DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1–20 have been submitted for examination.
Claims 1–4, 7–9, 15–16, and 20 have been examined and rejected.
Claims 5–6, 10–14 and 17–19 objected to.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5–6, 10–14 and 17–19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–4, 7–9, 15–16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drouin et al. (US 2015/0358662) in view of Heo et al. (US 2008/0177865).
Regarding claims 1, 16, and 20, Drouin discloses:
A signal processing device comprising:
generate list information (“manifest”) including information on a plurality of first units of data (“all available parts”) based on the received streaming data, (Drouin, ¶ [0034], “The manifest contains a list of the various streams that are available in the given asset.”) and output (“indicate”) the generated list information; (Drouin, ¶ [0006], “To indicate to the end user what content is available, a manifest of the asset may be provided. The manifest lists all of the available parts of the asset that the user can select to stream.”) and
a decoder configured to receive the list information (“Using the manifest”) and decode the plurality of first units of data based on the list information, wherein the streaming data processor is configured to output data decoded by the decoder. (Drouin, ¶ [0035], “Using the manifest, a client device 106 can request portions of an asset to stream. However, some client devices may attempt to stream portions of the asset that they are unable to stream in a satisfactory way, either because the device itself does not have the appropriate codecs or processing power; or because the network bandwidth is too low to allow delivery of the asset portion. The client device will then have to iteratively try lower and lower quality or size portions of the asset; or differently encoded portions to identify a portion that the client device 106 is able to playback.”)
Drouin does not explicitly teach “a streaming data processor configured to receive streaming data,”.
In a similar field of endeavor Heo teaches:
a streaming data processor configured to receive streaming data, (Heo, ¶ [0021], “The media processing unit 12 includes the header parser 14 and the decoder 16. Among a media data source input to the media processing unit 12, as described above, only a header portion thereof is parsed through the header parser 14. Thereafter, the parsed header information is stored in the queue buffer 22 and memory unit 20. The header information stored in the queue buffer 22 is provided when a request for media data sharing is received from the client terminal 110. Also, the header information stored in the memory unit 20 is used to reproduce media data in the server terminal 100. In this case, the header information includes decoder generation information, such as a codec type of a file, a frame size, a frame rate, a number of bits per pixel, and a quantization precision.”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system for generating manifest data and decoding a stream as taught by Drouin with the system for receiving streaming data as taught by Heo, the motivation is “for providing a real-time streaming service from the server terminal to the client terminal” as taught by Heo (¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Drouin and Heo teaches:
The signal processing device of claim 1, wherein the decoder is configured to decode the plurality of first units of data related to the streaming data (Drouin, ¶ [0034], “The manifest contains a list of the various streams that are available in the given asset.”) based on the information on the first units of data in the list information. (Drouin, ¶ [0035], “Using the manifest, a client device 106 can request portions of an asset to stream. However, some client devices may attempt to stream portions of the asset that they are unable to stream in a satisfactory way, either because the device itself does not have the appropriate codecs or processing power; or because the network bandwidth is too low to allow delivery of the asset portion. The client device will then have to iteratively try lower and lower quality or size portions of the asset; or differently encoded portions to identify a portion that the client device 106 is able to playback.”)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Drouin and Heo teaches:
The signal processing device of claim 1, further comprising: a memory configured to store the streaming data, wherein the decoder is configured to split the streaming data from the memory into the first units of data based on the number information (Drouin, ¶ [0034], “The manifest contains a list of the various streams that are available in the given asset.”) and address information of the first units of data in the list information (Drouin, ¶ [0035], “Using the manifest, a client device 106 can request portions of an asset to stream. However, some client devices may attempt to stream portions of the asset that they are unable to stream in a satisfactory way, either because the device itself does not have the appropriate codecs or processing power; or because the network bandwidth is too low to allow delivery of the asset portion. The client device will then have to iteratively try lower and lower quality or size portions of the asset; or differently encoded portions to identify a portion that the client device 106 is able to playback.”) and decode the plurality of first units of data based on the split first units of data. (Heo, ¶ [0021], “The media processing unit 12 includes the header parser 14 and the decoder 16. Among a media data source input to the media processing unit 12, as described above, only a header portion thereof is parsed through the header parser 14. Thereafter, the parsed header information is stored in the queue buffer 22 and memory unit 20. The header information stored in the queue buffer 22 is provided when a request for media data sharing is received from the client terminal 110. Also, the header information stored in the memory unit 20 is used to reproduce media data in the server terminal 100. In this case, the header information includes decoder generation information, such as a codec type of a file, a frame size, a frame rate, a number of bits per pixel, and a quantization precision.”)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Drouin and Heo teaches:
The signal processing device of claim 1, further comprising: a memory configured to store the first units of data related to the streaming data, wherein the decoder is configured to access the first units of data corresponding to the memory based on the number information (Drouin, ¶ [0034], “The manifest contains a list of the various streams that are available in the given asset.”) and address information of the first units of data in the list information (Drouin, ¶ [0035], “Using the manifest, a client device 106 can request portions of an asset to stream. However, some client devices may attempt to stream portions of the asset that they are unable to stream in a satisfactory way, either because the device itself does not have the appropriate codecs or processing power; or because the network bandwidth is too low to allow delivery of the asset portion. The client device will then have to iteratively try lower and lower quality or size portions of the asset; or differently encoded portions to identify a portion that the client device 106 is able to playback.”) and decode the plurality of first units of data based on the accessed first units of data. (Heo, ¶ [0021], “The media processing unit 12 includes the header parser 14 and the decoder 16. Among a media data source input to the media processing unit 12, as described above, only a header portion thereof is parsed through the header parser 14. Thereafter, the parsed header information is stored in the queue buffer 22 and memory unit 20. The header information stored in the queue buffer 22 is provided when a request for media data sharing is received from the client terminal 110. Also, the header information stored in the memory unit 20 is used to reproduce media data in the server terminal 100. In this case, the header information includes decoder generation information, such as a codec type of a file, a frame size, a frame rate, a number of bits per pixel, and a quantization precision.”)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Drouin and Heo teaches:
The signal processing device of claim 1, wherein the streaming data processor is configured to extract the plurality of first units of data by parsing a second unit of data greater than the first unit, (Drouin, ¶ [0035], “Using the manifest, a client device 106 can request portions of an asset to stream. However, some client devices may attempt to stream portions of the asset that they are unable to stream in a satisfactory way, either because the device itself does not have the appropriate codecs or processing power; or because the network bandwidth is too low to allow delivery of the asset portion. The client device will then have to iteratively try lower and lower quality or size portions of the asset; or differently encoded portions to identify a portion that the client device 106 is able to playback.”) and generate the list information including the information on the plurality of first units of data. (Drouin, ¶ [0034], “The manifest contains a list of the various streams that are available in the given asset.”)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Drouin and Heo teaches:
The signal processing device of claim 1, wherein the streaming data processor is configured to convert the first units of data into parameter information (Drouin, ¶ [0035], “Using the manifest, a client device 106 can request portions of an asset to stream. However, some client devices may attempt to stream portions of the asset that they are unable to stream in a satisfactory way, either because the device itself does not have the appropriate codecs or processing power; or because the network bandwidth is too low to allow delivery of the asset portion. The client device will then have to iteratively try lower and lower quality or size portions of the asset; or differently encoded portions to identify a portion that the client device 106 is able to playback.”) and transmit update information of the list information and the parameter information to the decoder. (Heo, ¶ [0021], “The media processing unit 12 includes the header parser 14 and the decoder 16. Among a media data source input to the media processing unit 12, as described above, only a header portion thereof is parsed through the header parser 14. Thereafter, the parsed header information is stored in the queue buffer 22 and memory unit 20. The header information stored in the queue buffer 22 is provided when a request for media data sharing is received from the client terminal 110. Also, the header information stored in the memory unit 20 is used to reproduce media data in the server terminal 100. In this case, the header information includes decoder generation information, such as a codec type of a file, a frame size, a frame rate, a number of bits per pixel, and a quantization precision.”)
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Drouin and Heo teaches:
The signal processing device of claim 1, wherein the streaming data processor is configured to update at least a portion of the list information with parameter information (Drouin, ¶ [0035], “Using the manifest, a client device 106 can request portions of an asset to stream. However, some client devices may attempt to stream portions of the asset that they are unable to stream in a satisfactory way, either because the device itself does not have the appropriate codecs or processing power; or because the network bandwidth is too low to allow delivery of the asset portion. The client device will then have to iteratively try lower and lower quality or size portions of the asset; or differently encoded portions to identify a portion that the client device 106 is able to playback.”) and transmit the updated parameter information, as the list information, to the decoder. (Heo, ¶ [0021], “The media processing unit 12 includes the header parser 14 and the decoder 16. Among a media data source input to the media processing unit 12, as described above, only a header portion thereof is parsed through the header parser 14. Thereafter, the parsed header information is stored in the queue buffer 22 and memory unit 20. The header information stored in the queue buffer 22 is provided when a request for media data sharing is received from the client terminal 110. Also, the header information stored in the memory unit 20 is used to reproduce media data in the server terminal 100. In this case, the header information includes decoder generation information, such as a codec type of a file, a frame size, a frame rate, a number of bits per pixel, and a quantization precision.”)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Drouin and Heo teaches:
The signal processing device of claim 1, wherein the number of communications between the streaming data processor (Drouin, ¶ [0035], “Using the manifest, a client device 106 can request portions of an asset to stream. However, some client devices may attempt to stream portions of the asset that they are unable to stream in a satisfactory way, either because the device itself does not have the appropriate codecs or processing power; or because the network bandwidth is too low to allow delivery of the asset portion. The client device will then have to iteratively try lower and lower quality or size portions of the asset; or differently encoded portions to identify a portion that the client device 106 is able to playback.”) and the decoder is inversely proportional to the number of first units of data in the list information. (Heo, ¶ [0021], “The media processing unit 12 includes the header parser 14 and the decoder 16. Among a media data source input to the media processing unit 12, as described above, only a header portion thereof is parsed through the header parser 14. Thereafter, the parsed header information is stored in the queue buffer 22 and memory unit 20. The header information stored in the queue buffer 22 is provided when a request for media data sharing is received from the client terminal 110. Also, the header information stored in the memory unit 20 is used to reproduce media data in the server terminal 100. In this case, the header information includes decoder generation information, such as a codec type of a file, a frame size, a frame rate, a number of bits per pixel, and a quantization precision.”)
Conclusion
/MICHAEL B. PIERORAZIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426