CTFR 18/023,096 CTFR 92548 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments 07-38-02 AIA Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8 , filed 03/04/2026 , with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new claim amendment and new combination of prior arts . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 6-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koiwai et al. (US 2016/0380502 A1) in view of Yamaguchi et al. (WO 2017/085860 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Koiwai discloses a stator (4) comprising: a stator core (4a); a coil (4b) provided on the stator core (4a) and including coil portions (coil ends) protruding, in a direction of an axis of the stator core (4a), respectively from both end surfaces (see annotated FIG 1 below) of the stator core (4a) in the direction of the axis; and coating resins (M1) that coat the coil portions (coil ends) respectively, wherein: the coil portions (coil ends) include: a first coil end (bottom coil end in FIG. 1) protruding from a first end surface, which is one of the both end surfaces, and a second coil end (top coil end in FIG. 1) protruding from a second end surface, which is another one of the both end surfaces, the coating resins (M1) include: a first coating resin (M1 bottom in FIG. 1) that is circular when viewed from the direction of the axis (FIG 2), is provided toward a side of the first end surface, and coats the first coil end, and a second coating resin (M1 top in FIG. 1) that is circular when viewed from the direction of the axis, is provided toward a side of the second end surface, and coats the second coil end, a portion of the first end surface (bottom surface) is exposed from the first coating resin (M1 bottom), PNG media_image1.png 495 686 media_image1.png Greyscale at least one cutout (end surface exposed on the bottom surface) is provided on a first resin outer circumferential surface that is radially outer end potion of the first coating resin (M1 bottom), the at least one cutout extending in a manner so as to guide, in a case where the stator (4) is inserted into an insertion hole of a housing (13) of an electric motor (1), a projection (see annotation above) provided at an insertion hole along an axial direction from a distal end of the first coating resin (M1 bottom) in the direction of the axis to the first end surface (FIG. 1). Koiwai does not disclose the at least one cutout being depressed toward a center of the stator core from the first resin outer circumferential surface when viewed from the direction of the axis, and the portion of the first end surface exposed from the first coating resin is a region where the cutout formed on the first resin outer circumferential surface is located. Yamaguchi discloses the at least one cutout (3a4, 8) being depressed toward a center of the stator core (1) from the first resin outer circumferential surface (3a4) when viewed from the direction of the axis (FIG. 16), and the portion of the first end surface (1a) exposed from the first coating resin (4a) is a region where the cutout (3a4, 8) formed on the first resin outer circumferential surface (3a4) is located (FIG. 17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Koiwai in view of Yamaguchi to disclose the at least one cutout being depressed toward a center of the stator core from the first resin outer circumferential surface when viewed from the direction of the axis, and the portion of the first end surface exposed from the first coating resin is a region where the cutout formed on the first resin outer circumferential surface is located, for the advantages of preventing the cover from rotating in the circumferential direction due to vibrations during motor operation. Regarding claim 2/1, Koiwai in view of Yamaguchi was discussed above in claim 1. Koiwai further discloses the second end surface (top surface) of the both end surfaces is entirely covered with the second coating resin (M1 top). Regarding claim 3/1, Koiwai in view of Yamaguchi was discussed above in claim 1. Koiwai further discloses a cross sectional shape of the second coating resin (M1 top) is the same as a cross sectional shape of the stator core (4a) along the radial direction (coating resin on the top surface has the same outer and inner diameter as stator core). Regarding claim 4/1, Koiwai in view of Yamaguchi was discussed above in claim 1. Koiwai further discloses the first coating resin (M1 bottom) is provided on an inner side relative to an outer circumferential surface of the stator core (4a; FIG 1), and the portion of the first end surface (bottom surface) is a region between the outer circumferential surface of the stator core (4a) and the first resin outer circumferential surface (FIG 1). Regarding claim 11/1, Koiwai in view of Yamaguchi was discussed above in claim 1. Yamaguchi further discloses a portion of the second end surface (1b) is exposed from the second coating resin (4b), at least one cutout (3a4, 8; the second resin 3b can be configured similar to the first resin 3a) is provided on a second resin outer circumferential surface (3a4) that is a radially outer end portion of the second coating resin (3b), the at least one cutout (3a4, 8) extending from a distal end of the second coating resin (3b) in the direction of the axis to the second end surface (1b), and the at least one cutout (3a4, 8) being depressed toward the center of the stator core (1) from the second resin outer circumferential surface (3a4) when viewed from the direction of the axis, and the portion of the second end surface (1b) exposed from the second coating resin (3b) is a region where the cutout (3a4, 8) formed on the second resin outer circumferential surface (3a4) is located. Regarding claim 12/1, Koiwai in view of Yamaguchi was discussed above in claim 1. Yamaguchi further discloses an outer diameter of the first resin outer circumferential surface (3a4) is equal to an outer diameter of a second resin outer circumferential surface (3a4; FIG. 13), which is a radially outer end portion of the second coating resin (3b). Regarding claim 6, Koiwai discloses an electric motor (1) comprising: a stator (4); and a rotor (3) fixed to a housing (6) including an insertion hole (A1) into which the stator (4) is inserted, wherein the stator (4) includes: a stator core (4a); a coil (4b) provided on the stator core (4a) and including coil portions (coil ends) protruding, in a direction of an axis of the stator core (4a), respectively from both end surfaces of the stator core (4a) in the direction of the axis; and coating resins (M1) that coat the coil portions (coil ends) respectively, wherein: the coil portions (coil ends) include: a first coil end (bottom coil end in FIG. 1) protruding from a first end surface, which is one of the both end surfaces, and a second coil end (top coil end in FIG. 1) protruding from a second end surface, which is another one of the both end surfaces, the coating resins (M1) include: a first coating resin (M1 bottom in FIG. 1) that is circular when viewed from the direction of the axis (FIG 2), is provided toward a side of the first end surface, and coats the first coil end, and a second coating resin (M1 top in FIG. 1) that is circular when viewed from the direction of the axis, is provided toward a side of the second end surface, and coats the second coil end, a portion of the first end surface (bottom surface) is exposed from the first coating resin (M1 bottom), PNG media_image2.png 488 686 media_image2.png Greyscale the housing (6) is provided with a projection protruding toward the insertion hole (A1), and a position of the stator (4) relative to the housing (6) in the direction of the axis is fixed by the projection coming into contact with the portion of first end surface (FIG 1), PNG media_image1.png 495 686 media_image1.png Greyscale at least one cutout (end surface exposed on the bottom surface) is provided on a first resin outer circumferential surface that is radially outer end potion of the first coating resin (M1 bottom), the at least one cutout extending in a manner so as to guide, in a case where the stator (4) is inserted into an insertion hole of a housing (13) of an electric motor (1), a projection (see annotation above) provided at an insertion hole along an axial direction from a distal end of the first coating resin (M1 bottom) in the direction of the axis to the first end surface (FIG. 1). Koiwai does not disclose the at least one cutout being depressed toward a center of the stator core from the first resin outer circumferential surface when viewed from the direction of the axis, and the portion of the first end surface exposed from the first coating resin is a region where the at least one cutout formed on the first resin outer circumferential surface is located. Yamaguchi discloses the at least one cutout (3a4, 8) being depressed toward a center of the stator core (1) from the first resin outer circumferential surface (3a4) when viewed from the direction of the axis (FIG. 16), and the portion of the first end surface (1a) exposed from the first coating resin (4a) is a region where the at least one cutout (3a4, 8) formed on the first resin outer circumferential surface (3a4) is located (FIG. 17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Koiwai in view of Yamaguchi to disclose the at least one cutout being depressed toward a center of the stator core from the first resin outer circumferential surface when viewed from the direction of the axis, and the portion of the first end surface exposed from the first coating resin is a region where the at least one cutout formed on the first resin outer circumferential surface is located, for the advantages of preventing the cover from rotating in the circumferential direction due to vibrations during motor operation. Regarding claim 7/6, Koiwai in view of Yamaguchi was discussed above in claim 6. Koiwai further discloses the second end surface (top surface) is entirely covered with the second coating resin (M1 top). Regarding claim 8/7, Koiwai in view of Yamaguchi was discussed above in claim 7. Koiwai further discloses in a direction orthogonal to the direct of the axis, a cross sectional shape of the stator core (4a) is a same as a cross sectional shape of the second coating resin (M1 top) (coating resin on the top surface has the same outer and inner diameter as stator core). Regarding claim 9/6, Koiwai in view of Yamaguchi was discussed above in claim 6. Koiwai further discloses the first coating resin (M1 bottom) is provided on an inner side relative to an outer circumferential surface of the stator core (4a; FIG 1), and the portion of the first end surface (bottom surface) is a region between the outer circumferential surface of the stator core (4a) and the first resin outer circumferential surface (FIG 1). Regarding claim 13/6, Koiwai in view of Yamaguchi was discussed above in claim 6. Yamaguchi further discloses a portion of the second end surface (1b) is exposed from the second coating resin (4b), at least one cutout (3a4, 8; the second resin 3b can be configured similar to the first resin 3a) is provided on a second resin outer circumferential surface (3a4) that is a radially outer end portion of the second coating resin (3b), the at least one cutout (3a4, 8) extending from a distal end of the second coating resin (3b) in the direction of the axis to the second end surface (1b), and the at least one cutout (3a4, 8) being depressed toward the center of the stator core (1) from the second resin outer circumferential surface (3a4) when viewed from the direction of the axis, and the portion of the second end surface (1b) exposed from the second coating resin (3b) is a region where the cutout (3a4, 8) formed on the second resin outer circumferential surface (3a4) is located. Regarding claim 14/6, Koiwai in view of Yamaguchi was discussed above in claim 6. Yamaguchi further discloses an outer diameter of the first resin outer circumferential surface (3a4) is equal to an outer diameter of a second resin outer circumferential surface (3a4; FIG. 13), which is a radially outer end portion of the second coating resin (3b). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MINKI CHANG whose telephone number is (571)270-0521. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Seye Iwarere can be reached at (571) 270-5112. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MINKI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/023,096 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/023,096 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/023,096 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/023,096 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/023,096 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/023,096 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/023,096 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/023,096 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/023,096 Page 10 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/023,096 Page 11 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/023,096 Page 12 Art Unit: 2834