Priority
This Application is a 371 of PCT/US2021/047935, filed Aug. 27, 2021 and claims priority benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/071,564, filed Aug. 28, 2020.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 9, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claim 1 is currently pending and subject to examination.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 – Previously Presented
“A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.”
The rejection of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludwig et al. (US 2022/0152080 A1; Published May 19, 2022; PCT filed Mar. 19, 2020) and further in view of Smith et al. (Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry, Volume 15, Issue 14, 15 July 2007, Pages 5018-5034) is maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited combination does not provide a sufficient reason to modify Ludwig to arrive at the presently claimed method (Remarks, p. 7). This argument is not persuasive because “[a] prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities.” (MPEP 2144.09). The cited documents establish that the claimed compound (the compound of formula VIII) has a very close structural relationship and the same biological properties as the prior art compound (the compound of formula VII/ SL0101).
Ludwig teaches that the RSK inhibitor SL0101 (SL0101-1) has antiviral activity, including against SARS-CoV-2 (Ludwig, Specification, ¶ [0011], ¶ [0058]) (Final Action dated March 9, 2026 at 3-5). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to inhibit a viral infection (SARS-CoV-2 infection) with a compound of formula VIII because the compound of formula VIII is structurally analogous to the compound of formula VII/ SL0101 and is known to have similar properties. For example, Smith teaches that SL0101 (compound (1)) and the compound of formula VIII (compound (32)) are both RSK inhibitors with similar properties:
Smith, Fig. 2, p. 5022 (Final Action dated March 9, 2026 at 9);
We have shown that the ability of RSK to interact with SL0101 depends on the sugar moiety because RSK has a 40-fold greater affinity for SL0101 (1) compared to kaempferol (31) (Fig. 2).2 During the isolation of SL0101 we also identified compounds that differ from SL0101 (1) only in the number and position of the acetyl groups on the rhamnose moiety ((32) and (33)) and we found that RSK was able to bind these compounds with similar in vitro affinities as SL0101 (1) (Fig. 2).18 Furthermore, acylation of all the hydroxy groups on the rhamnose to generate tri-O-Ac-SL0101 (29) did not substantially alter the inhibitory potency or specificity for inhibiting RSK activity in vitro (Fig. 2).18
Smith, col. 2, p. 5024 (Final Action dated March 9, 2026 at 9).
The Applicant argues that they have amended the claimed method to inhibiting a SARS-CoV-2 infection and the “cited portions of Ludwig relief upon in the Office Action do not disclose the presently claimed combinations of limitations after amendment.” (Remarks, p. 7). These arguments are not persuasive because Ludwig specifically teaches that RSK inhibitors such as the compound of formula VII/ SL0101 are useful for treating SARS-CoV-2 infections and this evidence was shown in the prior office action:
In another aspect, the method of the invention is for the prophylaxis and/or treatment of a viral disease which is an infection caused by positive strand RNA virus such as, for example, Coronaviruses such as SARS-CoV, MERS-CoV or SARS-CoV-2 that cause respiratory tract infections such as SARS, MERS or Covid19.
Ludwig, Specification, ¶ [0058] (cited on page 5 of the Final Office Action dated March 9, 2026).
Reiterated Rejection
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ludwig et al. (US 2022/0152080 A1; Published May 19, 2022; PCT filed Mar. 19, 2020) and further in view of Smith et al. (Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry, Volume 15, Issue 14, 15 July 2007, Pages 5018-5034).
Claim 1 is directed towards a method for inhibiting a virus infection comprising administering to the subject in need thereof a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a compound, in which the compound is a compound having the structure of formula VIII:
.
Ludwig teaches a method for inhibiting viral infections, including SARS-CoV-2 infections comprising administering to the subject in need thereof a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of the RSK inhibitor SL0101 (SL0101-1):
The present invention relates to an RSK inhibitor for use in a method for the prophylaxis and/or treatment of a viral disease. Specifically, the RSK inhibitor can be selected from the group consisting of BI-D1870, SL0101-1, LJH685, LJ1308, BIX 02565, FMK and a selective RSK1 inhibitor or a derivative, metabolite or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
Ludwig, Specification, ¶ [0011];
[I]nhibitors of Rsk have antiviral activity against viruses by preventing export of viral genomes from the nucleus. Surprisingly, it has been found that this object can be achieved by an RSK inhibitor according to the invention, in particular by pharmaceutical compositions comprising a RSK1 inhibitor compound.
Ludwig, Specification, ¶ [0045];
In another aspect, the method of the invention is for the prophylaxis and/or treatment of a viral disease which is an infection caused by positive strand RNA virus such as, for example, Coronaviruses such as SARS-CoV, MERS-CoV or SARS-CoV-2 that cause respiratory tract infections such as SARS, MERS or Covid19.
Ludwig, Specification, ¶ [0058] (emphasis added);
FIG. 4(A-H) show decreased M1-NP binding upon RSK-inhibition and nuclear retention of progeny vRNPs upon RSK-inhibition or RSK1 knockdown, as demonstrated in Example 2. (I-P) show that the specific RSK-inhibitors BI-D1870 and SL0101-1 inhibit viral propagation as described in Example 2
Ludwig, Specification, ¶ [0075];
Ludwig, Fig. 4N-P.
While Ludwig does not teach a method of treating a viral infection comprising administering to the subject in need thereof a compound of formula VIII, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to inhibit a viral infection with a compound of formula VIII because the compound of formula VIII is structurally analogous to the compound of formula VII/ SL0101 and is known to have similar properties.
For example, Smith teaches that SL0101 (compound (1)) and the compound of formula VIII (compound (32)) are both RSK inhibitors with similar properties:
Smith, Fig. 2, p. 5022.
We have shown that the ability of RSK to interact with SL0101 depends on the sugar moiety because RSK has a 40-fold greater affinity for SL0101 (1) compared to kaempferol (31) (Fig. 2).2 During the isolation of SL0101 we also identified compounds that differ from SL0101 (1) only in the number and position of the acetyl groups on the rhamnose moiety ((32) and (33)) and we found that RSK was able to bind these compounds with similar in vitro affinities as SL0101 (1) (Fig. 2).18 Furthermore, acylation of all the hydroxy groups on the rhamnose to generate tri-O-Ac-SL0101 (29) did not substantially alter the inhibitory potency or specificity for inhibiting RSK activity in vitro (Fig. 2).18
Smith, col. 2, p. 5024.
Therefore, claim 1 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Given the above teachings, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HEATHER DAHLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629