DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizuka et al. (US 2015/028954, “Ishizuka”) in view of Lee et al. (US 2006/0183878, “Lee”).
Regarding claims 1 and 12 – 14, Ishizuka teaches a resin, that may be molded into an optical article ([0022], [0034], optical lens) including a polycarbonate compound (i.e., a monomeric unit having pendant groups reading on the claimed X1-Z1-X2 and X3-Z2-X4-L-C=O groups, see, e.g., [0036], compound of general formula (A); for use in an optical resin, [0002] - [0006]). Ishizuka teaches that such a compound may be formed from reaction of a dihydroxy precursor ([0049] – [0052], and may include fluorine).
Ishizuka fails to teach the claimed structure because Ishizuka fails to teach a single substituted medial aryl group. However, in the same field of endeavor of optical resin applications ([0001] – [0010]), Lee teaches a terphenyl monomeric compound having a dihydroxy group and that such a compound may help to reduce steric hindrance and thus be more readily produced and be useful in the production of materials for use in optical applications (e.g., [0001] – [0010], [0048]). It therefore would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing have substituted a medial terphenyl group in the polycarbonate compound of Ishizuka (or to have used the terphenyl compound in a polycarbonate, consistent with the teachings of Ishizuka) at the very least as an attempt to harness its ability to reduce steric hindrance and thus be more readily produced and its usefulness in the production of materials for use in optical applications (e.g., [0001] – [0010], [0048]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ishizuki additionally teaches the medial benzene ring need not have a group corresponding to R1 (see Lee, [0046]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Ishizuka additionally teaches that the groups corresponding to Ar1 and Ar2 may be substituted aryl groups having 6 to 12 carbons (see Lee, [0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Ishizuka additionally teaches that the groups corresponding to the claimed Z1 and Z2 groups may be alkylene groups having from 1 to 4 carbon atoms (see Ishizuka, [0036]).
Regarding claim 5, Ishizuka additionally teaches that the groups corresponding to the claimed X1 and X4 may be oxygens (see Ishizuka [0036]).
Regarding claim 6, Ishizuka teaches the resin may have a molecular weight of 20,000 to 200,000 (e.g., [0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Ishizuka teaches the resin may have a glass transition temperature of from 100 to 160C ([0065]).
Regarding claim 8, Ishizuka teaches the resin may have a refractive index of from 1.635 to 1.695 at 589 nm ([0057]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ishizuka additionally teaches that the groups corresponding to Ar1 and Ar2 may be substituted aryl groups having 6 to 12 carbons (see Lee, [0046]), the groups corresponding to the claimed Z1 and Z2 groups may be alkylene groups having from 1 to 4 carbon atoms (see Ishizuka, [0036]), and the group corresponding to the claimed L’ group need not be included by the language of claim 1 and thus, because Ishizuka teaches a linking group corresponding to the claimed limitation of element L is considered to teach the required elements of claim 15 (see Ishizuka, [0036]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Ishizuka additionally teaches that an end group may be, for example, CO2CH3 (see, e.g., [0036]).
Regarding claim 17, Ishizuka additionally teaches that the resin may have an Abbe’s number on the range of 24 or less under substantially similar testing conditions to those claimed (Ishizuka, [0058]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Ashida et al. US 2015/0158800 discloses dihydroxy terphenyl compounds.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the structure provided by Lee does not teach the Ar1 and Ar2 groups instantly claimed. The Examine respectfully disagrees however. Ishizuka teaches that the polycarbonate resin includes a dihydroxy component reacted with a carbonate precursor (e.g., [0049] – [0051], [0038], wherein the hydroxyl groups are the reaction points for attachment to the polycarbonate). Lee teaches a dihydroxy group that may help to reduce steric hindrance and thus be more readily produced and be useful in the production of materials for use in optical applications (Lee, e.g., [0001] – [0010], [0048], Formula 1). Such hydroxy groups would attach to the polycarbonate under the reaction conditions described by Ishizuka. While the hydroxyl groups of the compound of Formula 1 of Lee do not read on the presently claimed Aryl groups but the Aryl groups pendant from the center benzene ring do read on groups Ar1 and Ar2. Therefore, the Examiner maintains the position described in the rejections above.
Therefore, claims 1-8 and 12-17 are rejected as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782