Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12-24-2025 has been entered and considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Claims 1-9 and 18-20 remain rejected as discussed below.
Claims 10-17 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A
Claims 1-7, 9-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdalla et al (Toward Next Generation Open Radio Access Networks—What O-RAN Can and Cannot Do!) in view of Hannak et al (US 2025/0234231). Hereinafter referred to as Abdalla and Hannak.
Claims 1-7, 9-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abdalla et al (Toward Next Generation Open Radio Access Networks—What O-RAN Can and Cannot Do!). Hereinafter referred to as Abdalla.
Regarding claims 1 and 18. Abdalla discloses an apparatus implementing a Real-Time (RT) Radio Interface Controller (RIC) in an Open Radio Access Network (O-RAN), the apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store a plurality of instructions; processor circuitry coupled to the memory and configured to execute the plurality of instructions to: connect to at least one O-RAN Distributed Unit (O-DU) via an interface (see at least page 7, right Col and figure 5); and host at least one application controlling the at least one O-DU over a real-time control loop with a latency of less than 10 milliseconds (ms) via the interface (see at least page 7, right Col).
Abdalla discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that the RT RIC is connected to a Near-Real Time (Near-RT) RIC via a third interface that terminates at the RT RIC and at the Near-RT RIC, the third interface being distinct from an E2 interface. However, Hannak, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the RT RIC is connected to a Near-Real Time (Near-RT) RIC via a third interface that terminates at the RT RIC and at the Near-RT RIC, the third interface being distinct from an E2 interface (see at least figures 12-14). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Hannak, as indicated, into the communication method of Abdalla for the purpose of enabling communication between two entities with two different RIC domains.
Regarding claim 2. Abdalla in view of Hannak discloses an apparatus according wherein the RT RIC is co-located with the at least one O-DU (see at least page 7, right Col).
Regarding claim 3. Abdalla in view of Hannak discloses an apparatus according wherein the RT RIC is external to the at least one O-DU (see at least page 7, right Col).
Regarding claim 4. Abdalla in view of Hannak discloses an apparatus according wherein the RT RIC is coupled with a Fronthaul Multiplexer (FHM) (see at least page 3).
Regarding claim 5. Abdalla in view of Hannak discloses an apparatus according wherein the RT RIC is connected to: a Service Management and Orchestration (SMO) platform via a first interface; a Non-Real Time (Non-RT) RIC via a second interface; a Near-Real Time (Near-RT) RIC via a third interface; network components via a fourth interface; and an O-RAN Radio Unit (O-RU) via a fifth interface, wherein the RT RIC is connected to the SMO, Non-RT, Near-RT, network elements, and O-RU alone or in any combination (see at least figure 2 and pages 3-4).
Regarding claims 6 and 19. Abdalla in view of Hannak discloses an apparatus according wherein the apparatus further comprises a plurality of open Application Programming Interfaces (APIs), each of the plurality open APIs hosting at least one application enabling communication with at least one of a plurality of submodule of the RT RIC via messaging infrastructure circuitry (see at least page 7).
Regarding claims 7 and 20. Abdalla in view of Hannak discloses an apparatus according wherein the plurality of submodules of the RT RIC include at least one of: conflict management circuitry, subscription management circuitry, security circuitry, an Artificial Intelligence (AI) model, sensor management circuitry, hardware circuitry, data exposure circuitry, and a shared data lake (see at least page 7).
Regarding claim 9. Abdalla in view of Hannak discloses an apparatus wherein the RT RIC is configured to connect with a primary O-DU and a secondary O-DU when performing carrier aggregation (see at least page 3, right col).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdalla in view of Abdala in view of Hannak and further in view of ORAN (O-RAN Working Group 2 Al/ML workflow description and requirements v1 .01).
Regarding claim 8. Abdalla in view of Hannak discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that the shared data lake is part of an information architecture (IA) of the AI model. However, O-RAN, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the shared data lake is part of an information architecture (IA) of the AI model (see at least page 26, lines 1-2). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of O-RAN, as indicated, into the communication method of Abdalla in view of Hannak for the purpose of improving AI data manipulation and computation results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-17 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476