DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 4/15/2026. Claims 1,3-8,10,11,13-17 are pending for prosecution below.
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed on 4/15/2026
Claims 1,5,6, 7,8,10,11,15-17 have been amended.
No new claims added.
Hereon, claims 1,3-8,10,11,13-17 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1,3,6, 7,8,10-11,13,15-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not supported by either a specific and substantial asserted utility or a well-established utility. Claims lacks any recitation of structure, let alone a recitation which creates a substantial tie so as to impose meaningful limitations on the claim scope because is merely a set of instructions. There is nothing of record which clearly indicates that the method recited is not directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 1,3, 6,7,8,10-11,13,15-17 also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Specifically, because the claimed invention is not supported by either a specific and substantial asserted utility or a well-established utility for the reasons set forth above, one skilled in the art clearly would not know how to use the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5,7,8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al, (USNO.2015/0234363).
As for claim 5, Yoon discloses and shows in Fig. 9 and 10 an external apparatus to be connected to an electronic apparatus, the external apparatus comprising: an outputter which supplies power to the electronic apparatus; a receiver which receives a notification signal (via VBUS) from the electronic apparatus, the notification signal indicating that an abnormality (via ref’s power abnormality) has occurred between the external apparatus and the electronic apparatus; and a processor which, in response to the receiver receiving the notification signal, executes processing to increase voltage to be output from the outputter based on the notification signal such that charging can be performed within a charging time similar to a charging time within which charging can be performed under normal conditions (par.[0094,0109- 0110]) .
As for claim 7, Yoon discloses and shows in Figs. 6,7, and 9 a charging method of an electronic apparatus, the electronic apparatus including a first connector, the charging method comprising: measuring voltage at a secondary battery, the secondary battery being supplied with power by being electrically connected to an external apparatus including a second connector; measuring current flowing through the secondary battery; acquiring a charging state of the secondary battery based on the measured voltage; and determining whether or not an abnormality has occurred to a connection state between the external apparatus and the electronic apparatus, by comparing a current threshold (via ref’s TA or CA) with the measured current, the current threshold set based on the acquired charging state (par.[0085,0094,0106-0110]).
As for claim 8, Yoon discloses and shows in Figs. 6,7, and 9 a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program, the program causing for controlling a computer of an electronic apparatus, the electronic apparatus including a first connector, and the program being executable to control the computer to execute operations comprising: measuring voltage at a secondary battery, the secondary battery being supplied with power by being electrically connected to an external apparatus including a second connector; measuring current flowing through the secondary battery, the secondary battery being supplied with power by being electrically connected to an external apparatus, or voltage at a connector included in an electronic apparatus that is to be connected to the external apparatus includes; acquiring a charging state of the secondary battery based on the measured voltage; and determining whether or not an abnormality has occurred to a connection state between the external apparatus and the electronic apparatus, by comparing a current threshold with the measured current, the current threshold being set based on and the acquired charging state (par.[0085,0094,0106-0109]).
As for claim 13, Yoon discloses and shows in Figs. 6 and 7 abnormality is notified in response to determination that the abnormality has occurred
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Harshey et al, (Harshey), (USPATNO.10,720,838).
As for claim 4, Yoon discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose determining an abnormality has occurred, the controller performs control in such a way as to cause processor makes the external apparatus supply power at a higher voltage
Harshey discloses determining an abnormality (ref’s low voltage) has occurred, the controller performs control in such a way as to cause processor makes the external apparatus supply power at a higher voltage (col.2, line 60-col.3, line 26)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Yoon by determining an abnormality has occurred, the controller performs control in such a way as to cause processor makes the external apparatus supply power at a higher voltage for advantages such as providing the ability to maximize charge time (col.3, line 6-7) , as taught by Harshey.
As for claim 14, Yoon in combination with Harshey discloses response to determination that the abnormality has occurred, the external apparatus is made to supply power at a higher voltage for the electronic apparatus by transmission of a notification signal to the external apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/15/2026 have been fully considered but are now moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859