DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 2-12 are amended.
Claims 8-12 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-7 are considered on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/27/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/24/2023, 06/10/2024, 11/01/2024, 06/06/2025, 12/22/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "an opened upper part of the battery case". It is unclear if this is the same opened upper part of the battery case referred to in claim 1 as “an opened upper part” and subsequently as “the opened upper part of the battery case” or if it is referring to a different opened upper part. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20210184308 A1) hereinafter "Kim". Cited on the IDS filed 2/24/2023.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a secondary battery comprising: an electrode assembly; a battery case that houses the electrode assembly and has an opened upper part; and a cap assembly that is coupled to the opened upper part of the battery case ([0007]; Fig. 1B; element 140 corresponds to “cap assembly”; [0035]-[0037]), wherein the cap assembly comprises a safety vent formed with a notch portion, and wherein a gap formed by the notch portion is closed ([0044]-[0046]; Fig. 1B-C & 2A-B; element 140 corresponds to a cap assembly, element 141 corresponds to a safety vent formed with a notch portion, and element 141c corresponds to notch portion; notch portion, element 141c, is closed at the top as well as closed at the bottom by element 142; [0064]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim further discloses wherein: the safety vent is exposed to the outside from an opened upper part of the battery case (Fig. 1B-C; element 141, corresponding to “safety vent”, has one surface, element 141a, exposed to the outside of the battery case; [0017]; [0045]; [0069]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim further discloses wherein: the safety vent is a disk-shaped plate (Fig. 1A; top plate 141 is circular; [0035] “cylindrical can”; [0045]), and the notch portion is shaped to define a recessed groove extends in the safety vent extending along a circular path ([0045] “substantially circular”, “inverted V (“∧”) shaped cross section”).
Regarding claim 4, Kim further discloses wherein: one end of the opened upper part of the battery case is bent to wrap around a portion of the cap assembly and form a crimping portion ([0036]; Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 5, Kim further discloses wherein: the crimping portion of the battery case wraps around an outer peripheral part of the safety vent (Fig. 1B-C; element 141 corresponds to “safety vent” and element 114, corresponding to crimping portion, wraps around element 141; [0062]; [0064]; Fig. 2A-B).
Regarding claim 6, Kim further discloses wherein: the safety vent comprises a curling portion bent at the outer peripheral part of the safety vent, and the crimping portion wraps around the curling portion to form a crimping joint ([0046]; Fig. 1B-C elements 141e and 141f are considered curling portions of the safety vent; [0062]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim further discloses wherein: the safety vent is formed with a bent portion bent in a direction away from the electrode assembly ([0051]; the upper region of the safety vent is bent upwards and away from the electrode assembly, see Fig. 2A).
Conclusion
/F.B.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728