DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
As per the submission to the Office filed on 12/09/2025 the following represents the changes from the previous claims: Claim 38 was amended, Claims 40-46 were withdrawn, and Claims 1-37 were canceled. Claims 38-39, 47-51 are presented for examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 400.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
References 1 and 6 have both been used to reference the storage container in [0099] and references 36 and 34 have both been used to reference personnel lock in [0148].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 38-39, 47-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 38, the limitation “the harvested development material” in line 10 lacks antecedent basis.
For claim 51, the limitation “the process unit” in lines 3, 5-6 lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 39, 47-50 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38-39, 47-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (US 9101096 B1) in view of Yoshida (EP 3259984 A1 as cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 38, Lewis teaches a method for cultivating development material (Col. 6, lines 12-13), the method comprising:
providing a storage container (100);
inserting a storage rack (140) of a growth or propagation station (110) into the storage container (Col. 7, lines 3-4 as 110 is inserted into the exterior shell 120, which is the exterior shell of storage container 100, and so the storage rack is inserted into the storage container);
monitoring growth or propagation of the development material (Col. 10, lines 2-13) in an aseptic internal atmosphere of the storage container (Col. 3, lines 47-51) until propagation stage for harvesting (Col. 9, lines 14-17);
while maintaining the aseptic atmosphere (Col. 3, lines 47-51), to the storage container (Col. 3, lines 47-51) and recovering a biological material containing an active substance from the harvested development material (Col. 3, lines 47-51, and Col. 6, lines 1-16).
However, Lewis is silent about coupling a maintenance unit, within the maintenance unit while maintaining the aseptic atmosphere.
Yoshida teaches coupling a maintenance unit (7 and fig. 1 as maintenance unit 7 is coupled to rooms 2 and 6), within the maintenance unit while maintaining the aseptic atmosphere (abstract, see translation “ a packing work room 7 which includes a sterilization activity composition supply device 23 which supplies the packing work room 7 with a predetermined amount of sterilization activity composition which sterilizes the packing work space into which the packing materials P are transferred”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include coupling a maintenance unit, within the maintenance unit while maintaining the aseptic atmosphere as taught by Yoshida into the method of Lewis in order to prevent contamination of the harvested plants before they are packaged (see translation “the packing work room 7 is also controlled so that no bacteria is attached to the plants Sb before packing.” of Yoshida) and reduce the risk of contaminating the plants that are not ready for harvesting.
Regarding claim 39, Lewis as modified by Yoshida teaches the method of claim 38, and Lewis further teaches wherein to control an atmosphere for growth or propagation, at least one of parameters1 that follow are determined, monitored, or adjusted air pressure, temperature, humidity (Col. 8, lines 38-41), light intensity, gas exchange rate, fertilizer quantity, fertilizer composition, pH value, and conductance, or wherein, to control the atmosphere for growth or propagation, at least one of parameters that follow are determined, monitored, or adjusted, SAL level, partial gas pressure, fertilizer temperature, wind intensity, wind direction, sound level, or sound frequency sequence.
Regarding claim 47, Lewis as modified by Yoshida teaches the method of claim 38, and Lewis further teaches wherein the storage container is a large-capacity ISO container (Col. 6, lines 30-31) having a sensor-monitored distribution device (504, Col. 8, lines 29-30) that provides and monitors the aseptic internal atmosphere (Col. 3, lines 49-54 and Col. 8, lines 41-43 as the gas sensor can detect and monitor ethylene, which will cause for sterilization) with simultaneous setting, monitoring, or maintenance of optimum growth conditions (Col. 8, lines 34-36 and Col. 10, lines 8-12), wherein to ensure the optimum growth conditions the sensor-monitored distribution device is configured to sense and adjust at least one of parameters that follow, air pressure, temperature, humidity, or gas exchange rate (Col. 8, lines 36-43 and Col. 10, lines 8-12).
Regarding claim 48, Lewis as modified by Yoshida teaches the method of claim 47, and Lewis further teaches wherein the sensor-monitored distribution device senses and adjusts, either alone or in combination with other sensors, at least one of parameters2 that follow SAL level, partial gas pressure of a single or a combination of the following gases CO2, 02, N2, He, Ar, O3, CO, CH4, ethane, ethene, ethyne, or terpenes, fertilizer temperature, wind strength, wind direction, sound level or sound frequency sequence, light intensity (Col. 9, lines 63-65), fertilizer quantity, fertilizer composition, pH value, or conductance.
Regarding claim 49, Lewis as modified by Yoshida teaches the method of claim 48, wherein the terpenes are single or in combination hemiterpenes, monoterpenes, sesquiterpenes, diterpenes, sesterterpenes, triterpenes, tetraterpenes, polyterpenes, and terpenoids (note that sensing the partial gas pressure of terpenes is not required by the claims given the "or" clause in claim 48).
Regarding claim 50, Lewis as modified by Yoshida teaches the method of claim 38, and Lewis further teaches wherein the growth or propagation station comprises a grow room (200) with an inlet (410) or outlet (420) of a cleaning medium for clean-in-place cleaning (Col. 11, lines 13-15) or3 for an ozone clean-in-place medium (Col. 11, lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 51, Lewis as modified by Yoshida teaches the method of claim 38, and Lewis as modified by Yoshida further teaches wherein the growth or propagation station (110 of Lewis) is part of a cultivation that further comprises the maintenance unit (7 of Yoshida) or4 the process unit, wherein the maintenance unit or process unit, at least in combination with the growth or propagation station, maintains the aseptic internal atmosphere (Col. 3, lines 47-51 of Lewis and see machine translation “The packing work room 7 is also controlled so that no bacteria is attached to the plants Sb before packing.” of Yoshida).
However, Lewis as modified by Yoshida is silent wherein the maintenance unit is connected to the growth or propagation station for transferring development material or machinery between the growth or propagation station and the maintenance unit or the process unit.
Yoshida further teaches wherein the maintenance unit (7) is connected to the growth or propagation station (6; fig. 1) for transferring development material (Sb) or machinery between the growth or propagation station and the maintenance unit (fig. 1 and see machine translation “the plants Sb cultivated in the plant cultivation room are transferred out of the plant cultivation room and transferred into the packing work room 7.” of Yoshida).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the maintenance unit of Lewis as modified by Yoshida to be connected to the growth or propagation station for transferring development material or machinery between the growth or propagation station and the maintenance unit further taught by Yoshida in order to easily transfer the plants and to quickly get the plant to a sterile room to prevent contamination as (see translation “the packing work room 7 is also controlled so that no bacteria is attached to the plants Sb before packing.” of Yoshida).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues “This feature advantageously allows maintaining the aseptic atmosphere during harvesting, while also allowing the maintenance unit to be used with other storage containers. Lewis and Yoshida do not disclose or suggest such a maintenance unit, and therefore do not disclose or suggest coupling such a unit to the storage container as claimed. The combination accordingly does not render amended independent claim 38 obvious.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the maintenance unit to be used with other storage containers) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Examiner would like to state that the claims only recite one storage container.
Also, as stated above, Yoshida teaches a maintenance unit 7 that is coupled to rooms 2 and 6 as shown in fig. 1 while also maintaining the aseptic atmosphere (abstract, see translation “ a packing work room 7 which includes a sterilization activity composition supply device 23 which supplies the packing work room 7 with a predetermined amount of sterilization activity composition which sterilizes the packing work space into which the packing materials P are transferred”). Therefore, the combination of Lewis and Yoshida will teach the maintenance unit to be coupled to the storage container.
All other claims with arguments are similarly unpersuasive as they relate to claim 1 and the art used for those claims were used for other features that are not claimed in claim 1.
Conclusion
/SAHAR ALMATRAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643
1 Interpretation note: due to the alternative Markush phrasing, only one option is required to satisfy the metes and bounds of the claim limitation.
2 Interpretation note: due to the Markush phrasing, only one option is required to satisfy the metes and bounds of the claim limitation.
3 Interpretation note: due to the alternative phrasing “or”, only one option is required to satisfy the metes and bounds of the claim limitation. However, for compact prosecution, both have been mapped.
4 Interpretation note: due to the alternative phrasing “or”, only one option is required to satisfy the metes and bounds of the claim limitation.