DETAILED ACTION
VACUUM CLEANER
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 09-12-2025 has been entered. Claims 19-38 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant’s amendments overcome 112 rejection and specification objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office action mailed 06-13-2025. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09-12-2025, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 19 and their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C.103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (as necessitated by
amendment) relies on a different combination of prior art references, not applied in the
prior rejection of record to teach the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US20180055313A1), hereinafter Yang in view of Osawa (JP2019063354A) and Song (KR101331684B1).
Regarding claim 19, Yang teaches a suction nozzle (100, figure 1) comprising (i) a nozzle head (110, figure 2) that defines a suction port (111a, figure 10) at a bottom of the nozzle head (figure 10) and (ii) a rotary cleaner (130, figure 10) that is rotatably coupled to the nozzle head and defines a front side of the suction nozzle (figure 10), the rotary cleaner being disposed forward relative to the suction port;
a cleaner body (10, figure 1) connected to the suction nozzle, the cleaner body comprising a first motor (para 0026) configured to generate suction force for introducing air through the suction port; and
Yang fails to teach a distance sensor coupled to the suction nozzle and configured to sense a distance between the suction nozzle and an object located outside the vacuum cleaner, wherein the first motor is configured to increase a rotational speed of the first motor based on the distance sensed by the distance sensor being less than or equal to a reference value, wherein the rotary cleaner comprises:
a cylindrical core that extends along a first rotary axis in a left-right direction of the suction nozzle, a contact portion coupled to an outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical core and configured to contact a surface to be cleaned, and
a first flow path that is defined in the contact portion and includes a concave groove extending in an inclined direction with respect to the first rotary axis, the first flow path defining a single line along the rotary cleaner and circumferentially extending around the rotary cleaner, and wherein the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical core outside the single line of the first flow path is covered by the contact portion.
Osawa teaches a vacuum cleaner that has a distance sensor that has optical sensor (11a, figure 4) that controls drive power of the brushroll motor and vacuum motor (see abstract); wherein a distance sensor (11, figure 1) coupled to a suction nozzle (8, figure 1) and configured to sense a distance between the suction nozzle and an object located outside the vacuum cleaner (abstract), wherein the vacuum motor is configured to increase a rotational speed of the first motor based on the distance sensed by the distance sensor being less than or equal to a reference value (“wherein the control unit increases drive power of at least one of the electric motor and the electric blower when the approach distance becomes smaller than a threshold”) and a controller (abstract) that controls the speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang’s vacuum cleaner apparatus to include the distance sensor and controller that controls power of a brushroll motor and vacuum motor based on the teachings of Osawa. This modification would help improve suction performance and ensure vacuum cleaner is more efficient. (see page 4 of Osawa).
Song teaches an automatic cleaner that includes a rotary cleaner (abstract, figures 1-6) comprises:
a cylindrical core (annotated figure below) that extends along a first rotary axis in a left-right direction of the suction nozzle,
a contact portion (140, figures 3-7) coupled to an outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical core and configured to contact a surface to be cleaned, and
a first flow path (141, figures 6-7)that is defined in the contact portion and includes a concave groove (see annotated figure below) extending in an inclined direction with respect to the first rotary axis, the first flow path defining a single line along the rotary cleaner and circumferentially extending around the rotary cleaner, and
wherein the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical core outside the single line of the first flow path is covered by the contact portion (see annotated figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang’s vacuum cleaner apparatus’s rotary cleaner comprises: a cylindrical core that extends along a first rotary axis in a left-right direction of the suction nozzle, a contact portion coupled to an outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical core and configured to contact a surface to be cleaned, and a first flow path that is defined in the contact portion and includes a concave groove extending in an inclined direction with respect to the first rotary axis, the first flow path defining a single line along the rotary cleaner and circumferentially extending around the rotary cleaner, and wherein the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical core outside the single line of the first flow path is covered by the contact portion based on the teachings of Song. This modification would help improve suction efficiency (see Song, abstract, pages 1-3) .
Regarding claim 20, modified Yang teaches an optical sensor (see Osawa 11 and 11a, figures 1, 3-4) located above an axis extending through the suction nozzle in a left-right direction.
Regarding claim 21, modified Yang teaches a connection neck (see Yang 120, figure 2 and 4) that has a pipe shape (see Yang , figure 2) and is connected to the cleaner body; and
a nozzle neck (see Yang 113a and 113b, figure 4 and 8) that has a pipe shape and extends from the nozzle head to the connection neck, the nozzle neck being rotatably coupled to the connection neck, and
wherein the distance sensor (see Osawa 11 and 11a, figures 1, 3-4) is disposed above a top of the nozzle head, but fails to disclose the distance sensor is coupled to an upper portion of the nozzle neck.
Osawa does disclose placing the distance sensor at different positions of a suction tool. (see page 8, claim 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang’s vacuum cleaner apparatus to have the distance sensor is coupled to an upper portion of the nozzle neck based on the teachings of Osawa, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C)
Regarding claim 22, modified Yang teaches a connection pipe (see Yang 17, figure 1) configured to connect the suction nozzle and the cleaner body to each other, wherein a distance from a front end of the suction nozzle to the distance sensor (see page 8, claim 13 of Osawa different position of distance sensor), and a reference value (see Osawa “threshold values), but fails to teach a distance from a front end of the suction nozzle to the distance sensor is 50 to 70 mm, and wherein the reference value is 120 to 140 mm.
Examiner notes Applicant has not assigned any criticality to the specific distance values, describing only generally “the distance value sensed by the distance sensor is equal to or less than the reference value, the control unit 38 may immediately increase the rotational speed of the first motor, and as a result, the suction force inside the cleaner body may momentarily increase”, without explaining any criticality of the claimed ranges. Per MPEP 2144.05 II B, only result-effective variables can be optimized. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to select specific distances based on the particular application and operational parameters, including numbers in the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 23, modified Yang teaches a second motor (see Yang 140, figure 8) coupled to the suction nozzle (see Yang 100, figure 2) and configured to rotate the rotary cleaner, wherein the second motor is configured to increase a rotational speed of the second motor based on the distance sensed by the distance sensor being less than or equal to the reference value.
Regarding claim 24, modified Yang teaches wherein the first flow path exposes a first portion of the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical core (see Song, annotated figures above and figures 3-7), and the contact portion (see Song 140, figures 3-7) covers a second portion of the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical core.
Regarding claim 25, modified Yang teaches a first boundary surface (see Song; a , annotated figure below) that defines a first boundary between the first flow path and the contact portion; and a second boundary surface (see Song; b , annotated figure below) that defines a second boundary between the first flow path and the contact portion, the second boundary surface facing the first boundary surface, and
wherein the first boundary surface and the second boundary surface extend radially outward from the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical core (see Song, figure 3).
Regarding claim 26, modified Yang teaches wherein the first boundary surface has a first height (see Song a; annotated figure above and figures 3-7) from the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical core (see Song a; annotated figure above and figures 3-7), but fails to teach wherein an interval between the first boundary surface and the second boundary surface is a value between three times and four times of the first height.
Examiner notes Applicant has not assigned any criticality to the specific interval value, describing only generally “the foreign substances move needs to be configured to have a most suitable size, form”, without explaining any criticality of the claimed ranges. Per MPEP 2144.05 II B, only result-effective variables can be optimized. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to select specific distances based on the particular application and operational parameters, including numbers in the claimed range.
Regarding claim 27, modified Yang teaches an outer diameter of the cylindrical (annotated figure above) core ,and an axial length of the cylindrical core (see see Song, figure 3-7), and wherein a width of the first flow path (see Song 141, figures 3-7), and a depth of the first flow path (see Song 141, figures 3-7), but fails to teach the outer diameter of the cylindrical core is 35 to 40 mm, and the axial length of the cylindrical core is 210 to 230 mm, and wherein the width of the first flow path is 15 to 25 mm, and a depth of the first flow path is 3 to 7 mm.
Examiner notes Applicant has not assigned any criticality to the specific outer diameter, width and depth values , describing only generally “the foreign substances move needs to be configured to have a most suitable size, form”, without explaining any criticality of the claimed ranges. Per MPEP 2144.05 II B, only result-effective variables can be optimized. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to select specific distances based on the particular application and operational parameters, including numbers in the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 28, modified Yang teaches wherein the first flow path defines a spiral shape, and a width and a depth of the first flow path are constant (see Song 141, figures 3-7), and wherein the first flow path surrounds the rotary cleaner in substantially one revolution (see Song, figures 3-7).
Regarding claim 29, modified Yang teaches wherein the first flow path comprises:
a first boundary surface (see Song a, annotated figure above) that defines a first boundary between the first flow path and the contact portion, the first boundary surface having a spiral shape; and
a second boundary surface (see Song b, annotated figure above) that defines a second boundary between the first flow path and the contact portion, the second boundary surface having the spiral shape and extending along the first boundary surface,
wherein the second boundary surface is disposed behind relative to the first boundary surface based on a rotational direction of the rotary cleaner,wherein each of the first boundary surface and the second boundary surface has (i) a front end facing a first side of the rotary cleaner (see Song, figures 3-7) and (ii) a rear end facing a second side of the rotary cleaner spaced apart from the first side in the left-right direction (see Song, figures 3-7),wherein the first boundary surface (see song A, annotated figure above) defines a first normal plane that is orthogonal to the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical core and disposed at the front end of the first boundary surface,
wherein the second boundary surface (see song B, annotated figure above) defines a second normal plane that is orthogonal to the outer peripheral surface and disposed at the rear end of the second boundary surface, but fails to teach
wherein an angle between the first normal plane and the second normal plane is 0 to 45.
Yang as modified in claim 19 fails to teach wherein an angle between the first normal plane and the second normal plane is 0 to 45°.
Examiner notes Applicant has not assigned any criticality to the specific angle value , describing only generally “transfer the foreign substances”, without explaining any criticality of the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05 II B, only result-effective variables can be optimized. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to select specific distances based on the particular application and operational parameters, including numbers in the claimed range.
Regarding claim 30, modified Yang teaches wherein the first flow path comprises:
a first boundary surface (see Song; a , annotated figure below) that defines a first boundary between the first flow path and the contact portion, the first boundary surface having a spiral shape; and
a second boundary surface (see Song; b , annotated figure below) that defines a second boundary between the first flow path and the contact portion, the second boundary surface having the spiral shape and extending along the first boundary surface (see Song, figures 3-7),
wherein the second boundary surface is disposed behind relative to the first boundary surface based on a rotational direction of the rotary cleaner, and
wherein the first boundary surface comprises (i) a first front end portion (see song, a, annotated figure above, figures 3-7) that defines a front end of the first boundary surface facing a first side of the rotary cleaner and (ii) a first rear end portion (see song, a, annotated figure above, figures 3-7) that defines a rear end of the first boundary surface facing a second side of the rotary cleaner (see song, figures 3-7) spaced apart from the first side in the left-right direction, wherein the second boundary surface comprises (see song, b, annotated figure above, figures 3-7) (i) a second front end portion that defines a front end of the second boundary surface facing the first side of the rotary cleaner and (ii) a second rear end portion (see song, b, annotated figure above, figures 3-7) that defines a rear end of the second boundary surface facing the second side of the rotary cleaner, and
wherein the first rotary axis is parallel to a reference line connecting the first front end portion to the second rear end portion (see Song figures 3-7).
Regarding claim 31, modified Yang teaches wherein the nozzle head defines:
a first derivation flow path (yang f2, figure 3) that extends from the suction port in a direction parallel to the first rotary axis; and a second derivation flow path (see Yang f3, figure 3) that extends from the suction port in a direction opposite to the first derivation flow path, and
wherein the rotary cleaner (see Song figures 3-7 and Yang 130) includes a rear portion (see Yang figure 3, 6, 10-11) that is disposed below the first rotary axis and exposed to the suction port, the first derivation flow path, and the second derivation flow path.
Regarding claim 32, modified Yang teaches wherein the nozzle head comprises:
an upper housing (see Yang 111, figures 3-6) that extends parallel to the first rotary axis (see Yang figures 1-13), the upper housing comprising an upper cover (see Yang 111, figures 3-6) that covers an upper side of the rotary cleaner;
a lower housing (see Yang 119, figure 9) located at a lower side of the upper housing, the lower housing defining the suction port at a front end of a center region of the lower housing in the left-right direction;
a first side wall (see Yang 115, figure 2) that covers a first side surface of the rotary cleaner and is coupled to the upper housing and the lower housing;
a second side wall that (see Yang 116, figure 2) covers a second side surface of the rotary cleaner opposite to the first side surface, the second side wall being coupled to the upper housing and the lower housing;
and an internal wall (see Yang 160, figures 6 and 10) that extends parallel to the first rotary axis, the internal wall having (i) a rear portion (see Yang figure 10;0046-0052) in contact with the rotary cleaner, (ii) a top portion (see Yang figure 6 and 1;0046-0052) coupled to a bottom of the upper housing, and (iii) a bottom corner (see Yang 161, figure 10) disposed above a lower end of the rotary cleaner.
Regarding claim 33, modified Yang teaches wherein a bottom end of the internal wall is disposed below (see Yang 160, figure 10) the first rotary axis.
Regarding claim 34, modified Yang teaches wherein a front end of the upper cover (see Yang 111, figures 10 and 11) is located forward relative to the rotary cleaner and extends parallel to the first rotary axis.
Regarding claim 35, modified Yang teaches wherein each of the first side wall (see Yang 115, figure 2) and the second side wall (see Yang 116, figure 2) comprises a front lower corner that is inclined or curved upward (see Yang figures 2-11), wherein the first side wall defines a second flow path (see Yang f2, figure 2) that is recessed from a lower portion of an outer surface of the first side wall, and wherein the second side wall defines a third flow path (see Yang f3, figure 2) that is recessed from a lower portion of an outer surface of the second side wall.
Regarding claim 36, modified Yang teaches wherein the rotary cleaner further comprises an outer peripheral surface layer coupled to the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical core (see Song, figures 3-7),wherein the outer peripheral surface layer comprises:
a first region that includes the contact portion (see Song 140, figures 3-7); and a second region that includes the first flow path (see Song 141, figures 3-7), but fails to teach wherein, in a state in which the outer peripheral surface layer is detached from the cylindrical core and unfolded flat, the first region has a parallelogram shape, the second region extending along one side of the first region.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Yang in which the outer peripheral surface layer is detached from the cylindrical core since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04
Further, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Yang in which the first region has a parallelogram shape since a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04
Regarding claim 37, modified Yang teaches wherein the rotary cleaner further comprises an outer peripheral surface layer (see Song, figures 3-7) coupled to the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical core (see Song annotated figure above),
wherein the outer peripheral surface layer comprises:
a first region that includes the contact portion (see Song 140, figures 3-7) and
a second region that includes the first flow path (see Song 141, figures 3-7), but fails to teach wherein, in a state in which the outer peripheral surface layer is detached from the cylindrical core and unfolded flat the first region has a rectangular shape, the second region extending through the first region in a diagonal direction of the rectangular shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Yang in which the outer peripheral surface layer is detached from the cylindrical core since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04
Further, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Yang in which the first region has a rectangular shape since a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04
Regarding claim 38, modified Yang teaches a controller (see Osawa 3, figure 18) configured to control the rotational speed of the first motor based on the distance sensed by the distance sensor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723