Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted on June 30th, 2026 have been entered into the file.
Currently, claims 1 and 11 are amended, claims 2-3, 5, and 8 are cancelled, resulting in claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9-14 pending for examination.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed June 30th, 2026 have been received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the second part” of the second sealing part.
As there is no direct recitation of “second part” in the original disclosure, the Examiner must look to the entire disclosure to interpret this limitation. The instant claim provides that the second sealing part includes “a first part” that is bent at least once after heat-sealing. The instant specification provides that “the second surface 132d may be folded at least once. That is, the second surface 132d may be bent at least once” (Page 13, Lines 1-10). Therefore, the first part of the second sealing part of the instant claim is considered to be referring to the second surface 132d of the disclosure.
The instant claim provides that a second surface of the second part of the second sealing part is in contact with an upper cover or bottom part of the housing. The instant specification provides that the “the other surface of the second surface 132d that does not adhere to the housing part is in contact with the upper cover 220 and bottom part 210a of the housing 200” (Pages 15-16). Therefore, it appears that the second part of the second sealing part is referring to the second surface 132d of the disclosure.
As the instant claim appears to the Examiner to distinctly define a first part of the second sealing part and a second part of the second sealing surface, but the instant specification refers to these elements both by the second surface 132, the Examiner believes the recitation of “the second part of the second sealing part” is intended by applicant to refer to the first part of the second sealing part, as indicated in the claim. As there is no antecedent basis for “the second part” as described above, the above interpretation is applied by the Examiner in the rejection of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 4, the Examiner believes for purposes of antecedent basis, the claim should recite “a first surface of the first part of the second sealing part”, as antecedent basis for the first part of the second sealing part should be established in independent claim 1, as noted in the above portion. For the purposes of examination, “a second part of the second sealing part” of the instant claim is interpreted by the Examiner to refer to the first part of the second sealing part, as indicated in instant claim 1.
Regarding claims 4, 6-7, 9-14, they are rejected based on their dependence on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (Korean Patent Publication No. 20190110782 A) (machine translation relied upon) in view of Berger (German Patent Publication No. 102015110667 A1) (machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claim 1, Won teaches a battery module (Figure 1, Element 10) comprising:
a battery cell stack (Figure 2, Element 100) comprising a plurality of battery cells (Abstract, Paragraphs 0009 and 0024).
Won teaches a top plate (Figure 2, Element 200) to cover the upper sides of the plurality of battery cells (Paragraph 0025), a bottom plate (Figure 2, Element 250) to cover the lower sides of the plurality of battery cells (Paragraph 0026), side plates (Figure 2, Elements 300) to connect the top plate and the bottom plate and cover the side surfaces of the battery cells (Paragraph 0027), and case covers (Figure 2, Element 450) which form the exterior of the bus bar unit covering the front and rear of the battery cells (Paragraphs 0030-0032). As can be seen in Figure 2 of Won, the top plate, bottom plate, side plates, and bus bar unit case covers serve as the exterior casing of the battery module which cover the battery cell stack. Further seen in Figure 2 of Won is a lower plate (heat transfer plate) (Figure 2, Element 750) which defines a portion of the upper part of the housing and an upper plate (heat transfer plate) (Figure 2, Element 750) which defines a portion of the lower part of the housing.
Therefore, these elements (top plate, bottom plate, side plate, busbar unit case cover, lower plate, and upper plate) are considered collectively to form the housing that houses the battery cell stack, as shown in the annotated Figure below, meeting the instant claimed limitation.
Annotated Figure 2 of Won
Won teaches the battery module comprising an upper heat sink (Figure 2, Element 500) located in an upper part of the housing (defined by top plate 200 and plate 750) and a lower heat sink (Figure 2, Element 600) located in a lower part of the housing (defined by bottom plate 250 and plate 750) (Paragraph 0035), as seen in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 2 of Won
Won teaches the plurality of battery cell includes at least one first battery cell and at least one second battery cell, as indicated in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 2
Won is silent as to each of the plurality of battery cells includes a cooling surface and a wing folding surface; wherein the cooling surface of the first battery cell is located adjacent to the lower heat sink, and wherein the cooling surface of the second battery cell is located adjacent to the upper heat sink.
However, Berger discloses a plurality of battery cells configured as pocket cells, wherein the pocket cells have a cell casing made of a film material, wherein a cooling element for the pocket cells bears against two opposite edge regions of the cell casing (Paragraph 0008). Berger teaches the cell casing having two regions, an edge region where the film is welded (Figure 3) and an edge region where the film is folded (Figure 4) (Paragraphs 0008). Berger teaches the edge regions of the film material preferably in contact with the cooling elements (Paragraph 0013).
As shown in the annotated Figure below, the welded region of the cells of Berger are equated with the instant wing folding surface, as the welded region in Figure 3 of Berger is folded. The folded region of the cells of Berger in Figure 4 are equated with the instant cooling surface.
Annotated Figures 3 and 4 of Berger
Berger teaches a cell arrangement shown in Figure 5, wherein a stack (Figure 5, Element 51) of pocket cells (Figure 5, Element 52) are arranged with cooling elements (Figure 5, Elements 55 and 56) on either side. Berger teaches the wing folding surface (edge region with welding) (Figure 5, Element 57) and the cooling surface (edge region with folding) (Figure 5, Element 58), as discussed above. Berger teaches the pocket cells arranged in opposite directions so that an alternating arrangement is present (Paragraph 0037).
Berger teaches better cooling at the cooling surface (edge region with folding) than the wing folding surface (edge region with welding), wherein the overall improved cooling of the battery cells is achieved by contact at both edge regions (contact with the cooling surface and the wing folding surface) (Paragraph 0008). Thus, Berger teaches the advantage of alternately stacking the pocket cells so that the cooling surface (edge region with folding) alternatively is in contact with the cooling elements in order to achieve a more homogenous temperature distribution (Paragraph 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery cells of Won to incorporate the teachings of Berger in which each of the battery cells includes a cooling surface (edge region with folding) and a wing folding surface (edge region with welding) which are alternately stacked. Doing so would advantageously result in improved cooling and a more homogenous temperature distribution, as recognized by Berger.
Annotated Figure 5 of Berger
The result of this modification, as illustrated above, is the cooling surface of the first battery cell is located adjacent to the lower heat sink, and wherein the cooling surface of the second battery cell is located adjacent to the upper heat sink, meeting the instant claimed limitation.
Berger teaches the film material of the cell casing serves as a cell sheath of the pocket cell, where the film is folded along a line (Figure 2, Element 21), so that the approximately half-length film regions (Figure 2, Element 22, 23) come to lie against one another and the three open edge regions (Figure 2, Elements 24-26) can be connected to one another to close the pocket cell (Paragraph 0029).
The half-length film regions (Figure 2, Element 22, 23) are considered a housing part of each of the plurality of battery cells that houses an electrode assembly and the open edge regions (Figure 2, Elements 24-26) are considered a sealing part that seals (connected by welding) an outer periphery of the electrode assembly, meeting the instant claimed limitations, as shown in the annotated figure below.
Annotated Figure 2 of Berger
Won in view of the modifications of Berger as discussed above is silent as to the sealing part includes a first sealing part including a region where an electrode lead is located, and a second sealing part excluding the first sealing part, wherein the second sealing part includes a first part that is bent at least once after heat- sealing, and wherein the wing folding surface is a surface of the battery cell including the first part of the second sealing part.
Berger teaches the edge region with folding corresponding to the edge (Figure 2, Element 28) with the fold (Figure 2, Element 21) corresponding to the instant cooling surface and the edge region with folding being directly opposite (Figure 2, Element 25) corresponding to the wing folding surface of the instant claim (Paragraph 0008). As discussed above, Berger teaches the edge regions (cooling surface and wing folding surface) in mechanical or thermal contact with cooling elements (Paragraph 0013). Berger teaches it is advantageous for the pocket cells to have electrical connection electrodes protruding from the cell casing in a portion of the cell casing not connected to the cooling elements (cooling surface and wing folding surface). Berger teaches when the electrode leads are not in either of these two region, the edge regions are completely available for thermal contact in order to be contacted for cooling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Won to incorporate the teachings of Berger in which electrical connection electrodes (electrode leads) are located in the edge regions of the cell casing not in contact with the cooling elements, (i.e., not in the cooling surface and wing folding surface). Doing so would advantageously result in complete availability of these regions for thermal contacting with the cooling elements, as recognized by Berger.
The result of this modification, as shown below, is an electrode lead located in either edge region 24 or 26 according to the teachings of Berger, a wing folding surface location in edge region 25 (edge region with welding), and a cooling surface located in edge region 28 (edge region with folding).
Annotated Figure 2 of Berger
Thus, Won in view of Berger teaches a sealing part as discussed above including a first sealing part including a region where the electrode lead is located (Figure 2, Elements 24 or 26), and a second sealing part excluding the first sealing part (Figure 2, Element 25).
Won in view of Berger teaches the second sealing part (Figure 2, Element 25) includes a first part that is bent at least once after heat-sealing (welding), as shown in annotated Figure 3 below (Paragraph 0030).
Annotated Figures 2 and 3 of Berger
Won in view of Berger thus teaches the wing folding surface is a surface of the battery cell including the first part of the second sealing part (Figure 2, Element 25).
Won in view of Berger teaches the battery module discussed above wherein: a plurality of the first battery cells and a plurality of the second battery cells are alternately stacked (Paragraph 0037), as shown in the annotated figure of Berger below. As discussed above, Berger teaches the alternation of the pouch cells so that the cooling surface abuts against the upper and lower heat sinks. Thus, the ordinary artisan can imagine the continuation of the stacking pattern illustrated in Figure 5 of Berger, where a second battery cell is positioned on either side of the first battery cells in order to maintain alternating stack of a plurality of first battery cells and a plurality of second battery cells, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Annotated Figure 5 of Berger
As discussed above, Berger teaches pouch cells comprising a second sealing part including a first part, the edge regions (cooling surface and wing folding surface) in mechanical or thermal contact with cooling elements.
The ordinary artisan can see that in the disclosure of Berger, the first part (see 112b interpretation above) of the second sealing part includes a second surface, which is in contact with the cooling elements of Berger, as shown in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figures 3 and 5 of Berger
As the teachings of Berger were incorporated into the disclosure of Won as described in the above modification, the ordinary artisan can imagine that when implementing the cooling surface and wing folding surface in the battery module of Won, the second surface of the first part of the second sealing part would be in contact with the upper/lower heat transfer plates of Won as these plates rest above and below the heat sinks, respectively, as shown in the annotated Figure below. Further, the cooling elements of Berger (which the wing folding surface contact) are similar to the heat transfer plates of Won, as both function to remove heat from the battery cells in the stack.
As the heat transfer plates of Won are considered part of the housing that houses the battery cell stack, as discussed above, the instant claimed limitation of a second surface of the first (see 112b interpretation) part of the second sealing part in contact with an upper cover (lower plate of upper heat stink, Element 750) or a bottom part of the housing (upper plate of lower heat stink, Element 750) is met. The lower plate of the upper heat sink helps to define the upper part of the housing in which the upper heat sink is located and covers the battery cells in the module, and is therefore considered an upper cover the housing. The upper plate of the lower heat sink helps to define the lower part of the housing in which the lower heat sink is located, and is therefore considered a bottom part the housing.
Annotated Figure 2 of Won
Regarding claim 11, modified Won teaches the battery module according to claim 1 wherein: a lower plate (heat transfer plate) (Figure 2, Element 750) of the upper heat sink (Figure 2, Element 500) is an upper cover of the housing, and an upper plate (heat transfer plate) (Figure 2, Element 750) of the lower heat sink (Figure 2, Element 600) is the bottom part of the housing (Paragraphs 0010, 0053), as discussed above.
Regarding claim 14, modified Won teaches a battery pack comprising the battery module as set forth in claim 1 (Paragraph 0017).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won and Berger as applied to claims 1, 11, and 14 above, and further in view of Jeon (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220052392 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Won teaches the battery module according to claim 1.
Won is silent as to a first surface of a second part (first part, see above 112b interpretation) of the second sealing part is adhered and fixed to the housing part
However, Jeon discloses a battery module housing at least one stack of battery cells (Paragraph 0009) wherein the battery cells include an accommodating portion accommodating the electrode assembly and a sealing portion (Paragraph 0017). Jeon teaches the sealing portion (Figure 3, Element 202) of the battery cell pouch may be folded at least one to increase bonding reliability of the sealing portion and minimum volume in the battery module (Paragraph 0054). Jeon teaches an adhesive member implemented in the sealing portion in order to maintain its shape. In the embodiment shown in Figure 6 of the disclosure, that a fixing member (Figure 6, Element 19a) can adhere the second sealing portion (Figure 6, Element 2022) to the accommodating portion (housing part of the instant claim) (Figure 6, Element 204) in order to allow the second sealing portion and the accommodating portion to be in close contact (Paragraphs 0064-0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sealing part of Won in view of Berger to incorporate the teachings of Jeon in which a sealing portion is included between the sealing part and the housing part. Doing so would advantageously result in the adhesive helping to maintain the folded structure of the sealing portion as well as providing the housing part and sealing portion in close contact, as recognized by Jeon.
The result of the modification, as shown in the annotated Figure below, is a first surface of a second part (first part, see above 112b interpretation) of the second sealing part adhered and fixed to the housing part, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Annotated Figure 6 of Jeong
Claim 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won and Berger as applied to claims 1, 11, and 14 above, and further in view of Ota (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017025646 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Won in view of Berger teaches the battery module according to claim 1, including a battery cell stack.
Won teaches a plurality (i.e., more than one) of battery cells electrically connected to each other in a stack (Paragraph 0024).
As shown in the annotated figure below, Won teaches the battery cell stack including a first battery cell stack and a secondary battery cell stack.
Annotated Figure 2 of Won
Won is silent as to the plurality of first battery cells of the first battery cell stack are connected in parallel and the plurality of second battery cells of the second battery cell stack are connected in parallel.
However, Ota discloses multiple unit cell assemblies stacked together to form a battery cell, wherein the stacked unit cell assemblies are electrically connected in parallel (Paragraph 0056). Ota teaches that the multiple unit cell assemblies are coupled together in the stack to form a battery module (Paragraph 0172), where a plurality of battery modules are electrically connected in parallel to form a stack of battery modules known as a battery pack (Figure 3) (Paragraph 0134). Ota teaches the parallel connection in order to achieve a higher output current (Paragraph 0134).
Annotated Figure 3 of Ota
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of first battery cells of the first battery cell stack and the plurality of second battery cells of the second battery cell stack of Won to incorporate the teachings of Ota in which the first battery cells are connected in parallel and the second battery cells are connected in parallel. Doing so would advantageously result in higher current output, as recognized by Ota.
Regarding claim 7, Won in view of Berger teaches the battery module according to claim 6.
Won is silent as to the first battery cell stack and the second battery cell stack are alternately stacked.
As discussed above, the teachings of Berger which modified Won included the contact of an edge region with welding of a pocket cell and the edge region with folding of a pocket cell against the first and second cooling elements alternates (Paragraph 0009). Berger teaches the alternation pattern changing regularly or irregularly. Berger teaches this configuration achieving a more homogenous temperature distribution (Paragraph 0010).
Therefore, in a regular alternation pattern, Berger teaches a group of 1 to N pocket cells with an orientation of the edge regions of each of the pocket cells is the same, and a group adjacent with 1 to N pocket cells arranged with their edge regions in an opposing orientation. In order to establish the regular interval of alternation as taught by Berger, the number of pocket cells in each group is the same, as shown in the annotated Figure below.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 6, Ota teaches multiple unit cell assemblies (first battery cell stack and second battery cell stack) which are stacked together to form a battery module.
Therefore, Won in view of Berger and Ota teaches a group of pocket cells (first battery cell stack) whose edge region orientations alternate compared to an adjacent group of pocket cells (second battery cell stack), or it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan to provide the alternating stacking of the first battery cell stack and the second battery cell stack, so as to maximize the homogeneity of the temperature distribution as taught by Berger.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won and Berger as applied to claims 1, 11, and 14 above, and further in view of Hohenthanner (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20120282506 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Won in view of Berger teaches the battery module according to claim 1.
Won is silent as to the battery module further comprising a compression pad between the battery cells.
However, Hohenthanner discloses an electrochemical energy storage device including a case inside of which a plurality of flat galvanic cells is arranged, with a flat elastic body (compression pad) is arranged between adjacent cells (Paragraph 0010). Hohenthanner teaches the elastic bodies experiencing elastic deformation under an external force, wherein the elastic body exerts a counterforce with progression deformation so as to stop the deformative force once equilibrium is achieved (Paragraph 0017). Further, Hohenthanner teaches the use of a compression pad between cells as useful for compensating for small deviations from the ideal planarity of the contact surface areas, thereby ensuring improved contact of surfaces and heat transfer between surfaces (Paragraph 0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module of Won to incorporate the teachings of Hohenthanner in which a flat elastic body (compression pad) is between adjacent battery cells. Doing so would advantageously result in the stoppage of deformative forces and improved contact of surfaces and heat transfer between the surfaces, as recognized by Hohenthanner.
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won and Berger as applied to claims 1, 11, and 14 above, and further in view of Hohenthanner and Ota
Regarding claim 10, Won in view of Berger teaches the battery module according to claim 1, including a battery cell stack.
Won teaches a plurality (i.e., more than one) of battery cells electrically connected to each other in a stack (Paragraph 0024).
As shown in the annotated figure below, Won teaches the battery cell stack including a first battery cell stack and a secondary battery cell stack.
Annotated Figure 2 of Won
Won is silent as to a plurality of first battery cells of the first battery cell stack are connected in parallel and a plurality of second battery cells of the second battery cell stack are connected in parallel.
However, as discussed above, Ota discloses multiple unit cell assemblies stacked together to form a battery cell, wherein the stacked unit cell assemblies are electrically connected in parallel (Paragraph 0056). Ota teaches that the multiple unit cell assemblies are coupled together in the stack to form a battery module (Paragraph 0172), where a plurality of battery modules are electrically connected in parallel to form a stack of battery modules known as a battery pack (Figure 3) (Paragraph 0134). Ota teaches the parallel connection in order to achieve a higher output current (Paragraph 0134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of first battery cells of the first battery cell stack and the plurality of second battery cells of the second battery cell stack of Won to incorporate the teachings of Ota in which the first battery cells are connected in parallel and the second battery cells are connected in parallel. Doing so would advantageously result in higher current output, as recognized by Ota.
As discussed above, the battery module of Won was modified to incorporate the teachings of Hohenthanner in which a flat elastic body (compression pad) is located between adjacent battery cells. Also describe above, Won teaches a plurality of battery cells electrically connected to each other in a stack, wherein the battery stack comprises a first battery cell stack and a second battery cell stack. It follows according to the modification if a compression pad is located between adjacent battery cells, then a compression pad would also be located between the first battery cell stack and the second battery cell stack (particularly, as the interface between the last battery cell of the first battery cell stack and the first battery cell of the second battery cell stack).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won and Berger as applied to claims 1, 11, and 14 above, and further in view of Youngho (Korean Patent Publication No. 20210000551 A) (machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claim 12, Won in view of Berger teaches the battery module according to claim 1.
Won is silent as to the battery module further comprising a thermal conductive resin layer between the battery cell stack and the housing.
However, Youngho discloses a battery module including a cell stack in which one or more battery cells are stacked and a housing accommodating the cell stack and a thermally conductive resin layer positioned between a lower surface of the housing and the battery cell stack so that the cell stack is in contact with the thermally conductive resin layer (Paragraph 0013). Youngho teaches the thermal conductive resin layer to improve heat dissipation characteristics of the cell stack as well as fixing the cell stack (Paragraph 0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module of Won to incorporate the teachings of Youngho in which a thermal conductive resin layer is located between the bottom of battery cell stack and the housing. Doing so would advantageously result in improved heat dissipation of the cell stack and adhesion, as recognized by Youngho.
Regarding claim 13, Won in view of Berger teaches the battery module according to claim 12.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 12, the modification of Won by Youngho resulted in a thermal conductive resin layer is located between the bottom of the battery cell stack and the housing.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, the modification of Won by Berger resulted in the battery cells comprising a cooling surface (edge region with folding) and a wing folding surface (edge region with welding) which alternate contact with a cooling element (heat sink) positioned on each side of the stack of battery cells.
It follows that when the cells are arranged in an alternating structure according to the teachings of Berger, a portion of the battery cells will have their cooling surfaces abut against the bottom of the housing. When the housing is modified to include a thermal conductive resin layer between the bottom of the cell stack and the housing according to the teachings of Youngho, the result is the thermal conductive resin layer is located between a cooling surface of the battery cell stack and the housing.
Response to Arguments
In the remarked filed June 30th, 2026, applicant argues that the prior art of record is silent as to the amended limitations of claim 1, particularly directed toward “a second surface of the second part of the second sealing part is in contact with an upper cover or a bottom part of the housing.”
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner presents an updated rejection of the amended claim as filed in the amendments received June 30th, 2026 is presented above, where each and every limitation of the instant claim is taught by the prior art of Won and Berger.
In the remarked filed June 30th, 2026, applicant argues that the heat transfer plates of Won are not the upper cover or the bottom part of the housing, as the heat transfer plates of Won are thermal interface components positioned between the heat sinks and the battery cells.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner presents that Won teaches the heat transfer plates as part of the battery module which houses the battery cell stack (Paragraphs 0023-0024). Further, Won teaches the first heat sink sandwiched between the heat transfer plate (Figure 2, Element 750) and the top plate (Figure 2, Element 200) of the module housing. Therefore, both the heat transfer plate and the top plate of Won are considered part of the module housing, meeting the instant claimed limitations. As the heat transfer plate is responsible for at least partially enclosing the battery cell stack, it is considered part of the housing which protects the battery cells. Further, the heat transfer plates, as shown in Figure 2 of Won, are surfaces which define the upper and lower parts of the housing, and therefore are considered part of the housing itself. As written, the instant amended claim language requires the housing to house the battery cell stack and provides no structural requirements of the upper cover nor the bottom part of the housing and thus, and does not preclude the heat transfer plate of Won being considered part of the housing.
In the remarked filed June 30th, 2026, applicant argues that Berger does not teach or suggest that the cooling elements of the disclosure constitute an upper cover or a bottom part of a housing, nor does Berger teach any contact between the sealing part and the housing.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner presents that Berger teaches the cooling elements may be in thermal contact with the edge regions (including the wing folding surface) of the pouch cells (Paragraph 0035). Thus, Berger is open to various forms of contact between the wing folding surface (edge region with welding) and the cooling elements, and is not limited to the mechanical contact that is exemplified in Figure 5. As written, the instant amended claim language requires “contact” between the claimed second surface and the upper cover or bottom part of the housing, but allows for intervening elements and other forms of contact, such as thermal contact.
As described in the rejection of claim 1 above, the cooling elements of Berger (which the wing folding surface contact) were considered equivalent to heat transfer plate of Won, as both function to remove heat from the battery cells in the stack. Thus, the ordinary artisan can imagine that when Won is modified to incorporate the teachings of Berger according to the rejection of claim 1 above, the wing folding surface of Berger would contact the heat transfer plate of Won, which as established above, is considered part of the module housing.
In the remarked filed June 30th, 2026, applicant argues that Hwan does not teach or suggest establishing thermal contact between the sealing part and the housing.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are considered moot, as the rejection of record for the aforementioned limitation does not rely on Hwan.
In applicant’s remarks submitted June 30th, 2026, applicant argues that claims 4, 6-7, 9-14 depend from claim 1 and are thus allowable for the above-mentioned reasons with respect to Won, Berger, and Hwan failing to teach the amended claim 1 limitations.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner presents these arguments are not convincing for at least the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Conclusion
/O.A.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/JENNIFER A BOYD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1786