DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication of 1/9/2026. Currently elected claims 1-9, and 19-20 are pending and rejected below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-9 and 19-20) in the reply filed on 1/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11, 13-18, and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/9/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kuwahara et al. (US 2010/0047327 A1).
Kuwahara discloses a kit, comprising at least one microneedle system and at least one dosage form for transmucosally administering at least one pharmaceutically active ingredient (see para [0038]-[0040]).
Concerning claim 2 and the at least one dosage form comprises an oral thin film comprising at least one matrix polymer and at least one pharmaceutically active ingredient (see para [0075]-[0076]).
Concerning claim 3 and the at least one matrix polymer comprises a water-soluble and/or water swellable polymer (see para [0078]).
Concerning claim 4 and the at least one pharmaceutically active ingredient comprises a pharmaceutically active ingredient with a logP 3 (see para [0012], and [0085] and examiner is of the position that the chosen ingredients would teach the logP 3 as contemplated topical method formulations).
Concerning claim 5 and the at least one pharmaceutically active ingredient comprises a pharmaceutically active ingredient with a molecular weight of greater than 300 g/mol (see para 0092] that examiner is of the position that the disclosed percentages of the weight would be greater than 300g.mol).
Concerning claim 6 and the at least one pharmaceutically active ingredient is selected from the group consisting of hypnotics, sedatives, antiepileptics, analeptics, psychoneurotropic drugs, neuroleptics, neuro-muscle blockers, antispasmodics, antihistamines, antiallergics, cardiotonics, antiarrhythmics, diuretics, hypotensives, vasopressors, antitussives, expectorants, analgesics, thyroid hormones, sexual hormones, glucocorticoid hormones, antidiabetics, antitumour drugs, antibiotics, chemotherapeutics, narcotics, anti-Parkinson drugs, anti-Alzheimer drugs and/or triptans (see para [0097]).
Concerning claim 9 and for use in the treatment of a patient (see para [0065]).
Concerning claim 19 and the water-soluble and/or water- swellable polymer is selected from the group consisting of starch and starch derivatives, dextrans, cellulose derivatives, such as carboxymethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, hydroxypropyl ethyl cellulose, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, ethyl or propyl cellulose, polyacrylic acids, polyacrylates, polyvinylpyrrolidones, polyvinyl alcohols, poly(lactide-co-glycolide), hyaluronic acid, polyethylene oxide polymers, polyacrylamides, polyethylene glycols, gelatines, collagen, alginates, pectin, pullulan, tragacanth, chitosan, alginic acid, arabinogalactan, galactomannan, agar, agarose, carrageenan and natural gums. (see para 0078).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahara et al. (US 2010/0047327 A1).
Concerning claim 7 and the microneedle system is a microneedle system based on glass, SiO2, steel, ceramic, starch and starch derivatives, dextrans, cellulose derivatives, such as carboxymethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellu lose, hydroxypropyl ethyl cellulose, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, ethyl or propyl cellulose, polyacrylic acids, polyacrylates, polyvinylpyrrolidones, polyvinyl alcohols, poly(lactide-co-glycolide), hyaluronic acid, polyethylene oxide polymers, polyacrylamides, polyethylene glycols, gelatines, collagen, alginates, pectin, pullulan, tragacanth, chitosan, alginic acid, arabinogalactan, galactomannan, agar, agarose, carrageenan and natural gums (The prior art does not explicitly state what the microneedles are “based” on or formed of). Kuwahara discloses the claimed invention except for a microneedle made of steel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form a microneedle of steel, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Steel is a known material for a PHOSITA to form microneedles from as it is biocompatible, easy to sterilize, and rigid for penetration of an anatomical site).
Concerning claims 8-9 and the microneedle system has microneedles with a length from 100 pm to 600 pm, preferably from 250 pm to 350 pm, and/or the microneedle system has 50 to 400, preferably 200 to 250 microneedles per cm2 (as to claim 9) and the microneedle system has microneedles with a length from 250 pm to 350 pm and/or has 200 to 250 microneedles per cm2 (as to claim 20).
Kuwahara discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating the size of the microneedle with a length from 250 pm to 350 pm and/or has 200 to 250 microneedles per cm2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct microneedles with a length from 250 pm to 350 pm and/or has 200 to 250 microneedles per cm2, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
It is examiners position that the prior art teaches the transmucosal intended delivery and that a PHOSITA would construct a microneedle with a length from 250 pm to 350 pm and/or has 200 to 250 microneedles per cm2 in order to effectively treat a patient via transmucosal administration as those lengths and number of microneedles per cm2 would result in efficient, effective, and reliable administration of a pharmaceutical preparation.
Conclusion
PHILLIP A. GRAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/PHILLIP A GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783