This is the first office action on the merits and is responsive to the papers filed 02/24/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and examined below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted by Applicant are in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. They have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13,” the at least one optically detectable information carrier” and “the at least one optical feature” in lines 8, 11-12, 15 lack antecedent basis.
Claims 14-17 are also rejected due to claim dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daniel B. January (US 6134792 A, “January”).
Regarding claim 1, January teaches a measurement panel (Figs. 1-9) for the optical measurement or calibration of a vehicle component, in particular of a wheel system or driver assistance system, the measurement panel (at least figs. 1-4, column 4: line 30; an optical target 10) comprising:
at least one optical feature (at least figs. 1-3, col 4: lines 30-40; target indicia T1-T27); and
at least one optically detectable information carrier (Col 5: lines 49-65; alignment parameters or a compensation vector Vc) of measurement panel information relating to the measurement panel itself;
characterized in that the at least one optical feature is formed on or attached to a front side of the measurement panel (At least figs. 1-3, col 4: lines 30-40; target indicia T1-T27 are formed on or attached to the front side of the optical target 10); and
the at least one optically detectable information carrier is formed on or attached to a rear side of the measurement panel (col 6: lines 20-34, the compensation vector Vc may be stored in a database and indexed by a target serial number unique to each optical target, or it may be printed in numerical, bar-code, or similar format on a sticker and secured to the backside of the optical target 10 prior to shipment from the manufacturing facility).
Regarding claim 2, January teaches the measurement panel according to claim 1, characterized in that the measurement panel information is at least one of a group comprising:
an individual identifier of the measurement panel, geometric dimensions of the measurement panel, geometric dimensions of optical features formed on the measurement panel, parameters of the measurement panel (Col 5: lines 49-64, the optical target 10 parameters are alignment parameters or compensation vectors Vc describing the orientation of the axis of rotation about which the optical target 10 is reoriented in the optical target coordinate system ) and/or the optical features formed thereon, optical properties of the measurement panel and/or the optical features formed thereon.
Regarding claim 3, January teaches the measurement panel according to claim 1, characterized in that the measurement panel information is encoded in the at least one optically detectable information carrier, the measurement panel information being encoded in the at least one optically detectable information carrier in particular in compressed form (Col 6: lines 30-35, the compensation vector Vc may be stored in a database and indexed by a target serial number unique to each optical target, or it may be printed in numerical, bar-code, or similar format on a sticker and secured to the backside of the optical target 10 prior to shipment from the manufacturing facility).
Regarding claim 4, January teaches the measurement panel according to claim 3, characterized in that the measurement panel information is encoded in a machine-readable form in the at least one optically detectable information carrier (Col 6: lines 30-35, discloses that the alignment parameter or compensation vector Vc can be printed on a sticker in a digital, bar code or similar format and fixed to the back of the optical target 10 (equivalent to measurement panel information being encoded in at least one optically detectable information carrier) prior to shipment from a manufacturing facility, the number, bar code or similar format is necessarily machine readable.),
the machine-readable form including at least one element of the group comprising: alphanumeric symbols or the like, a one-dimensional code, in particular a bar code (Col 6: lines 30-35; it may be printed in numerical, bar-code, or similar format on a sticker), or a two-dimensional code, in particular a QR code, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 5, January teaches the measurement panel according to claim 1, wherein at least one identification pattern is additionally formed on the front side of the measurement panel, which identification pattern enables the measurement panel to be identified by means of an image recording device directed towards the front side of the measurement panel (at least figs. 1-3, Col 3: lines 9-20,col 4: lines 30-40, col 5:lines 11-24, discloses multiple geometric optical indicia T1–T27 arranged on the target face and used to identify and determine orientation of the measurement panel. Also, an imaging system observes and records and image of the target face 12.).
Regarding claim 6, January teaches the measurement panel according to claim 5, wherein the identification pattern comprises a plurality of geometric identification elements, in particular circles or polygons, wherein the identification pattern comprises in particular a plurality of like geometric identification elements (at least figs. 1-3, col 4: lines 30-40 discloses multiple geometric optical indicia T1–T27 arranged on the target face and used to identify and determine orientation of the measurement panel).
Regarding claim 7, January teaches the measurement panel according to claim 6, wherein the identification elements are formed on the measurement panel in a measurement panel-specific number and/or are arranged on the measurement panel in a measurement panel-specific arrangement, wherein the identification elements are arranged on the measurement panel in particular in a vertically or horizontally or diagonally or obliquely aligned row (at least figs. 1-3, col 4: lines 30-40 discloses multiple geometric optical indicia T1–T27 arranged on the target face and used to identify and determine orientation of the measurement panel).
Regarding claim 10, January teaches a wheel adapter (See at least figs. 3-4, wheel adapter clamp 16), comprising a measurement panel according claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1, optical target 10), wherein the wheel adapter is configured to be attached to a wheel of a motor vehicle (col 4: lines 41-48, there is an optical target 10 on the wheel adapter clamp 16, which is configured to be attached to a wheel 20 of a motor vehicle.).
Regarding claim 18, January teaches the measurement panel according to claim 2, characterized in that the measurement panel information is encoded in the at least one optically detectable information carrier, the measurement panel information being encoded in the at least one optically detectable information carrier in particular in compressed form (Col 6: lines 30-35, the compensation vector Vc may be stored in a database and indexed by a target serial number unique to each optical target, or it may be printed in numerical, bar-code, or similar format on a sticker and secured to the backside of the optical target 10 prior to shipment from the manufacturing facility).
Regarding claim 19, January teaches the measurement panel according to claim 2, wherein at least one identification pattern is additionally formed on the front side of the measurement panel, which identification pattern enables the measurement panel to be identified by means of an image recording device directed towards the front side of the measurement panel (at least figs. 1-3, Col 3: lines 9-20,col 4: lines 30-40, col 5:lines 11-24, discloses multiple geometric optical indicia T1–T27 arranged on the target face and used to identify and determine orientation of the measurement panel. Also, an imaging system observes and records and image of the target face 12.).
Regarding claim 20, January teaches a wheel adapter (See at least figs. 3-4, wheel adapter clamp 16), comprising a measurement panel according to claim 2 (See rejection of claim 1, optical target 10), wherein the wheel adapter is configured to be attached to a wheel of a motor vehicle (col 4: lines 41-48, there is an optical target 10 on the wheel adapter clamp 16, which is configured to be attached to a wheel 20 of a motor vehicle. See also, claim 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9, 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over January in view of Stieff et al. (US 8561307 B2, “Stieff”).
Regarding claim 8, January teaches the measurement panel according to claim 5, wherein the measurement panel comprises a first measurement panel element. At least figs. 1-3, col 4: lines 30-40 and col 6: lines 20-34, January teaches an optical target (panel) having: front-side optical features (target indicia), and panel-specific information associated with the target, including storage on the backside (e.g., barcode / sticker) tied to a specific target. January fails to explicitly teach a second measurement panel element formed separately from the first measurement panel element, wherein the at least one optical feature and the at least one optically detectable information carrier are formed on the first measurement panel element, and wherein the identification pattern is formed on the second measurement panel element. However, Stieff explicitly teaches a second, separately formed panel element that carries an identification pattern, distinct from the main target support. Stieff discloses a removable target structure (400) that is temporarily secured to the target support assembly and is formed separately from it: “the target support assembly 108 is provided with an extended target mounting 212, onto which a removable target structure 400 … may be temporarily secured” (Col 7: lines 39-44). The removable target structure is a separate rigid body with its own target surfaces and target elements: “the removable target structure consists of a rigid body 402, and includes two separate target surfaces 404A and 404B, on which are disposed associated target elements 406A and 406B” (Col 7: lines 53-57). Stieff further teaches that identifying markings / indicia are provided to uniquely identify the target: “the target support assembly 108 incorporates visible identifying markings or indicia, such as a row of retro-reflective squares … A unique identification pattern for each target support assembly can be provided…” (Col 8: lines 26-35)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to implement January’s optical target (with optical features and encoded panel information) using Stieff’s separately formed removable target structure for identification patterns, because Stieff demonstrates a known and practical way to separate identification patterns from primary optical target surfaces to improve modularity, replaceability, and recognition robustness without altering the underlying target calibration.
Regarding claim 9, January, in view of Stieff teaches the measurement panel according to claim 8, wherein the measurement panel comprises a measurement panel element carrier adapted to receive the first and second measurement panel elements; wherein the first and second measurement panel elements are attachable to and detachable from the measurement panel element carrier independently of each other.
Stieff discloses a carrier (base assembly + target support assembly) that is adapted to receive removable panel elements (The target support assembly (108) is mounted to a base and provides a structure to receive additional elements (Col 5: line 67 to col 6: line 1), The extended target mounting (212) functions as a carrier interface for receiving a removable panel element (col 7: lines 39-41),The removable target structure is removably secured (attachable/detachable) (col 7: lines 42-52). So, Stieff teaches a measurement panel element carrier (target support assembly + extended mounting), and independent attachment and detachment of panel elements.).
January supplies the primary measurement panel element (optical target with encoded information).
Stieff supplies the carrier, and the second measurement panel element that is independently attachable/detachable. Together, they fully satisfy Claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, January teaches a device for the optical measurement and/or calibration of a vehicle component, in particular a wheel system or driver assistance system, comprising:
at least one image recording device (col 5: lines 14-16 and at least claim 18 “obtaining from said optical camera at least one image of said optical target at each said rotational orientation”),
at least one image processing unit (At least claims 23 and 37. January teaches processing captured images to compute orientation/alignment parameters, which requires an image processing unit.) and
at least one measurement panel according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1, optical target 10),
wherein the at least one measurement panel can be attached to a wheel of a motor vehicle, in particular by means of a wheel adapter (col 4: lines 41-48, there is an optical target 10 on the wheel adapter clamp 16, which is configured to be attached to a wheel 20 of a motor vehicle. See also, claim 23 “…dismounting said optical target from said wheel clamp; dismounting said wheel clamp from said vehicle wheel… mounting said optical target on said wheel clamp…”).
January fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one image recording device is configured to capture an image of the optically detectable information carrier of the at least one measurement panel and to transmit the captured image to the at least one image processing unit, and
wherein the at least one image processing unit is adapted to decode the measurement panel information from the captured image of the optically detectable information carrier by means of image processing.
January teaches that each optical target is associated with target-specific calibration information (e.g., compensation vectors or alignment relationships) that must be correctly associated with the particular optical target being observed and recalled for subsequent calibration operations. January further teaches that this information may be physically carried by the target itself, including in a bar-code or similar optically detectable format on the backside of the optical target (col 6: lines 22-34 and line 46 to col 7: line 9. See also, claim 23).
However, Stieff teaches that optically detectable identification patterns provided on a measurement panel assembly are captured by an image recording device and used to identify and distinguish panel elements within an optical measurement system (Stieff, target support assembly incorporating visible identifying markings observable by the imaging system (col 8: lines 27-32); unique identification pattern enabling the imaging system to distinguish among different target assemblies (col 8: lines 32-35. See also, claim 10)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the same image recording device already observing the optical target in January to capture an image of the optically detectable information carrier, and to decode the encoded panel information using the image processing unit, as taught by Stieff, in order to automatically and unambiguously associate the correct calibration information with the observed optical target. This modification directly addresses January’s reliance on accurate target-specific information by eliminating manual lookup, serial-number entry, or database mismatches, particularly in environments where targets are repeatedly mounted, dismounted, and interchanged.
Moreover, performing image-based decoding of the information carrier ensures that the calibration information is retrieved contemporaneously with the optical measurement, reducing the risk of applying incorrect compensation data and improving alignment accuracy and repeatability. Thus, the combination represents a functionally integrated improvement to January’s system rather than a mere convenience, and yields predictable benefits consistent with the objectives of vehicle alignment and calibration systems.
January, in view of Stieff teaches to use the decoded measurement panel information in a subsequent measurement and/or calibration (January, teaches using stored/associated panel information in calibration in col 2: lines 54-55 “…the relationship being recorded and associated with the optical target for future use…”and claim 23 “…recalling said stored alignment of said optical target associated with said optical target; and determining the orientation of said axis of rotation…”).
Regarding claim 12, January in view of Stieff fails to explicitly teach the device according to claim 11, wherein the device comprises a mobile image recording device adapted to capture an image of the optically detectable information carrier.
January teaches that target-specific calibration information is physically carried on the optical target itself, including in optically detectable formats such as bar codes, and that such information must be correctly associated with the target during calibration and subsequent measurement operations (col 6: lines 30-35“…the compensation vector Vc may be printed in numerical, bar-code, or similar format on a sticker and secured to the backside of the optical target 10…”). Stieff teaches that optically detectable identification patterns on a measurement panel assembly are observed by an imaging system in order to identify and distinguish panel elements (col 8: lines 26-32 “The target support assembly 108 incorporates visible identifying markings or indicia… which are observable by the imaging system.”).
While neither reference explicitly labels the camera as “mobile,” both references describe service and calibration environments in which: targets are mounted and dismounted, components are handled individually, and identification information is physically present on the panel itself.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a mobile image recording device—such as a handheld or portable camera—to capture an image of the optically detectable information carrier on January’s optical target, because the information carrier is located on the target itself and is intended to be read during setup, handling, or interchange of targets. Using a mobile image recording device allows the target-specific information to be captured prior to or independent of placement within the stationary measurement field, thereby ensuring correct identification and association of the calibration data before alignment measurements are performed. This modification improves robustness and reduces the risk of misidentification in environments where targets are repeatedly mounted, removed, and serviced, and is consistent with Stieff’s teaching of image-based identification of panel elements.
Regarding claim 13, January teaches a method for the optical measurement or calibration of a vehicle component, in particular a wheel system or driver assistance system, using at least one measurement panel according to claim 1(See rejection of claim 1, optical target 10), the method comprising the steps of:
attaching the at least one measurement panel to a wheel of a motor vehicle or to a measuring means required for the calibration of a driver assistance system (col 4: lines 41-48, there is an optical target 10 on the wheel adapter clamp 16, which is configured to be attached to a wheel 20 of a motor vehicle. See also, claim 23 “…dismounting said optical target from said wheel clamp; dismounting said wheel clamp from said vehicle wheel… mounting said optical target on said wheel clamp…”);
January fails to explicitly teach capturing an image of the at least one optically detectable information carrier;
Recognizing and decoding the measurement panel information contained in the image of the at least one optically detectable information carrier, capturing at least one image of the at least one optical feature.
January teaches that each optical target is associated with target-specific calibration information (e.g., compensation vectors or alignment relationships) that must be correctly associated with the particular optical target being observed and recalled for subsequent calibration operations. January further teaches that this information may be physically carried by the target itself, including in a bar-code or similar optically detectable format on the backside of the optical target (col 6: lines 22-34 and line 46 to col 7: line 9. See also, claim 23).
However, Stieff teaches that optically detectable identification patterns provided on a measurement panel assembly are captured by an image recording device and used to identify and distinguish panel elements within an optical measurement system (Stieff, target support assembly incorporating visible identifying markings observable by the imaging system (col 8: lines 27-32); unique identification pattern enabling the imaging system to distinguish among different target assemblies (col 8: lines 32-35. See also, claim 10)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the same image recording device already observing the optical target in January to capture an image of the optically detectable information carrier, and to decode the encoded panel information using the image processing unit, as taught by Stieff, in order to automatically and unambiguously associate the correct calibration information with the observed optical target. This modification directly addresses January’s reliance on accurate target-specific information by eliminating manual lookup, serial-number entry, or database mismatches, particularly in environments where targets are repeatedly mounted, dismounted, and interchanged.
Moreover, performing image-based decoding of the information carrier ensures that the calibration information is retrieved contemporaneously with the optical measurement, reducing the risk of applying incorrect compensation data and improving alignment accuracy and repeatability. Thus, the combination represents a functionally integrated improvement to January’s system rather than a mere convenience, and yields predictable benefits consistent with the objectives of vehicle alignment and calibration systems.
January, in view of Stieff teaches using the measurement panel information in the measurement or calibration of the vehicle component by means of the at least one captured image of the at least one optical feature (January, teaches using stored/associated panel information in calibration in col 2: lines 54-55 “…the relationship being recorded and associated with the optical target for future use…”and claim 23 “…recalling said stored alignment of said optical target associated with said optical target; and determining the orientation of said axis of rotation…”).
Regarding claim 14, January, in view of Stieff teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the method comprises capturing the at least one image of the at least one optical feature by means of a stationary image recording device of a device for the optical measurement and/or calibration of a vehicle component (January’s alignment cameras are fixed/stationary during measurement and capture images of the front-side optical features (col 5: lines 14-15 and claim 23“…observing said optical target with said optical camera to obtain an image of said target…”).).
Regarding claim 15, January, in view of Stieff teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the method comprises capturing the at least one image of the at least one optically detectable information carrier by means of a stationary image recording device of a device for the optical measurement and/or calibration of a vehicle component or by means of a mobile image recording device, in particular a camera of a mobile operating device, such as a smartphone or a tablet PC (January’s alignment cameras are fixed/stationary during measurement and capture images of the front-side optical features (col 5: lines 14-15 and claim 23“…observing said optical target with said optical camera to obtain an image of said target…”).).
Regarding claim 16, January, in view of Stieff teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the method comprises furthermore:
assigning the measurement panel information contained in the optically detectable information carrier to an identification pattern (January teaches association of panel-specific parameters with the optical target (col 2: lines 54-55 “…the relationship being recorded and associated with the optical target for future use…”));
capturing an image of the identification pattern (Col 8: lines 26-35 “the target support assembly 108 incorporates visible identifying markings or indicia, such as a row of retro-reflective squares … A unique identification pattern for each target support assembly can be provided…” . Stieff teaches capturing an image of an identification pattern, as Stieff discloses that visible identifying markings or indicia provided on the measurement panel assembly are observable by an imaging system, and that unique identification patterns enable the imaging system to distinguish among different panel assemblies.);
identifying the at least one measurement panel by means of the captured image of the identification pattern (Stieff teaches optically identifiable patterns used for identification via imaging (Col 8: lines 26-35 “the target support assembly 108 incorporates visible identifying markings or indicia, such as a row of retro-reflective squares … A unique identification pattern for each target support assembly can be provided…” and claim 23 “…recalling said stored alignment of said optical target associated with said optical target; and determining the orientation of said axis of rotation…”).); and
assigning the measurement panel information contained in the optically detectable information carrier to the measurement panel identified by means of the identification pattern.
January teaches storing, associating, recalling, and using measurement panel-specific information, while Stieff teaches image-based identification of measurement panels using unique identification patterns; it would therefore have been obvious to assign the stored measurement panel information to the measurement panel identified by the captured image of the identification pattern in order to ensure correct application of calibration data.
Regarding claim 17, January, in view of Stieff teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein the method comprises furthermore:
assigning the measurement panel information contained in the optically detectable information carrier to an identification pattern (January teaches association of panel-specific parameters with the optical target (col 2: lines 54-55 “…the relationship being recorded and associated with the optical target for future use…”));
capturing an image of the identification pattern (Col 8: lines 26-35 “the target support assembly 108 incorporates visible identifying markings or indicia, such as a row of retro-reflective squares … A unique identification pattern for each target support assembly can be provided…” . Stieff teaches capturing an image of an identification pattern, as Stieff discloses that visible identifying markings or indicia provided on the measurement panel assembly are observable by an imaging system, and that unique identification patterns enable the imaging system to distinguish among different panel assemblies.);
identifying the at least one measurement pane by means of the captured image of the identification pattern (Stieff teaches optically identifiable patterns used for identification via imaging (Col 8: lines 26-35 “the target support assembly 108 incorporates visible identifying markings or indicia, such as a row of retro-reflective squares … A unique identification pattern for each target support assembly can be provided…” and claim 23 “…recalling said stored alignment of said optical target associated with said optical target; and determining the orientation of said axis of rotation…”).) and
assigning the measurement panel information contained in the optically detectable information carrier to the measurement panel identified by means of the identification pattern
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hermann et al. (US 6690456 B2), teaches Wheel Alignment Apparatus
Steven W. Rogers (US7313869B1), teaches Vehicle wheel alignment system and methodology
/JEMPSON NOEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645