DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki (US Publication No.: US 2004/0263670 A1) in view of Sugitani et al (US Publication No.: US 2020/0028120 A1, “Sugitani”).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamasaki discloses an image display device (Figure 4) comprising a plurality of pixels in a two-dimensional array (Paragraph 0053; Paragraph 0060), wherein
Each of at least some of the plurality of pixels includes:
A first self-emitting device (Figure 4, self-emitting device 109; Paragraph 0062);
A first luminous region illuminated by the first self-emitting device (Figure 4, first luminous region where 109 is disposed);
A nonluminous region having a transmissive window that allows passage of visible light (Figure 4, nonluminous region having a transmissive window 110a; Paragraphs 0079-0080); and
An optical path adjusting member that is disposed on a light emission side opposed to a light entry side of the transmissive window and adjusts an optical path of light having passed through the transmissive window (Figure 4, optical path adjusting member 115a; Paragraph 0078-0081).
Yamasaki fails to disclose that the optical path adjusting member includes a first refractive index member and a second refractive index member, the second refractive index member having a higher refractive index than the first refractive index member.
However, Sugitani discloses a similar device where the optical path adjusting member includes a first refractive index member and a second refractive index member, the second refractive index member having a higher refractive index than the first refractive index member (Sugitani, Figure 2, first refractive index member BFL, second refractive index member CTL; Paragraph 0107; Paragraph 0102; Paragraph 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical path adjusting member as disclosed by Yamasaki to have particular refractive indices as disclosed by Sugitani. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing light transmission (Sugitani, Paragraph 0127).
Regarding Claim 2, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani discloses the image display device according to claim 1, wherein the optical path adjusting member adjusts the optical path of light having passed through the transmissive window, so that the optical path of light gets closer to a direction of the light passing in a direction of a normal of the transmissive window through a center of the transmissive window (Paragraphs 0080-0085; Figures 4-5).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani discloses the image display device according to claim 1, wherein the optical path adjusting member adjusts an optical path of diffracted light of light having passed through the transmissive window (Paragraph 0106 discloses diffracted light, where Paragraphs 0078-0085 disclose that the optical path adjusting member 115a adjusts light passed through the transmissive window 110a).
Regarding Claim 4, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani discloses the image display device according to claim 1, wherein, in plan view from a display surface side of the image display device, the nonluminous region is disposed at a position overlapping a light receiving device for receiving light passing through the image display device (Figure 4, light-receiving device 116 overlaps with nonluminous region; Paragraph 0086).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani discloses the image display device according to claim 1, wherein a pixel circuit connected to the first self-emitting device is disposed in the first luminous region (Figures 23-24, pixel circuit 113; Paragraphs 0169-0171).
Regarding Claim 11, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani discloses the image display device according to claim 1, wherein the optical path adjusting member includes an optical control member having a higher refractive index than a material of the transmissive window (Paragraph 0093; Paragraph 0077 discloses a material of acrylic resin for the optical path adjusting member; Figure 4, optical control member 115a).
Regarding Claim 13, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani discloses the image display device according to claim 11, wherein the optical control member is disposed in a location where light travels after passing through the transmissive window in a substrate on which the plurality of pixels are disposed (Figure 4, optical control member 115a is disposed in a location where light travels after passing through the transmissive window 110a in a substrate 102 on which the plurality of pixels are disposed).
Regarding Claim 14, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani discloses the image display device according to claim 1, further comprising: first pixel regions including some of the plurality of pixels; and second pixel regions including at least some of the plurality of pixels other than the pixels in the first pixel regions (Figure 24 and Paragraph 0173 discloses a hatched region F comprising some of the plurality of pixels (first pixel region), where pixels not in the hatched region may be considered pixels belonging to a second pixel region), wherein the pixel in the first pixel region includes the first self-emitting device, the first luminous region, and the nonluminous region, and the pixel in the second pixel region includes: a second self-emitting device; and a second luminous region that is illuminated by the second self-emitting device and has a larger area than the first luminous region (Each of the pixels in the first pixel region comprises a first self-emitting device, a first luminous region and a nonluminous region, and each of the pixels in the second pixel region comprises a second self-emitting device and a second luminous region that emits light due to said second self-emitting device, the second luminous region being larger than that of the first luminous region).
Regarding Claim 15, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani discloses the image display device according to claim 14, wherein the first pixel regions are spaced at a plurality of points in a pixel display region (Figure 24 discloses a hatched first pixel region F among four pixel regions, where this first pixel region F would be disposed among every four pixels and thus be spaced apart).
Regarding Claim 16, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani discloses the image display device according to claim 14, wherein, in plan view from a display surface side of the image display device, the optical path adjusting member is disposed at least in a location overlapping the first pixel region (Figure 24; Paragraph 0173).
Regarding Claim 17, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani discloses the image display device according to claim 14, wherein the plurality of transmissive windows are provided, and the plurality of transmissive windows are disposed such that light having passed through the transmissive windows enters the optical path adjusting member and light having passed through the other transmissive windows does not enter the optical path adjusting member (Paragraph 0085; Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 18, Yamasaki discloses an electronic device (Figure 4), comprising: an image display device (Figure 4) including a plurality of pixels that are two dimensionally arranged (Paragraph 0053; Paragraph 0060); and a light receiver that received light passing through the image display device (Figure 4, light receiver 116), wherein the image display device has first pixel regions including some of the plurality of pixels,
Each of said some of the plurality of pixels in the first pixel regions include:
A first self-emitting device (Figure 4, self-emitting device 109; Paragraph 0062);
A first luminous region illuminated by the first self-emitting device (Figure 4, first luminous region where 109 is disposed);
A nonluminous region having a transmissive window that allows passage of visible light (Figure 4, nonluminous region having a transmissive window 110a; Paragraphs 0079-0080); and
An optical path adjusting member that is disposed on a light emission side opposed to a light entry side of the transmissive window and adjusts an optical path of light having passed through the transmissive window (Figure 4, optical path adjusting member 115a; Paragraph 0078-0081), and
In plan view from a display surface side of the image display device, at least some of the first pixel regions are disposed so as to overlap the light received (Figure 4).
Yamasaki fails to disclose that the optical path adjusting member includes a first refractive index member and a second refractive index member, the second refractive index member having a higher refractive index than the first refractive index member.
However, Sugitani discloses a similar device where the optical path adjusting member includes a first refractive index member and a second refractive index member, the second refractive index member having a higher refractive index than the first refractive index member (Sugitani, Figure 2, first refractive index member BFL, second refractive index member CTL; Paragraph 0107; Paragraph 0102; Paragraph 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical path adjusting member as disclosed by Yamasaki to have particular refractive indices as disclosed by Sugitani. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing light transmission (Sugitani, Paragraph 0127).
Regarding Claim 19, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani discloses the electronic device according to claim 18, wherein the light receiver receives light through the nonluminous region (Paragraphs 0086-0087).
Regarding Claim 20, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani discloses the electronic device according to claim 19, wherein the light receiver includes at least one of an imaging sensor that performs a photoelectric conversion on incident light passing through the nonluminous region, a distance measuring sensor that receives incident light passing through the nonluminous region and measures a distance, and a temperature sensor that measures a temperature on a basis of incident light passing through the nonluminous region (Paragraph 0087).
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki in view of Sugitani in further view of Lee (US Publication No,: US 2016/0079332 A1 of record).
Regarding Claim 6, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani discloses the image display device according to claim 1.
Yamasaki fails to disclose that the optical path adjusting member includes a photorefractive member that refracts light having passed through the transmissive window, in a direction of light passing in a direction of a normal of the transmissive window through a center of the transmissive window.
However, Lee discloses a similar device where the optical path adjusting member includes a photorefractive member that refracts light having passed through the transmissive window, in a direction of light passing in a direction of a normal of the transmissive window through a center of the transmissive window (Lee, Paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device as disclosed by Yamasaki to have the optical path adjusting member including a photorefractive member as disclosed by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of achieving a uniform intensity of light (Lee, Paragraph 0031).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamasaki in view of Lee and Sugitani discloses the image display device according to claim 6, wherein the optical path adjusting member is disposed on an opposite side of a substrate from a display surface of the substrate on which the plurality of pixels are disposed (Yamasaki, Figure 4, substrate 115).
Regarding Claim 8, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani and Lee discloses the image display device according to claim 7.
Yamasaki fails to disclose that the optical path adjusting member is a visible-light transmission film that is bonded to the substrate and has the photorefractive member.
However, Lee discloses a similar device where the optical path adjusting member is a visible-light transmission film that is bonded to the substrate and has the photorefractive member (Lee, Paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device as disclosed by Yamasaki to have the optical path adjusting member including a photorefractive member as disclosed by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of achieving a uniform intensity of light (Lee, Paragraph 0031).
Regarding Claim 9, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani and Lee discloses the image display device according to claim 6, wherein the optical path adjusting member is disposed on a display surface side of a substrate on which the plurality of pixels are disposed (Yamasaki, Figure 4, substrate 102).
Regarding Claim 10, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani and Lee discloses the image display device according to claim 6.
Yamasaki fails to disclose that the photorefractive member is a Fresnel lens or a diffractive lens.
However, Lee discloses a similar device where the photorefractive member is a Fresnel lens or a diffractive lens (Lee, Figure 7, Fresnel lens 1230; Paragraph 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device as disclosed by Yamasaki to have the optical path adjusting member including a photorefractive member as disclosed by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of achieving a uniform intensity of light (Lee, Paragraph 0031).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki in view of Sugitani in further view of Kawai et al (US Publication No.: US 2017/0217937 A1 of record, “Kawai”).
Regarding Claim 12, Yamasaki in view of Sugitani discloses the image display device according to claim 11.
Yamasaki fails to disclose the optical control member contains an addition agent that raises a refractive index of the optical control member higher than a refractive index of the transmissive window.
However, Kawai discloses a similar device where the optical control member contains an addition agent that raises a refractive index of the optical control member higher than a refractive index of the transmissive window (Kawai, Paragraph 0053; Paragraph 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device as disclosed by Yamasaki to include an additive for changing the refractive index as disclosed by Kawai. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of achieving a high refractive index while maintaining transparency (Kawai, Paragraph 0099).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the amendments to the claims and the new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871