DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regard to amended claim 1 and 17, the applicant asserts Tian et al. (CN 111524952 A), and further in view of Youn et al. (US 2022/0181395 A1) with evidence provided by Sun et al. (US 2020/0091257 A1) fails to teach the following:
“wherein an auxiliary cathode is further provided on the transparent region, and the auxiliary cathode is arranged on a side of the at least one groove away from the display region; wherein the auxiliary cathode comprises a first auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the inorganic insulation layer away from the substrate, a second auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the first auxiliary cathode away from the substrate, and a third auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the second auxiliary cathode away from the substrate, an orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the first auxiliary cathode on the substrate, and the orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the third auxiliary cathode on the substrate”.
Specifically the Applicant asserts the following in regards to the teachings of Youn:
Youn, which evidently does NOT include the area between the emission area EA and the transparent area TA, and the transparent area asserted by the Examiner is not transparent. Further, Youn clearly describes that the connection pattern 162, the first auxiliary electrode 114, the second auxiliary electrode 146 are disposed between the emission area EA and the transparent area TA (see paragraphs [0058]-[0060]), therefore, there is no groove in the transparent region TA at all. Therefore, Youn would not disclose that pixel definition layer 170 extends from the display region EA to the transparent region TA to fill the at least one groove located in the transparent region TA.
The connection pattern 162 of Youn is not an auxiliary cathode at all. Youn clearly discloses auxiliary electrodes 114 and 146, and the connection pattern 162 is just used to connect auxiliary electrodes 114 and 146. The auxiliary electrodes 114 and 146 are NOT disposed on a side of the at least one groove away from the display region. The auxiliary electrodes 114 and 146 do NOT comprise a first auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the inorganic insulation layer away from the substrate, a second auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the first auxiliary cathode away from the substrate, and a third auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the second auxiliary cathode away from the substrate. Especially, there is NOT a second auxiliary cathode in Youn, such that an orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the first auxiliary cathode on the substrate, and the orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the third auxiliary cathode on the substrate.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with these assertions. In regard to argument (a), refereeing to the annotated Fig. 3 provided in the non-final rejection mailed 04/01/2026. The Examiner notes that a portion of the rejection of claim 1 incorrectly refers to the annotated transparent region as the transparent area TA, but the annotated Fig. 3 and other portions within the claim clearly shows the distinction that the transition region is contained within the transparent region and not the transparent area TA. The transition region annotated below is for sake of clarity to show applicant that Youn contains a similar transparent region as described in the application which states “the transparent region 200 may at least include a transition region 210, wherein the transition region 210 may be located on a side of the transparent region 200 close to the display region 100”. As the transition region shown below is between the display region and the transparent area TA, the Examiner has deemed that an equivalent structure is taught by Youn (see MPEP 2131 and MPEP 2114 for example). Further, the bank fills the grooves provided by an opening in an overcoat layer 155.
In regard to argument (b), the applicant acknowledges that “the connection pattern 162 is just used to connect auxiliary electrodes 114 and 146” in the arguments provided 06/30/2026. The connection pattern 162 is directly contacting an auxiliary electrode, and serves as a connection for an auxiliary electrode the Examiner has the connection pattern 162 equivalent to an auxiliary electrode (see MPEP 2131 and MPEP 2114 for example).
The Examiner notes, that Applicant has failed to show that elements as taught in Youn are not equivalent to the elements taught in the specification. Further, the applicant has failed to adequately explain why the prior arts as taught cannot be combined. Therefore, the Examiner will maintain the previous rejection as applied. Also, while the transparent area TA was incorrectly referred to as the transparent region in the prior rejection of claim 1 and 17, the Examiner respectfully notes there was ample evidence to contradict this error within the prior rejections of claim 1 and 17 along with other claims throughout the Non-Final rejection, therefore this rejection is FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-12 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al. (CN 111524952 A; hereinafter “Tian”), and further in view of Youn et al. (US 2022/0181395 A1; hereinafter “Youn”) with evidence provided by Sun et al. (US 2020/0091257 A1; hereinafter “Sun).
In regard to claim 1, Tian teaches a display substrate (Fig. 3 and paragraph 9), comprising a display region (island region A) and a transparent region (the bridge region B and a hole region C form the transparent region) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 45), wherein the display region is configured to achieve image display (the island region A can be used for image display) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 60), and the transparent region is configured to make light pass through (the hole region C forms a hole through which light can pass) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 60);
on a plane perpendicular to the display substrate, the display substrate at least comprises a drive structure layer arranged on a substrate and a light-emitting structure layer arranged on a side of the drive structure layer away from the substrate (a driving structure layer and a light emitting structure layer stacked on the flexible substrate 10 in that order) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 63), wherein the drive structure layer at least comprises an inorganic insulation layer (a third insulating layer 16 is located within the drive structure may be made of silicon nitride (SiNx) or silicon oxide (SiOx) material) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 79), and the light-emitting structure layer at least comprises a pixel definition layer (a pixel definition layer 32) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 63);
the drive structure layer of the display region further comprises a planarization layer (a fourth insulating layer 17) arranged on a side of the inorganic insulation layer away from the substrate (the fourth insulating layer 17 functions as a planarization layer and is on the topside of the third insulating layer 16) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 88), and the pixel definition layer is arranged on a side of the planarization layer away from the substrate and is in contact with the planarization layer (the pixel definition layer 32 is shown on and contacting the fourth insulating layer in Fig. 3);
at least one groove (a first and second limiting groove T1 and T2 and a groove created by the spacing in the fourth insulating layer 17) is arranged on the inorganic insulation layer of the transparent region (the first and second limiting groove T1 and T2 and a groove created by the spacing in a fourth insulating layer 17 are located on the third insulating layer 16 as shown in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 77 and 92), and is in contact with the inorganic insulation layer in the at least one groove (the pixel defining layer is shown in contact with the third insulating layer 16 in a groove formed by a fourth insulating layer 17 in Fig. 3).
However, Tian doesn’t explicitly teach the pixel definition layer extends from the display region to the transparent region to fill the at least one groove located in the transparent region, wherein a thickness of the pixel definition layer filling the groove of the transparent region is greater than a thickness of the pixel definition layer in the display region, wherein an auxiliary cathode is also provided on the transparent region, and the auxiliary cathode is arranged on a side of the at least one groove away from the display region; wherein the auxiliary cathode comprises a first auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the inorganic insulation layer away from the substrate, a second auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the first auxiliary cathode away from the substrate, and a third auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the second auxiliary cathode away from the substrate, an orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the first auxiliary cathode on the substrate, and the orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the third auxiliary cathode on the substrate.
Youn teaches a display substrate (a transparent display device 1000) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 47), wherein a pixel definition layer (the bank 170) extends from a display region to a transparent region (the display region and transparent region are shown in annotated Fig. 3) to fill at least one groove (a drain contact hole 155a and a groove created by a first electrode 160 and connection pattern 162) located in the transparent region (the bank 170 is shown filling a groove created by a first electrode 160 and connection pattern 162 in a region that functions as a transition region and contained in a transparent region as shown in annotated Fig. 3 below) (annotated Fig. 3 and paragraphs 48, 91 and 95), wherein a thickness of the pixel definition layer filling the at least one groove of the transparent region is greater than a thickness of the pixel definition layer in a display region (the bank 170 is shown to have a larger thickness due to filling the drain contact hole 155a in the transparent region as shown in annotated Fig. 3), wherein an auxiliary cathode (a connection pattern 162) is also provided on the transparent region (annotated Fig. 3 and paragraph 56), and the auxiliary cathode is arranged on a side of the at least one groove away from the display region (the connection pattern 162 is shown on the side away from the display region in annotated Fig. 3 above);
wherein the auxiliary cathode comprises a first auxiliary cathode (a first layer 162a of the connection pattern 162) arranged on a side of an inorganic insulation layer (an interlayer insulation layer 140) away from the substrate (Youn Fig. 3 and paragraphs 79 and 96), a second auxiliary cathode (the second layer 162b of the connection pattern 162) arranged on a side of the first auxiliary cathode away from the substrate (Fig. 3 and paragraph 96), and a third auxiliary cathode (a third layer 162c of the connection pattern 162) arranged on a side of the second auxiliary cathode away from the substrate (Fig. 3 and paragraph 96), an orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the first auxiliary cathode on the substrate, and the orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the third auxiliary cathode on the substrate (as the first through third layer 162a-162c are stacked, the layers are within orthographic projections of one another).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Tian with the teachings of Youn to have the pixel definition layer extend from the display region to the transparent region to fill the at least one groove located in the transparent region, wherein a thickness of the pixel definition layer filling the groove of the transparent region is greater than a thickness of the pixel definition layer in the display region, since this layout is well known to maintains the height of pixel definition layer allowing for a uniform device. Further it is well known amongst those skilled in the art that a larger area of contact between surfaces results in a larger adhesion force between surfaces as explained in Sun (paragraph 46). Further, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Tian with the teachings of Youn to have an auxiliary cathode is also provided on the transparent region, and the auxiliary cathode is arranged on a side of the at least one groove away from the display region; wherein the auxiliary cathode comprises a first auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the inorganic insulation layer away from the substrate, a second auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the first auxiliary cathode away from the substrate, and a third auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the second auxiliary cathode away from the substrate, an orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the first auxiliary cathode on the substrate, and the orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the third auxiliary cathode on the substrate since auxiliary electrodes are known to allow the resistance of the cathode to be decreased which aids in device functions as taught by Youn (paragraph 62).
In regard to claim 2, Tian in view of you teach wherein a thickness of the pixel definition layer of the transparent region is greater than a thickness of the pixel definition layer in the display region (the bank 170 is shown to have a larger thickness due to filling the drain contact hole 155a in the transparent region as shown in Youn annotated Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 3, Tian in view of Youn teaches wherein a depth of the at least one groove is less than a thickness of an inorganic insulation layer (the drain contact hole 155a is shown to have a smaller thickness than a passivation layer 150 in the portion above the third contact hole 140c as shown in Fig. 3) (Youn Fig. 3 and paragraphs 88 and 144).
In regard to claim 4, Tian doesn’t explicitly teach wherein a depth of the groove is equal to a thickness of an inorganic insulation layer.
Youn teaches wherein a depth of the groove is equal to a thickness of an inorganic insulation layer (the contact drain contact hole 155b is shown to be the thickness of the passivation layer 150 in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 91).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Tian with the teachings of Youn to have a depth of the groove is equal to a thickness of the inorganic insulation layer since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the groove.as the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the depth of the groove or any unexpected results arising therefrom. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In regard to claim 6, Tian in view of Youn teaches wherein the at least one groove comprises a first groove (an opening in an overcoat layer 155 as shown in Youn Fig. 3) and a second groove (the opening in the passivation layer 150 as shown in Youn Fig. 3) which are communicated (the openings in the passivation layer 150 and the overcoat layer 155 are shown communicated in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 89), the second groove is arranged on a groove bottom of the first groove, and an orthographic projection of the second groove on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the first groove on the substrate (opening in the passivation layer 150 is shown under and within the orthographic projection of the opening in the overcoat layer 155 in Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 7, Tian teaches wherein on a plane parallel to the substrate, a shape of the at least one groove comprises any one or more of the following: triangle, rectangle, polygon, circle and ellipse (the first limiting groove T1 and the second limiting groove T2 may be a non-continuous structure including a plurality of rectangular patterns) (Fig. 8 and paragraph 80).
In regard to claim 8, Tian teaches wherein on a plane perpendicular to the substrate, a sectional shape of the groove is rectangular, trapezoidal, or polygonal (the first limiting groove T1 and the second limiting groove T2 may be a non-continuous structure including a plurality of rectangular patterns) (Fig. 8 and paragraph 80).
In regard to claim 9, Tian teaches wherein a plurality of grooves are provided on the inorganic insulation layer, and on a plane parallel to the substrate, shapes of the plurality of grooves are same or different (the first limiting groove T1 and the second limiting groove T2 may be a non-continuous structure including a plurality of rectangular patterns) (Fig. 8 and paragraph 80).
In regard to claim 10, Tian teaches wherein a plurality of grooves are provided on the inorganic insulation layer (the first and second limiting grooves T1 and T2 are located on the third insulating layer 16 as shown in Fig. 10), and on a plane parallel to the substrate, sizes of the plurality of grooves are same or different (the depth of the first limiting groove T1 may be smaller than the depth of the second limiting groove T2 which constitutes a size difference) (paragraph 77).
In regard to claim 11, Tian teaches wherein a plurality of grooves are provided on the inorganic insulation layer (the first and second limiting grooves T1 and T2 are located on the third insulating layer 16as shown in Fig. 10), and on a plane perpendicular to the substrate, depths of the plurality of grooves are same or different (the depth of the first limiting groove T1 may be smaller than the depth of the second limiting groove T2) (paragraph 77).
In regard to claim 12, Tian teaches wherein an anode via (via hole K2) is also provided on the inorganic insulation layer of the display region (the via hole K2 is shown on the first insulation layer 14 in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3, Fig. 12 and paragraph 87); on a plane parallel to the substrate, an area of an orthographic projection of the groove on a plane of the substrate is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of the anode via on a plane of the substrate (an orthographic projection of the groove created by the fourth insulating layer 17 is shown to be larger than the second via hole K2 in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and Fig. 12).
In regard to claim 15, Tian in view of Youn teaches wherein the pixel definition layer covers an edge of the auxiliary cathode close to a side of the display region (the bank 170 is shown over the edge of the connection pattern 162 in Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 16, Tian teaches a display apparatus (a mobile phone), comprising the display substrate according to claim 1 (paragraph 114).
In regard to claim 17, Tian teaches a method for preparing a display substrate (paragraph 109), the display substrate comprising a display region (island region A) and a transparent region, wherein the display region is configured to achieve image display (the bridge region B and a hole region C form the transparent region) (Fig. 4 and paragraph 45), and the transparent region is configured to make light pass through the hole region C forms a hole through which light can pass) (Fig. 4 and paragraph 60); the preparing method comprises:
forming a drive structure layer on the substrate (a driving structure layer is formed on the flexible substrate 10) (paragraph 63), wherein the drive structure layer at least comprises an inorganic insulation layer (a third insulating layer 16 is located within the drive structure) (Fig. 4 and paragraph 79), the drive structure layer of the display region further comprises a planarization layer (a fourth insulating layer 17) arranged on a side of the inorganic insulation layer away from the substrate (the fourth insulating layer 17 functions as a planarization layer and is on the topside of the third insulating layer 16) (Fig. 12 and paragraph 88), and at least one groove (a first and second limiting groove T1 and T2 and a groove created by the spacing in the fourth insulating layer 17) is arranged on the inorganic insulation layer in the transparent region (the first and second limiting groove T1 and T2 and a groove created by the spacing in fourth insulating layer 17 are located on the third insulating layer 16 in the bridge region B as shown in Fig. 12) (Fig.11, Fig. 12 and paragraphs 77 and 92); and
forming a light-emitting structure layer on the drive structure layer (a driving structure layer and a light emitting structure layer stacked on the flexible substrate 10 in that order) (Fig. 13 and paragraph 63), wherein the light-emitting structure layer at least comprises a pixel definition layer (a pixel definition layer 32) (Fig. 13 and paragraph 63), the pixel definition layer is arranged on a side of the planarization layer away from the substrate and is in contact with the planarization layer (the pixel definition layer 32 is shown on and contact the fourth insulation layer 17 in Fig. 13), and is in contact with the inorganic insulation layer in the at least one groove (the pixel defining layer is shown in contact with the third insulating layer 16 in a groove formed by a fourth insulating layer 17 in Fig. 3).
However, Tian doesn’t explicitly teach the pixel definition layer extends from the display region to the transparent region to fill the at least one groove located in the transparent region, wherein a thickness of the pixel definition layer filling the at least one groove of the transparent region is greater than a thickness of the pixel definition layer in the display region, wherein an auxiliary cathode is also provided on the transparent region, and the auxiliary cathode is arranged on a side of the at least one groove away from the display region; wherein the auxiliary cathode comprises a first auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the inorganic insulation layer away from the substrate, a second auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the first auxiliary cathode away from the substrate, and a third auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the second auxiliary cathode away from the substrate, an orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the first auxiliary cathode on the substrate, and the orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the third auxiliary cathode on the substrate.
Youn teaches a display substrate (a transparent display device 1000) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 47), wherein a pixel definition layer (the bank 170) extends from a display region to a transparent region (the display region and transparent region are shown in annotated Fig. 3) to fill at least one groove (a drain contact hole 155a and a groove created by a first electrode 160 and connection pattern 162) located in a transparent region (the bank 170 is shown filling a groove created by a first electrode 160 and connection pattern 162 in a region that functions as a transition region and contained in a transparent region as shown in annotated Fig. 3 above) (annotated Fig. 3 and paragraphs 48, 91 and 95), wherein a thickness of the pixel definition layer filling the at least one groove of the transparent region is greater than a thickness of the pixel definition layer in a display region (the bank 170 is shown to have a larger thickness due to filling the drain contact hole 155a in the transparent region as shown in annotated Fig. 3).
wherein an auxiliary cathode (a connection pattern 162) is also provided on the transparent region (annotated Fig. 3 and paragraph 56), and the auxiliary cathode is arranged on a side of the at least one groove away from the display region (the connection pattern 162 is shown on the side away from the display region in annotated Fig. 3 above);
wherein the auxiliary cathode comprises a first auxiliary cathode (a first layer 162a of the connection pattern 162) arranged on a side of an inorganic insulation layer (an interlayer insulation layer 140) away from the substrate (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 79 and 96), a second auxiliary cathode (the second layer 162b of the connection pattern 162) arranged on a side of the first auxiliary cathode away from the substrate (Fig. 3 and paragraph 96), and a third auxiliary cathode (a third layer 162c of the connection pattern 162) arranged on a side of the second auxiliary cathode away from the substrate (Fig. 3 and paragraph 96), an orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the first auxiliary cathode on the substrate, and the orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the third auxiliary cathode on the substrate (as the first through third layer 162a-162c are stacked, the layers are within orthographic projections of one another).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Tian with the teachings of Youn to have the pixel definition layer extend from the display region to the transparent region to fill the at least one groove located in the transparent region, wherein a thickness of the pixel definition layer filling the at least one groove of the transparent region is greater than a thickness of the pixel definition layer in the display region, since this layout is well known to maintain the height of pixel definition layer allowing for a uniform device. Further it is well known amongst those skilled in the art that a larger area of contact between surfaces results in a larger adhesion force between surfaces as explained in Sun (paragraph 46). Further, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Tian with the teachings of Youn to have an auxiliary cathode is also provided on the transparent region, and the auxiliary cathode is arranged on a side of the at least one groove away from the display region; wherein the auxiliary cathode comprises a first auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the inorganic insulation layer away from the substrate, a second auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the first auxiliary cathode away from the substrate, and a third auxiliary cathode arranged on a side of the second auxiliary cathode away from the substrate, an orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the first auxiliary cathode on the substrate, and the orthographic projection of the second auxiliary cathode on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the third auxiliary cathode on the substrate since auxiliary electrodes are known to allow the resistance of the cathode to be decreased which aids in device functions as taught by Youn (paragraph 62).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian in view of Youn, and further in view of Qin et al. (CN 111564482 A; hereinafter “Qin”) with evidence provided by Sun.
In regard to claim 5, Tian teaches wherein the drive structure layer of the transparent region at least comprises a buffer layer (a buffer layer 12) arranged on a substrate (a flexible substrate 10) and an interlayer insulation layer (a first insulating layer 14) arranged on a side of the buffer layer away from the substrate (Fig. 3 and paragraph 63), and the inorganic insulation layer is arranged on a side of the interlayer insulation layer away from the substrate (the third insulating layer 16 is shown on the first insulating layer 14 in Fig. 3).
However, Tian in view of Youn don’t explicitly teach the pixel definition layer filling the at least one groove is in contact with the interlayer insulation layer.
Qin teaches a display substrate (a display substrate as shown in Fig. 1) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 45), and a pixel definition layer (a pixel defining layer 21) filling at least one groove (a groove formed by an organic light emitting layer 22 and a flat layer 19) is in contact with an interlayer insulation layer (the pixel defining layer 21 is in contact with a fourth insulating layer 17 within the groove formed by an organic light emitting layer 22 and a flat layer 19 as shown in Fig. 2) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 70-74).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Tian with the teachings of Qin to have the pixel definition layer filling the groove is in contact with the interlayer insulation layer as it is known amongst those skilled in the art that the more area contacted by the bank will result in an increased adhesion force between surfaces within the device as explained in Sun (paragraph 46).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang et al. (US 2021/0065625 A1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEYON ALI-SIMAH PUNCHBEDDELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893