DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2024 and 10/03/2024 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner. See attached copies of PTO-1449.
Response to Restriction
Applicants' election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-3, 11, 17, 23, 27-33, 35, 36, and 47; drawn to a composition) in the reply filed on 08/25/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant respectfully notes that Groups I-II are closely related and searching these groups do not substantially increase the search burden.
This is not found persuasive because the groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons: The groups lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the composition of nanoparticles comprising of an amphiphilic block co-polymer component and a lipid component, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of “Liposomal Compositions for Mucosal Delivery” by Dutta et al. (US 20170072033A1), published on 03/16//2017, who teaches nanoparticles composition comprising phospholipid, poloxamer and a buffer (0011). In accordance with 37 CPR 1.499, the claims must be restricted.
The requirement is still proper and is therefore made FINAL. For examining purpose, Claims 1-15 and 26 of Group I are examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31, 32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 31 is indefinite because Formula V lacks antecedent basis. There is no formula V described in any previous claims. For further examining purposes, the claim has been treated as if formula V were omitted from the claim.
Claim 32: a specific particle size or range is a critical or characterizing feature of a patent application; the patent application must disclose sufficient details about the measurement method and instrument used.
Claim 33: when citing a Polydispersity Index (PDI) for materials like nanoparticles or polymers, applicant must specify the instrument used (e.g., DLS analyzer like Malvern Zetasizer. Nanoparticle Tracking Analyzer), the method (e.g., cumulant analysis, multi-angle DLS), and the experimental conditions (temperature, solvent, concentration), because PDI reflects particle size distribution (heterogeneity/homogeneity) which varies greatly by measurement technique and setup, crucial for reproducibility and novelty.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 11, 17, 28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rohloff et al. (AU 2004291162 B2) or Eliaz et al. (CN 1897918 A).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 11, 17, 28
Rohloff et al. teach a liquid composition in an osmotic drug delivery system and a dosage form in an osmotic drug delivery system is disclosed comprising an amphiphilic molecule, a non-aqueous liquid solvent, and a pharmaceutically active agent. (Abs). The bioadhesive compositions can be in form of, e.g., a spray, a solution, a dispersion, a suspension, an emulsion, powders, gels including hydrogels, pastes, ointments, creams, drenches, delivery devices, suppositories, enemas, implants, aerosols, microcapsules, microspheres, nanoparticles, liposomes. (0103). It comprises block copolymers surfactants compound of formula I like Pluronic® surfactant F-127 (PEO100PPO65PEO100) (0014) or other Pluronic®: PEOx-PPOy-PEOx like PLURONIC L92 (PEO14PPO50PEO14) PLURONIC L121 (PEO10PPO68PEO10), PLURONIC L81 (PEO6PPO42PEO6), or formula II like Pluronic®-R (PPOyPEOxPPOy) like PLURONIC® 31R1 surfactant (PPO26PEO8PPO26), PLURONIC® l7R4 surfactant (PPO14PEO24PPO14) (0079), cationic lipid (0007), structural lipids like DSPC and PEG-lipid (0014) and structural lipid like cholesterol (0106, 0109).
Certain pharmaceutically acceptable excipients can be added in much larger concentrations without having any substantially negative influence on the biopharmaceutical properties of the composition. Thus, the concentration of such excipients can be at least about 5%, 8%, 9%, 10%, 15% or 20% by weight. (0097).
With regard to claim 29,
The pharmaceutically active agent includes, but is not limited to a protein, peptide, small molecule drug, lipid dmg ornμcleic acid dmg (e.g., DNA, RNA, antisense, ribozyme, DNAzyme. (0092).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 11, 17, 28
Eliaz et al. teach The liquid medicaments combination and dosage form during the process of infiltrative medicaments transmitting. It includes amphiphilic molecule, non-aqueous liquid flux and pharmic activator. (Abs). The bio-adhesive composition may be as follows: for example, spray, solution, dispersion, suspension, emulsion, powder, a gel, paste, ointment, cream, drenches, delivery device of the hydrogels, suppositories, enemas, implants, aerosols, microcapsules, microspheres, nanoparticles, liposomes. (0103). The composition includes cationic lipid (0007); helper lipid like DSPC, PEG-lipid (0014); structural lipid, cholesterol (0106); and compound of formula I: PEOxPPOyPEOx like PLURONIC L92 (PEO14PPO50PEO14) PLURONIC L121 (PEO10PPO68PEO10), PLURONIC L81 (PEO6PPO42PEO6), or formula II like Pluronic®-R (PPOyPEOxPPOy) like PLURONIC® 31R1 surfactant (PPO26PEO8PPO26), PLURONIC® l7R4 surfactant (PPO14PEO24PPO14) (0079)
Certain pharmaceutically acceptable excipients can be added very large concentration, but does not substantially has a negative effect on the biological and pharmaceutical properties of the composition. Therefore, the concentration of the excipient can be at least about 5%, 8%, 9%, 10%, 15%, or 20% by weight. (0097).
With regard to claim 29,
In another embodiment, the pharmaceutically active agent is selected from the group consisting
of protein, peptide, small molecule drug, lipid drug or nucleic acid drug (e.g., DNA, RNA, antisense, ribozyme, DNAzyme, etc.). (0016).
Claim(s) 1, 2 3, 11, 28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dane (US 20240425454 A1).
Claims 1, 2, and 28
Dane teaches cationic and/or ionizable lipid compounds that can be used, in combination with other lipid molecules, to form lipid nanoparticles for delivery of a polynucleotide to a subject. (0001). Polymers like pluronics, comprising Pluronic L121 (PEO10PPO68.3PEO10), 1.25%, are included in the nanoparticles. (0234).
With regard to claim 3,
Dane teaches LNPs are commonly formed from ionizable cationic lipids and other lipid components such as neutral lipids, sterols such as cholesterol and PEGylated lipids. (0003). Neutral lipids include DSPC, DOPE. (0043). Cationic and/or ionizable lipid of Formula I or I-A to I-N or II-A to II-N, may be selected from DLin-DMA, DLin-MC3-DMA and DLin-KC2-DMA. (0174). The LNP additionally comprises one or more of a PEG-lipid, a sterol structural lipid and/or a neutral lipid. (0188).
With regard to claim 11,
Dane teaches the lipid component of the LNP formulation comprises about:
25 mol % to about 60 mol % compound of Formula I or I-A to I-N or II-A to II-N,
2 mol % to about 25 mol % phospholipid (neutral lipid),
18.5 mol % to about 60 mol % structural lipid (sterol), and
0.2 mol % to about 10 mol % of PEGylated lipid, provided that the total mol % does not exceed 100%. (0224).
Polymers like pluronics, comprising Pluronic L121 (PEO10PPO68.3PEO10), 1.25%, are included in the nanoparticles. (0234). With 1.25% Pluronic L121, the molar percentages of lipids are not changed much from the ranges above.
With regard to claim 29,
The term “polynucleotide” as used herein refers to a polymer containing at least two deoxyribonucleotides or ribonucleotides in either single- or double-stranded form and includes DNA, RNA, and hybrids thereof. (0045).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 11 17, 27-28 and 29-32, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Navarro y Garcia et al. (US 20230136944 A1).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 27, 28, 29 and 31
Navarro y Garcia et al. teach DNA/RNA molecule, or a complex thereof with at least one nanoparticle. (Abs). Liposome comprises or consists of at least one cationic lipid such as DOTAP, DOTMA, or DMRIE; DOGS, DC-Chol or BGTC. Liposome may also comprise a helper lipid DOPE or cholesterol. Said liposome may comprise at least 2, 3, 4, 5 lipids such as described above: a DOTMA/DOPE or DOTAP/cholesterol liposome. Optionally, said liposome may also comprise at least one PEG-lipid. Liposomes also containing at least one PEG are liposomes composed of DODAC, DOPE and PEG ceramide conjugates; PEG-C-DMA, 1,2-dilinoleylloxy-N-N-dimethyl-3-aminopropane (DLin DMA), 1,2-distearoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine (DSPC) and cholesterol in a ratio of 2:40:10:48 mole percent; liposomes composed of β-L-arginyl-2,3-L-diaminopropionic acid-N-palmityl-N-oleyl-amide trihydrochloride, 1,2-diphytanoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphoethanolamine (DphyPE) and the PEGylated lipid DSPE-PEG; liposomes composed of phosphatidylcholine (soybean, hydrogenated) (HSPC), cholesterol, DSPE-PEG2000 and DOTAP, (0051). A helper lipid is preferred DOPE. (0176). Surfactants comprise Pluronic® F68, F127, L64, L61 (PEO-PPO-PEO) or Pluronic®-R 10R4, 17R2, 17R4, 25R2 or 25R4 (PPO-PEO-PPO) (0213).
The HLB values of L61 and P85 are less than 18.
With regard to claims 2, 11 and 17,
Navarro y Garcia et al. teach The nanoemulsion comprises 10-55 mole % of co-surfactant relative to the whole (amphiphilic lipid/cationic surfactant (lipid)/co-surfactant/optional helper lipid). (0206 & 0215).
Navarro y Garcia et al. teach The nanoemulsion comprises 15 to 70 mol% of at least one cationic surfactant (lipid) relative to the whole (amphiphilic lipid/cationic surfactant (lipid)/co-surfactant/optional helper lipid). (0173). Phospholipids are preferred amphiphilic lipids, (0184), such as DSPC, DOPE, which are helper lipids.
Navarro y Garcia et al. teach liposome with molar ratio of PEG-lipid: cationic lipid DLin DMA:helper lipid DSPC:cholesterol 2:40:10:48. (0051).
To include 10-55 mole % of co-surfactant, Pluronic®: for example:
20% of Pluronic®, then the mol% of Pluronic®:PEG-lipid:cationic lipid DLin DMA:helper lipid DSPC:cholesterol are: 20:1.6:32:8:48 to 2:30:10:38.4.
With regard to claim 30,
The quantities of lipid nanoparticles were adjusted to maintain a constant N/P ratio with N/P=36 (N: DOTAP/DOPE amine group; P: phosphate group of the corresponding nucleic acid). (0313).
With regard to claim 32,
The droplets of the nanoemulsion before complexing with the htiRNA hybrid(s) (non-complexed droplets) generally have a diameter of between 20 and 200 nm. This diameter can particularly be measured by Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS) on ZetaSizer apparatus, Malvern. (0251).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 28, 29, 30, 32, 33 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nel et al. (US 20250195639 A1).
Claims 1, 2 and 28
Nel et al. teach nanoparticles (Abs) comprising one or more cationic lipids selected from the group consisting of dilinoleylmethyl-4 dimethyl aminobutyrate (DLin-MC3-DMA) and 2,2-dilinoleyl-4-(2-dimethylaminoethyl)-[1,3]-dioxolane (DLin-KC2-DMA) (0233); 1.25% Pluronic L121 (PEO10PPO68.3PEO10) is included in the nanoparticles. (0539).
With regard to claim 3,
Nel et al. teach a helper lipid selected from 1,2-dioleoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphoethanolamine (DOPE) and 1,2-distearoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine (DSPC) (0235); a structural lipid cholesterol (0236); and a PEG-lipid (0237). The immunogenic nanoparticle according to any one of embodiments 221-226, wherein said lipidic nanoparticle comprises an ionizable (e.g., a cationic) lipid, a helper lipid, a PEG-lipid, and cholesterol. (0238). Embodiment 228: The immunogenic nanoparticle of embodiment 227, wherein said lipidic nanoparticle comprises cholesterol, distearoylphosphatidylcholine (DSPC), PEG-Lipid and DODAP. (0239). DODAP is an ionizable lipid.
With regard to claim 29,
Nanoparticles for the delivery of one or more nucleic acid(s) (e.g., DNA or mRNA. (0488).
With regard to claim 30,
N/P is 4:1, Table 41. (0547).
With regard to claims 32-33 and 36,
Table 40 shows the hydrodynamic size, PDI, Zeta potential and encapsulation efficiency of illustrative mRNA-LNPs. (0506).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 23, 28, 29 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Robillard et al. (WO 2014081299 A1).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 23 and 28
Robillard et al. teach liposome, (Abs), typically with sizes between about 0.1 to 10 microns, (pg. 93, line 5), which contain cationic lipid (pg. 68, line 2), like DOTAP, DMRIE, DORIE, DOTMA, DC-Choi or a neutral lipid derivatized with polylysine to form a cationic lipid, (pg. 85, lines 11-22) or a pH sensitive or ionizable lipid like DOPE (pg. 79, line 13); PEG-lipid (pg. 79, line 21); cholesterol (pg. 84, line 15); and phospholipids such as phosphatidylcholine (PC), (pg. 82, line 6). Phosphatidylcholine is a zwitterionic or neutral helper lipid. One preferred lipid is
distearoylphosphatidylethanolamine (DSPE), however those of skill in the art will appreciate the wide variety of lipids that fall within this description. (pg. 83, lines 10-13). In one embodiment, each liposome contains an outer liposome surface having a coating of chemically releasable hydrophilic polymer chains MM, and hydrophobic polymers TA on the liposome outer surface. (pg. 67, lines 27-29). The hydrophobic polymer is preferably a chain of polypropylene oxide, (PPO). (pg. 68, line 3). The hydrophobic polymer would constitute 50% x 5%, or 2.5 mole percent, of the surface lipids. (pg. 72, lines 25-26).
In one embodiment, each liposome contains an outer liposome surface having a coating of chemically releasable hydrophilic polymer chains MM, and hydrophobic polymers TA on the liposome outer surface. The polymers TA are initially shielded by the hydrophilic polymer coating MM, then exposed for fusion with the target membrane when the hydrophilic polymer coating is chemically released. (pg. 67, lines 27-32). The hydrophobic polymer is preferably a chain of polypropylene oxide. The polymer chains have a preferred molecular weight of between of between 100-5,000 daltons, more preferably between 500-3,000 daltons. In one preferred
embodiment, the hydrophobic polymer is polypropylene oxide (PPO) having a molecular weight between 500-3,000 daltons. (pg. 68, lines 1-9).
With reference to Scheme 2, the liposome is composed of vesicle-forming lipids, such as lipids A, which each include hydrophilic head groups, and (pg. 69, lines 31-32) typically two diacyl hydrophobic lipid chains. Preferred diacyl-chain lipids for use in the present invention include diacyl glycerol, phosphatidyl ethanolamine (PE), diacylaminopropanediols, such as
disteroylaminopropanediol (DS), and phosphatidylglycerol (PG). These lipids are preferred for use as the vesicle-forming lipid A, the major liposome component, and for use in the polymer-lipid diblock conjugates (D) and lipids with directly linked hydrophilic polymer chains (B), which together are preferably included in the liposome outer layer at a mole ratio between about 1-20 mol%. (pg. 70, lines 1-9). Hydrophobic chain TA is bound at its distal end to hydrophilic
polymer chain MM. (pg. 71, lines 1-2).
The percent of hydrophobic chains, i.e., the percentage of diblock lipid conjugates in the liposomes, typically ranges between about 5-100% of the total surface lipids containing conjugated hydrophilic polymers. Thus, for example, in a liposome formulation containing 5 mole percent hydrophilic polymer liposome-surface lipids, and 50% diblock lipid conjugates, the
hydrophobic polymer would constitute 50% x 5% = 2.5 mole%, of the surface lipids. (pg. 72, lines 20-26).
With reference to Scheme 2, preferred formulations are those with
lipid A: 0.5 - 10 mol%
DOPE: 50-100 mol%, (a pH sensitive or ionizable lipid and a helper lipid)
Cholesterol (Choi) and/or cholesterolhemisuccinate (CHEMS): total 0-50 mol%. (pg. 107, lines 6-8 and pg. 108, line 1). (Lipid A which each include hydrophilic head groups, typically two diacyl hydrophobic lipid chains. Preferred diacyl-chain lipids for use in the present invention include diacyl glycerol, phosphatidyl ethanolamine (PE), diacylaminopropanediols, such as disteroylaminopropanediol (DS), and phosphatidylglycerol (PG). These lipids are preferred for use as the vesicle-forming. (pg. 69 line 31-32-pg. 70, lines 1-6), and Cholesteryl hemisuccinate (CHEMS) is an ionizable lipid. And with hydrophobic polymer PPO, 2.5 mol%, helper lipids could be reduced to 48mol%. Lipid A includes phosphatidyl ethanolamine (PE), diacylaminopropanediols, such as disteroylaminopropanediol (DS), and phosphatidylglycerol (PG), (pg. 70, line 3-4), are ionizable lipids.
Particular preferred formulations include: DOPE/CHEMS/DSPE-TCO-mPEG 60:40:3 molar ratio, (pg. 108, line 9), in which the total mols is 103 moles and DOPE/CHEMS are both ionizable lipids, and CHEMS could include Cholesterol.
With regard to claim 29,
The invention pertains to reactive (activatable) liposomes, and particularly to liposomal compositions designed for improved target delivery of an entrapped agent. (pg. 1, lines 9-11). Targeting agents include DNA, RNA, PNA and LNA. (pg. 87, lines 28-29).
With regard to claim 32,
The liposomes of the invention are preferably prepared to have substantially homogeneous sizes in a selected size range, typically between about 0.01 to 0.5 microns, more preferably between 0.03-0.40 microns. (pg. 94, lines 26-29).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 23, 28, 29, 30, 32, 33, 35 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Navarro et al. (WO 2021123332 A1).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 23, 28
Navarro et al. teach Lipid Nanoparticles for Delivery of Nucleic Acids. (Title). The application relates to cationic lipids and to compositions comprising said cationic lipids. (Abs). Lipid nanoparticles formed from cationic lipids with other lipid components, such as neutral lipids, cholesterol, PEGylated lipids, and oligonucleotides have been used to block degradation of the RNAs in plasma and facilitate the cellular uptake of the oligonucleotides. (pg. 2, lines 22-23). The hydrophilic polymer moiety P in the polymer conjugated lipid according to formula (II) may be a polyethylene glycol ("PEG") moiety. (pg. 55, lines 42-43). In another embodiment, the hydrophilic polymer moiety P in the polymer conjugated lipid may also be a substantially hydrophilic polymer which is different from the above describes hydrophilic polymer moieties, i.e. the hydrophilic polymer moiety P in the polymer conjugated lipid may be based on poly(propylene oxide) PPO. (pg. 56, lines 6-8). PPO at low molecular weight <700 g/mol is hydrophilic. The polymer conjugated lipid in the composition or in the lipid nanoparticles may be about 0.1mol%-7mol%. (pg. 64, lines 15-23).
Table F: Formulations incl. mol-percentages for excipients of preferred compositions of the invention (table split into two tabulars) (pg. 70).
With regard to claim 29,
the composition comprises an mRNA compound, (pg. 102, line 4), RNA or DNA sequences, (pg. 104, lines 5-14).
With regard to claim 30,
The lipid nanoparticles comprise the mRNA compound at an amount such as to achieve a lipid to mRNA weight ratio in the range of from about 5 to about 13, from about 4 to about 8 or from about 7 to about 11. (pg. 76, lines 16-21).
With regard to claim 32,
Lipid nanoparticle particle diameter size was from about 90 nm to about 140 nm as determined by quasi-elastic light scattering using a Malvern Zetasizer Nano (Malvern Instruments Ltd.; Malvern, UK). (pg. 167, lines 22-24).
With regard to claim 33,
(pg. 177, lines 15-18).
With regard to claim 35,
Lipid to mRNA mol ratio) preferably is 17.5 and the total lipid/mRNA mass ratio preferably is 40. (pg. 168, lines 7-8).
With regard to claim 36,
Encapsulation Efficiency (EE%) are mostly 54-96%, except 3 samples are lower than 50%. (Table Ex-4, pg. 169-170).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 35 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dane (US 20240425454 A1) in view of Smith et al. (US 20200069599A1).
The teachings of Dane are described in claims 1, 2, 3, 11, 28 and 29 above.
Dane teaches cationic and/or ionizable lipid compounds that can be used, in combination with other lipid molecules, to form lipid nanoparticles for delivery of a polynucleotide to a subject. (0001). Polymers like pluronics, comprising Pluronic L121 (PEO10PPO68.3PEO10), 1.25%, are included in the nanoparticles, (0234), 1.25 mol of Pluronic L121 (PEO10PPO68.3PEO10) in 98.5 total mols of lipids and in mol ratios.
Claim 35,
Dane does not teach the w/w ratio of the lipid component to the nucleic acid is from about 2:1 to about 50:1.
Smith et al. teach weight of nucleic acid and of lipid components in the table below:
10.9 +5.15 +2.7+1.35 = 20.1 mg/1mg of mRNA.
It would have been obvious for one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to prepare lipid nanoparticle of lipids in combination with polymer like Pluronic L121, taught by Dane, to have the w/w ratio of the lipid component to the nucleic acid is 20:1, taught by Dane, since they have proven this would be a good ratio for LNP to encapsulate nucleic acid.
Claim 47,
Dane does not teach weight ratios of polymer component in LNP.
Dane does not provide weight percentage PEO of less than 20% when the polymer component comprises a compound of formula I;
Smith et al. teach the amphiphilic polymer , or the first , second , third , or fourth amphiphilic polymer is present at a concentration ranging between about 0.1 % w/v and about 3 % w/v , or between about 0.1 % w/w and about 3 % w/w. (0075). For Pluronic L121: MW 4400, since total Pluronic L121 (PEO10PPO68.3PEO10) has less than 3% w/w in total lipid, the PEO alone has less than 20% w/w in total lipid composition. Similarly the second LNP formulation has substantially no increase in LNP mean size as compared to the first LNP formulation . For example , the second LNP formulation has an increase in LNP mean size of about 20 % or less (e.g. , about 15 % , about 10 % , about 5 % or less ) as compared to the first LNP formulation, then less than 20% PEO in the LNP formulation.
It would have been obvious for one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to prepare lipid nanoparticle of lipids in combination with polymer like Pluronic L121, taught by Dane and the weight percentage of polymer is 20% or less in LNP and the weight percentage of PEO is less than 20% in LNP, taught by Smith et al. since they have proven it would be possible to do so.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/NGOC-ANH THI NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615