DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/5/2025 and 11/18/2025 were filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on 8/4/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a functional member and a sensing component connected in parallel to each other between the single pair of electric connection paths, does not reasonably provide enablement for the functional member and the sensing component to be connected electrically in parallel with one another to said single pair of electric connection paths. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. Claim 1 recites “the functional member and the sensing component are connected electrically in parallel with one another to said single pair of electric connection paths”, however the specification does not mention a parallel connection between the functional member in addition to the sensing component and the single pair of electric connection paths. Fig. 2 and the third paragraph on page 6 of the specification of the claimed invention most closely discloses that the functional member 208 and the sensing component 210 are in parallel with one another and both located between a single pair of electric paths 214 and 216. The specification does not include the detail required to make and use the claimed invention as it relates to the relationship between the function member, sensing component, and single pair of electric paths set forth in claim 1. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret that applicant meant to detail in claim 1 that the functional member and the sensing component connected in parallel to each other between the single pair of electric connection paths, as is set forth in and enabled by the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Klaus Heubach et al. (US 20170370992 A1 – hereinafter Heubach).
Regarding claim 1, Heubach teaches a device comprising: a main body (Fig. 1, Handle
102) comprising a power source (Fig. 3, Power Source 330; [0029] – the handle may hold the
power source) and control circuitry (Fig. 3, circuitry including the First Control Unit 370 and the
Second Control Unit 380); and a functional unit (Fig. 1, Shaving Razor Cartridge 104)
comprising a functional member (Fig. 2, Heating Element 110) and a sensing component (Fig. 2,
Insulating Member 140), wherein the control circuitry and the power source are electrically
coupled to the functional unit by a single pair of electric connection paths (Fig. 3, single input
connection path and output connection path between 316 and 330 which also connects 370 and
380 through 372 and 382), wherein the functional member and the sensing component are
connected electrically in parallel with one another between said single pair of electric connection paths (Fig. 3, where Energy Emitting Element 316 is the functional member and the First Thermal Sensor 350 and the Second Thermal Sensor 350 are the sensing component), and wherein the functional member has a threshold voltage below which the functional member is electrically non-conductive or substantially electrically non- conductive, and above which the functional member is electrically conductive ([0036] – the threshold voltage being between 0 V and 3.6 V, as 316 does not function when electrically isolated from the power source, but does function when reconnected to power source via First Switching Element 372), and wherein the control circuitry and the power source are configured to switch between providing first and second voltages to the functional unit via said single pair of electric connection paths (Fig. 3; [0035] and [0036] First Switching Element 372 switches between providing a first voltage of 3.6 V and the second voltage of 0 V), wherein the first voltage exceeds the threshold voltage and the second voltage is below the threshold voltage to enable a measurement signal to be obtained from the sensing component via said single pair of electric connection paths (Fig. 3, power is supplied to the sensing components via the single pair of electric connection paths, allowing them to transmit a measurement signal to the control units).
Regarding claim 2, Heubach further teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein,
by providing the first voltage to the functional unit via the single pair of electric connection
paths, the control circuitry and the power source activate the functional member ([0036] – First
Control Unit 370 determines if First Switching Element 372 will allow the 316 to receive
power).
Regarding claim 4, Heubach further teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein
the functional member comprises one or more light emitting diodes ([0028] – 110 may include
an LED).
Regarding claim 5, Heubach further teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein
the functional member comprises an electric power consuming member electrically arranged in
series with a diode or a transistor (Fig. 4, where the electric power consuming member is Energy
Emitting Element 416 and the transistor is the NMOS transistor in series with 416).
Regarding claim 6, Heubach further teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein
the sensing component is configured to sense an operating parameter of the functional member
([0036] – 350 senses the operating temperature of 316).
Regarding claim 7, Heubach further teaches the device according to claim 6, wherein
the operating parameter is one or more of: a temperature of the functional member, and a change
in a temperature of the functional member ([0036] – 350 senses the operating temperature of
316).
Regarding claim 8, Heubach further teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein
the sensing component comprises a thermistor (Fig. 4, [0041] – First Thermal Sensor 450 is a
thermistor, as the examiner defines a thermistor as a resistor with a change in resistance that is
that is dependent on and proportional to a change in temperature).
Regarding claim 9, Heubach further teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein
the control circuitry is configured to close a first switch (Fig. 3, First Switching Element 372) to
connect the power source directly to a first path (Fig. 3, path to the left of 330) of the single pair
of electric connection paths to provide the first voltage ([0036]), and configured to provide the
second voltage to the first path when the first switch (Fig. 9, First Switching Element 472) is
open using a divider resistor in series with the power source (Fig. 9, voltage divider consisting of
R5 and R6, VCC power source) and the first path of the single pair of electric connection paths
(Fig. 3, power is supplied via the first path from 330).
Regarding claim 10, Heubach further teaches the device according to claim 9, wherein
the control circuitry comprises a sensor input channel that is connected to the first path at a
connection point (Fig. 9; [0041], P3 is the connection point for the sensor input channel which
runs from P3 to First Thermal Sensor 450 to the First Control Unit 470, which is connected to
the first path) between the divider resistor (Fig. 9, voltage divider consisting of R5 and R6) and
the sensing component (First Thermal Sensor 450) to obtain the measurement signal from the
sensing component.
Regarding claim 11, Heubach further teaches the device according to claim 10, wherein
the control circuitry further comprises: a second switch arranged in series with the divider
resistor, the power source and the first path (Fig. 3, Second Switching Element 382, where the
divider resistor is part of the First Control Unit 370), wherein the second switch is arranged in
parallel to the first switch (Fig. 3, First Switching Element 372), and wherein the control
circuitry is configured to: close the second switch while the first switch is open to provide the
second voltage to the functional unit ([0036] – when switch is open, 0 V is applied) and to obtain
the measurement signal from the sensing component via the sensor input channel ([0070] – First
Switching Element 472 is open while Second Switching Element 482 is closed, providing a
signal from sensing component 460 with the use of P3).
Heubach does not teach that the second switch and the divider resistor are arranged in
parallel, however it is generally beneficial to arrange electrical components in parallel as one
element becoming inactive does not affect the other elements that it is connected to in parallel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of
the claimed invention to have the second switch and the divider resistor be arranged in parallel.
Regarding claim 12, Heubach further teaches the device according to claim 11, wherein
the control circuitry is configured to open and close the first switch and/or the second switch
according to a pulse-width modulated control signal ([0036] – First Switching Element 372 is
controlled via PWM).
Regarding claim 13, Heubach further teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein
the control circuitry further comprises: a switch (Fig. 3, First Switching Element 372) having an
input and first and second outputs, wherein the input of the switch is connected to the power
source (Fig. 3, Power Source 330), the first output (Fig. 3, leftmost output leading to Energy
Emitting Element 316) of the switch is connected to a first path of the single pair of electric
connection paths, and the second output (Fig. 3, rightmost output leading to First Control Unit
370) of the switch is connected to the first path via a divider resistor (Fig. 9, First Control Unit
470 contains a voltage divider consisting of R5 and R6), and wherein the control circuitry is
configured to: operate the switch to switch between the first output to provide the first voltage
and the second output to provide the second voltage ([0036] – 372 is always in communicated
with 370. Therefore, when 372 is switched to become non-conductive with regards to 316, it
switches from the first output to solely being connected to the second output).
Regarding claim 14, Heubach further teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein
the device is a personal care device, and wherein the functional unit is a personal care unit (Fig.
1).
Regarding claim 15, Heubach further teaches the device according to claim 14, wherein:
the personal care device is an electric shaver (Fig. 1); the functional unit is a shaving unit
releasably coupled to the main body and comprising one or more hair-cutting units ([0029];
Blade 106 being the hair-cutting units); and the functional member comprises one or more light
emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged in the shaving unit to emit light during operation of the one or
more hair- cutting units ([0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klaus Heubach
et al. (US 20170370992 A1 – hereinafter Heubach) as applied to claim 1 above, and further
in view of Yoon Hyung Do (KR 20110126002 A - hereinafter Do).
Regarding claim 3, Heubach further teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein
the functional unit (Fig. 1, Shaving Razor Cartridge 104) is releasably coupled to the main body
(Fig. 1, Handle 102; [0029]).
Heubach fails to explicitly teach that the single pair of electric connection paths
comprises a first pair of electric connection element arranged on the main body, and a second
pair of electric connection elements arranged on the functional unit, wherein the second pair of
electric connection elements are releasably coupled to the first pair of electric connection
elements.
However, Do teaches a device with a functional unit (Fig. 6, Head Cap 40) that is
releasably coupled to a main body (Fig. 6, Body Portion 10), with a single pair of electric
connection paths that comprise a first pair of electric connection element arranged on the main
body (Fig. 6, Connection Part 17), and a second pair of electric connection elements arranged on
the functional unit (Fig. 6, Connection Part 43), wherein the second pair of electric connection
elements are releasably coupled to the first pair of electric connection elements (Page 3, Para 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Heubach such that the
single pair of electric connection paths comprises a first pair of electric connection element
arranged on the main body, and a second pair of electric connection elements arranged on the
functional unit, wherein the second pair of electric connection elements are releasably coupled to
the first pair of electric connection elements as taught by Do. Doing so is beneficial as it allows
the functional unit to be removeable from the main body as well as electrically connected when
attached to the main body (Do; Page 3, Para 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Heubach does not disclose the single pair of electric connection paths because applicant believes that there are more paths in Heubach than the one pair of electric connection paths mentioned in the rejection of claim 1. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the non-existence of any electric connection paths outside of the single pair of electric connection paths) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant additionally argues that Heubach does not teach the functional member and sensing component being connected electrically in parallel between the single pair of electric connection paths. However, viewing Fig. 3 of Heubach it can be seen that 350/360, drawn to the sensing component, are in parallel with 316, drawn to the functional member, and all are generally located between the single pair of electric connection paths. Examiner only refers to the embodiments 316 and 350/360 to teach this limitation, so arguments regarding other embodiments shown in Heubach such as 416/516 are not pertinent.
Applicant further argues Heubach does not teach that a measurement signal is not obtained from the sensing component via said single pair of electric connection paths since the signal is additionally obtained from other electric connection paths. However, as mentioned above, the plain meaning of claim 1 only requires that a signal is received via the single pair, not that it cannot also be received from other additional paths.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLA L KEENA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724