DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR1020180048938 hereinafter KR in view of JP2020521195 hereinafter JP.
As to claim 1 KR discloses a hardware accelerator (Fig. 2, module 200) comprising: a control part (Fig. 2, and module 206);
and a data operation part (Fig. 2, and module 222) receiving and processing an input array composed of a plurality of non-compressed data groups NCG (Fig. 2, 202 (1) – 202 (n), wherein the control part is configured to perform, a process of sequentially reading the plurality of non-compressed data groups or a plurality of compressed data groups (Fig. 2, 224 (1) – 224 (n) corresponding to the plurality of non- compressed data groups from a memory (Fig. 2, 226 (1) – 226 (n), (paras. 0031, 0032).
KR does not explicitly disclose if it is determined that elements should be sequentially input to the data operation part by taking priority in a first direction of dimension over a second direction of dimension of the input array, by taking priority in the first direction of dimension over the second direction of dimension, and if all of a series of elements of the input array disposed along the first direction of dimension are prepared, a process of inputting the series of elements to the data operation part.
JP teaches that elements should be sequentially input to the data operation part by taking priority in a first direction of dimension over a second direction of dimension of the input array, by taking priority in the first direction of dimension over the second direction of dimension, and if all of a series of elements of the input array disposed along the first direction of dimension are prepared, a process of inputting the series of elements to the data operation part (para. 0021). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to use the directed graph scheme of JP in the system of KR to enable an efficient implementation leveraging it sequencing of super layers for energy efficiency (para. 0016)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR/JP in further view of KR102038390 hereinafter KR2.
As to claim 2, KR/JP does not explicitly disclose the hardware accelerator, wherein two or more data groups are defined in the input array along the second direction of dimension.
KR2 teaches wherein two or more data groups are defined in the input array along the second direction of dimension (Table 1, and para. 24 illustrating a 3-dimensional matrix. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to use scheme of KR2 in the system of KR/JP to enable complex, high performance operations (para. 0005).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 – 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6- 9 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Independent claim 6, and its dependents thereof are allowed because the prior art either alone or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious, the claimed limitation of
“ the control part is configured to perform a process of inputting the plurality of groups stored in the memory to the data operation part by reading the plurality of groups as an input array for input to the data operation part in a second time period, and in the process of inputting, the control part is configured to sequentially read the plurality of groups stored in the memory from the memory by taking priority in the first direction of dimension over the second direction of dimension and input a series of elements of the input array disposed along the first direction of dimension to the data operation part if all of the series of elements are prepared”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US11989631, US20240220259, and US20140357526, among others teach the management (such as compression) of data into groups to further boast the efficiency of accelerators.
/C.A.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2184
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184