DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Amendment filed on 9/21/2026. Claims 8-11, 13-17, 20-21, 25-27, and 30 are canceled. Claim 31 is newly added. Claims 1-7, 12, 18-19, 22-24, and 28-29 and 31 are now pending in the application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 4, 7, 12, 18, 19, 22-24, 28 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al., hereinafter Choi (US 2017/0158851 (A1)) in view of Machado (US Patent No. 5,162,432), as evidenced by Mordecai (US Patent No. 5,965,655).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches an automobile external wheel cover is produced by injection of molding a blend of linear polyketone and ABS (abstract, [0024]). Choi exemplifies a polymer blend of 80% polyketone and 20% ABS, (meeting the Applicant’s ratio of greater than 2:1 of POK/ABS). (Example 39, [0259]), wherein the polyketone used is a carbon monoxide/ethylene/propene terpolymer [0258]. It is noted that Choi teaches the ABS comprises butadiene of 50-80% and being manufactured by blending copolymer of acrylonitrile and butadiene and copolymer of styrene and butadiene ([0103]-[0104]).
Choi et al. are silent on the impact modifier.
Machado teaches an improved polymer blend comprising a linear alternating polyketone and high rubber graft copolymers used in the production of parts of the automotive industry (claim 1, abstract, col.1: 50-59, col.2: 5-20), wherein Machado recognizes graft copolymers of styrene and acrylonitrile on polybutadiene or styrene butadiene rubbers (ABS) are used as impact modifiers for thermoplastic resins (col.4: 45-64). Machado specifically discloses Blendex 338, as a shell-core polymer with polybutadiene rubber core and chemically grafted SAN shell used as an impact modifier for POK blends (col. 5: 4-14, col.7:29-32), wherein Blendex 338 is an ABS containing 70 wt.% of butadiene, 22 wt.% styrene and 8 wt.% acrylonitrile as evidenced by Mordecai, col.16, foot note table 1. Moreover, Machado teaches 0.5 to about 45 wt.% of high rubber graft copolymers (ABS) based on the total blend (col.4:65-68, examples, table 1), which overlap the claimed range of the second ABS. Further, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range taught by Choi in view of Machado.
Given that Choi is concerned about the impact strength of the automobile wheel cover [0024] and adding an elastomer to improve impact strength is a known practice in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the amount of Blendex 338 (ABS) as taught by Machado into the polymer blend of Choi with the predictable result of obtaining an automobile part with improved impact strength (col.2:18-20). It is noted that although both materials (ABS of Choi and Blendex 338 of Machado) involve butadiene, styrene and acrylonitrile, the disclosures do not establish that they have identical compositions and polymer structures (i.e ABS of Choi : 50 wt.% of butadiene and Blendex 338: 70 wt.% butadiene), thereby reading on the second ABS distinct from the first ABS. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. Also, case law holds that “it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to the Notched Izod Impact strength of the polymer blend, it is noted that such property depends on the composition of the blend. Choi et al. in view of Machado teach a substantially identical composition as the claimed invention. Therefore, the composition of Choi in view of Machado is expected to possess the claimed property because the notched Izod impact strength is an inherent property.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Choi teaches the melt index of the polyketone resin (POK) is 48 g/10 min [0258], as required by the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7, It is noted that the discussion supra for claim 1 presently applies. Choi teaches an automobile external wheel cover produced by injection molding polyketone blend comprising ABS and linear alternative polyketone copolymer, wherein the content of ABS is 5 to 35 weight % compared to the total weight, which implies a content of POK of 65 wt.% to 95 wt.% ([0024], claims 104- 105) that overlaps the claimed ranges ( ≤ 70 wt.% of POK and ≤ 20 wt.% of first ABS). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range taught by Choi.
Regarding claims 12 and 18, Choi in view of Machado are silent on the heat deflection temperature. Choi in view of Machado are further silent on the properties as recited in the instant claim 18.
However the properties depend on the composition of the blend. In view of the substantially identical composition of the polymer blend of Choi in view of Machado, the polymer blend of Choi in view of Machado is expected to possess the claimed properties because heat deflection temperature, tensile modulus, tensile strength, tensile strength at break, flexural modulus and flexural strength are inherent properties. Because the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to Applicant to show otherwise. (See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).)
Regarding claim 19, 22-24, Choi et al. teach the polymer blend further comprises 2-20 wt.% of a flame retardant ([0010].[0017],[0093],[0097]).
Choi et al. in view of Machado are silent on the flammability ratings of the polymer blend as recited in the instant claims. However, in view of the substantially identical composition of the polymer blend of Choi in in view of Machado, the polymer blend Choi in view of Machado is expected to possess the claimed flammability ratings, which are inherent properties.
Regarding claim 28, Choi in view of Machado are silent on peak energy as recited in the instant claim.
However, in view of the substantially identical composition of the polymer blend of Choi in view of Machado, the polymer blend of Choi et al. in view of Machado is expected to possess the claimed property because peak energy is an inherent property. (See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).)
Regarding claim 31, It is noted that the discussion supra for claim 1 and claim 7 presently applies, wherein Choi teaches a polyketone composition comprising 50-99 wt.% of the linear polyketone and 1-50 wt.% of the additive material, wherein the additive material can be ABS (claims 104 -105, [0024]), which overlaps the claimed ranges. As previously discussed in the rejection of claim 1, Choi in view of Machado teach 0.5 to about 45 wt.% of high rubber graft copolymers (ABS) (impact modifier) based on the total blend (col.4:65-68, examples, table 1), which overlap the claimed range of the second ABS, thereby a prima facie case of obviousness being established. MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2017/0158851 (A1)) in view of Machado (US Patent No. 5,162,432), as evidenced by Mordecai (US Patent No. 5,965,655); as set forth above for claim 1, and further in view of Abe et al. (JP 2018196933 (A)).
Regarding claim 3, Choi in view of Machado teach the polymer blend of claim 1 as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference. It is noted that Choi et al. do not provide any negative teaching that suggest using a polyketone resin of high viscosity (low melt flow rate) would affect the properties of the blend.
Choi et al. in view of Machado are silent on the polyketone resin having a melt index of 1-20 g/10 min.
Abe et al. teach that selecting an aliphatic polyketone having a melt flow rate of 0.1-10 g/10 min maintains appropriate melt viscosity and melt tension to ensure desirable moldability and prevents drawdown during molding [0133], thereby providing a stable melt behavior during processing. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polyketone of Abe et al. into Choi et al.’s polymer blend to improve moldability and processing stability of the polyketone/ABS blend, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2017/0158851 (A1)) in view of Machado (US Patent No. 5,162,432), as evidenced by Mordecai (US Patent No. 5,965,655); as set forth above for claim 1, and further in view of George, (US 5141981).
Choi et al. in view of Machado teach the polymer blend of claim 1 as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Choi in view of Machado are silent on the use of the hydroxyapatite stabilizer.
As to claim 5, George teaches the use of 0.01 to about 1 wt.% of a hydroxyapatite stabilizer into aliphatic polyketone compositions to improve their stability during melt processing (Col. 1: 51-64, col. 4:1-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a hydroxyapatite stabilizing agent in the amounts of 0.01 to 1 wt.% into Choi ‘s polymer blend comprising an aliphatic polyketone to prevent an undesired increase in viscosity during melt processing (col.4:1-15).
As to claim 6, George teaches as the preferred hydroxyapatite e.g. calcium hydroxyapatite or tribasic calcium phosphate Ca10 (PO4)6(OH)2, (col.3: 57-67), as required by instant claim. George offers the motivation of using the preferred hydroxyapatite into Choi’s polymer blend to prevent the increase of the viscosity during melt processing (col.4:1-15).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2017/0158851 (A1)) in view of Machado (US Patent No. 5,162,432), as evidenced by Mordecai (US Patent No. 5,965,655); as set forth above for claim 1, and further in view of Li et al. (CN 107903567(A)).
Regarding claim 29, Choi et al. in view of Machado teach the polymer blend of claim 1 as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
Choi et al. in view of Machado are silent on the compatibilizer.
Li et al. teach a polymer blend comprising an aliphatic polyketone resin and ABS (claim 1), wherein the polymer blend further comprises 2-5 parts of compatibilizer (claim 1). It is noted that polyketone is polar and ABS is a two-phase rubber modified styrenic polymer, therefore they are not very compatible. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the content of compatibilizer as taught by Li et al. into the blend of Choi et al. in view of Machado with the predictable result of obtaining a polymer blend with improved mechanical properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the USC 103 rejection of the claims over Choi in view of Vergelatti have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made under 103 over Choi in view of Machado.
Applicant makes the following arguments in support to its assertion that the claims are patentable:
Applicant: Choi Example 39 does not disclose two distinct ABS components, a first ABS and a rubber- containing impact modifier comprising a second ABS distinct from the first ABS (page 7).
Office: The Office generally agrees with Applicant's characterizations of the prior art reference, but disagrees with Applicant's conclusion. Attention is drawn to the rejection of claim 1 as set forth above wherein it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted buy the prior arts to be useful for the same purpose. Further, a prima facie case of obviousness is proper where the claimed ranges overlap with the broad disclosure of the prior arts.
Applicant: The recited component ranges are supported by Applicant's working examples. Example 3 comprises 60.655 wt.% polyketone, 17.33 wt.% LUSTRAN 348 as the first ABS, and 8.665 wt.% BLENDEX 338 as the distinct ABS impact modifier and exhibits a Notched Izod Impact strength of 241 J/m. See [0141]-[0142], Table 10. Example 4 comprises 60.655 wt.% polyketone, 12.6225 wt.% LUSTRAN 348, and 12.6225 wt.% BLENDEX 338 and exhibits a Notched Izod Impact strength of 380 J/m. See [0143]-[0144],
Office: Examiner acknowledges that the examples 3-4 support superior results of Notched IZOD Impact Strength based on specific embodiments: POK M630A to ABS Lustran 348 ratios of 2.3:1, 3.5:1 and 4.7:1 (examples 2-4, table 10), amounts of POK M630 between 58.9 to 60.655, amounts of ABS Lustran 348 between 12.6225 to 25.995 and amounts of impact modifier Blendex 338 of 0 wt.%, 8.665 wt.% and 12.6225 wt.% for examples 2-4 respectively. However, they are insufficient to establish unexpected results given that the data is not reasonable commensurate in scope with regards to the species of polyketone, species of the first ABS, the amounts of polyketone, amounts of first ABS, amounts of flame retardant, amount of second ABS, ratios of POK/ first ABS. Applicant has not provided sufficient data that supports unexpected results for all possible compositions as encompassed by instant claim 1. Applicant has not provided evidence in the record that demonstrates the lower and upper limit of POK, lower and upper limits of first ABS, lower and upper limits of second ABS are critical. For example, as to the lower limit of second ABS of 8 wt.%, the lowest ratios in the examples of Table 10 are 0 wt.% (example 2) and 8.665 wt.% (example 3), which is above the lower limit of 8 wt.%. Applicant should compare sufficient number of test inside and outside the claimed range. At least the end points, sufficient number inside the range and comparative examples outside the ranges. As a result, the arguments put forth by the applicant are not considered commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. This is why the applicant's arguments are not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
/OLGA LUCIA DONAHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763