Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims and in view of the current amendment have been considered but are moot, please refer to rejection below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 41-47 and 61-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 2019/0191298 A1) in view of KANG (US 2014/0342670 A1).
As per claim 41, KIM teaches an electronic apparatus (Fig.1 and Fig.3, electronic device 100 or 300), comprising: a plurality of profiles of electronic subscriber identity modules (eSIMs) (Fig.3 and ¶0079, plurality of profiles may be included in the eUICC 320 (i.e. eSIMs)); a touchscreen (Fig.1 and ¶0056, display 150 include touch screen); one or more processors (Fig.1, processor 110); a memory (Fig.1, memory 130), multiple application programs (¶0048, application programming interfaces), and one or more computer programs (¶0018, computer programs), wherein the one or more computer programs are stored in the memory (Fig.1, computer programs stored in the memory), the one or more computer programs comprise instructions, and when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors, the electronic apparatus is enabled to perform: determining at least one to-be-transferred profile in response to an operation command for a first transfer interface, wherein the first transfer interface comprises information to display, and the information is associated with transfer of the plurality of profiles (¶0162 and ¶0193-195, determining transfer of profile in response to transfer profile command and the display a screen 1200 based on a user input. The screen 1200 may include eUICC device information (e.g., device 1, device 2, . . . , device 4) of a user, eUICC device information selected by the user, and profile state information (e.g., enabled, disabled, and the like) of the selected eUICC device and user interface display a profile and information is related to transfer of profile); and displaying, in the first transfer interface, that transfer preparation for the at least one to-be-transferred profile on the electronic apparatus is completed (¶0218, display the profile transfer completion message and the user may know the result of transferring the profile).
However, KIM does not explicitly teach sending a first message to a second electronic device directly, wherein the first message comprises at least one piece of transfer information, and the transfer information comprises at least one of the following: an identifier of the at least one to-be-transferred profile, an address of a profile server corresponding to the at least one to-be-transferred profile, or an identifier of the second electronic device.
In the same field of endeavor, KANG teaches sending a first message to a second electronic device directly (¶0164 and ¶0168, transmitting or sending request message to second device 200 directly), wherein the first message comprises at least one piece of transfer information, and the transfer information comprises at least one of the following: an identifier of the at least one to-be-transferred profile, an address of a profile server corresponding to the at least one to-be-transferred profile, or an identifier of the second electronic device (¶0164 and ¶0168, exchange or transfer information via messaging exchange such as (e.g., a Service Set Identifier (SSID), an IP address, a MAC address, a channel number, a security key, a BT address, a product name, profile information, and/or the like) and the first device 100 knows the identifier information of the second device 200, the first device 100 may transmit the identifier information of the first device 100 (e.g., a device ID, a MAC address, a device name, and/or the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KIM’s invention in order to establish secure communication link between devices for communicating data between devices to prevent interference with other signals by hopping to a new frequency after transmission or reception of a packet.
As per claim 42 as applied to claim 41 above, KIM teaches determining the at least one to-be-transferred profile in response to an operation command for the first control, wherein the first control is used comprises information to determine the plurality of profiles as to-be-transferred profiles (¶0046 and ¶0210-211, determining transferred profile in response to transfer profile command for the control information to determine profiles of transferred profile(s)).
As per claim 43 as applied to claim 42 above, KIM teaches obtaining a status of the at least one to-be-transferred profile, wherein the status comprises at least one of the following: an activated state, a deactivated state, a default network connection state, a standby network connection state, or a to-be-transferred state (table 2, receiving state or status of transfer profile such as enable/activated state or keep/standby state); determining a first priority of the at least one to-be-transferred profile according to the status of the to-be-transferred profile; and determining the at least one piece of transfer information based on the first priority of the at least one to-be-transferred profile (¶0134 and table 3, determining and order or priority of profile transfer based on state or status of transferred profile and obtains a download order in a state where a profile of the server is available, the profile may change to an allocated or linked state).
As per claim 44 as applied to claim 43 above, KIM teaches wherein the first transfer interface further comprises a status control, wherein the status control comprises information is used to control a status of a profile, and the electronic apparatus is further enabled to perform: determining the status of the at least one to-be-transferred profile in response to an operation command for the status control (table 2 and table 3 and ¶0299, control at least some of functions or states or status related to at least one component and state/status control include information is used to control a state of a profile and determining transferred profile in response to transfer profile command for the control information).
As per claim 45 as applied to claim 41 above, KIM teaches deleting the at least one to-be-transferred profile corresponding to the transfer information of the electronic apparatus (¶0198, deleting transferred profile corresponding to the transfer information of the electronic device); and displaying that the status of the at least one to-be-transferred profile is transfer preparation completed (¶0218, display the status of result of profile transfer completion message).
As per claim 46 as applied to claim 45 above, KIM teaches sending a first deletion message to the profile server, wherein the first deletion message is used comprises information to notify the profile server that deletion of the at least one to-be-transferred profile of the electronic apparatus is completed (¶0198 and ¶0218, table 6, sending notification delete (i.e. deletion message) to the server to notify the result and that deletion is completed).
As per claim 47 as applied to claim 41 above, KIM teaches sending a first transfer request to the profile server, wherein the first transfer request comprises the identifier of the second electronic device and an identifier of the at least one to-be-transferred profile; and receiving a first transfer response from the profile server (¶0209-210 and fig.15, sending transfer execution request to the server include at least one of a user account, a first ED, a second EID, an ICCID of a transferred profile, or an SM-DP+ address and receiving the transfer response from the server).
As per claim 61, KIM teaches a method for managing a plurality of profiles of electronic subscriber identity modules (eSIMs) (Fig.3 and ¶0079, method for managing plurality of profiles may be included in the eUICC 320 (i.e. eSIMs)), the method comprising: determining, by a first electronic device, at least one to-be-transferred profile in response to an operation command for a first transfer interface, wherein the first transfer interface comprises information to display, and the information is associated with transfer of the plurality of profiles (¶0162 and ¶0193-195, determining by electronic device 100 or 300 transfer of profile in response to transfer profile command and the display a screen 1200 based on a user input. The screen 1200 may include eUICC device information (e.g., device 1, device 2, . . . , device 4) of a user, eUICC device information selected by the user, and profile state information (e.g., enabled, disabled, and the like) of the selected eUICC device and user interface display a profile and information is related to transfer of profile); and displaying, by the first electronic device, in the first transfer interface, that transfer preparation for the at least one to-be-transferred profile on the electronic apparatus is completed (¶0218, display the profile transfer completion message and the user may know the result of transferring the profile).
However, KIM does not explicitly teach sending, by the first electronic device, a first message to a second electronic device directly, wherein the first message comprises at least one piece of transfer information, and the transfer information comprises at least one of the following: an identifier of the at least one to-be-transferred profile, an address of a profile server corresponding to the at least one to-be-transferred profile, or an identifier of the second electronic device.
In the same field of endeavor, KANG teaches sending, by the first electronic device, a first message to a second electronic device directly (¶0164 and ¶0168, transmitting or sending request message to second device 200 directly), wherein the first message comprises at least one piece of transfer information, and the transfer information comprises at least one of the following: an identifier of the at least one to-be-transferred profile, an address of a profile server corresponding to the at least one to-be-transferred profile, or an identifier of the second electronic device (¶0164 and ¶0168, exchange or transfer information via messaging exchange such as (e.g., a Service Set Identifier (SSID), an IP address, a MAC address, a channel number, a security key, a BT address, a product name, profile information, and/or the like) and the first device 100 knows the identifier information of the second device 200, the first device 100 may transmit the identifier information of the first device 100 (e.g., a device ID, a MAC address, a device name, and/or the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KIM’s invention in order to establish secure communication link between devices for communicating data between devices to prevent interference with other signals by hopping to a new frequency after transmission or reception of a packet.
As per claim 62 as applied to claim 61 above, KIM teaches determining the at least one to-be-transferred profile in response to an operation command for the first control, wherein the first control is used comprises information to determine the plurality of profiles as to-be-transferred profiles (¶0046 and ¶0210-211, determining transferred profile in response to transfer profile command for the control information to determine profiles of transferred profile(s)).
As per claim 63 as applied to claim 62 above, KIM teaches obtaining a status of the at least one to-be-transferred profile, wherein the status comprises at least one of the following: an activated state, a deactivated state, a default network connection state, a standby network connection state, or a to-be-transferred state (table 2, receiving state or status of transfer profile such as enable/activated state or keep/standby state); determining a first priority of the at least one to-be-transferred profile according to the status of the to-be-transferred profile; and determining the at least one piece of transfer information based on the first priority of the at least one to-be-transferred profile (¶0134 and table 3, determining and order or priority of profile transfer based on state or status of transferred profile and obtains a download order in a state where a profile of the server is available, the profile may change to an allocated or linked state).
As per claim 64 as applied to claim 63 above, KIM teaches wherein the first transfer interface further comprises a status control, wherein the status control comprises information is used to control a status of a profile, and the electronic apparatus is further enabled to perform: determining the status of the at least one to-be-transferred profile in response to an operation command for the status control (table 2 and table 3 and ¶0299, control at least some of functions or states or status related to at least one component and state/status control include information is used to control a state of a profile and determining transferred profile in response to transfer profile command for the control information).
As per claim 65 as applied to claim 61 above, KIM teaches deleting the at least one to-be-transferred profile corresponding to the transfer information of the electronic apparatus (¶0198, deleting transferred profile corresponding to the transfer information of the electronic device); and displaying that the status of the at least one to-be-transferred profile is transfer preparation completed (¶0218, display the status of result of profile transfer completion message).
As per claim 66 as applied to claim 65 above, KIM teaches sending a first deletion message to the profile server, wherein the first deletion message is used comprises information to notify the profile server that deletion of the at least one to-be-transferred profile of the electronic apparatus is completed (¶0198 and ¶0218, table 6, sending notification delete (i.e. deletion message) to the server to notify the result and that deletion is completed).
As per claim 67 as applied to claim 61 above, KIM teaches sending a first transfer request to the profile server, wherein the first transfer request comprises the identifier of the second electronic device and an identifier of the at least one to-be-transferred profile; and receiving a first transfer response from the profile server (¶0209-210 and fig.15, sending transfer execution request to the server include at least one of a user account, a first ED, a second EID, an ICCID of a transferred profile, or an SM-DP+ address and receiving the transfer response from the server).
As per claim 68, KIM teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a first electronic device (¶0018, computer readable storage medium storing instruction of electronic device 100 or 300), cause the first electronic device to perform operations comprising: determining, by a first electronic device, at least one to-be-transferred profile in response to an operation command for a first transfer interface, wherein the first transfer interface comprises information to display, and the information is associated with transfer of the plurality of profiles (¶0162 and ¶0193-195, determining transfer of profile in response to transfer profile command and the display a screen 1200 based on a user input. The screen 1200 may include eUICC device information (e.g., device 1, device 2, . . . , device 4) of a user, eUICC device information selected by the user, and profile state information (e.g., enabled, disabled, and the like) of the selected eUICC device and user interface display a profile and information is related to transfer of profile); and displaying, by the first electronic device, in the first transfer interface, that transfer preparation for the at least one to-be-transferred profile on the electronic apparatus is completed (¶0218, display the profile transfer completion message and the user may know the result of transferring the profile).
However, KIM does not explicitly teach sending, by the first electronic device, a first message to a second electronic device directly, wherein the first message comprises at least one piece of transfer information, and the transfer information comprises at least one of the following: an identifier of the at least one to-be-transferred profile, an address of a profile server corresponding to the at least one to-be-transferred profile, or an identifier of the second electronic device.
In the same field of endeavor, KANG teaches sending, by the first electronic device, a first message to a second electronic device directly (¶0164 and ¶0168, transmitting or sending request message to second device 200 directly), wherein the first message comprises at least one piece of transfer information, and the transfer information comprises at least one of the following: an identifier of the at least one to-be-transferred profile, an address of a profile server corresponding to the at least one to-be-transferred profile, or an identifier of the second electronic device (¶0164 and ¶0168, exchange or transfer information via messaging exchange such as (e.g., a Service Set Identifier (SSID), an IP address, a MAC address, a channel number, a security key, a BT address, a product name, profile information, and/or the like) and the first device 100 knows the identifier information of the second device 200, the first device 100 may transmit the identifier information of the first device 100 (e.g., a device ID, a MAC address, a device name, and/or the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KIM’s invention in order to establish secure communication link between devices for communicating data between devices to prevent interference with other signals by hopping to a new frequency after transmission or reception of a packet.
As per claim 69 as applied to claim 68 above, KIM teaches determining the at least one to-be-transferred profile in response to an operation command for the first control, wherein the first control is used comprises information to determine the plurality of profiles as to-be-transferred profiles (¶0046 and ¶0210-211, determining transferred profile in response to transfer profile command for the control information to determine profiles of transferred profile(s)).
As per claim 70 as applied to claim 69 above, KIM teaches obtaining a status of the at least one to-be-transferred profile, wherein the status comprises at least one of the following: an activated state, a deactivated state, a default network connection state, a standby network connection state, or a to-be-transferred state (table 2, receiving state or status of transfer profile such as enable/activated state or keep/standby state); determining a first priority of the at least one to-be-transferred profile according to the status of the to-be-transferred profile; and determining the at least one piece of transfer information based on the first priority of the at least one to-be-transferred profile (¶0134 and table 3, determining and order or priority of profile transfer based on state or status of transferred profile and obtains a download order in a state where a profile of the server is available, the profile may change to an allocated or linked state).
As per claim 71 as applied to claim 70 above, KIM teaches wherein the first transfer interface further comprises a status control, wherein the status control comprises information is used to control a status of a profile, and the electronic apparatus is further enabled to perform: determining the status of the at least one to-be-transferred profile in response to an operation command for the status control (table 2 and table 3 and ¶0299, control at least some of functions or states or status related to at least one component and state/status control include information is used to control a state of a profile and determining transferred profile in response to transfer profile command for the control information).
As per claim 72 as applied to claim 68 above, KIM teaches deleting the at least one to-be-transferred profile corresponding to the transfer information of the electronic apparatus (¶0198, deleting transferred profile corresponding to the transfer information of the electronic device); and displaying that the status of the at least one to-be-transferred profile is transfer preparation completed (¶0218, display the status of result of profile transfer completion message).
As per claim 73 as applied to claim 72 above, KIM teaches sending a first deletion message to the profile server, wherein the first deletion message is used comprises information to notify the profile server that deletion of the at least one to-be-transferred profile of the electronic apparatus is completed (¶0198 and ¶0218, table 6, sending notification delete (i.e. deletion message) to the server to notify the result and that deletion is completed).
Conclusion
4. Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARIDEH MADANI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643