Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamazaki et al. (US 2021/0194057 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3, Yamazaki discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, a separator between the electrodes, and an electrolyte (Yamazaki [0593]), where the electrolyte comprises lithium ethyl sulfate (Formula 1 of the instant claim where R is an organic group with 2 carbon atoms and X1 is an alkali metal), ethylene carbonate, and fluoroethylene carbonate at ratio Vec/Vfec of 5 (Yamazaki [0589]-[0590]), which falls within the range of the instant claims.
Regarding claim 6, X1 is lithium, which is an alkali metal (Yamazaki [0590]).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, R is an ethyl group (Yamazaki [0590]).
Regarding claim 9, Yamazaki gives examples of 0.2-2 wt% lithium ethyl sulfate (Table 1), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimamoto et al. (US 2016/0027592 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shimamoto discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, a separator between the electrodes, and an electrolyte (Shimamoto [0332]), where the electrolyte comprises lithium methyl sulfate (Formula 1 of the instant claim where R is an organic group with 1 carbon atom and X1 is an alkali metal), ethylene carbonate, and fluoroethylene carbonate at ratio Vec/Vfec of 1.9 (Shimamoto Example 1-22, Table 2), which falls within the range of the instant claims.
Regarding claims 2-5, the electrolyte has a ratio Vec/Vfec of 1.9 (Shimamoto Example 1-22, Table 2), which falls within the ranges of the instant claims.
Regarding claim 6, X1 is lithium, which is an alkali metal (Shimamoto Example 1-22, Table 2).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, R is a methyl group (Shimamoto Example 1-22, Table 2).
Regarding claim 9, the content of the additive is 0.3 wt% (Shimamoto Example 1-22, Table 2), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 10, Shimamoto gives an example with an electrolyte comprising lithium triflouroethylsulfate (Formula 1 with a C3 organic group and X1=lithium) and lithium fluorosulfonate (Formula 2 with X2=lithium) at 0.5 wt%, which falls within the range of the instant claim, in a solvent with Vec/Vfec=1.9 (Shimamoto Example III-13, Table 15)
Regarding claim 11, lithium is an alkali metal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tokuda et al. (US 2012/0308881 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Yamazaki does not teach the use of a fluorosulfonic acid salt. Tokuda teaches that adding 0.1 M lithium fluorosulfonate (Formula 2 of the instant claim with X2=lithium) to an LiPF6 electrolyte significantly reduces internal impedance (Tokuda Example 2, Tables 1 and 2). Lithium fluorosulfonate has a molecular weight of approximately 100 g/mol, and carbonate electrolyte solutions have a density of just over 1g/cm3, so 0.1 M is approximately 1 wt%, which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 11, lithium is an alkali metal.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12, Yamazaki does not teach that the positive electrode active material comprises a lithium composite oxide with a layered rock salt type structure in which 80 atom% or more of the metals other than lithium is nickel. Yamazaki teaches that the positive electrode active material may be selected from a group including LiNi0.8Co0.5Al0.05O2 (Yamazaki [0467]), which has layered rock salt type structures and 80% nickel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any of the positive active materials listed by Yamazaki, including LiNi0.8Co0.5Al0.05O2.
Conclusion
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722