information, and integral channel information corresponding to each channel number and channel name; receive an input of a specific channel number through a user input unit; and output, through a display unit, media content or web content provided with respect to the specific channel number, both the media content and web content containing broadcasted images; the processor stores an IP channel presence identification information and the integral channel information in the form of IP channel information with respect to the specific channel number (figs.1-14+, [0025-0027] and [0055-0062], [0069-0077], [0080-0084] and [0095-0104]), Web-ST scans the input for receivable TV channels and media sources (presence information-frequencies) including Internet based sources and map receivable frequencies to one or more Identifiers, initializes and updates sources received at the browser assigns channel numbers the sources where a user interact as desired; and wherein the processor is configured to:
determine whether a present channel includes URL information, based on the integral channel map information, when the present channel outputs media content provided through the IP channel; and output, through the display unit, a switching button for outputting web content of the channel, when the present channel includes URL information (figs.9-14, [0069-0080] and [0095-0104]), outputs display options to web content or other media content, receive a content search command through a user input unit; output, through the display unit, at least one content which is found in response to the content search command; acquire, from the integral channel information, URL information corresponding to a channel of a content provider of the found content; and output a channel switching button for outputting web content of the channel of the content provider of the found content ({0017-0028], [0080-0089] and [0093-0104]), Web-ST searches for specific URL and storing within the database.
TAGUCHI further discloses displaying receivable channels and IP channels after scanning or searching; BUT appears silent as to wherein when providing the media content of an image from a first content provider on a first divided screen and the web content of a second content provider on a second divided screen and an image from, the processor is further configured to: output a simultaneous viewing button on the second divided screen, receive a simultaneous output command from a user input for selecting the simultaneous viewing button in the second divided screen, determine whether URL information corresponding to the second content provider of the web content is present, based on the integral channel map information in response to receiving the simultaneous output command from the user input in the second divided screen, specify the second content provider based on the channel name included in the URL information, when the URL information corresponding to the second content provider is present in response to receiving the simultaneous output command from the user input in the second divided screen, and convert the first media content of the first content provider to a second media content provided by the specified second content provider on the first divided screen and maintain the web content of the second content provider on the second divided screen, simultaneously, in response to receiving the simultaneous output command from the user input in the second divided screen
However, in the same field of endeavor, LEGALL discloses integrated search of EPG and wherein outputs a simultaneous viewing button (GO button) on the second divided screen, receive a simultaneous output command from a user input for selecting the simultaneous viewing button in the second divided screen, provides the media content of a first content provider on a first divided screen and the web content of a second content provider on a second divided screen, the processor is further configured to: output a simultaneous viewing button on the second divided screen, receive a simultaneous output command from a user input for selecting the simultaneous viewing button in the second divided screen, determine whether URL information corresponding to the second content provider of the web content is present, based on the integral channel map information in response to receiving the simultaneous output command from the user input in the second divided screen, specify the second content provider based on the channel name included in the URL information, when the URL information corresponding to the second content provider is present in response to receiving the simultaneous output command from the user input in the second divided screen, and convert the first media content (URL) of the first content provider to a second media content (in the EPG, that shows content name and channel information) provided by the specified second content provider (the plurality of content providers) on the first divided screen and maintain the web content of the second content provider on the second divided screen, simultaneously, in response to receiving the simultaneous output command from the user input in the second divided screen (figs.1-6, Col.3, line 11-Col.5, line 61), the interface includes user options to select and search for receivable channels and web sites and upon search icon or GO icon; the system then searches to display search results of all receivable channels including URL and the user can fine tune the search and click on URL to receivable the content via a websites or specific search engines; can further fine tune the searching using filtering.
Hence it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of LEGALL into the system of TAGUCHI further search for other IP channels, URLs or other resources not available from the search results to enable displaying of other available IP channels, URLs or other resources associated with the received EPG channels and enable the user to interact to receive the content from other websites.
Claim 5 is met as previously discussed in claims 1-3.
As to claim 6, TAGUCHI as modified by LEGALL, discloses all the claim limitations as discussed in claims 1 and 9 respectively, including managing web sources and associated channels in real-time, determines the type of request and invokes appropriate processing, e.g., switching channels as desired. initializing channels to delete channels and assign channels based on the URL and other information stored on the subscriber database (see [0025-0027] and [0055-0062], [0069-0077], [0080-0084] and [0095-0104]-TAGUCHI), BUT appears silent as to receive an input of a channel number change command through the user input unit; determine wherein a present channel is being recorded; acquire URL information of a channel number, which is to be changed, from the integral channel map information, when the present channel is being recorded; and output, to the display unit, web content provided through the channel number to be changed, based on the URL information of the channel number to be changed
However, TAGUCHI further discloses real-time mapping of sources to specific channel numbers and resolving conflicts and managing web sources and associated channel(s) or station(s) and broadcast channels in real-time, determines the type of request and invokes appropriate processing, e.g., switching channels as desired. initializing channels to delete channels and assign channels based on the URL and other information stored on the subscriber database and updates URL and other information accordingly based on stored information and content being played ([0025-0027] and [0055-0062], [0069-0077], [0080-0084] and [0095-0104])
Hence it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to for modify the disclosure of TAGUCHI to the system of TAGUCHI as modified by LEGALL to resolve other conflicts within the channel map or database as to the various stored contents or content(s) being recorded to provide efficient database management of stored or recorded content.
As to claims 7-8, TAGUCHI further discloses acquire information on a channel adjacent to a present 10 channel, from the integral channel map information; acquire URL information of the adjacent channel from the integral channel map information, based on the information on the adjacent channel; store, a memory, web content provided by the adjacent channel by receiving the web content provided by the adjacent channel based on the acquired URL information through the communication interface; receive a command for changing a channel number to the adjacent channel through the user input unit; and 20 output, through the display unit, the web content of the adjacent channel, which is stored in the memory, in response to the channel number change command and input an image of the web content of the adjacent channel to a button recognition model; acquire button area information output from the button recognition model; and output web streaming content, which is provide in the web content, on a full screen, based on the button area information (figs.9-13, [0069-0077], [0080-0084] and [0095-0104]), user may interact with a pointer to scroll down or up to request via the interact AV content of a specific source and interact to specific scrolling icons to request related information associated with channel numbers or media source .
As to claims 9-10, the claimed “A method for providing content performed by a display…” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed in claims 1-3.
Claim 13 is met as previously discussed in claim 6.
Claims 14-15 are met as previously discussed in claims 7-8.
6. Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAGUCHI et al (2002/0144281) in view of LEGALL et al (6,005,565) in view of SEIDE (2007/0244902)
As to claims 17-18, TAGUCHI as modified by LEGALL discloses where at least one found content is display as a row of pictures with the channels switching button disposed in one picture of the row of pictures (figs.2-3B, Col.3, line 11-Col.5, line 61-LEGALL), BUT appears silent as to where the web streaming content includes conversation content of a viewer watching the web content
However, in the same field of endeavor, SEIDE discloses Internet search-based TV that includes conversation content of a viewer watching the web content (figs.1-9, [0003-0004], [0027-0030] and [0037-0038])
Hence it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of SEIDE into the system of TAGUCH as modified by LEGALL to provide speech content associated with the video content to further enhance the various interactive objects associated with the search results.
Conclusion
/ANNAN Q SHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424
ANNAN Q. SHANG