DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 13 to recite a first and second photocurable resin and wherein the first and second resins are cured products of the same photocurable resin composition. It is again noted that no specific material composition is claimed. The language defining a first and second resin implies that they are different. Therefore, it is unclear how there can be a first and second resin, when they are subsequently identified as being the same composition. In an effort to advance prosecution, Examiner will interpret these limitations to mean that the core and a “leg” comprises a photocurable resin. The claims do not require this “leg” to be a protrusion and therefore, Examiner notes that any multi-layer optical interconnect would possibly anticipate this part of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As noted in the Response to Arguments above, the language defining a first and second resin implies that they are different. Therefore, it is unclear how there can be a first and second resin, when they are subsequently identified as being the same composition. Remaining claims that depend upon these are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2002-62459 to Sugiyama et al. (Applicant IDS Foreign Reference #1) in view of US 2009/0214157 to Okubo et al. and further in view of US 2006/0078248 to Sasaki et al.
Sugiyama discloses in the abstract and figures 1-2, an optical circuit board to be mounted with an optical component, comprising:
An optical waveguide plate (12) comprising a base member having optical transparency, an optical waveguide (131; figure 1) comprising a lower cladding layer (132) located on an upper surface of the base member (133), a core made of a resin (translated paragraphs 3-5), an upper and lower cladding layer (132) and a “leg” (161) on a lower surface of the base member; and
A wiring board, fitting and electrodes connected to the optical component (translated paragraph 14);
The leg of the waveguide plate is fitted into a fitting portion of the wiring board (figure 12);
A gap is present between a lower surface of the waveguide plate and the upper surface of the wiring board (figures 10 and 12 show this gap).
As to claim 2, the legs have a pointed taper.
Claims 11-12 relate to method claims that recite the providing and general forming of the above structure.
However, Sugiyama fails to explicitly disclose a photocured core and leg material that are the same. Sugiyama discloses a silicone resin and it is noted that UV-curable resins are common in the art.
As to claims 2-7 and 9-10, these claims recite rearrangement of components, standard opto-electronic mounting means (solder balls) or connector attachment means.
Okubo discloses such a common material described in paragraphs 54 and 90 to be photosensitive acrylic for core production. Further, paragraph 97 describes the support grooves (which correspond to the claimed legs) to be of the same material as the core.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the material taught by Okubo in Sugiyama as an engineering design choice for a material suited for its intended use to optimize manufacturing.
Sugiyama in view of Okubo fails to explicitly disclose certain electrode, connector or arrangement of components. Rearrangement is known in the art and it appears Applicant’s inventive concept relates to the “legs” that protrude and mount a waveguide plate rather than the particulars of what is disposed on the circuit board.
Sasaki discloses such common electrodes, solder connections, socket pins and connectors for fibers (abstract, paragraph 45, figures 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to first shape the positioning and alignment structures in Sugiyama in view of Okubo and use the same materials to optimize manufacturing and use the structural arrangement and rearrangement of opto-electronic components of a photoelectric wiring board to optimize size and production output of a package.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0285804 (solder bumps 170 shown as commonly known).
US 2001/0055447 (alignment protrusions; figure 1)
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874