DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-2) and species i (formula (I)) in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Groups II-IC (claims 3-7 and 9) and species ii (formula (II)) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/19/2025.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/19/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 2-3 and 5 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 8 has/have been cancelled. Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are pending with claim(s) 3-7 and 9 withdrawn from consideration. Claim(s) 1-2 is/are under examination in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “each R is independently of one another selected from a combination of linear, branched, saturated, unsaturated, cyclic and/or non-cyclic aliphatic hydrocarbons containing at least one ether group, and mixtures thereof” which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if R requires a combination of the recited hydrocarbons or not. If R requires a combination, then it must contain at least two of the recited hydrocarbons. However, claim 2 recites “R is a linear aliphatic hydrocarbon containing two ether groups” which apparently requires R containing only one hydrocarbon (the linear aliphatic hydrocarbon). For the purpose of further examination, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is interpreted as --each R is independently selected from a linear, branched, saturated, unsaturated, cyclic and/or non-cyclic aliphatic hydrocarbons containing at least one ether group, and mixtures thereof--. This interpretation allows R to be a single hydrocarbon or a mixture of multiple hydrocarbons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richter et al (US 20230086342 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Richter teaches trimerization of bis(2-isocyanatoethyl) ether (OCNCH2CH2OCH2CH2NCO, Example 3a) and bis(3-isocyanatpropyl) ether (OCNCH2CH2CH2OCH2CH2CH2NCO, Example 3b) [0084-0085, Table 3], which will yield the claimed polyfunctional isocyanate of formula (I), wherein R is CH2CH2OCH2CH2 and CH2CH2CH2OCH2CH2CH2, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter et al (US 20230086342 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Teng et al (CN110305041A, machine translation is referenced herein).
Regarding claim 2, Richter teaches the polyfunctional isocyanate composition comprising a polyfunctional isocyanate compound having the formula (I) in claim 1. Richter teaches that trimerization of ether isocyanates can modify reactivity and physical properties [0086].
Richter does not teach wherein R is linear aliphatic hydrocarbon containing two ether groups.
Teng teaches an ether bond diisocyanate having the formula
OCN(CH2)nO(CH2)2O(CH2)nNCO, n≤15 [P1L41].
The examiner submits that when n=3, the above structure becomes
OCNCH2CH2CH2OCH2CH2OCH2CH2CH2NCO
and is identical to the either isocyanate ISO 228 with formula (III) in the instant application [P9L1 spec.], the trimerization product of which is the claimed polyfunctional isocyanate compound having the formula (I), according to the applicant [P9L5-12 spec.]. This ether bond diisocyanate meets the claimed polyfunctional isocyanate composition wherein R is linear aliphatic hydrocarbon containing two ether groups.
Teng and Richter are in the same field of endeavor such as polyurethane coating application (Teng [P1L23-29], Richter [0017, 0043, 0047, 0050]).
Richter’s ether isocyanates, bis(2-isocyanatoethyl) ether (OCNCH2CH2OCH2CH2NCO) and bis(3-isocyanatpropyl) ether (OCNCH2CH2CH2OCH2CH2CH2NCO) are structurally similar to Teng’s ether bond diisocyanate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to conduct trimerization with Teng’s ether bond diisocyanate in order to modify reactivity and physical properties for polyurethane coating application.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762