DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponweiser et al. [US 6563413 B1] in view of Byrne et al. [US 6,051,793 A].
Regarding claims 1-2, 12-13 and 16, Ponweiser et al. discloses a coil [6] for a transformer core [figure 5, column 6, lines 43-46], comprising:
a longitudinal axis [figure 5],
at least one multi-stranded conductor [7] including at least one first conductor turn [figure 5] wound around the longitudinal axis, at least one second conductor turn [figure 5] wound around the longitudinal axis, the at least one first conductor turn being adjacent the at least one second conductor turn, wherein each of the at least one first and second conductor turns is provided with an electrically insulating member [4] which extends about part but not an entire cross-sectional perimeter of the respective conductor turn, such that the at least one first and second conductor turns are insulated against each other [figure 5], wherein of two axially and/or radially adjacent conductor turns each turn has one side surface facing a side surface of the respective adjacent turn, while only one of these surfaces facing one another is provided with the electrically insulating member fully extending along said side surface while the other one of the two side surfaces facing one another is not provided with an electrically insulating member or is provided with an electrically insulating member extending along only part of said side surface [figures 1-5], wherein the at least one first conductor turn (22) and the at least one second conductor turn (24) are axially and/or radially adjacent to one another [figures 1-5].
Ponweiser et al. further discloses a holding element [5] for holding the electrically insulating member to the respective conductor turn and a resin member embedding the respective conductor turns [column 1, lines 29-50].
Ponweiser et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific of the holding element.
Byrne et al. discloses a multi-strand conductive structure [10, figures 1-4] including a plurality of insulated conductors [12, 14] and at least one holding element [16, 18] helically wound around the multi-strand conductive structure [figures 1-2].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to helically arrange the holding member of Ponweiser et al., as suggested by Byrne et al., for the purpose of improving cooling [summary of the invention].
Regarding claims 3-4 and 19, the specific “substantially” rectangular cross-section use for the conductor turns would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of improving coil density [note, Ponweiser et al. disclose the rounded surfaces for the conductor 7, wherein the majority of at least two side surfaces is not provided with an electrically insulating member 4, figures 1-3]. Byrne et al. also discloses the insulated conductor has a substantially rectangular in cross-section.
Regarding claim 5, Ponweiser et al. discloses the electrically insulating member only extends around less than 80% of the perimeter of the respective conductor turn, preferably less than 60%, more preferably less than 50% [figures 1-3]
Regarding claim 6-8, Ponweiser et al. discloses one side surface of the of the respective conductor turn is not provided with the electrically insulating member [figures 1-5], wherein the
multi-stranded conductor is a litz wire [conductor 2 coated with enamel insulation 3], wherein the electrically insulating member comprises or consists of aramid fibers [paper].
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Ponweiser et al. discloses the use of meshed ribbon of polyester or a glass-filament/polyester mixture for the holding element. This material would be permeable to resin.
Regarding claim 11, Byrne et al. discloses a portion of the respective conductor turn is not covered by the holding element [figures 1-3].
Regarding claim 14, Ponweiser et al. discloses the use of the winding in a oil filled type transformer [background] which include a magnetic core. Ferromagnetic core is a known magnetic material use for the core in the transformer.
Regarding claim 15, Ponweiser et al. discloses the use of the multi-strand conductor in an oil-filled transformer [figure 5, cooling medium such as oil flowing arrows].
Regarding claim 18, Ponweiser et al. discloses two axially and/or radially adjacent conductor turns each turn has one side surface facing a side surface of the respective adjacent turn, while only one of these surfaces facing one another is provided with the electrically insulating member fully extending along said side surface while the other one of the two side surfaces facing one another is not provided with an electrically insulating member or is provided with an electrically insulating member extending along only part of said side surface [figures 1-5].
Regarding claim 20, both Ponweiser et al. and Byrne et al. disclose the use of the multi-strand conductor for a transformer, such as an oil-filled transformer. This type of oil-filled transformer would have a magnetic/ferromagnetic core [not show, note prior art of Figures 6A shows the conductor wound around a magnetic core] and the multi-strand conductor would wound around the magnetic/ferromagnetic core to form a winding for the transformer structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 10-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837