DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “varies the time difference between the emission timing and the transfer timing among the plurality of sections by fixing the emission timing and shifting the transfer timing from the emission timing”. However, it is unclear how the emission timing is fixed or what the emission timing is fixed with respect to. Therefore, claim 6 is indefinite.
Claim 7 recites “varies the time difference between the emission timing and the transfer timing among the plurality of sections by fixing the transfer timing and shifting the emission timing from the transfer timing”. However, it is unclear how the transfer timing is fixed or what the transfer timing is fixed with respect to. Therefore, claim 7 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Grauer US 20180203122 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Grauer teaches a distance image acquisition device comprising:
a light source that emits a measurement light (110 in Fig. 1, [0034]);
a distance measurement sensor (detector 120 in Fig. 1, [0034]; Figs. 8A-8B, [0059-64]), that includes a charge generation region (121 in Figs. 8A-8B, [0060-64]), a charge accumulation region (122 and 123 in Figs. 8A-8B, [0060-64]), and a transfer gate electrode arranged on a region between the charge generation region and the charge accumulation region and detects the measurement light by transferring charges generated in the charge generation region in response to incidence of the measurement light emitted from the light source and reflected by a target object, to the charge accumulation region by using the transfer gate electrode (124 in Figs. 8A-8B, [0060-64]); and
a control unit that controls the distance measurement sensor and generates a distance image of the target object based on a detection result of the distance measurement sensor (130 in Fig. 1, [0034-36]),
wherein the charge generation region includes an avalanche multiplication region that causes avalanche multiplication (121 can be avalanche photodiode, [0061]), and
wherein the control unit:
divides an entire distance range of a measurement target into a plurality of sections (multiple depth ranges shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 6, [0053-54, 68, 80]);
controls the distance measurement sensor so as to perform measurements about the plurality of sections while varying a time difference between an emission timing of the measurement light by the light source and a transfer timing of the charges by the transfer gate electrode among the plurality of sections (multiple depth ranges shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 6, [0053-54, 68, 80]; sequences of illumination and detection in Figs. 9A and 9B, [0066-67]; Different T_Laser, T_II, and T_OFF values, [0004-5, 66-67]); and
generates the distance image of the entire distance range based on the results of the measurements about the plurality of sections ([0033-34, 48-49, 53-54]).
Regarding claim 5, Grauer teaches the distance image acquisition device according to claim 1, wherein the distance measurement sensor includes only one region as the charge accumulation region and includes only one electrode as the transfer gate electrode (122 and 123 in Figs. 8A-8B, [0060-64]).
Regarding claim 6, Grauer teaches the distance image acquisition device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit varies the time difference between the emission timing and the transfer timing among the plurality of sections by fixing the emission timing and shifting the transfer timing from the emission timing (115 in Fig 9A shows illumination pulses set with variable times 138_N between emission and exposure, [0066-67]; examiner notes that it is not clear what the timing is fixed with respect to and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art can consider either the emission timing fixed or the exposure timing fixed) .
Regarding claim 7, Grauer teaches the distance image acquisition device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit varies the time difference between the emission timing and the transfer timing among the plurality of sections by fixing the transfer timing and shifting the emission timing from the transfer timing (115 in Fig 9A shows illumination pulses set with variable times 138_N between emission and exposure, [0066-67]; examiner notes that it is not clear what the timing is fixed with respect to and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art can consider either the emission timing fixed or the exposure timing fixed).
Regarding claim 9, Grauer teaches a distance image acquisition method of acquiring a distance image of a target object, using a light source that emits a measurement light (110 in Fig. 1, [0034]); and
a distance measurement sensor that includes a charge generation region (121 in Figs. 8A-8B, [0060-64]), a charge accumulation region (122 and 123 in Figs. 8A-8B, [0060-64]), and a transfer gate electrode arranged on a region between the charge generation region and the charge accumulation region and detects the measurement light by transferring charges generated in the charge generation region in response to incidence of the measurement light emitted from the light source and reflected by a target object, to the charge accumulation region by using the transfer gate electrode (124 in Figs. 8A-8B, [0060-64]), the charge generation region including an avalanche multiplication region that causes avalanche multiplication (121 can be avalanche photodiode, [0061]),
the distance image acquisition method comprising:
dividing an entire distance range of a measurement target into a plurality of sections (multiple depth ranges shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 6, [0053-54, 68, 80]);
performing measurements about the plurality of sections while varying the time difference between the emission timing of the measurement light by the light source and the transfer timing of the charges by the transfer gate electrode among the plurality of sections (multiple depth ranges shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 6, [0053-54, 68, 80]; sequences of illumination and detection in Figs. 9A and 9B, [0066-67]; Different T_Laser, T_II, and T_OFF values, [0004-5, 66-67]); and
generating the distance image of the entire distance range based on the results of the measurements about the plurality of sections ([0033-34, 48-49, 53-54]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grauer US 20180203122 A1 in view of Kato US 20230341749 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Grauer teaches the distance image acquisition device according to claim 1,
wherein the plurality of sections include a first section and a second section farther from the light source than the first section (multiple depth ranges shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 6, [0053-54, 68, 80]), and
Grauer does not explicitly teach wherein the control unit controls the distance measurement sensor so that the charges accumulated in the charge accumulation region are read at a higher reading frequency in the measurement about the first section than in the measurement about the second section.
Kato teaches more frequent exposures for closer ranges (Figs. 20A-20B, [0202]; examiner notes that frequency can reasonably be interpreted as related to how fast something is occurring or the number of times something is occurring – here, time between exposures at close range is shorter than at longer ranges)
Additionally, Grauer does teach different frequency of measurements in different phases (Figs. 9A-9B, [0066-67]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grauer such that the control unit controls the distance measurement sensor so that the charges accumulated in the charge accumulation region are read at a higher reading frequency in the measurement about the first section than in the measurement about the second section similar to Kato with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of gaining information faster about objects close to the detector which can help improve safety.
Regarding claim 3, Grauer teaches the distance image acquisition device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of sections include a first section and a second section farther from the light source than the first section (multiple depth ranges shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 6, [0053-54, 68, 80]), and
Grauer does not explicitly teach wherein the control unit controls the distance measurement sensor so that the charges are transferred to the charge accumulation region at a lower transfer frequency in the measurement about the first section than in the measurement about the second section.
Kato teaches more exposures for longer ranges (Figs. 20A-20B, [0202]; examiner notes that frequency can reasonably be interpreted as related to how fast something is occurring or the number of times something is occurring – here, shorter ranges have fewer exposures than longer ranges)
Additionally, Grauer does teach different frequency of measurements in different phases (Figs. 9A-9B, [0066-67]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grauer such that the control unit controls the distance measurement sensor so that the charges are transferred to the charge accumulation region at a lower transfer frequency in the measurement about the first section than in the measurement about the second section similar to Kato with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of helping improve signal to noise ratio in farther ranges which may have decreased signal due to the distance.
Regarding claim 8, Grauer teaches the distance image acquisition device according to claim 1,
Grauer does not explicitly teach wherein charge accumulation times in the measurements about the plurality of sections are equal to each other.
Kato teaches depth ranges of equal sizes (Figs. 21-22, [0209-213]; one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that if depth range distances are equal, then the measurement time in each depth range must be equal as well)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grauer such that charge accumulation times in the measurements about the plurality of sections are equal to each other similar to Kato with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring depth ranges are of equal sizes which can limit additional data needed to simplify combining data into images.
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grauer US 20180203122 A1 in view of Geuens US 20200124726 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Grauer teaches the distance image acquisition device according to claim 1,
Grauer does not explicitly teach but Geuens teaches wherein the charge accumulation region includes a pair of charge accumulation regions, and wherein the transfer gate electrode include a pair of transfer gate electrodes arranged respectively on the regions between the charge generation region and the pair of charge accumulation regions (storage wells 221 and 222, with transfer gates A and B in Figs. 8-10, [0099, 109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grauer such that the charge accumulation region includes a pair of charge accumulation regions, and wherein the transfer gate electrode include a pair of transfer gate electrodes arranged respectively on the regions between the charge generation region and the pair of charge accumulation regions similar to Geuens with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing a single pixel to image multiple distances and/or help in removing background noise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kubota US 20220390568 A1 teaches fixed light emission timing (Figs. 23 and 27 and different gate timings based on range, [0238-240, 259-260]; single light emission in Fig. 27 and individual emission for each range in Fig. 23)
Kasuga US 20220003876 A1 teaches dividing distance ranging into segments (Fig. 9)
/J.C.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645