DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 12/9/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claimed invention provides synergistic and unexpected results. This is not found persuasive because the claims are not commensurate in scope with the data provided.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/9/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “low molecular weight” is indefinite. The metes and bounds are unclear.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “R is -CH2OH, -NH2,” is indefinite. It is unclear how variable R can be both CH2OH and -NH2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grassl et al. (WO 2019/077050).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 4: Grassl et al. teach a set control composition for cementitious systems comprising:
c) 0.125 % bwoc of a polyacrylic acid or polymethacrylic acid homopolymer whose milliequivalent number of carboxyl groups is 5.00 meq/g or higher (page 4, lines 35-37, page 5, lines 19-20; Examples), and a molecular weight of 1,000 to 10,000 g/mol (page 5, lines 23-26; Examples),
b) sodium carbonate, claimed (B-2) (Examples; Tables), and
a dispersant (page 7, lines 1-15; Examples; Tables).
Grassl et al. teach that HEDP (a polyol with 5 alcoholic hydroxyl groups) is an alternative component c) in the composition (page 5, lines 28-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a mixture of polyacrylic acid or polymethacrylic acid homopolymer and HEDP as the component c). The skilled artisan would immediately envisage a 50/50 mixture (a ratio of claimed c) to a) of 1). It is obvious to combine separately taught prior art ingredients which perform the same function; it is logical that they would produce the same effect and supplement each other. In re Crockett 126 USPQ 186. See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claim 2: Grassl et al. teach sodium gluconate as a particularly preferred component of the composition (column 6, lines 11-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add sodium gluconate as an additional retarder to the composition. It is obvious to combine separately taught prior art ingredients which perform the same function; it is logical that they would produce the same effect and supplement each other. In re Crockett 126 USPQ 186. See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claim 8: Grassl et al. teach the claimed dispersant (page 7, lines 1-15; Examples).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grassl et al. (WO 2019/077050) as applied to claim 1 above as evidenced by Ataman Chemicals (Products, Detergents, Cosmetics, Disinfectants, Pharmaceutical Chemicals, 1-HYDROXYETHYLIDENE-1,1-DIPHOSPHONIC ACID).
The HEDP in Grassl et al. will inibit the claimed precipitation of calcium aluminate as evidenced by Ataman Chemicals, which discloses that HEDP forms a chelating complex with calcium ions (page 2).
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grassl et al. (WO 2019/077050) in view of Moorer et al. (4,204,877)
Regarding claims 1 and 3-5: Grassl et al. teach a set control composition for cementitious systems comprising:
c) 0.125 % bwoc of a polyacrylic acid or polymethacrylic acid homopolymer whose milliequivalent number of carboxyl groups is 5.00 meq/g or higher (page 4, lines 35-37, page 5, lines 19-20; Examples), and a molecular weight of 1,000 to 10,000 g/mol (page 5, lines 23-26; Examples),
b) sodium carbonate, claimed (B-2) (Examples; Tables), and
a dispersant (page 7, lines 1-15; Examples; Tables).
Grassl et al. fail to teach a polyol.
However, Moorer et al. teach that diglycerol is a compound that retards the hardening or setting of a cement composition (column 2, lines 50-54), and can be used as a set retarder to cement (column 2, lines 35-44). The compound is not limited to use as a grinding aid, since in the examples the compound is added as a retarder to already ground cement (Example 3). Moorer et al. teach adding 0.05 bwoc% of the polyglycerol (Example 3; Table III).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 0.05 bwoc% of diglycerol as taught by Moorer et al. to the set retarder composition of Grassl et al. to retard to hardening or setting of the cement composition. The amount added provides a claimed c) to a) ratio of 0.05/0.125 = 0.4.
Regarding claim 2: Grassl et al. teach sodium gluconate as a particularly preferred component of the composition (column 6, lines 11-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add sodium gluconate as an additional retarder to the composition. It is obvious to combine separately taught prior art ingredients which perform the same function; it is logical that they would produce the same effect and supplement each other. In re Crockett 126 USPQ 186. See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claim 6: Since diglycerol is a polyhydric alcohol similar to the example compound in the instant specification, but with an additional alcohol group, the claimed precipitation of calcium aluminate will be met. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 7: diglycerol is very structurally similar to the glycerol option of the claimed P-I structure.
A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, paragraph II.A.4.(c).
Regarding claim 8: Grassl et al. teach the claimed dispersant (page 7, lines 1-15; Examples).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/683820. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Relevant Prior Art
Sun et al. (Construction and Building Materials 233 (2020) 117104) teach that glycerin has been an important component of set retarders commonly used in cement industry for a long time (page 2).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763