Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4,7-12 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichenauer DE19918729 in view of Riise 2005/0179153.
Eichenauer exemplifies (#3) a blend of 75% polyketone and 25% of mixed component “B”. The polyketone (paragraph 56) is the carbon monoxide/ethylene/propylene terpolymer Carilon DP P1000. Inherently, this polyketone has a MFR of 6g/10min @2400C and 2.16kg (see page 14 of the Shell Research document “Value in Use of Carilon Polymers”). This meets applicant’s polyketone.
Mixed component “B” (paragraph 57) is a mix of 64% ABS and 36% SAN. Therefore, the composition as a whole is 75% polyketone, 16% ABS and 9% SAN.
Eichenauer does not report the MFR of his ABS or teach any limitations for the ABS’s MFR.
However, applicant’s 3-10g/10min encompasses a large portion of the possible MFR values for common ABS. Riise (table 2) can be cited to report the “typical” properties of ABS. Given Eichenauer teaches no restrictions for the MFR of his ABS, ABS of any MFR would have been obvious. ABS having the MFR of common commercial ABS would have been particularly obvious.
In regards to applicant’s dependent claims:
The cited example contains only 16% ABS rather than the 20-40% of claim 7.
However, Eichenauer (claim 3) calls for 2-50% of the mixed component “B”. For the exemplified “B” of 64/36 ABS/SAN, this would be 1-32% ABS in the entire blend. Any amount of ABS within this range would have been obvious.
Eichenauer does not report the claimed properties of claims 9-12 and 17. Given Eichenauer renders obvious the same materials in the same amounts as applicant, the same properties are expected to result.
Claims 1,5,7-12 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi 2017/0158851 in view of Riise 2005/0179153.
Choi exemplifies (#39) a blend of 80% polyketone and 20% ABS. The polyketone used (paragraph 258) is a carbon monoxide/ethylene/propylene terpolymer having a melt index of 48g/10min. The conditions for this measurement are not reported.
However, the polyketone’s LVN in hexafluoroispopanol is said to be 1.4dl/g. The LVN and MFR of a polymer are closely linked. Higher LVN means higher molecular weight and therefore lower MFR. Such polyketones having an LVN in hexafluoroispopanol of 1.46dl/g are known to correspond to a MFR of 60g/10min (see tables 1.1.2 and 1.5.1 of the POKETONE Hyosung brochure for the properties of M330). For these reasons, Choi’s polyketone having an LVN of 1.46 dl/g would be expected to correspond to a an MFR ~60g/10min - meeting applicant’s polyketone.
Choi does not report the MFR of his ABS or teach any limitations for the ABS’s MFR.
However, applicant’s 3-10g/10min encompasses a large portion of the possible MFR values for common ABS. Riise (table 2) can be cited to report the “typical” properties of ABS. Given Choi teaches no restrictions for the MFR of his ABS, ABS of any MFR would have been obvious. ABS having the MFR of common commercial ABS would have been particularly obvious.
In regards to applicant’s dependent claims:
The tensile strength of the cited example is 48MPa (table 12) -meeting applicant’s claim 11.
Choi does not report the claimed properties of claims 9,10 and 12 and 17. Given Choi suggests the same materials in the same amounts as applicant, the same properties are expected to result.
Claims 1,5,7-12 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon 2017/0166743 in view of Riise 2005/0179153.
Yoon exemplifies (#3,4) 85/15 and 70/30 blends of polyketone with ABS. The polyketone used (paragraph 108) is a carbon monoxide/ethylene/propylene terpolymer having an LVN in hexafluoroispopanol of 1.4dl/g.
MFR is not reported. The LVN and MFR of a polymer are closely linked. Higher LVN means higher molecular weight and therefore lower MFR. Such polyketones having an LVN in hexafluoroispopanol of 1.46dl/g are known to correspond to a MFR of 60g/10min (see tables 1.1.2 and 1.5.1 of the POKETONE Hyosung brochure for the properties of M330). For this reason, Yoon’s polyketone having an LVN of 1.46 dl/g would be expected to correspond to a an MFR ~60g/10min - meeting applicant’s polyketone.
Yoon does not report the MFR of his ABS or teach any limitations for the ABS’s MFR.
However, applicant’s 3-10g/10min encompasses a large portion of the possible MFR values for common ABS. Riise (table 2) can be cited to report the “typical” properties of ABS. Given Yoon teaches no restrictions for the MFR of his ABS, ABS of any MFR would have been obvious. ABS having the MFR of common commercial ABS would have been particularly obvious.
In regards to applicant’s dependent claims:
Yoon does not report the claimed properties of claims 9,10 and 12 and 17. Given Yoon suggests the same materials in the same amounts as applicant, the same properties are expected to result.
Claims 1,4,5,7-12 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi 2017/0158851 or Yoon 2017/0166743 in view of Riise 2005/0179153.
Choi/Yoon/Riise apply as explained above.
Neither Choi nor Yoon report the MFR for their polyketones under the conditions of applicant’s claim. However, both Choi (paragraph 44) and Yoon (paragraph 78,80) teach Mn’s of 20,000-90,000 and LVN’s of 1-2dl/g for the polyketone.
Inherently these Mn’s and LVN’s provide a MFR’s that overlap applicant’s range. This can be demonstrated by tables 1.1.1, 1.1.2 and 1.5.1 of the POKETONE Hyosung brochure summarized below:
Resin Mn LVN dl/g MFR g/10min
M630 100,000 2.16 6
M330 72,000 1.46 60
M930 60,000 1.10 200
It is apparent that the Mn and LVN ranges suggested by either primary reference would significantly overlap applicant’s MFR. Such an overlap renders obvious applicant’s MFR (see MPEP 2144.05 I.)
Applicant's arguments filed 4/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Eichenauer’s Carilon DP P 1000 is not the same grade as the “Carilon polymer DP grade reference P1000” of the Shell Research document and that variations in lot might result in the material’s 6g/10min MFR being outside the claimed 1-90d/10min range. These are unserious arguments.
Applicant argues that rejections reliance on LVN to MFR mapping is incorrect.
This is unconvincing. Solution viscosity to MFR correspondence is a well known and accepted principle in polymer science. The Dynisco Handbook (particularly pages 122-124) demonstrate this relationship.
Applicant argues that none of the primary references teach anything regarding the MFR of the ABS.
While this is true, any MFR for the ABS would have been obvious if the references didn’t bother to place any limitations on the MFR. It appears applicant has simply chosen to limit the ABS to a MFR range that encompasses a large fraction of commercial ABS. Choosing to claim less than the entire possible range of commercial ABS is no reason for allowance.
Applicant has shown nothing to overcome this prima facie obviousness of using a commercial ABS of any typical MFR. Evidence presented after final will not be entered.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID J BUTTNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765 4/29/26