DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election
The Applicant’s election of Group I, without traverse, in the reply dated 3 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 7, 9, 11 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2, 5, 7, 9 & 11, the term “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 2 & 5, claims 2 & 5 further limit the flexible additive & the crosslinking agent, respectively. However, both claims expressly disclose ethoxylated trimethylolpropane triacrylate and/or propoxylated trimethylolpropane triacrylate (Claim 2, lines 5-6; Claim 5, line 5). Therefore, it is unclear if ethoxylated trimethylolpropane triacrylate and propoxylated trimethylolpropane triacrylate are intended to be the flexible additive and/or the crosslinking agent. This ambiguity becomes exacerbated when respective amounts of components are considered.
Regarding claim 13, depends from claim 11 and inherits all its limitations & indefiniteness, rendering the claim similarly indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 Jin et al. (US 2016/0211548 A1).
Regarding claims 1 – 3 & 5, Jin teaches a gel electrolyte composition (Abstract). The composition comprises at least one compound of a general formula (1), a non-aqueous solvent & a lithium salt (p. 1, [0017]-[0020]). Compounds suitable for use as general formula (1) include ethoxylated trimethylolpropane triacrylate and pentaerythritol tetraacrylate (p. 1, [0023]), both of which abide by the limitations & read on the crosslinking agent of claims 1 & 5. The invention may further comprise an initiator (p. 2, [0028]). The composition may further comprise an additive (p. 2, [0031]) which may preferably be vinylene carbonate (p. 3, [0033]), reading on the gel skeleton monomer of claims 1 & 3.
The invention may further comprise an ethylene glycol oligomer having a structure of formula: CH2=C(R)COO(CH2CH2O)n–COC(R)=CH2; wherein n is an integer of 1 – 12 and R is methyl or ethyl (p. 2, [0026]). Observing that n = 12 & R = ethyl as the largest possible ethylene glycol oligomer, a maximum molecular weight (Mw) of said ethylene glycol oligomer suitable for use in the invention results in 710 g/mol. Thus, said ethylene glycol oligomer reads on the flexible additive of claims 1 & 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select vinylene carbonate as the preferable additive to be included in Jin’s invention as it is recognized by the prior art as preferably suitable for this purpose. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Modification of Jin as detailed above results in a gel electrolyte precursor composition comprising a lithium salt, an initiator, ethoxylated trimethylolpropane triacrylate or pentaerythritol tetraacrylate as the crosslinking agent, vinylene carbonate as the gel skeleton monomer and an ethylene glycol oligomer as the flexible additive with a molecular weight of less than 5,000 g/mol. Modification of Jin as detailed above reads on limitations established by claims 1 – 3 & 5.
Regarding claim 7, Jin remains as applied above. Jin teaches the polymerization initiator may be azobisisobutyronitrile (p. 2, [0028]). It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 9, Jin remains as applied above. Jin teaches the lithium salt may be lithium tetrafluoroborate or lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (p. 2, [0030]). It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claims 11 & 13, Jin remains as applied above. Jin teaches the vinylene carbonate (i.e., gel skeleton monomer) may be present in amounts of 60-99 wt.% (p. 2, [0029]). The ethylene glycol oligomer (i.e., flexible additive) is present in amounts of 0.1-10 wt.% (p. 2, [0026]).
The compounds suitable for use as compound (1) in the invention (i.e., pentaerythritol tetraacrylate and/or ethoxylated trimethylolpropane triacrylate) may be present in amounts of 0.1-10 wt.% (p. 1, [0022]). The initiator is present in amounts of 0.002-8 wt.% (p. 6, Claim 7). The lithium salt is present in relation to the non-aqueous solvent (i.e., gel skeleton monomer) in amounts such that the concentration of said lithium salt is 0.2-2.0 mol/L (p. 1, [0022]).
The above disclosures read on all limitations established by claims 11 & 13. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Conclusion
/CHRISTIAAN ROELOFSE/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762