DETAILED ACTION
1. Formal Matters
Claims 14-71 are pending and are the subject of this Office Action.
2. Specification
A. If applicable, the first line of the specification should be updated to reflect the status (e.g. “now U.S. Patent No.”, or “now abandoned”) of any parent applications. Similarly, though none could be found, any U.S. or Foreign Applications cited in the specification which have since issued should be updated with the corresponding Patent No.
B. Though none could be found, any listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
C. Though no issues could be found, Applicant is advised that embedded hyperlinks and/or other forms of browser-executable code are impermissible and require deletion. The attempt to incorporate subject matter into the patent application by reference to a hyperlink and/or other forms of browser-executable code is considered to be an improper incorporation by reference. See MPEP 608.01(p), paragraph I regarding incorporation by reference. It is noted that the recitation of “www.” alone, as opposed to “http://www.”, is also active and should not be used.
D. Though no issues could be found, trade names or marks used in commerce should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
E. Though no issues could be found, when a sequence is presented in a drawing, regardless of the format or the manner of presentation of that sequence in the drawing, the sequence must still be included in the Sequence Listing and a sequence identifier ("SEQ ID NO:X") must be used either in the drawing or in the Brief Description of the Drawings. See MPEP § 2422.02.
F. Though no issues could be found, according to 37 CFR 1.821(d) (MPEP § 2422), where the description or claims of a patent application discuss a sequence listing that is set forth in the "Sequence Listing" in accordance with paragraph (c) of this section, reference must be made to the sequence by use of the assigned identifier, in the text of the description or claims, even if the sequence is also embedded in the text of the description or claims of the patent application.
G. The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicants’ cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which Applicants may become aware.
3. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – scope of enablement
Claims 14-32 and 36-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the claimed method using antibodies disclosed in paragraphs [0022] and [0023] of the specification, as well as CIM331 (nemolizumab), does not reasonably provide enablement for these methods using any other antagonists. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
In In re Wands, 8USPQ2d, 1400 (CAFC 1988) page 1404, the factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation include (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount of direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims.
The breadth of the claims is excessive with regard to claiming essentially methods of treating pruritis using antagonists other than antibodies. Applicants provide no guidance or working examples of any other antagonists, including proteins, nucleic acids or small organic molecules, nor would any of these antagonists be expected to be effective at the recited doses and dosing schedule, given that it is believed these claims are focused on antibodies. Furthermore, it is not predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art what IL-31 antagonists, nor doses/schedule, would be effective at treating pruritic as claimed.
These factors lead the Examiner to hold that undue experimentation is necessary to practice the invention as claimed.
4. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – written description
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
These are genus claims. Other than inhibiting IL-31, the specification and claims do not indicate what distinguishing attributes are shared by the members of the genus. Thus, the scope of the claims includes numerous structural variants, and the genus is highly variant because a significant number of structural differences between/among genus members is permitted. The specification and claims do not provide any guidance as to what changes should be made. Structural features that could distinguish compounds in the genus from others in the nucleic acid, protein or small molecule class are missing from the disclosure. No common structural attributes identify the members of the genus.
The general knowledge and level of skill in the art do not supplement the omitted description because specific, not general, guidance is what is needed. Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes or characteristics that identify members of the genus, and because the genus is highly variant, antibodies, alone, are insufficient to describe the genus. One of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus. Thus, Applicant was not in possession of the claimed genus at the time the invention was made.
5. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruzicka et al. in view of Ko et al. (reference 61 on the IDS submitted 8/17/23).
The claims are drawn to methods using any IL31 inhibitor. Ruzicka teaches the use of an anti-IL-31RA antibody (CIM331) to treat atopic dermatitis / pruritis (Abstract). This antibody is identical to that of instant claims 33-35. Ruzicka does not teach uremic pruritis. However, Ko does teach a link between IL31 and uremic pruritis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to have administered CIM331 for this purpose since IL31 is involved in both types of pruritis.
Though the instant dosages are not taught, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 454, 105 USPQ 223,235, (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1847-48 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (determination of suitable dosage amounts in diuretic compositions considered a matter of routine experimentation and, therefore, obvious) and E.I. DuPont de Nemours & Co. v. Synvina C.V., 904 F.3d 996, 1006 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (“it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”).
Regarding claims 24-26, it would have been obvious to have determined levels of IL31 in order to determine if they are elevated, which would warrant treatment with the antibody of Ruzicka.
Regarding claims 27 and 28, Case law has established that a compound and all of its properties are inseparable, as are its processes and yields (In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963)).
Regarding claim 32, it would have been obvious to inhibit either IL31 or IL31RA since both would inhibit binding of IL31 to IL31RA and reduce signaling.
6. Prior Art of Interest Not Relied Upon
Bajci teaches the role of IL31 in chronic pruritic skin disorders, but does not teach more than Ruzicka, above.
7. Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Advisory information
/ROBERT S LANDSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647