DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Amended claim 1 claims “the remaining electrolyte amount is 73.7% or more, and the capacity retention rate is 79%.” However, both elements of remaining electrolyte amount and capacity retention rate can only be evaluated based on an action performed on the battery. That is, the remaining electrolyte amount of 73.7% or more and the capacity retention rate of 79% is indefinite because the claim does not state what happens to result with the claimed values. For example, the capacity retention rate may be evaluated based off of a certain number of charging and discharging cycles. As another example, the remaining electrolyte amount may be evaluated based off of a production process wherein a certain amount of electrolyte is lost. Furthermore, the claimed remaining electrolyte amount does not state what the percentage amount is based off of (i.e. weight, volume, other units). Therefore, the claimed remaining electrolyte amount of 73.7% and the claimed capacity retention rate of 79% is rendered indefinite.
In the prior art examination, the claimed remaining electrolyte amount of 73.7% or more, and the capacity retention rate of 79% is interpreted as being based off of any number of charging and discharging cycles.
Claims 2-13 depend on claim 1 and are therefore rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwama (US-20170047613-A1), and in further view of Yu (US-20200052322-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Iwama teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (see e.g., Iwama; [0011]) comprising a positive electrode, a separator, a negative electrode facing the positive electrode with the separator interposed therebetween (see e.g., [0041] regarding battery configuration), and an electrolyte (see e.g., Iwama; [0011]), wherein the electrolyte includes an acid anhydride (see e.g., Iwama; [0173] regarding acid anhydrides such as maleic anhydride, [0170] regarding the solvent may further include an acid anhydride), the negative electrode includes a negative electrode mixture including a negative electrode active material (see e.g., Iwama; [0011], [0014] regarding carbon material and silicon oxide as the active material) and a carbon nanotube (see e.g., Iwama; [0111] regarding anode may include carbon nanotubes which remarkably improves conductivity of the anode, [0298] regarding experimental examples wherein 2% of graphite active material in the anode was replaced with carbon nanotube), and the negative electrode active material includes a silicon-containing material and a carbon material (see e.g., Iwama; [0011], [0014] regarding carbon material and silicon oxide as the active material).
Iwama discloses that the carbon material causes extremely small change in a crystal structure thereof during charge and discharge which makes it possible to stably achieve high energy density, and also serves an anode conductor to improve conductivity (see e.g., Iwama; [0075]). Furthermore, Iwama discloses that the silicon material of silicon oxide helps achieve higher energy density and is more resistant to deterioration than silicon, which makes it possible to achieve high discharge capacity from an initial cycle of charge and discharge, and makes discharge capacity less prone to decrease in following cycles (see e.g., Iwama; [0076]). Iwama also discloses that the combination of the carbon material and silicon oxide makes it possible to suppress expansion and contraction during charge and discharge while achieving high theoretical capacity (see e.g., Iwama; [0077]).
Iwama discloses that the acid anhydride may be included in the electrolyte solvent among a list of other solvents. KSR Rationale E states that it is obvious to choose "from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success". Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to include acid anhydride from the list of possible solvents taught by Iwama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select an acid anhydride to improve chemical stability of the electrolytic solution (see e.g., Iwama; [0170]).
Regarding the claimed “remaining electrolyte amount is 73.7% or more, and the capacity retention rate of 79%,” because no cycle amount is specified, the values may be taken from the any number of charge and discharge cycle.
Iwama discloses a method of manufacturing a secondary battery wherein electrolyte is formed in the battery (see e.g., Iwama; [0212]-[0217], regarding any one of procedures 1-3), which result in a resultant electrolyte amount of 100%. This corresponds to the claimed remaining electrolyte amount of 73.7% or more. That is, when the battery is formed with the electrolyte and no charge or discharge cycles are performed, the remaining electrolyte amount is 100% which falls within the claimed range of 73.7% or more.
Iwama does not explicitly disclose a capacity retention rate of 79%. However, Yu discloses a battery wherein the capacity retention rate is 79% (see e.g., Yu; table 3, regarding example 16) after charging and discharging for 100 cycles (see e.g., Yu; [0182]). Yu is analogous art because Yu similarly discloses the electrolyte is nonaqueous (see e.g., Yu; [0149]) and wherein the negative electrode comprises of carbon (see e.g., Yu; [0149], [0132]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had a battery disclosed by Iwama having a capacity retention rate of 79% in the conditions as disclosed by Yu because Yu discloses a similar battery composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve superior battery characteristics (see e.g., Iwama; [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Iwama teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1. Iwama further teaches in experimental examples 10-1 to 10-3 wherein propane disulfonic anhydride (PSAH), one of the listed possible acid anhydrides, was included in the electrolytic solution at 0.5 wt% (see e.g., Iwama; [0300], table 10), which overlaps with the claimed the electrolyte containing 5 mass% or less of the acid anhydride.
Regarding claim 3, modified Iwama teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the acid anhydride may be maleic anhydride (see e.g., Iwama; [0173] regarding acid anhydrides such as maleic anhydride), which has a carbon-carbon unsaturated bond.
Regarding claim 4, modified Iwama teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the acid anhydride includes maleic anhydride (see e.g., Iwama; [0173] regarding acid anhydrides such as maleic anhydride).
Regarding claim 8, modified Iwama teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the electrolyte includes a chain carboxylate ester (see e.g., Iwama; [0167], regarding the solvent may include a chain carboxylate ester), which makes it possible to achieve high battery capacity, superior cycle characteristics, and superior storage characteristics (see e.g., Iwama; [0167]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Iwama teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 8, wherein the chain carboxylate includes at least methyl acetate (see e.g., Iwama; [0167]).
KSR Rationale E states that it is obvious to choose "from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success". Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select methyl acetate from the list of possible carboxylate esters taught by Iwama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select methyl acetate in order to achieve high battery capacity, superior cycle characteristics, and superior storage characteristics (see e.g., Iwama; [0167]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Iwama teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the electrolyte may include a sulfur-containing compound such as a sulfonate ester (see e.g., Iwama; [0170]). Iwama discloses that the addition may make it possible to improve chemical stability of the electrolytic solution (see e.g., Iwama; [0170]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Iwama teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 10, wherein the sulfur-containing compound may be a sulfonate ester (see e.g., Iwama; [0170]) which overlaps with the claimed group consisting of sulfate, sulfite, and sulfonate.
Regarding claim 13, modified Iwama teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1, wherein a ratio of the silicon-containing material in the negative electrode active material is 0.01% to 20% (see e.g., Iwama; [0011], [0014], [0080] regarding silicon oxide inclusion), which overlaps with the claimed range of 4 mass% or more. Iwama further provides examples wherein the weight ratio of SiO is in the claimed range of 4 mass% or more (see e.g., Iwama; tables 1-3).
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwama (US-20170047613-A1) and Yu (US-20200052322-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Hashimoto (US-20190172604-A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Iwama teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1. Iwama does not explicitly disclose wherein the carbon nanotube includes a single wall carbon nanotube. However, Hashimoto discloses carbon nanotubes that are single-walled carbon nanotubes (see e.g., Hashimoto; [0015], [0033], [0091]). Hashimoto is further analogous art because Hashimoto is in the art of lithium ion secondary batteries (see e.g., Hashimoto; [0005]-[0006]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use single-walled carbon nanotubes disclosed by Hashimoto as the carbon nanotubes in Iwama because single-walled carbon nanotubes exhibit stronger intermolecular forces than multi-walled CNTs and due to this are advantageous (see e.g., Hashimoto; [0015]) and may function better as a binder (see e.g., Hashimoto; [0033]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Iwama teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 5. As above regarding claim 5, Hashimoto discloses in modified Iwama that the preferred carbon nanotubes used are single-walled and advantageous over multi-walled carbon nanotubes (see e.g., Hashimoto; [0015]), which may be interpreted to mean that 100% of the carbon nanotubes are single-walled nanotubes.
Regarding claim 7, modified Iwama teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1. Iwama does not explicitly disclose wherein the negative electrode mixture has a carbon nanotube content of 0.005 mass% or more and 0.1 mass% or less. However, Hashimoto discloses that a content of the carbon nanotubes may be most preferably less than 1 mass% and suitably at least about 0.01 mass% (see e.g., Hashimoto; [0034]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.005 mass% or more and 0.1 mass% or less. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inclusion of carbon nanotubes disclosed by Iwama to be 0.01 mass% to 1 mass% disclosed by Hashimoto to obtain a thin-film electrode structure and/or lower the resistance while raising the film strength (see e.g., Hashimoto; [0034]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwama (US-20170047613-A1) and Yu (US-20200052322-A1)as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of Koh (US-20180358647-A1).
Regarding claim 12, modified Iwama teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 10. Iwama does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrolyte contains 5 mass% or less of the sulfur-containing compound.
However, Koh teaches wherein the electrolyte contains about 0.1 wt% to 2 wt% of a sulfur-containing compound (see e.g., Koh; [0050]), which overlaps with the claimed 5 mass% or less of the sulfur-containing compound. Koh is further analogous art because Koh teaches an electrolyte that includes an acid anhydride such as maleic anhydride (see e.g., Koh; [0048] regarding maleic anhydride as the acid anhydride, [0141] regarding example 15 electrolyte preparation), and the negative electrode active material includes a silicon-containing material (see e.g., Koh; [0080]-[0081], regarding silicon carbon composite material) and a carbon material (see e.g., Koh; [0090] regarding a conductive agent which may be carbon black, acetylene black, or graphite). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Iwama by providing about 0.1 wt% to 2 wt% of a sulfur-containing compound disclosed by Koh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve chemical stability of the electrolytic solution (see e.g., Iwama; [0170]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728