DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 has been amended as per Applicant’s Amendment filed on August 13, 2025. No claims have been canceled. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (CN 108039130 A, Published May 15, 2018 – translation provided on IDS).
As to claim 1, Hong discloses a splicer for a bearing box, wherein the bearing box comprises a back plate, the back plate has a first surface facing a display module (Hong at Fig. 2, back plate 10 surface faces LED display module),
a plurality of side edges are at and around a periphery of the first surface (Hong at Figs. 1-2, four side (peripheral) edges of box body 1 including back plate 10),
end surfaces of the plurality of side edges away from the first surface serve as installation surfaces for installing the display module (Hong at Figs. 1-3, ¶ [0008], [0039] discloses “a plurality of box bodies 1 connected continuously in four directions”), and
among the plurality of side edges, a connection position between two mutually connected side edges is a corner of the bearing box (Hong at Figs. 1-2, corners of box body 1),
wherein each corner of each bearing box is provided with a connection structure on a side of the bearing box, where the first surface is located (Hong at Figs. 1-3, box body 1 corners where splicing holes 5 (51, 52) are located provided a connection structure; ¶ [0017] discloses “Further, it includes a back plate and a splicing piece located on the back of the back plate, and the four corners of the back plate are provided with splicing holes passing through the back plate; Dividing into four positioning units),
at least two bearing boxes are adjacent to each other, and the connection structures on adjacent side edges between the at least two bearing boxes adjacent to each other form a connection structure group (Hong at Figs. 1-3; ¶ [0039]), and
different connection structures in the connection structure group belong to different bearing boxes (Hong at Figs. 1-2 depict a “connection structure” at each of the four corners of box body 1; ¶ [0050]), and
the splicer is on the side of the bearing box, where the first surface is located, is connected to all the connection structures in the connection structure group, and is configured to be capable of adjusting a flatness of the installation surfaces on the side edges corresponding to the connection structures in the connection structure group (Hong at Figs. 1-3; ¶ [0052]),
wherein an area of the splicer is greater than an area of one connection structure (Hong at Figs. 1-3, area of splicing piece 4 is greater than any one of the “connection structures” at the corners of box body 1) and
less than two times the area of one connection structure (Hong is silent regarding the splicing piece 4 being two times the area of any one of the “connection structures” at the corners of box body 1. However, MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in size/proportion are obvious. Additionally, Examiner is unable to locate in Applicant’s originally filed disclosure that the differences in the areas produces any new or unexpected results. Therefore, Applicant’s claimed invention cannot be said to distinguish over the Hong reference.)
As to claim 2, Hong discloses the splicer according to claim 1, wherein the splicer comprises a fastener and a connection plate (Hong at Figs. 1-3, ¶ [0052] discloses “and the screws can pass through the front splicing hole 50 in sequence and then enter the front mounting hole 410 and be fixed to realize the fixing of the box body 1 and the splicing piece 4, or the screws can pass through the rear mounting hole 411 in sequence and then enter the rear splicing hole 51 and be fixed”),
wherein each of the connection structures comprises a first leveling surface opposite to the connection plate, the first leveling surface is parallel to the installation surface; the connection plate comprises a second leveling surface opposite to the first leveling surfaces of all the connection structures in the connection structure group; and the fastener is configured to fixedly connect each connection structure in the connection structure group and the connection plate together, and make the first leveling surface of each connection structure in the connection structure group integrate closely with the second leveling surface (Hong at Figs. 1-3; ¶ [0052]).
As to claim 3, Hong discloses the splicer according to claim 2, wherein the fastener is fixedly connected to a corresponding connection structure through a threaded connection, and the fastener is configured to apply a pressure to the connection plate to make the first leveling surface and the second leveling surface integrate closely with each other (Hong at Figs. 1-3; ¶ [0024]).
As to claim 4, Hong discloses the splicer according to claim 3, wherein the fastener comprises a plurality of fastening screws, and each connection structure in the connection structure group is in threaded connection with at least one of the plurality of fastening screws (Hong at Figs.1-3, splicing holes 5; ¶ [0052] contemplates threads. Fig. 3 contemplates a plurality of fastening screws), and
a screw head of each of the plurality of fastening screws is on a side of the connection plate away from the second leveling surface, and a stud of the fastening screw passes through the connection plate and is in threaded connection with the corresponding connection structure (Hong at Figs. 1-3; ¶ [0024], [0052]).
As to claim 5, Hong discloses the splicer according to claim 4, wherein the connection structure is on the first surface of the back plate and at the corner (Hong at Figs. 1-2, four corners of back plate 10),
a plurality of threaded holes are in the first leveling surface of the connection structure, and at least one of the plurality of threaded holes is configured to be in threaded connection with a stud of a corresponding fastening screw (Hong at Figs. 1-3; ¶ [0052]. MPEP 2144.04(VI) establishes that duplication of parts is obvious).
As to claim 6, Hong discloses the splicer according to claim 5, wherein three threaded holes are in the first leveling surface of the connection structure, connection lines of centers of orthographic projections of the three threaded holes on the first leveling surface form an isosceles right triangle, and two legs of the isosceles right triangle are parallel to the two side edges forming the corner, respectively; for any two adjacent bearing boxes, connection lines of centers of orthographic projections of four threaded holes adjacent to the adjacent side edges of the two adjacent bearing boxes on the first leveling surface forms a first square; and for four adjacent bearing boxes, connection lines of centers of orthographic projections of four threaded holes respectively adjacent to four adjacent corners of the four adjacent bearing boxes on the first leveling surface form the first square (Hong at Figs. 1-3. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration or size/proportion are obvious).
As to claim 7, Hong discloses the splicer according to claim 6, wherein four through holes are in the second leveling surface of the connection plate, and connection lines of centers of orthographic projections of the four through holes on the second leveling surface form a second square, and the second square is configured to coincide with the first square (Hong at Figs. 1-3. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration or size/proportion are obvious).
As to claim 8, Hong discloses the splicer according to claim 7, wherein four recesses are on a surface of the connection plate away from the second leveling surface, one end of each of the four through holes is on the bottom surface of a corresponding one of the four recesses, and the screw head of the fastening screw is in the recess (Hong at Figs. 1-3. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration or size/proportion are obvious).
As to claim 9, Hong discloses the splicer according to claim 7, wherein a diameter the threaded hole is less than or equal to a diameter of the through hole (Hong at Figs. 1-3. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration or size/proportion are obvious).
As to claim 10, Hong discloses the splicer according to claim 9, wherein a difference between the diameter of the through hole and the diameter of the threaded hole is greater than or equal to 1 mm, and less than or equal to 2 mm; the diameter of the through hole is greater than or equal to 5 mm, and less than or equal to 10 mm; and a distance between centers of two adjacent through holes in a side length direction of the second square is greater than or equal to 10 mm, and less than or equal 30 mm (Hong at Figs. 1-3. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration or size/proportion are obvious. MPEP 2144.05(II) establishes that optimization of ranges is obvious).
As to claim 11, Hong discloses the splicer according to claim 6, wherein the connection structure comprises three connection columns, one end of each of the three connection columns is connected to the first surface, an end surface of the other end of the connection column away from the first surface serves as the first leveling surface, and the first leveling surface of each connection column is provided with one threaded hole, and an axis of the threaded hole coincides with an axis of the connection column (Hong at Figs. 1-3. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration or size/proportion are obvious).
As to claim 12, Hong discloses the splicer according to claim 11, wherein a first reinforcing rib is between a connection column closest to the corner, in the three connection columns, and at least one of the two side edges forming the corner, or between the connection column closest to the corner and a connection point of the two side edges; a second reinforcing rib is between each of the rest two connection columns and the side edge adjacent to the connection column; and a third reinforcing rib is between the rest two connection columns (Hong at Figs. 1-3. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration or size/proportion are obvious).
As to claim 13, Hong discloses the splicer according to claim 12, wherein end surfaces of the first reinforcing rib, the second reinforcing rib, and the third reinforcing rib away from the first surface are flush with or are below the first leveling surface (Hong at Figs. 1-3. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration or size/proportion are obvious).
As to claim 14, Hong discloses the splicer according to claim 5, wherein an avoiding recess is in the installation surface of the side edge and at the corner, the connection plate is in the avoiding recess, and a first avoiding spacing exists between the installation surface and an end surface of the screw head of the fastening screw; a second avoiding spacing exists between a side surface of the avoiding recess and a side surface of the connection plate adjacent to the side surface of the avoiding recess; and a third avoiding spacing exists between a peripheral surface of the side edge and a side surface of the connection plate adjacent to peripheral surface of the side edge (Hong at Figs. 1-3. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration or size/proportion are obvious. MPEP 2144.05(II) establishes that optimization of ranges is obvious).
As to claim 15, Hong discloses the splicer according to claim 14, wherein each of the first avoiding spacing, the second avoiding spacing and the third avoiding spacing is greater than or equal to 3 mm (Hong at Figs. 1-3. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration or size/proportion are obvious).
As to claim 16, Hong discloses the splicer according to claim 5, further comprising a module leveling structure, wherein the module leveling structure comprises a module leveling body and four adjusting screws, wherein the module leveling body is on the first surface, and four positioning threaded holes in the module leveling body are at positions corresponding to four corners of a bracket of the display module, respectively; the four adjusting screws are in threaded connection with the four positioning threaded holes in a one-to-one correspondence, and the four adjusting screws are configured to adjust a flatness of display modules by adjusting positions of the four adjusting screws themselves relative to the four positioning threaded holes (Hong at Figs. 1-3. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration or size/proportion are obvious).
As to claim 17, Hong discloses a tiled display apparatus, comprising a plurality of bearing boxes in an array and a splicer for splicing and assembling the plurality of bearing boxes together, wherein each of the plurality of bearing boxes is installed with a display module through a bracket (Hong at Figs. 1-3; ¶ [0008], [0039]),
wherein the splicer for splicing and assembling the plurality of bearing boxes together comprises the splicer according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above).
As to claim 18, Hong discloses a tiled display apparatus, comprising a plurality of bearing boxes in an array and a splicer for splicing and assembling the plurality of bearing boxes together, wherein each of the plurality of bearing boxes is installed with a display module through a bracket (Hong at Figs. 1-3; ¶ [0008], [0039]),
wherein the splicer for splicing and assembling the plurality of bearing boxes together comprises the splicer according to claim 2 (See rejection of claim 2 above).
As to claim 19, Hong discloses a tiled display apparatus, comprising a plurality of bearing boxes in an array and a splicer for splicing and assembling the plurality of bearing boxes together, wherein each of the plurality of bearing boxes is installed with a display module through a bracket (Hong at Figs. 1-3; ¶ [0008], [0039]),
wherein the splicer for splicing and assembling the plurality of bearing boxes together comprises the splicer according to claim 3 (See rejection of claim 3 above).
As to claim 20, Hong discloses a tiled display apparatus, comprising a plurality of bearing boxes in an array and a splicer for splicing and assembling the plurality of bearing boxes together, wherein each of the plurality of bearing boxes is installed with a display module through a bracket (Hong at Figs. 1-3; ¶ [0008], [0039]),
wherein the splicer for splicing and assembling the plurality of bearing boxes together comprises the splicer according to claim 4 (See rejection of claim 4, above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant contends that the Hong reference is silent as to the amended claim subject matter of “an area of the splicer (3) is greater than an area of the connection structure (2), and less than two times the area of one connection structure (2)” (emphasis omitted), and consequently, claim 1 is patentable over Hong (Applicant’s Response (AR) at pages 8-9). Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons provided above in the substantive rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sanjiv D. Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
08/16/2025