DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response of November 13, 2025 has been fully considered. Claims 1 and 7 are amended. Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asada et al. (WO 2019/230700). For convenience, the citations below for Asada et al. are taken from English language equivalent US 2021/0222036.
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 4, Asada et al. teaches an oil-in-water emulsion (¶114) comprising a modified conjugated diene rubber having a hydrogen-bonding functional group in a part of the conjugated diene rubber (¶25), where the rubber is preferably a liquid rubber (¶88), and wherein the hydrogen bonding functional group is one or more selected from a hydroxy group, an aldehyde group, an acetalized product of an aldehyde group, a carboxy group, a salt of a carboxy group, an esterified product of a carboxy group, an acid anhydride of a carboxy group, a silanol group, and an esterified product of a silanol group (¶27). The emulsion will contain an oily agent mainly containing a mineral oil (a diluent having a vapor pressure at 20° C of 10 Pa or less; ¶63 of the instant specification describes mineral oil as being an oil which meets this limitation) (¶93, 94). The emulsion also contains water (¶116), an emulsifier (surfactant) (¶120), and sodium hydroxide for pH control (¶122).
While there is not one precise example which includes these components used together, Asada et al. teaches that all of these components may be used together to form the disclosed invention. At the time of the filing of the instant invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form an oil-in-water emulsion containing a liquid modified conjugated diene rubber, a diluent, water, a surfactant, and sodium hydroxide, as taught by Asada et al., and would have been motivated to do so by a reasonable expectation of success in forming a sufficient adhesive composition using the oil-in-water emulsion.
Regarding claim 2, Asada et al. teaches that the conjugated diene unit of the conjugated diene rubber may include butadiene, isoprene, and/or β-farnesene (¶33).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Asada et al. teaches that the emulsion contains from 0.5 to 15 parts by mass of a nonionic emulsifier/surfactant such as polyoxyethylene nonyl phenyl ether (¶121, 122)
Regarding claim 7, Asada et al. teaches forming an oil-in-water emulsion containing the claimed components (see above references). The components must be mixed in some way in order to achieve the emulsion; and the diluent (oil) is not removed from the emulsion because it is, in fact, and oil-in-water emulsion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ANGELA C SCOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767