DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 13, 15-18, 20-21, 29 and 32-45 are pending in this office action.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amendment filed 07/20/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 14, 15-18, 20, 21, 29, 32-8 and 40-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2022/0232659 A1) in view of Shih et al (US 2022/0086899 A1) in further view of Jeon et al (US 2020/0351955 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
performing a random access channel (RACH) procedure with a network entity for transferring a first portion of a plurality of data segments from the UE to the network entity during a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state (Kim: Fig. 28; [0501], wireless device UE performing RACH for SDT).
Kim discloses receiving RRC Release message in Msg4 for scheduling subsequent transmission (Kim: Fig. 18: [0502]), however Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state, the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state and monitoring a PDCCH for PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space for dynamic scheduling information that schedules a second portion of the plurality of data segments.
Shih teaches wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state (Shih: Fig. 19; [0361]-[0363], [0404]-[0405] UE receiving PDDCH configuration in RRC release message that comprises suspendConfig to keep the UE in RRC inactive state), the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state (Shih: [0361]-[0363], the PDCCH comprising configuration for the UE to monitors for PDDCH for subsequent transmission) and
monitoring a PDCCH for PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space for dynamic scheduling information that schedules a second portion of the plurality of data segments (Shih: [0340], [0354], monitoring PDCCH in a common search space).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state, the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state and monitoring a PDCCH for PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space for dynamic scheduling information that schedules a second portion of the plurality of data segments as disclosed by Shih to provide a system for small data transmission (Shih: Abstract).
Kim in view of Shih does not explicitly disclose wherein the UE-specific network identifier is a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) and the PDCCH candidates are monitored in a Type1- PDCCH common search space set.
Jeon teaches wherein the UE-specific network identifier is a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) and the PDCCH candidates are monitored in a Type1- PDCCH common search space set (Jeon: [0360]. monitoring PDCCH in type1-PDCCH common search space set with scrambled with C-RNTI).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state, the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state and monitoring a PDCCH for PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space for dynamic scheduling information that schedules a second portion of the plurality of data segments as disclosed by Shih to provide a system for small data transmission (Shih: Abstract).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches a method of wireless communication by a base station, comprising:
performing a random access channel (RACH) procedure with a user equipment (UE) in an radio resource control (RRC) inactive state for receiving a first portion of a plurality of data segments (Kim: Fig. 28; [0501], wireless device UE performing RACH for SDT).
Kim discloses receiving RRC Release message in Msg4 for scheduling subsequent transmission (Kim: Fig. 18: [0502]), however Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state, the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state and transmitting on a PDCCH, dynamic scheduling information in one or more PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space form scheduling a second portion of the plurality of data segments.
Shih teaches wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state (Shih: Fig. 19; [0361]-[0363], [0404]-[0405] UE receiving PDDCH configuration in RRC release message that comprises suspendConfig to keep the UE in RRC inactive state), the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state (Shih: [0361]-[0363], the PDCCH comprising configuration for the UE to monitors for PDDCH for subsequent transmission) and
transmitting on a PDCCH, dynamic scheduling information in one or more PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space form scheduling a second portion of the plurality of data segments (Shih: [0340], [0354], monitoring PDCCH in a common search space).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state, the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state and transmitting on a PDCCH, dynamic scheduling information in one or more PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space form scheduling a second portion of the plurality of data segments as disclosed by Shih to provide a system for small data transmission (Shih: Abstract).
Kim in view of Shih does not explicitly disclose wherein the UE-specific network identifier is a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) and the PDCCH candidates are monitored in a Type1- PDCCH common search space set.
Jeon teaches wherein the UE-specific network identifier is a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) and the PDCCH candidates are monitored in a Type1- PDCCH common search space set (Jeon: [0360]. monitoring PDCCH in type1-PDCCH common search space set with scrambled with C-RNTI).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state, the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state and monitoring a PDCCH for PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space for dynamic scheduling information that schedules a second portion of the plurality of data segments as disclosed by Shih to provide a system for small data transmission (Shih: Abstract).
Regarding claim 29, Kim teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and one or more processors coupled with the transceiver and the memory, the memory including instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to;
perform a random access channel (RACH) procedure with a network entity for transferring a first portion of a plurality of data segments from the UE to the network entity during a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state (Kim: Fig. 28; [0501], wireless device UE performing RACH for SDT).
Kim discloses receiving RRC Release message in Msg4 for scheduling subsequent transmission (Kim: Fig. 18: [0502]), however Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state, the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state and monitoring a PDCCH for PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space for dynamic scheduling information that schedules a second portion of the plurality of data segments.
Shih teaches wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state (Shih: Fig. 19; [0361]-[0363], [0404]-[0405] UE receiving PDDCH configuration in RRC release message that comprises suspendConfig to keep the UE in RRC inactive state), the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state (Shih: [0361]-[0363], the PDCCH comprising configuration for the UE to monitors for PDDCH for subsequent transmission) and
monitor a PDCCH for PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space for dynamic scheduling information that schedules a second portion of the plurality of data segments (Shih: [0340], [0354], monitoring PDCCH in a common search space).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state, the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state and monitoring a PDCCH for PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space for dynamic scheduling information that schedules a second portion of the plurality of data segments as disclosed by Shih to provide a system for small data transmission (Shih: Abstract).
Kim in view of Shih does not explicitly disclose wherein the UE-specific network identifier is a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) and the PDCCH candidates are monitored in a Type1- PDCCH common search space set.
Jeon teaches wherein the UE-specific network identifier is a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) and the PDCCH candidates are monitored in a Type1- PDCCH common search space set (Jeon: [0360]. monitoring PDCCH in type1-PDCCH common search space set with scrambled with C-RNTI).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state, the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state and monitoring a PDCCH for PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space for dynamic scheduling information that schedules a second portion of the plurality of data segments as disclosed by Shih to provide a system for small data transmission (Shih: Abstract).
Regarding claim 40, Kim teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and one or more processors coupled with the transceiver and the memory, the memory including instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
perform a random access channel (RACH) procedure with a user equipment (UE) in an radio resource control (RRC) inactive state for receiving a first portion of a plurality of data segments (Kim: Fig. 28; [0501], wireless device UE performing RACH for SDT).
Kim discloses receiving RRC Release message in Msg4 for scheduling subsequent transmission (Kim: Fig. 18: [0502]), however Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state, the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state and transmitting on a PDCCH, dynamic scheduling information in one or more PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space form scheduling a second portion of the plurality of data segments.
Shih teaches wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state (Shih: Fig. 19; [0361]-[0363], [0404]-[0405] UE receiving PDDCH configuration in RRC release message that comprises suspendConfig to keep the UE in RRC inactive state), the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state (Shih: [0361]-[0363], the PDCCH comprising configuration for the UE to monitors for PDDCH for subsequent transmission) and
transmit on a PDCCH, dynamic scheduling information in one or more PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space form scheduling a second portion of the plurality of data segments (Shih: [0340], [0354], monitoring PDCCH in a common search space).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state, the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state and transmitting on a PDCCH, dynamic scheduling information in one or more PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space form scheduling a second portion of the plurality of data segments as disclosed by Shih to provide a system for small data transmission (Shih: Abstract).
Kim in view of Shih does not explicitly disclose wherein the UE-specific network identifier is a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) and the PDCCH candidates are monitored in a Type1- PDCCH common search space set.
Jeon teaches wherein the UE-specific network identifier is a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) and the PDCCH candidates are monitored in a Type1- PDCCH common search space set (Jeon: [0360]. monitoring PDCCH in type1-PDCCH common search space set with scrambled with C-RNTI).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim wherein the RACH procedure comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration from the network entity, in a RRC release message including a suspend configuration indicator for maintaining the UE in the RRC inactive state, the PDCCH configuration including an identified search space corresponding to a configuration of a common search space for one or more small data transmissions for the plurality of data segments that enables monitoring during the RRC inactive state and monitoring a PDCCH for PDCCH candidates addressed by a UE-specific network identifier in the identified search space for dynamic scheduling information that schedules a second portion of the plurality of data segments as disclosed by Shih to provide a system for small data transmission (Shih: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2, 16, 32 and 41, Kim in view of shih teaches wherein the identified search space comprises a UE-specific search space, or a common search space (Kim: Fig. 28, [0206]).
Regarding claims 3, 17, 33 and 42, Kim in view of shih teaches wherein performing the RACH procedure with the network entity for transferring the first portion of [[a]] the plurality of data segments further comprises transmitting a small data request message including a buffer status report indicating a buffer value corresponding to the second portion of the plurality of data segments (Kim: Fig. 28; [0501]).
Regarding claims 4, 18, 34 and 43, Kim in view of shih teaches wherein receiving the PDCCH configuration further comprises receiving the PDCCH configuration including the identified search space in an RRC message, and wherein the UE-specific network identifier comprises a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) (Kim: Fig. 28, [0188], [0206]).
Regarding claims 6, 20, 35 and 45, Kim in view of shih teaches wherein monitoring the PDCCH for the dynamic scheduling information that schedules the second portion of the plurality of data segments includes monitoring for scheduling data packets that schedule resources in at least one of an uplink channel or a downlink channel (Kim: Fig. 28; [0497], [0501] receiving DCI/grant [0501]-[0504] subsequent data).
Regarding claims 7, 21, 36, 44 and 45, Kim in view of shih teaches receiving a downlink response message from the network entity, the downlink response message including the dynamic scheduling information for an uplink transmission, using the UE-specific network identifier, for sending the second portion of the plurality of data segments (Kim: Fig. 28; [0497], [0501] receiving DCI/grant [0501]-[0504] subsequent data).
Regarding claims 9 and 37, Kim in view of shih teaches transmitting, the RRC inactive state, the second portion of the plurality of data segments to the network entity based on the dynamic scheduling information (Kim: Fig. 28; [0501]).
Regarding claims 10 and 38, Kim in view of shih teaches wherein a transmit buffer is empty based on transmitting the second portion of the plurality of data segments to the network entity, and further comprising: generating, by an application layer of the UE, an additional data segment for transmission to the network entity subsequent to transmitting the second portion of the plurality of data segments; performing a second RACH procedure including the additional data segment in response to generating the additional data segment for transmission to the network entity subsequent to transmitting the second portion of the plurality of data segments; and monitoring the PDCCH in the identified search space for the dynamic scheduling information after the second RACH procedure for the additional data segment for transmission in at least one of an uplink channel or a downlink channel using the UE-specific network identifier (Kim: Figs. 26, 30 and 33; [0497], Kim disclose in Fig. 26, monitoring DCI for subsequent transmission; Figs 3 and 33 show the different subsequent transmission options).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478