DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “90” has been used to designate both a control module and worm screw. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “60” has been used to designate both a cover and a pawl. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 91 and 85. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the control module and cover must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Similarly, claim 6 recites “in particular” and “such as.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Causey et al. (US 2007/0179444 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Causey et al. teach a device for dispensing a fluid product, comprising: a fluid product dispenser (see the following listed components) comprising: a reservoir containing a fluid product (Fig. 1 member 120); a dispensing head that is provided with a dispensing orifice (Fig. 1 member 130 with orifice 135), said dispensing head being able to move axially relative to said reservoir (Figs. 7A-7D); and a dispensing member, such as a pump or a valve, that is mounted on said reservoir, said dispensing member being actuated when said reservoir is moved axially upwards relative to said dispensing head (Figs. 7A-7D 139 penetrates 121 upon relative movement, the term upwards is relative); an inner body comprising a hollow cylinder receiving said dispenser (Fig. 1 member 100), an outer body that receives said inner body (Figs. 1 and 2 member 200), a push member (Fig. 28 member 340), and an automatic actuating system (see components claimed below including the recited reset gear, pawl, floating wheel, motor wheel, and motor); said push member being in contact with said reservoir and mounted axially movable relative to said inner body between a rest position and an actuating position ([0050]), a spring being interposed between said inner body and said push member, said spring being compressed in the rest position of said push member in order to urge it towards its actuating position (Fig. 28 spring 350 is alongside and longitudinally between the distal end of 100 and 340, [0112] the spring urges the piston rod to dispense medicine); said automatic actuating system comprising a reset gear (Fig. 28 member 324c), a pawl (Fig. 28 member 335), a floating wheel (Fig. 28 member 324b), a motor wheel (Fig. 28 member 324a), and a motor (Fig. 28 member 320), wherein: said pawl interacts with said push member to lock it in the rest position (Fig. 28 340 is held in place by 335 and 342), said pawl being moved from its locked position towards a release position by said floating wheel when the motor rotates in a first actuating direction (Fig. 29 335 moves with the motor to move to a new tooth of 340 for rotation, [0120]), and said reset gear interacts with said push member, said reset gear being moved by said floating wheel when the motor rotates in a second reset direction in order to return said push member into its rest position (Fig. 30, the motor rotates in the second direction and then 335 moves back to the position in Fig. 28, [0131]).
With regard to claim 2, 324b interacts with 335 via 325 and 324c when the motor rotates in the first direction. 324b interacts with 324c when the motor rotates in the second direction as shown in Fig. 30.
With regard to claim 3, teeth of 324b and a selection of teeth 324c (forming a set) enmesh, a second selection of teeth of 324c interact with the teeth of 340 via intervening structures (Fig. 30).
With regard to claim 4, the tooth of 335 interacts with notches formed by the teeth of 340 (Figs. 28-30).
With regard to claim 5, the pawl is considered as 345, the oblong opening in 335 includes where the spring is connected at 354 which is mounted about the axis of 345 as it is near 345, 345 interacts with 3a4b via intervening structures (Fig. 28).
With regard to claim 6, 342 is taken as a resilient member which works to position 335 ([0121]).
With regard to claim 7, 324b rotates about an axis, it is within the opening of the outer body which is the oblong interior.
With regard to claim 8, 324a and 324b interact when the motor rotates in either direction (Figs. 28-30).
With regard to claim 9, see Fig. 28 member 323.
With regard to claim 10, see [0057] including at least the microprocessor.
With regard to claim 13, see Figs. 9 and 26, 100 includes spring 350 within, and 350 is between a bottom (relative term) of 100 and an upper flange of 340 (formed by a tooth of 340, Fig. 28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Causey et al. (US 2007/0179444 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Dhami (US 2015/0184648 A1).
With regard to claims 11 and 12, Causey et al. teach a device substantially as claimed and teaches control buttons and electronic programming ([0058]) but do not disclose timing means to lock a control button after each actuation. However, Dhami teaches after a morning dose is delivered a lock out timer is set which prevents further delivery, additional dose lockout periods can also be programmed ([0198], [0199]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a lock out timer in Causey et al. as Dhami teaches this is beneficial to ensure the proper dose is delivered at the proper time and prevents the user from delivering a non-prescribed dose.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Harris et al. (US 2020/0289745 A1) which teaches a geared delivery device and Krijger et al. (US 2014/0324023 A1) which teaches locking a push member.
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783