DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of the coil for a transformer coil intended by “at least one multi-stranded conductor, at least one first conductor turn… at least one second conductor turn.” Are these conductor turns different or the same of the multi-stranded conductor? Does the multi-stranded conductor, the first conductor turn and the second conductor turn is/are the same or different? Applicant should clarify. Claims 2-15 inherit the defect of the parent claim.
Regarding claim 16, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of the coil for a transformer coil intended by “at least one multi-stranded conductor, at least one first conductor turn… at least one second conductor turn.” Are these conductor turns different or the same of the multi-stranded conductor? Does the multi-stranded conductor, the first conductor turn and the second conductor turn is/are the same or different? Applicant should clarify. Claims 17-20 inherit the defect of the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ponweiser et al. [US 6563413 B1].
Regarding claims 1-2 and 13, Ponweiser et al. discloses a coil [6] for a transformer core [figure 5, column 6, lines 43-46], comprising:
a longitudinal axis [figure 5],
at least one multi-stranded conductor [7],
at least one first conductor turn [figure 5] wound around the longitudinal axis,
at least one second conductor turn [figure 5] wound around the longitudinal axis, the at least one first conductor turn being adjacent the at least one second conductor turn, wherein each of the at least one first and second conductor turns is provided with an electrically insulating member [4] which extends about part but not an entire cross-sectional perimeter of the respective conductor turn, such that the at least one first and second conductor turns are insulated against each other [figure 5], wherein of two axially and/or radially adjacent conductor turns each turn has one side surface facing a side surface of the respective adjacent turn, while only one of these surfaces facing one another is provided with the electrically insulating member fully extending along said side surface while the other one of the two side surfaces facing one another is not provided with an electrically insulating member or is provided with an electrically insulating member extending along only part of said side surface [figures 1-5], wherein the at least one first conductor turn (22) and the at least one second conductor turn (24) are axially and/or radially adjacent to one another [figures 1-5].
Regarding claim 5, Ponweiser et al. discloses the electrically insulating member only extends around less than 80% of the perimeter of the respective conductor turn, preferably less than 60%, more preferably less than 50% [figures 1-3]
Regarding claim 6-8, Ponweiser et al. discloses one side surface of the of the respective conductor turn is not provided with the electrically insulating member [figures 1-5], wherein the
multi-stranded conductor is a litz wire [conductor 2 coated with enamel insulation 3], wherein the electrically insulating member comprises or consists of aramid fibers [paper].
Regarding claim 9, Ponweiser et al. further discloses a holding element [5] for holding the electrically insulating member to the respective conductor turn.
Regarding claim 14, Ponweiser et al. discloses the use of the winding in a oil filled type transformer [background] which include a magnetic core. Ferromagnetic core is a known magnetic material use for the core in the transformer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 10-12 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponweiser et al. in view of Zhang et al. [CN 205692663].
Regarding claim 10, Ponweiser et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the use of resin.
Zhang et al. discloses the use of resin material for insulation in conductor of a coil structure.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use resin for the holding element of Ponweiser et al., as suggested by Zhang et al., for the purpose of facilitating embedding/molding/adhesive and improve insulation.
Regarding claim 12, Ponweiser discloses mesh insulation [5] embedding/covering the conductor turn.
Zhang et al. discloses the use of resin material for insulation in conductor of a coil structure.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use resin for the mesh covering of Ponweiser et al., as suggested by Zhang et al., for the purpose of facilitating embedding/molding/adhesive and improve insulation.
Regarding claim 16, Ponweiser et al. discloses coil [6] for a transformer core [figure 5, column 6, lines 43-46, comprising:
a longitudinal axis [figure 5],
at least one multi-stranded conductor [7],
at least one first conductor turn [figures 1-5] wound around the longitudinal axis,
at least one second conductor turn [figures 1-5] wound around the longitudinal axis, the at least one first conductor turn being adjacent the at least one second conductor turn, and a mesh member [5] embedding/covering the respective conductor turns, wherein each of the at least one first and second conductor turns is provided with an electrically insulating member [4] which extends about part but not an entire cross-sectional perimeter of the respective conductor turn, such that the at least one first and second conductor turns are insulated against each other, and
wherein the at least one first conductor turn and the at least one second conductor turn are
axially and/or radially adjacent to one another [figures 1-3].
Ponweiser et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the use of resin.
Zhang et al. discloses the use of resin material for insulation in conductor of a coil structure.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use resin for the mesh covering of Ponweiser et al., as suggested by Zhang et al., for the purpose of facilitating embedding/molding/adhesive and improve insulation.
Regarding claim 17, Ponweiser et al. discloses a holding element [same as mesh covering 5] that use for holding the electrically insulating member to the respective conductor turn [figures 1-5].
Zhang et al. discloses the use of resin material for insulation in conductor of a coil structure.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use resin for the mesh covering or holding member of Ponweiser et al., as suggested by Zhang et al., for the purpose of facilitating embedding molding or adhesive and improve insulation.
Regarding claim 18, Ponweiser et al. discloses two axially and/or radially adjacent conductor turns each turn has one side surface facing a side surface of the respective adjacent turn, while only one of these surfaces facing one another is provided with the electrically insulating member fully extending along said side surface while the other one of the two side surfaces facing one another is not provided with an electrically insulating member or is provided with an electrically insulating member extending along only part of said side surface [figures 1-5].
Regarding claims 3-4 and 19, the specific “substantially” rectangular cross-section use for the conductor turns would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of improving coil density [note, Ponweiser et al. disclose the rounded surfaces for the conductor 7, wherein the majority of at least two side surfaces is not provided with an electrically insulating member 4, figures 1-3].
Regarding claim 11, the specific holding element arrangement relative to the conductor turn would have been an obvious design consideration based on the intended application and/or environment use and/or facilitating insulation/holding.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837