DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 12-17, in the reply filed on 12/30/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-11 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/30/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizuka et al. (US 2015/028954, “Ishizuka”) in view of Lee et al. (US 2006/0183878, “Lee”).
Regarding claims 1 and 12 – 14, Ishizuka teaches a resin, that may be molded into an optical article ([0022], [0034], optical lens) including a polycarbonate compound (i.e., a monomeric unit having pendant groups reading on the claimed X1-Z1-X2 and X3-Z2-X4-L-C=O groups, see, e.g., [0036], compound of general formula (A); for use in an optical resin, [0002] - [0006]). Ishizuka teaches that such a compound may be formed from reaction of a dihydroxy precursor ([0049] – [0052], and may include fluorine).
Ishizuka fails to teach the claimed structure because Ishizuka fails to teach a single substituted medial aryl group. However, in the same field of endeavor of optical resin applications ([0001] – [0010]), Lee teaches a terphenyl monomeric compound having a dihydroxy group and that such a compound may help to reduce steric hindrance and thus be more readily produced and be useful in the production of materials for use in optical applications (e.g., [0001] – [0010], [0048]). It therefore would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing have substituted a medial terphenyl group in the polycarbonate compound of Ishizuka (or to have used the terphenyl compound in a polycarbonate, consistent with the teachings of Ishizuka) at the very least as an attempt to harness its ability to reduce steric hindrance and thus be more readily produced and its usefulness in the production of materials for use in optical applications (e.g., [0001] – [0010], [0048]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ishizuki additionally teaches the medial benzene ring need not have a group corresponding to R1 (see Lee, [0046]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Ishizuka additionally teaches that the groups corresponding to Ar1 and Ar2 may be substituted aryl groups having 6 to 12 carbons (see Lee, [0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Ishizuka additionally teaches that the groups corresponding to the claimed Z1 and Z2 groups may be alkylene groups having from 1 to 4 carbon atoms (see Ishizuka, [0036]).
Regarding claim 5, Ishizuka additionally teaches that the groups corresponding to the claimed X1 and X4 may be oxygens (see Ishizuka [0036]).
Regarding claim 6, Ishizuka teaches the resin may have a molecular weight of 20,000 to 200,000 (e.g., [0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Ishizuka teaches the resin may have a glass transition temperature of from 100 to 160C ([0065]).
Regarding claim 8, Ishizuka teaches the resin may have a refractive index of from 1.635 to 1.695 at 589 nm ([0057]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ishizuka additionally teaches that the groups corresponding to Ar1 and Ar2 may be substituted aryl groups having 6 to 12 carbons (see Lee, [0046]), the groups corresponding to the claimed Z1 and Z2 groups may be alkylene groups having from 1 to 4 carbon atoms (see Ishizuka, [0036]), and the group corresponding to the claimed L’ group need not be included by the language of claim 1 and thus, because Ishizuka teaches a linking group corresponding to the claimed limitation of element L is considered to teach the required elements of claim 15 (see Ishizuka, [0036]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Ishizuka additionally teaches that an end group may be, for example, CO2CH3 (see, e.g., [0036]).
Regarding claim 17, Ishizuka additionally teaches that the resin may have an Abbe’s number on the range of 24 or less under substantially similar testing conditions to those claimed (Ishizuka, [0058]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ashida (US 2015/0158800, “Ashida”) teaches a resin comprising a terphenyl (or diphenylbenzene) type structure (see General Formula (6) and see Ashida, [0009]). Such a structure may read on the claimed Chemical Formula 1. The medial benzyl group of the structure of Ashida may be substituted with two aryl groups at para positions and additionally with two R2 groups at the third and fifth positions and which may be, for example, alkoxy groups ([0009], [0013] – [0018]).
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782