DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of Claims
Claims 5-6, 8 and 10 are pending in the application. Claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 11 have been cancelled.
The amendment to claim 1, filed on 9/4/2025, has been entered in the above-identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kano et al. (US 2019/0242033 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kano teaches a sea-islands type composite fiber including an island component that is a polymer having moisture absorbability, and has excellent moisture absorbability (Abstract). Specific examples of the sea component of the sea-islands type composite fiber include, but are not limited to, polyesters such as polyethylene terephthalate and polybutylene terephthalate, polyamides such as nylon 6 and nylon 66, and polyolefins such as polyethylene and polypropylene ([0061]). The sea-islands type composite fiber has a moisture absorption rate difference (∆MR) after a hot water treatment of 2.0 to 10.0% ([0078]).
FIGS. 1(a) to 1(m) are examples of the cross-sectional shape of the sea-islands type composite fiber ([0070]). When one island component is disposed at the center of the transverse cross section of the fiber, the one island component disposed at the center is defined as one circle ([0070]). The island component is disposed to form one circle in FIGS. 1(b) and (c), two circles in FIGS. 1(a), (d), (h), (i), (j), (k), and (m), three circles in FIGS. 1(e), (g), and (l), and seven circles in FIG. 1(f) ([0070]). The examiner notes that the cross-sections shown in FIGS. 1(a) and (c)-(m) would read on the claim limitation “a figure obtained by connecting centroids of island parts disposed on an outermost periphery in a transverse section of the fiber with line segments is a regular polygon having the centroids as vertexes.”
Therefore, Kano teaches sea-island fiber cross-sections that meet the claimed limitations.
In the alternative, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have provided fibers having or substantially having the symmetry and positioning shown in FIGS. 1(a) and (c)-(m) of Kano in order to obtain the advantages of Kano’s invention ([0001]).
Kano does not explicitly disclose wherein a ratio C/L of a radius of curvature C (μm) of a side on a fiber surface side of an outer periphery of an island part among the island parts disposed on the outermost periphery in the transverse section of the fiber to a radius L (μm) of a circumscribed circle including the island parts disposed on the outermost periphery in the transverse section of the fiber is 0.50 to 0.90.
However, Kano teaches that the shape of the island component in the transverse cross section of the fiber in the sea-islands type composite fiber is not particularly limited, and may be a circular cross section of a perfect circle or non-circular cross section ([0072]). Specific examples of the non-circular cross section include, but are not limited to, a multifoil, a polygon, a flat shape, and an oval ([0072]). The examiner notes that for islands with a circular cross-section, the maximum value of C/L would approach 0.5 (e.g., for two circular islands of equal diameter directly next to each other, where C is the radius of each circular island and L is the radius of a circle circumscribing the two circular islands).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the sea-islands oval-shaped as this is disclosed as a shape of the invention by Kano. It would further have been expected by or obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention that the curvature would overlap with the claimed ratio due to the shape of an oval.
Regarding claim 6, the examiner notes that the cross-sections shown in FIGS. 1(c), (d) and (k) would read on the claim limitation “wherein a number of the island parts disposed on the outermost periphery in the transverse section of the fiber is an odd number.”
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Kano teaches that the composite fiber is formed into a fiber structure such as a woven fabric or a knitted fabric, and can be used in clothing applications ([0001]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/4/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends the following: “From Example 1 (C/L: 0.81), Comparative Example 2 (C/L: 0.35), and Comparative Example 3 (C/L: 0.46) of the present application, setting C/L to 0.50-0.90 can suppress sea portion cracking (Example 1: 2 pieces, Comparative Example 2: 11 pieces, Comparative Example 3: 18 pieces) and also suppress dyeing irregularity (Example 1: 1.3%, Comparative Example 2: 6.8%, Comparative Example 3: 7.3%). This technical indication regarding the C/L specification is not described in Kano, and the C/L values of the fibers described in the examples of Kano deviate from the numerical values specified in the present application as follows: C/L values in the cited reference: Minimum: 0.02 (Example 11), maximum: 0.47 (Example 6), Average of examples: 0.16 Therefore, Kano provides no technical indication regarding C/L, and the examples fall outside the numerical range of C/L specified in the present application.”
Regarding this contention, the examiner notes that, as claimed, the island parts can be any material. Therefore, applicant’s evidence, which only shows results for polymers, and only specifically for PBT-PEG polymers in the Comparative Examples, is not commensurate with scope of the claim. In addition, at least the melt viscosity of the PET sea part in Comparative Example 2 and the sea-island composite ratio in Comparative Example 3 are different from the PET melt viscosity and the sea-island composite ratio used in Example 1. Therefore, it is unclear how applicant’s examples demonstrate that the claimed fibers, including the claimed ratio C/L, result in unexpected improvements in cracking and dyeing irregularity when compared to the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 6465094 B1 teaches multicomponent fibers in which the cores are preferably formed as a plurality of pie-shaped pieces surrounded by the sea of the second material.
/Kevin Worrell/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789