DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on May 14th, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims. Election was made without traverse by Andrew K. Gonsalves Esq., Attorney of Record (Reg. No. 39,564).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 - 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1; the limitations, “acceleration zone” is confusing as the limitation lacks proper antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the Examiner has interpreted the limitation as “acceleration duct”.
Furthermore, the limitations of “a freezing zone interconnected to the freezing zone” is confusing and lacks clarity. For examination purposes, the Examiner has interpreted the limitation as “a freezing zone interconnected to the mixing zone”.
Claims 2-8 are rejected based upon their dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brisson et al. (U.S. PG Pub No.:2006/0159821 A1), hereinafter referred to as Brisson et al. ‘821.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Brisson et al ‘821 disclose a system (20) for freezing a liquid, comprising: a liquid container (19) in fluidic communication with an eductor assembly (70, 75, 83), the eductor assembly comprising: an acceleration duct (52/70) having at least one liquid inlet (52), a mixing zone (75) interconnected to the acceleration duct, a freezing zone interconnected to the freezing zone (83), and a nozzle (70) associated with the acceleration duct at an end opposite the mixing zone, wherein a nozzle outlet (80) is located in the acceleration duct and positioned above the mixing zone {as shown in Fig. 4: ¶¶ [0085-0090]}; a pressurized gas supply system (89/93/94/56/57), comprising: a gas supply (94), a compressor pump (89) associated with the gas supply, the pump configured to pressurize gas drawn from the gas supply and deliver pressurized gas to a high pressure vessel that is in fluidic communication with the nozzle of the eductor assembly {as shown in Fig. 4: ¶¶ [0085-0090]}; a collection container (90) adjacent to an outlet of the freezing zone {as shown in Fig. 4: ¶ [0088]}; and wherein the liquid is draw into the eductor assembly when the pressurized gas is directed through the nozzle, wherein a portion of the pressurized gas is mixed with the liquid, and wherein the freezing zone is configured to create a localized low pressure area that freezes the liquid and gas mixture to produce an at least frozen material {see ¶¶ [0034], [0043] and [0087-0088]}.
Regarding claim 3, Brisson et al ‘821 disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the mixing zone has an inner surface with an outer extent less that an outer extent of an inner surface of the freezing zone, which defines a contraction that produces a low-pressure area {see Fig. 4: ¶ [0088], wherein inner surface of chamber 75 has an outer extent less than the inner surface extent of chamber 82 comprising an inner surface of the freezing zone with a lower pressure area}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brisson et al. ‘821, in view of DI FONZO et al (WO Publication No.: 2012160532 A1), hereinafter referred to as DI FONZO et al ‘532.
Regarding claim 2, Brisson et al ‘821 disclose the system of claim 1, EXCEPT for the limitation of wherein the at least one liquid inlet comprises a first liquid inlet and a second liquid inlet, the fluid inlets configured to deliver fluid into the acceleration duct tangentially with respect to an inner surface of the acceleration duct such that potion of the accelerated fluid rotates about the nozzle.
DI FONZO et al ‘532 teach: the concept of the at least one liquid inlet (11) comprises a first liquid inlet (9) and a second liquid inlet (10), the fluid inlets configured to deliver fluid into the acceleration duct (7) tangentially with respect to an inner surface of the acceleration duct such that potion of the accelerated fluid rotates about the nozzle {as shown in Fig. 2: Page 14, ¶7 through Page 15, ¶1}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Brisson et al ‘821 in view of DI FONZO et al ‘532 to include the at least one liquid inlet comprises a first liquid inlet and a second liquid inlet, the fluid inlets configured to deliver fluid into the acceleration duct tangentially with respect to an inner surface of the acceleration duct such that potion of the accelerated fluid rotates about the nozzle, in order to facilitate turbulence inside acceleration duct, with result that the frozen material deposits on the bottom of the container {DI FONZO et al ‘532 – Pahe 14, ¶7}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Brisson et al ‘821 in view of DI FONZO et al ‘532 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Regarding claim 7, Brisson et al ‘821 disclose the system of claim 1, EXCEPT for the limitations for further comprising a second gas supply in fluidic communication with the liquid container configured to pre-pressurize the liquid, wherein the pre-pressurized liquid is drawn into the eductor assembly, mixed with high pressure gas, and expanded in the freezing zone.
DI FONZO et al ‘532 teach: the concept of a second gas supply (4) in fluidic (3) communication with the liquid container (2) configured to pre-pressurize the liquid, wherein the pre-pressurized liquid is drawn (5) into the eductor assembly (8), mixed with high pressure gas (14/15), and expanded in the freezing zone (7) {as shown in Fig. 2: Page 12, ¶7 through Page 13, ¶5; and Page 14, ¶¶4-6; Page 15, ¶1}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Brisson et al ‘821 in view of DI FONZO et al ‘532 to include the use of a second gas supply in fluidic communication with the liquid container configured to pre-pressurize the liquid, wherein the pre-pressurized liquid is drawn into the eductor assembly, mixed with high pressure gas, and expanded in the freezing zone, in order to speed up the processing time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Brisson et al ‘821 in view of DI FONZO et al ‘532 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Brisson et al ‘821 and DI FONZO et al ‘532 disclose and teach the system of claim 7, Brisson et al ‘821 as modified by DI FONZO et al ‘532 further teach the limitations of wherein the first gas supply is C02 and the second gas supply is N2 {see Page 12, ¶7; and Page 14, ¶ 4}.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brisson et al. ‘821, in view of MAREGA (EP Publication No.: 2042823 A1), hereinafter referred to as MAREGA ‘823.
Regarding claim 4, Brisson et al ‘821 disclose the system of claim 1, a ventilated space (145) associated with a ventilation system (139/149} configured to remove excess gas from the system {as shown in Fig. 5: ¶ [0094]}.
However, Brisson et al ‘821 fail disclose to limitations of wherein the collection container rests on a perforated shelf, wherein the collection container is positioned in the ventilated space associated with the ventilation system.
MAREGA ‘823 teaches: the concept of the collection container (9) rests on a perforated shelf (9a) and capable of being positioned in the ventilated space associated with the ventilation system {see ¶ [0033]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Brisson et al ‘821 in view of MAREGA ‘823 to include the use of the collection container rests on a perforated shelf, wherein the collection container is positioned in the ventilated space associated with the ventilation system, in order to facilitate evenly refrigeration of the entire surface area of the product with replenish circulating coolant, therein.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Brisson et al ‘821 in view of MAREGA ‘823 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Brisson et al ‘821 and MAREGA ‘823 disclose and teach the system of claim 4, Brisson et al ‘821 disclose wherein the excess gas is vented to atmosphere or directed to the gas supply {see Fig. 5: ¶ [0094]}.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brisson et al. ‘821, in view of Holzwanger et al (U.S. PG Pub No.:2018/0202692 A1), hereinafter referred to as Holzwanger et al ‘692.
Regarding claim 6, Brisson et al ‘821 disclose the system of claim 1, EXCEPT for explicit disclosure wherein the liquid container is a manifold configured to receive the liquid and at least one additional liquid and/or additive.
Holzwanger et al ‘692 teach: the concept of the liquid container is a manifold (830) configured to receive the liquid (820a) and at least one additional liquid (820B or 820C) {as shown in Fig. 8: ¶¶ [0146-0148]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Brisson et al ‘821 liquid container by the liquid container of Holzwanger et al ‘692 to include the use of a manifold capable of being configured to receive the liquid and at least one additional liquid, in order to facilitate production of different flavored frozen materials .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Brisson et al ‘821 in view of Holzwanger et al ‘692 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20170172174-A1 to RIZVI; Syed S.H.
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
06/16/2026.